Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4

Abingdon Press Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4

Ever since her step-mom brought her a snow globe of the New York City skyline, Annie has wanted to visit the beautiful, big city. Since it's nearing the time of Annie's rumschpringe-the time when Amish youth experience English life to make a decision whether to live in that world or become baptized into the Amish faith-the family decides a visit is a good idea. They watch the Macy's Christmas parade, admire the decorated store windows, skate at the Rockefeller Center rink and- Annie's favorite-get a glimpse of a writer's life while visiting the New York Times building. But others aren't as thrilled with Annie's lure to the Big Apple. Aaron has long been attracted to Annie and is sure he's in love. As he watches her engage in big city life, he grows concerned that she won't want to return to their quieter life. Will Annie follow Aaron back home? Or stay and pursue her dreams? Competing for her attention, Aaron sets out to show Annie that Christmas isn't about the glitz and glamour, but about family, love, and the birth of Jesus.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Review 1 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Annie's Christmas Wish

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've loved the earlier books in the Quilts of Lancaster County series, so I enjoyed this fourth book, as well. It's like visiting with old friends, but in a new environment. Annie is all grown up, and she's ready to find her life's purpose. New York City at Christmas is magical for Annie and her family, but for Annie, it's a chance to learn more about her stepmother Jenny's life before she became Amish. Annie's father and boyfriend continually question Annie's commitment to their Amish life, and this is understandable, but they both sell Annie short. She appreciates new experiences, but she doesn't feel the need to leave her familiar Amish world. This story has an intriguing mix of Amish and modern Christmas traditions, and the juxtaposition of busy New York City and quiet Amish life adds a fun twist, as well. Annie's Christmas Wish has a lighthearted feel appropriate for the holidays, in contrast with the earlier books in the series, but is just as enjoyable to read.
With thanks to the author for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Year Round Story!

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Bontrager's formerly Englisch stepmother was a well-known writer from New York City. On a return trip after becoming Amish and marrying Annie's father, she brought Annie a snow globe of the New York City skyline. Since her mother was chosen to receive an award for her writing the family planned a trip to New York City as a family vacation. Annie's brother was unable to join them, so Annie's long-time friend, Aaron was invited to take his place. Annie had been writing since could put pencil to paper, and this trip meant the world to her. She was finally going to see firsthand what a writer's world was all about. Throughout the trip Aaron became more attracted to Annie, more than just the friendly relationship they had always shared. As events over the course of the vacation concerned Aaron that Annie might decide to stay in New York City, tensions escalated. A learning experience for the entire family, this vacation was a crossroads for Annie. How would she react if she was offered a job there? Would she follow her dream to become a big city writer, or would her Amish roots beckon her home?
I thoroughly enjoyed Annie's Christmas Wish. I admire Barbara Cameron for taking a different approach in this Amish story. The Amish take vacations to various resorts and landmarks comparable to other families, and the Bontrager'sNew York City adventures were refreshing. Seeing city life through the eyes of the Amish was captivating. The simple way of life yet strong beliefs of the Amish were brought to life numerous times throughout this story of radical differences in culture. The author is well educated in the Amish way of life, and her descriptive talent is commendable. Her characters were very well defined and engaging, and the descriptive qualities of the landmarks of both theBontrager's farm and the bright lights of big city were illustrative and expressive. This book is far from just a Christmas story. I recommend reading it any time of year.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Abingdon Press and the author in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good Christmas read

