Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3

Revell The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3

Fifteen years ago, Lainey O'Toole made a split-second decision. She couldn't have known that her choice would impact so many. Now in her mid-twenties, she is poised to go to culinary school when her car breaks down in Stoney Ridge, the very Amish town in which her long-reaching decision was made, forcing her to face the shadowed past.

Bess Reihl is less than thrilled to be spending the summer at Rose Hill Farm with her large and intimidating grandmother, Bertha. It quickly becomes clear that she is there to work the farm--and work hard. The labor is made slightly more tolerable by the time it affords Bess to spend with the handsome hired hand, Billy Lapp. But he only has eyes for a flirty and curvaceous older girl. Lainey's and Bess's worlds are about to collide and the secrets that come to light will shock them both.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Review 1 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Surprises

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the two previous books in this series, this story had many unexpected surprises. This is not the predictable Amish fiction. And Bertha Reihl is not the typical Amish grandmother. She will make you laugh at loud, shake your head, and wonder what in the world is going on in that mind of hers. You will fall in love with sweet, innocent, gentle Bess, and her strong, sensitive, and protective father Jonah. Sallie will frustrate you, Billy will exasperate you, and sweet Lainey O'Tool will continue to make you smile.
It's a wonderful story full of realistic situations, and some that might make you wonder. As secrets are revealed and truth comes to the forefront you will be right there in the middle of this tale, feeling with them the happy and sad moments that intertwine their lives together. And there will be surprises right until the last page - so don't peek ahead!!
This book left me feeling warm & satisfied, with a big smile on my face. I recommend this story for both teens and adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the book and was suprised by the ending.

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Warsaw, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book and was suprised by the ending. The series was especially captivating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love to read books about the Amish

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
LouLouBelle
Location:Cedartown, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just getting into reading this book. The first two in the series were very good. I am sure this one will be too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Series Wrap Up

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This was my favorite book in the Lancaster County Secrets Series by far! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars.
I loved the characters in this book and thought the way their stories played out was fantastic!
I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A HEARTWARMING STORY OF AMISH LOVE AND FORGIVENESS

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE SEARCH by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a heartwarming inspirational Amish contemporary romance set in present day Stoney Ridge,PA.It is the third in the "Lancaster County Secrets" but can be read as a stand alone. Book One,"The Choice".Book Two,"The Waiting".It has faith,hope,love,romance,forgiveness,healing,
Amish faith,beliefs,young love,secrets,truth,freedom,family,witty banter and bringing light to past secrets when two worlds collide.This is a story of how truth,although,sometimes hurts,will in the end set you free. It is a compelling,heartwarming story of truth,
forgiveness and healing.It has unexpected twists and turns and shows how a summer can hold promise for a brighter future.If you enjoy Amish at its best you will enjoy this one too.Also,if you enjoy Beverly Lewis,Amy Clipston,Wanda Brunsetter,Beth Wisemen or Shelley Sheppard Gray you will enjoy this one too.I would highly recommend this and the other two in the series,if you have not already read them,especailly if you enjoy Amish faith,community,family,forgiveness and a heartwarming story.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Revell,a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best in the series

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jocelyn Green, author of Faith Deployed
Location:Cedar Falls, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this very readable story, and think it's the best of the three books in the Lancaster County Secrets series. Here's why:
*This book has great characters in it. The portly grandmother is so full of personality she is one of them most memorable I've read in a long time--certainly not would you would expect to find in an old Amish widow.
*The primary setting is a rose farm! I've never been to one, so I found the description of daily operations fascinating.
*English and Amish characters meet in this book, and one side decides to convert to the other side. I won't tell you which one, but the development of her decision is very tender.
*This is a story of redemption. The end of the book is extremely satisfying for those of us who love happy endings.
*One of the main characters, Bess, matures from a love-sick teenager into a young woman with better judgment. I love the self-respect she ends up showing at the end.
*The novel seems to me to be on the short side. At first, I was disappointed by this, but it's actually good for busy people who love to read but can't enjoy a super long novel because by the time they get through it, they forget what happened in the first half.
I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secrets and young love in Amish community

