Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2

Revell The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2

Jorie King has been waiting for Benjamin Zook to return home to Lancaster County so they can marry. When news arrives that Ben has been killed, Jorie finds comfort in the friendship of his brother Caleb. That friendship ripens into love, and it seems that they are meant to be together. But when the unexpected happens, their worlds are turned upside down once more. Will Jorie trust God to lead her into the arms of a new man?
Average Customer Rating:
4.903 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Review 1 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story with a different theme.

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Roseburg, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the slightly different take on the Amish,a more modern view if you will. In fact I selected it for my Lit-n-Latte group and we will be discussing it soon. I have not read the other two in the series, but will when I have the chance. Fisher tells a good story and is always worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprises and Fun Abound!

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just as in the first book of this series "Lancaster County Secrets", I found this book delightful and unpredictable. Every time I thought something was happening, things changed and all is not as it appeared a few minutes ago. This is NOT the typical predictable Amish Fiction!
I truly LOVE the way this writer presents her stories. As in book one, there were several places where I had to just laugh out loud! Her imagination, the genuineness of her characters, and the variety in her plots are wonderful. If you like Amish Fiction, you will love Suzanne's books. She is fast becoming my favorite! I also LOVE a happy ending, and I was not disappointed with this story.
I recommend this for all ages - there are wonderful lessons to be learned here! I can't wait to get into book #3! I bought mine as a set at a great price. Give yourself a treat and get this trilogy, you will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Reading!

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dotty
Location:Palmyra, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got started reading Amish stories about 6-7 yrs ago when my aunt loaned me a book her brother gave her. I've been hooked since. Every time a new one comes out I try to buy it. I have a very large library now and it will continue to grow as new books get written.......I loan them to my relatives to enjoy as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprise expectations in The Waiting

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Holly Weiss
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sales of Amish fiction continue to soar. The apparent simplicity of the Amish lifestyle is a welcome escape from our uncertain times. A new author in this genre is Suzanne Woods Fisher. The Waiting is her second in a series called Lancaster County Secrets. The Waiting is actually a prequel to her first book, The Choice, which she wrote secretly on an antiquated computer. Her interest in the Anabaptist faith stems from her grandfather who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church.
This inspirational fiction novel is set during the 1960s in the Amish community of Lancaster County, PA. The country is embroiled in the Vietnam War. This courageous book, set apart from mainstream Amish fiction, steps away from emphasizing the simplistic, insular lifestyle of the Amish. In The Waiting, we are confronted with prejudice, vandalism and mental illness. Women have a voice. Outsiders enter the community and insiders leave. Surprises and dilemmas abound with spiritual relevance.
I found the story somewhat predictable until the author gave us some unexpected events in the last third of the book. I questioned the wisdom of placing an important plot twist in the back cover description. However, Ms. Fisher’s characters are endearing and kept me involved. Main character, Jorie King, is a creative teacher with an incisive understanding of children. “Animal tracks are the oldest writing on earth,” she tells her students. I especially enjoyed insightful thirteen-year-old Ephraim and his dealings with the cougar.
Many characters are expectant in The Waiting, but God makes everything right for them in His time.
Reviewed by Holly Weiss, author of Crestmont
http://www.hollyweiss.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! excellent Amish read!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Waiting