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK
I love that Barbara Cameron wrote a 4th book in the Quilts of Lancaster County, and it’s a Christmas book too! I really did enjoy the trip back to the little Amish community with the Bontrager family. And this time it is Annie, and her dream of writing and visiting New York, a dream she has had since her mom, Jenny brought her a snow globe back from New York when Annie was a little girl. But Annie’s beau Aaron does’t care of the idea because he is afraid of losing Annie to the Big city!
Following the Bontrager family to NYC was rather fun, and especially since they were an Amish family. But I like the fact that they are Amish, but since Jenny was a big name reporter in the Englisch world, the family is exposed to a lot of the Englisch ways. And it was so heartwarming that Matthew and Jenny has such a strong relationship that even the lights and sounds, and everything NYC has to offer, it doesn’t faze their relationship. All in all, this is a great story that I really enjoyed reading. If you enjoy Amish fiction, you will love this one. And don’t forget to check out the first three books in The Quilts of Lancaster County Series.
I received this book from the publisher Abingdon Press to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had thought that A Time for Peace was going to be the last book in this series but I was wrong. In this book we see Annie as a young woman who wants to follow in Jenny’s footsteps and be a writer. She has wanted to go to New York City ever since her stepmom bought her a snow globe from there. Now with Jenny getting an award her dream is about to come true. But could her love for the big apple pull her away from her community?
I have really liked this series so far and was excited to see another book had been written.
What I liked: It was neat to see Matt and Jenny as older parents now. I also liked Annie. She does not quite fit the Amish mold with her love for writing and adventure yet she loves her family and community enough to stay rooted which made for a fun story. Aaron was an okay love interest. He was worried that Annie was going to want to stay in New York and not return home. Annie was not sure what she felt for Aaron so it was interesting to see how that part of the story played out.
What I did not like: As interesting as the love story was it was not that great. Aaron and Annie just did not seem to have a good spark between them and it just felt kind of lukewarm. I also found it a little unbelievable that they watched Christmas movies at the hotel. Vacation or not I would think that would have been heavily frowned upon no matter that Jenny had not always been Amish.
Over all this was an enjoyable book and more about Annie fulfilling a dream then it was about her finding love which is fine just a little disappointing. I strongly recommend this series. To better understand this book you really need to read the three books before it. Add them to your reading list today!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Christmas Time In The City! (4.5 stars)

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Annie's Christmas Wish, the reader visualizes the bustling city of New York through a vacationing Amish family's eyes...the diverse shops and restaurants, beautifully lit holiday decor, the Rockefeller Center skating rink, the Empire State Building, and plenty of glistening snow!
Ever since Annie was a child and received a snow globe of New York City from her stepmother, Jenny, she has dreamed of going there. Annie is filled with a vivid imagination and dreams of being a writer like her step-mom and wishes to visit the New York Times building. Jenny is to receive a prestigious award for her writing and the whole family goes with her to New York, accompanied by Annie's boyfriend, Aaron. Awed by the sights and sounds of a magical Christmas in New York, Annie's excitement is marred only by the fact that her father and Aaron are afraid she will stay in the city and no longer be content to live in her Amish community of Paradise. And then Annie receives two tempting offers that could forever change her destiny...which one will she accept?
Barbara Cameron is such a great storyteller that although I have never been to New York, I feel as though I have just visited there! Her descriptive imagery will finely tune all of your five senses and some tough issues such as a homeless, pregnant teenager, and the plight of the homeless in rescue missions were touched on--all with compassion and finesse. I feel as though her portrayal of the Amish was very realistic (although this sect didn't seem to be as strict as some) and her characters very endearing. So put another log on the fire, grab a cup of hot chocolate...and snuggle up with this magical, heartwarming holiday novel! It's Christmas time in the city!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Different Setting Makes an Interesting Change!

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
his is the fourth in Barbara's "Quilts of Lancaster Series' and it was certainly no surprise or disappointment! This book is another winner! The author takes the Amish out of the secure, peaceful community in which they live, travelling to... of all places!! New York City!! Totally different setting from most of the Amish genre. If you enjoy reading Amish books but like a change from the norm, try this one!
Every since her stepmother, Jenny purchased a snow globe of the New York City skyline, Annie has had the greatest desire to visit this busy, hustling, bustling place. Annie dreams of being a writer, just like Jenny, knowing that it will not happen in her own community! She wants to see the New York Times building and see how she would feel to live in this exciting town.
Jenny's purpose in visiting her former place of employment, is to receive an award for her writing. As unlikely as it seems for an Amish family, set in its ways, they decide to go with her on a vacation. Along with Annie's friend, Aaron, they proceed to do the typical tourist sightseeing, the store windows, and skate at Rockefeller Center rink. This is so totally foreign to this conservative people. The many feelings they experience, fear, nervousness, threats, as well as excitement is so well developed in each unique character that you feel, with them. Your heart breaks for some of the disappointments and fears of the individuals. Each becomes a close friend, near to your heart. The character development is what always makes for a good read for me. I must be able to identify with at least one of the characters and certainly had no difficulty in doing this in this book!
Aaron watches Annie's excitement and enthusiasm, with concern and fear. What if Annie won't return to the quieter life?? His love for her could be the breaking point!! If she stays to work in New York City, all of his plans for their future will dissolve. An unexpected offer that Annie receives threatens to change ALL of their lives forever!!
Will Annie be able to accept God's plan for her life?? Will the thrill and excitement destroy a romance??
Definitely a book to put on your Christmas reading list!!
I enjoyed every minute and regretted the moment when the story came to an end.
This book was supplied by the author and Abingdon Press Fiction, in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A PERFECT CHRISTMAS STORY!