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Search, by Suzanne Woods Fisher, is my first introduction to Suzanne’s writings about the Amish. I found her style refreshing, real, transparent, and unique.
Refreshing in the way she describes the scenes in such intricate detail, the raw emotions that spill out unexpectantly, and the guarded pain held deeply, pulling you into every experience. Real in the way she portrays the many circumstances that could easily happen today, in just a slightly different fashion. Transparent because you could ‘read’ Mammi’s facial expressions and body language, feel Bess’s attraction to Billy, and empathize with Jonah’s pain and tragedy. Unique in how she draws out the strength of her characters in their own personal way, making them special and lovable. At least most of them!
You learn how one widow makes a new life for herself that pulls in her love of roses and the ingenuity of a young man trying to establish himself in the eyes of his father.
The underlying secret Suzanne has running through the book has you on edge, wondering if or when it will be told, and how it will affect each character if it is exposed. She weaves in the aspects of forgiveness and healing, which are essential in everyone’s life. I am sure you will find this a heartwarming story that resonates throughout your own life.
This book was provided by Donna of Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Fiction!

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One thing I can say about Suzanne Woods Fisher is that she is keeping the Amish fiction genre fresh. Confronting issues such as war, alcohol abuse and even "fun" topics like growing roses makes Suzanne's books stand out. If you're looking for a tender, gut-wrenching all around awesome story pick up one (or all) of her books. Usually one to shy away from too much Amish fiction I can safely say that I will definitely be reading more of it in the future if they are stories like this one.
The Search follows Englischer, Lainey O'Toole who inadvertently winds up in Stoney Ridge, the small town she left years ago and Amish teen, Bess Reihl who is visiting her ailing grandmother for the summer. What ensues involves grief, loss, and the affects of long kept secrets. While not as dramatic in terms of dealing with war and conflict as The Waiting or The Choice, The Search had its own unique storyline and characters. For most of the story the matriarch of the Reihl family, Bertha and her rose garden brought so many people together and came to represent the strength and tender care that must be had and given when dealing with humans AND roses alike. I think this entire series is a keeper and a must read for fans of the genre. I would also ask you to give this a chance even if you're not a fan of Amish fiction, as it just may change your mind!
*I received my complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for posting my honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully Refreshing!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Guiding Light
Location:St Louis, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was absolutely AMAZING! Once I got started, I couldn't put it down! Every time you think the story has as many curves as it can get, Mrs Fisher throws in another one! This story is engaging and very well written.
It is about an Amish community and many of the people that live within (and a few that live without) that community. It is mainly about one family, that has been "torn" apart by an accident involving a drunk driver and the death of the son's wife. When he couldn't take the pain of living there any longer, he moved himself and his little girl to another state. The son's mother, called "Mammy", requests that her grandaughter come spend the summer with her. Although nervous, she decides to go (mostly to avoid being home when her father gets her Algebra grade). Not long after arriving, she learns that Mammy is an incredible person. With in the next couple months, she also learns about teenage crushes (and their pain), death, the REAL meaning of family, Biblical sacrifice and what it means to have faith in the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

They keep getting better and better!