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set during the mid sixties, when the county is immersed in the Vietnam war. Jorie King is waiting for Ben Zook to return for the war, he is serving as a conscientious objector and has been sent to Vietnam. She told him she wouldn't wait, but has been doing just that, even though she has been getting on with her life, taking the job as the schoolteacher and helping on her grandfathers farm, turning down all requests from suitors.
Caleb Zook, Ben's older brother has been thrust into the position as the caretaker of his family, he and his wife Mary Ann live on the family farm, taking care of the younger brothers and and their daughter Maggie, so when the news comes that Ben has been killed in action everyone is devastated. Soon after Caleb is faced with another tragedy that will shake his world even more. Just as Caleb and Jorie start the path toward healing, they are hit again with some life altering news that have them rethinking the choices they are making.
It was so easy to get totally immersed in this story. This book is so much more than just another Amish romance. The depth of these characters and the issues they face really give this story a very realistic flavor.The characters are very well developed, I really enjoyed the secondary characters in this novel, the kind nature of Ephraim shines thru in his compassion towards animals as well as how he treats young Maggie, it was so great to see how he started to outgrow his speech problem, you could really feel his confidence growing.
I also enjoyed the budding romance between Matthew and Lizzie and hope we get to read more about them in a future book.
Even though this book is the second in the Lancaster County Secrets series it can easily be read as a stand alone book. The Waiting is a beautiful story about love, loss, and forgiveness, not a sad story at all but instead a story that gives us hope and encouragement and once again shows us the importance of family. One of the best Amish stories that I have read this year!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is excellent!!!!

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
gail
Location:toledo, ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the waiting last Saturday, and by Sunday morning I only had a few chapters left to read. I was so sure Jorie was going to wait for Ben to come home, but then as she and Caleb became more comfortable with each other, I wanted her to be with him. Needless to say I have not been able to finish the book just yet, so I am very anxious to see what she chooses to do. I love your books and cannot wait for the next one in the series to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

enjoyable read

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
MelindaJoy
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have long been fascinated with the Amish lifestyle and culture, and living so close the one of the Amish communities makes it even more intriguing. They have such a simple lifestyle that I am almost envious of, but throughout the course of this book you realized that the life of the Amish is not always simple. They experience the same twists and turns in life that everyone eles does, and are often faced with difficult decisions such as the ones Jorie had to make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
maryjoann
Location:Roswell Ga.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Waiting my Suzanne Woods Fisher as an excellence book. Once I started to read it I could not put it down until I finished It is a good book for anyone who likes to read about the Amish people I would highy recommend this book to anyone who loves to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Waiting

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Epperson
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jorie King has been waiting for Benjamin Zook to return home to Lancaster County so they can marry. When news arrives that Ben has been killed, Jorie finds comfort in the friendship of his brother Caleb. That friendship ripens into love, and it seems that they are meant to be together. But when the unexpected happens, their worlds are turned upside down once more. Will Jorie trust God to lead her into the arms of a new man?
This the second book in the Lancaster county Secrets series by Suzanne Woods Fisher. This book was so good as was the first book. I really felt sorry for Jori when her good friend Mary Ann passed away and then she sits and waits on Ben Zook to return from Vietnam. But, then, as the book goes along, there are different circumstances that surround her life and it is GREAT how Suzanne just helps it come together. I don’t want to spill the rest of the story. I did fall in love with Maggie and Ephraim though. Thank you, Suzanne for giving us these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Fabulous Example of Amish Fiction

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Waiting"
By Suzanne Woods Fisher
Well, Suzanne has done it again!! She has published her second Lancaster County Secrets novel, The Waiting and it is definitely a winner!!
The main character, Jorie's life is on hold. She has been waiting for Ben, her intended, to return to Lancaster County, settle down , join and the church and marry her. When news arrives that Ben has been killed, her hopes are dashed, she is devastated and turns to Ben's brother, Caleb for friendship. This friendship eventually develops into love- with two broken hearts healing the other and a promise for a fresh beginnings, UNTIL their worlds are turned upside down.
The characters are so realistic and complex, you can feel their pain as they struggle with their faith and desires. Although, the Amish are to known to have a simple life, their life is anything but that.
Suzanne has the ability to make the characters part of you and your family.
Her intertwining plots keep you on the edge of your seat, waiting for the next event to happen- how will these challenges be met!!
This book is not only meant for lovers of Amish fiction but for those who want to know more about the Amish lifestyle and how they deal with crises. Definitely a page turner. Once picked up, it is hard to set aside!!
This book was provided for this review by Litfuse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Waiting on God's Best

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Vawter
Location:Westminster, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Suzanne Woods Fisher caught my attention with her first book in this series, The Choice. So I've been looking forward to reading The Waiting. Suzanne's compelling storytelling style makes it difficult for me to put the book down. Waiting is never a fun occupation, but much of life consists of waiting on the Lord for His perfect timing and solutions to life's issues. This theme, expressed in the title, is incorporated into the story on several levels. The characters face tough issues with family, friends, and faith. Learning to wait on God takes precedence when Jorie and Cal face the unexpected. Their growth throughout the book is realistic, and the lessons they learn speak to me in some of the situations I've faced or am facing. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read the book in two days!