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stefany from ToBeThode
Location:Saint Charles, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the Lancaster County Secrets series. While I highly recommend reading the first two books because of how great they are, you could start with this one and be quite alright. Suzanne Woods Fisher is a fantastic writer with a true gift of drawing her readers into the story. The Search is no different. You will encounter several twists and turns that have you sitting on the edge of your seat. You also will be reminded of lessons that are worthy in thought. The Search brings the reality of life's challenges and forgiveness right to the reader making you walk away with your own thoughts and feelings to ponder.
I would recommend this book to anyone, especially if you love Amish and/or Christian fiction. It is a must-read and I can't wait for more in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unexpected plot

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I was drawn in from the first line, and didn't want to put the book down until I finished reading.
So many threads. My favorite type of reading.
Suzanne has the ability to show me the hearts of her characters. They become real and I care about them.
I enjoyed seeing Bess learn that her grandmother was only gruff on the outside. I really didn't want Jonah, the father, to settle for a loveless marriage. I wanted to discover Lainey's secrets.
I didn't see it coming but Suzanne tied everything up nicely and acceptably in the end. And I am eager to read her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of Characters You'd Love to Meet

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher has a gift for creating characters. "The Search" is the second of her books I’ve read, the third in the "Lancaster County Secrets" series. As I read Fisher’s stories, I just fall in love with the characters, both main and incidental. I appreciated that she even gave me a glimpse into what became of Jorie, the main character from her last book, in this one. It’s always nice to know how things turn out after the book covers close.
In "The Search," for mysterious reasons, Mammi decides she wants to spend some time with her granddaughter, Bess, whose father, Mammi’s son, moved to another community after his wife’s tragic death. With a little white lie, Mammi manipulates things in order to get her way and Bess comes for a summer visit.
At the same time, Lainey O’Toole, on her way to the cooking school she’s been carefully saving her money to attend, suffers a car break-down in the town she grew up in. She marvels at God’s way of answering prayer. She had hoped to spend some time in that town in order to set some things straight from her past—things that involve Mammi and Bess. Rather than use her school tuition to fix the car, Lainey takes a job in a bakery, determining to make the best of the situation and to spend one more summer in her home town.
From there, the book is full of surprises as these sweet, spunky, and somewhat crusty characters get to know one another, revealing each other’s secrets and moving into an unexpected future covered with God’s provision and grace.
I recommend this book—and hope Fisher plans to write more in this fun series! Thank you to the Litfuse Group for sending a complimentary copy of "The Search" for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good!

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since this was book #3, I absoutely had to read it. However it did take me quite a few pages (chapters) to really get into it. But once I was on track the story starting flowing. It is a wonderful story about true forgiveness! However, the part about the sheriff was unbelievable be it Amish or English. It was great to see Bess become so close to her Grandmother.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Just Another Amish Romance...

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
mama2sx
Location:Somewhere in the middle of Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know what you are thinking... another Amish romance? What gives? And what do the Amish know about romance anyway?
There are so many authors writing in this genre right now that it is hard to find anything new, it seems to be the same old storyline every time. However, Suzanne Woods Fisher is a master at her craft and you will not be disappointed in The Search !
The Search is Suzanne Woods Fisher's third book in her Lancaster County Secrets series and so far, my favorite.
From the very beginning you are drawn into a community that you feel like you could belong to. You want to bake cherry tarts in Mammi's kitchen and you can almost smell the fragrance from the roses wafting from Rose Hill Farm.
The characters are written in such a way that you want to know them. There is such depth and emotion - you find yourself caring about what happens in their lives.
Suzanne weaves a story that twists and turns and you never know what surprise will pop up next. Not 'just' a romance, The Search is a story of healing and forgiveness and finding where you truly belong.
Don't miss the first two books in the Lancaster County Secrets series: The Choice (Lancaster County Secrets, Book 1) and Waiting, The: A Novel. (Both available for your Kindle!)
*Fine Print: I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. The opinions expressed are all mine and I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Amish Fiction

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in this series and I've enjoyed them all. This one had me chuckling! An elderly Grandmother leading her 15 year old daughter astray! The pictures of the Sheriff chasing them still make me grin!
Lainey O'Toole is a spunky girl and so loving. She has had a rough road in life, and love how she learned to lean on the Lord. She let the Lord teach her forgiveness and how this impacts her life.
Product Description
Fifteen years ago, Lainey O'Toole made a split-second decision. She couldn't have known that her choice would impact so many. Now in her mid-twenties, she is poised to go to culinary school when her car breaks down in Stoney Ridge, the very Amish town in which her long-reaching decision was made, forcing her to face the shadowed past.
Bess Reihl is less than thrilled to be spending the summer at Rose Hill Farm with her large and intimidating grandmother, Bertha. It quickly becomes clear that she is there to work the farm--and work hard. The labor is made slightly more tolerable by the time it affords Bess to spend with the handsome hired hand, Billy Lapp. But he only has eyes for a flirty and curvaceous older girl.
Lainey's and Bess's worlds are about to collide and the secrets that come to light will shock them both.
Beautifully written, The Search is a skillfully woven story that takes readers through unexpected twists and turns on the long country road toward truth. Fans both old and new will find themselves immersed in this heartwarming--and surprising--tale of young love, forgiveness, and coming to grips with the past.
The opinions express are my own I purchased this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suzanne's Best Novel To Date!

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I do believe that this is Suzanne's best novel so far! The Lancaster County Secrets Series has always had a good dose of drama, and of course, secrets, but without a doubt, this book was my favorite of all three.
Whenever I see a character with the name Bertha, I always picture a large, perhaps bulky, woman that speaks her mind and someone that won't stand for any backtalk. Well, that was Bertha to a T in this book! There were time when she had me howling with laughter with her funny way of talking, and especially, when she tried to sound smart by using big words that she didn't remotely know what they meant. So, be forewarned...you're in for a treat with this book if only just for Bertha.
Bertha didn't steal the whole show, though. Lainey was another character that really stood out in the story. Without making things too complicated, Lainey was a relation of Bertha, and because of a car breakdown, she found herself in Stoney Ridge. At first for Lainey, it was a temporary situation that over time, became a permanent one. Throughout her life, she's held on to her own batch of secrets, and little does she or Bertha know, these secrets are about to change their lives.
Before Lainey could move forward in her life, though, she had to do a little housekeeping...namely in the form of forgiveness to a stepfather that was quite cruel to her. This forgiveness didn't come easily since Simon, her stepfather, had not changed much from the man she knew him to be when she was a child. One comment that her character made in the book stuck with me right through to the end--
"...a few years ago, I went to a church service and the pastor happened to be preaching on the difference between divine forgiveness and human forgiveness. I knew I couldn't forgive others without God's help. He said that we fail in the work of grace and love when there is too much of us and not enough of God. One I understood that and asked for God's help, I was able to forgive Simon and stop condemning him."
Wow...'nuff said.
In case you're still wondering whether or not you should give this book a chance, let me end the guessing game for you--YES!!! Go get a copy!! You will be so glad that you did, I can promise you that. :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't Put It Down

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julieann Hull
Location:Auburn, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never a disappointment with Suzanne's books. The Search is such a great mixture of humor and family drama with some romance woven through the pages, as well.
The Search has some very dynamic characters that certainly keep you on your toes. The one that stuck out the most to me is Bertha Reihl (a.k.a. Mammi). Bertha is a woman of few words, but definitely someone you listen to. She is a woman of simple faith who trusts that God will take care of everything. However there are times when she thinks it necessary to give her assistance to make something happen. To be perfectly honest, I kept thinking that this woman is the Amish version of Madea - for those of you who may be familiar with Tyler Perry's movies (definitely some differences, but similar). There were a few times I was literally laughing out loud while reading through her scenes.
There are also some great lessons to be learned while reading this book. Number one is forgiveness. Many secrets have been kept from people in this family for 15 years and as they are revealed some of the characters have to search deep into their heart and God's to find that forgiveness. Another lesson that stood out to me is the need to face reality and accept what God has for your life. We don't always know what is best, but God does and He uses people and circumstances to shape us into who He wants us to be. It is our responsibility to know Him and be willing to be changed. Romans 12:2 "And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect."
View my full review at onerainyafternoon.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Teen/Tween Read