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grace Winn
Location:Madison, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 2, The Waiting, was worth the wait! It is another well written book about the Amish people set in the time frame of the Vietnam War. I thought this to be a great read and couldn't hardly put it down to do normal stuff around the house. She is a very talented writer who keeps you guessing where the story is headed. Really enjoyed this one and can't wait to read the next book coming out soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be Prepared to Furiously Turn the Pages!

Date:October 17, 2010
Amish fiction has become such a popular genre that it's becoming more difficult for authors to come up with clever plots for this simple society. The good news is that Suzanne Woods Fisher doesn't have that problem. The Waiting was one of the best Amish books I've read in a very long time, and my eyes were glued to every single page.
This was a tough book to read right from the very beginning because of the grief that Caleb and Jorie were experiencing. This opening was very similar to the first book in the series, The Choice, where the heroine of that story dealt with 3 deaths and a marriage in a very small span of time. By comparison in The Waiting, Caleb lost his wife and his brother, Ben, with his wife telling him on her death bed that she felt Jorie would be the perfect wife for him. Then there's Jorie, who has waited for Ben since he left their community to go to Vietnam. She has endured the talk of her possible spinster future, but her heart has never belonged to anyone else.
While I felt that the opening sequence of events was a little dramatic, I think that's what kept me furiously turning the pages. Another thing that I really liked was that this was a historical Amish story set during the Vietnam War. There wasn't much mention of the war since the Amish are Pacifists, but the war setting, along with the mention of some of the medical treatments that were present back then, really added a lot to the overall story.
Even though this book is the second book in the Lancaster County Secrets series, it can be read as a stand-alone novel since none of the characters from book one present themselves in this book. Suzanne has created a lovely series with these two books, and I'm anxious to see how she wraps things up with the final book coming out next year entitled The Search.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley Kratz
Location:altus ok
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the waiting by Suzanne Fisher.I love Jorie teahing style.My favorite character in the book was Ephraim and his love for animals.I love the main character Jorie,Caleb,I would highlly recommend these book.I could hardly put it down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lots of surprises

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
joan
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what you would expect from Suzanne Woods Fisher.A heartwarming story filled with surprise after surprise.Joy sadness and Humor work together to make up fantastic story of loving and losing.A great book written by a great author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book!!!

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margie Mijares
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't want to give anything away, so I will just say this is another great read from Suzanne Woods Fisher!!! I highly recommend this book and hope y'all will all order a copy and read it for yourselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Truly Sweet Story

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amish fiction. Who’d’ve thunk it would become its own genre with a whole store of its own at Christianbook.com?! I’ve been reading Beverly Lewis’s books for years and recently discovered Cindy Woodsmall's, too. But then I thought, “That’s enough.” There are other kinds of stories to read.
Then the Litfuse Publicity Group offered me "The Waiting" for free to review. I couldn’t resist—and I’m glad I didn’t. This was a very fun read!
Though it’s the second in a series, "The Waiting" stands alone. I haven’t read the first, but I never felt I’d missed anything—though I will go back and read "The Choice" as soon as I find time!
Not only is "The Waiting" Amish, its also historical. Setting the story in 1965, author Suzanne Woods Fisher, shows how events of that time—the Vietnam war, racial tensions, and such—impacted even the Amish communities.
"The Waiting" shows that life can get complicated even for people who strive to live simply. The story line is intriguing and unpredictable—truly hard to set down. The heroine, Jorie King, loves her family, their horses, children, and her community. Though pressured to marry, she refuses to settle for less than true love. Caleb, a young leader in the community, struggles to balance ministry, managing his farm, and caring for his brothers after the death of his parents, while raising his own daughter, too. The adventures and concerns of the children, Ephraim and Maggie, are a bonus delight in this book.
If you like sweet stories, Amish or not, I recommend "The Waiting" to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AN AMAZING OF AMISH FAITH AND THEIR STRUGGLES!

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE WAITING by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a inspirational contemporary fiction set in 1965 Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. It is the second in her Lancaster County Secrets and can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with details, love,romance,depth, twists and turns. It has devotion, faith, hope, forgiveness, Amish, struggles, friendship, death,grief, laughter and a plain faith.The characters are charming, believable, will grip your heart,and have a strong plain faith. They struggle with grief, some struggle with their plain ways and their plain faith, while others strive to follow their faith and move on with their life. This is an amazing story of life and it's struggles. While, Jorie, believes Ben her friend and supposed to be boyfriend, as joined the Army and is sent to Vietnam, she waits for him.She is close to his brothers and his family. His oldest brother's wife dies, Ben is declared dead, Jorie and Caleb,Ben's oldest brother believing Ben is dead began close. Then they learn Ben is alive. Nothing is simple, they struggle to help Ben recover from his dramatic experience in Vietnam all the while Jorie and Caleb where planning go get married. Caleb backs off while Jorie explores her feelings for Ben. Ben is angry and has been his whole life, especially since his parents died and Caleb took over the family farm and raising his three younger siblings. This is truly a story of the Amish faith, their struggles, especially the story of the triumphant, struggles,laughter, of a young Amish school teacher, her students, and her friend/boyfriend's struggles, while this small Amish community is carried through the turbulent time of the 1960's. I would recommend this book for it is an inspirational in faith and the power of love. This book was received for review and details can be found at Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Waiting, Lancaster County Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A FABULOUS MUST READ!

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
BookReviewsbyMolly
Location:Willow Spring, NC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, let me start this review off with this: Suzanna Woods Fisher is my Julie Lessman of Amish novels!!! She is FANTABULOUSLY AMAZING!!! I first read her novel, The Choice, last year when it released and that was when I was introduced to her novels. Boy, am I glad of that, too! Never, in a million years, did I think I would be hooked on an Amish author the way I am hers. I mean, I read Amish novels by Wanda Brunstetter, Beverly Lewis, Cindy Woodsmall, just to name a few. But Suzanne's books are P-O-W-E-R-F-U-L. You can feel every bit apart of the story as if Suzanne was writing about YOU!
In The Waiting, we get a glimpse back into time with this Amish story. It's a unique story, as we read about heartache and pain, laughter and love, and....secrets. So many amazing secrets that make up the twists and turns of this fantastic continuation to Suzanne's Lancaster County Secrets series. The thing that makes this so unique to me is this: Suzanne combines two very DIFFERENT subjects and blend them into one.....the war and the Amish. It was VERY interesting to read those subjects together, as when you read about Amish, they are VERY quiet and loving people.
As I was reading this very interesting combination plot line, I felt a pull to ALL the characters, like little Maggie, and even to Esther. But, my biggest pull was to sweet, loving Jorie. She wanted nothing but love and happiness and it seemed for her, she might not find that. I kept wanting to reach out to her and pull into a motherly hug, and tell her all would be alright. Now, just because I was pulled to Jorie, that didn't mean I didn't like the other characters any less! I LOVED Caleb's character. His chiseled character was wonderful and added so much meaning to the story. I wanted to be Jorie so many times! Wonderful work!!!
This story has something for every book lover. It has many secrets and twists for the suspense lover. It has romance for the romance lover. It has a wonderful Christian message for the Christian novel lover. It has laughter woven through the words for the humor lover. It has history for the history lover, war for the military lover and most importantly, it has Amish for all us Amish lovers! This is most definitely, hands down, no doubt about it a 5 (or 50!) star book that would make the PERFECT Christmas gift for any book lover! While it is book 2 in a series, it is a wonderful book that would be easy to follow along with out being confused and would be a great stand alone title! I can't wait for book 3, The Search, to release in January 2011.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>