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
deanawat
Location:www.deanawat.blogspot.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't read an Amish book for many years, mainly because I'd let life get in the way of my reading obsession for a bit, so when I had the opportunity to try out an author that's new to me, Suzanne Woods Fisher, I jumped on it. My own protestant beliefs parallel the Amish beliefs of family, order, and living a life for God in everything we do, so I enjoy learning more about their lives and beliefs. Thanks for the copy Revell Publishing but this opinion is my own.
This is really a 2-in-1 story about two young ladies from seemingly different worlds but they share a connection. I liked to see the characters themselves, and those around them, grow spiritually as they discover the secrets and connection that each have. Bess is a young teen, while Lainey is in her early 20's. This book is perfect for a young teen (or even a tween if reading is her obsession). The Search will help broaden a teen's perspective on family dynamics, forgiveness and healing, especially if the discussion questions in the back are used.
I especially liked Bertha Riehl or Bess' Mammi. I come from a Germanic heritage also and what is seen by so many to be a crusty, conniving old lady is actually the wise, loving gem in the bunch--kind of like a hearty loaf of bread with a heavy crust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3rd in Lancaster Secrets series is poignant

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Search by Suzanne Woods Fisher is the third book in the Lancaster County Secrets series which takes place among the Amish in the late 1960s-early 1970s. Fifteen-year-old Bess Riehl has been summoned home to Stoney Ridge where her grandmother Bertha lives for the summer to help her with her rose farm. At first Bess thinks will be the worst summer of her life, until she meets Bertha's farmhand Billy Lapp, and the summer starts to look up. Lainey O'Toole spent the first several years of her life in Stoney Ridge until a tragedy took away her mother, forcing her to make a terrible decision that has haunted her for fifteen years. Now she's returned to discover the consequences of her choice, but what she finds is far more than she ever expected, especially if Bertha has anything to do with it. I always enjoy reading Fisher's Amish lit novels, because they are a fresh breath of air in the crowded genre. I appreciate how she doesn't fall into the habit of many other bonnet fiction writers, of writing a phrase in Deutsch and then having the character repeat it in English for the reader's benefit. Nobody really speaks that way! But it's Fisher's characters that really raise her above the rest of the crowd, and Bertha is evidence of that talent in The Search. Bertha is nothing like the average Amish maami (grandmother). She's nearly six feet tall, almost as wide, mangles English unapologetically, and isn't above breaking the law if that's what it takes to get her way. Bertha is an utter delight to read because Fisher restrains her just enough to keep her from becoming a caricature, creating a thoroughly enjoyable character. The story is heartfelt and compelling. I look forward to the next in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Search, Lancaster County Secrets Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:January 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Amish community meets the English world in a tale that has so many turns and twists it is amazing. Secretive and sweet Lainey O'Toole ends up in the one town that forever changed her life as a child - to face the split second decision she made one night when she thought no one could see. Bertha Reihl, an elderly widow, and owner of Rose Hill Farm is out on a mission to set right the events of the past and to restore her shunned brother to the Amish community and bring a lost soul back to the flock of God. Jonah Reihl had left home after a buggy accident had killed his young wife 15 years ago with the baby he thought was his daughter. Being convinced to come back he is now forced to face the past, and is set to make a decision to open his heart to love again. Bess Reihl, the wispy yellow haired 15 year old "daughter" of Jonah is visiting Bertha ("Mammi") not knowing that in this summer she would go from child to young woman and she would be the glue and example for those around her.
This book is filled with a theme of God's grace and forgiveness - and the freedom that comes from personal forgiveness. I loved the fact that forgiveness was so central that in the midst of this story so many are faced with the choice to forgive the "unforgivable" - the one who refuses to ask for or accept forgiveness. This is the true test of one's faith - and unfortunately is the one area of forgiveness that most of us stuggle with.
Thank you Revell/Baker Publishing for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>