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amish fiction is one of my favorite reads, and I get especially excited when I see one like this that has a different story line. This is the perfect book for a comfy Christmas read (or anytime!).
Annie has always dreamed of being a writer, just like her stepmother. She lost her mother at a young age, and when her father remarried. Jenny, his new wife was a famous news correspondent in New York City before she married Annie’s dad and became Amish. The mother, daughter bond is as strong as if not stronger than any biological one.
Not only is Annie passionate about being Amish and being a writer, her other dream is to visit New York where her mother worked. Having been raised Amish she is very curious to know about Jenny’s life before coming to be a part of their family.
It looks like that dream is going to come true when Jenny receives an invitation to be honored for her past media work for children in worn torn countries. The whole family makes plans to attend, including Annie’s older and younger brother. Jenny shared many plans to show her family her old home before she joined the family: tourist sites, the television studio where she worked, the New York Times and more!
Annie was so focused on her writing career she never gave much thought to marriage and was shocked to realize Aaron Beiler was interested in her in that way. Her oldest brother is injured in an accident and the trip is almost canceled, but her grandmother saves the day by offering to stay with him. Aaron is invited to take his place. Annie sees it as an opportunity for them to get to know each other better. His fear that she might want to stay in New York ultimately causes tension between the two of them, possibly ending the romance.
The trip was everything Annie dreamed of and a few shocking surprises more. Opportunities arrive she could only dream of, but her heart is torn as to the right decision to make.
This story gave me those warm fuzzy feelings. The love and closeness being Annie’s parents and her family was so refreshing. The intimacy and understanding in Annie’s and Jenny’s interactions showed a bond every girl dreams of having with her mother. It was intriguing to see such a worldly place as New York through the eyes of the Amish, and also the experience of Jenny revisiting her old life after becoming Amish. I admired Jenny with how she was able to go back to her old life yet not be intimidated or feel out of place as an Amish woman. Being a part of their visits to tourist attractions was fun! It was especially meaningful to me the way Ms. Cameron brought so many biblical truths and applications into the character’s experiences. A must read! This is the first book of Ms. Cameron’s I have read but am definitely read the rest in this series!
I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Christmas Story

Date:October 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara Cameron in her new book, “Annie’s Christmas Wish” Book Four in the Quilts Of Lancaster County series published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Annie Bontrager.
From the back cover: Will New York City lure Annie away from her home…and the possibility of love?
Ever since her stepmother brought her a snow globe of the New York City skyline, Annie has wanted to visit and see the city. Annie dreams of being a writer like Jenny, she wants to see the New York Times building and see what it’s like to live in this exciting city.
When Jenny is set to receive an award in the city, the family decides a visit is a good idea. Along with Annie’s friend, Aaron, they watch the Macy’s Christmas parade, admire the decorated store windows and skate at the Rockefeller Center rink. Aaron watches Annie’s excitement, concerned that the woman he loves won’t return to their quieter life, especially after an unexpected offer threatens to change all of their lives forever.
As an ex-New Yorker I can say from experience that there is nothing like Christmas in New York. There is so much to see and do normally but it is highly escalated at Christmastime. Annie and her whole family are going to visit New York for the first time because her step mother is going to receive an award. Aaron, Annie’s long time friend who is in love with her, is afraid that she might not come back and is also there for the visit. As Annie gets caught up in the excitement of the trip Aaron works to refocus her attention on what is the true meaning of Christmas. It is into this environment that Ms. Cameron manages to weave a romance that just captivates you. She makes you care for all the characters and their journey. This is also just plain fun and exciting as well. If you want to read a genuine story about Christmas then this is the book for you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy fun read

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Myname22
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book I love reading about Annie all grown up. I really enjoyed how Barbara Cameron describes New York it makes me want to go there. Seeing Annie how much she looked up, loves here mom and wants to know more about her just makes you feel good.The the story between Annie and Aaron just warms your heart. This is the 4th book in this series, and After reading them all you fall in love with this family. I hope she writes about Joshua the brother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gets to the true heart of the season!

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
shhhhmommysreading
Location:AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grab a cup of peppermint tea, snuggle under a comfy blanket, and prepare to be transported to Amish country for Christmastime in Annie’s Christmas Wish. This story is the fourth in the Quilts of Lancaster County series, but reads well by itself, with enough background knowledge that you will feel as though you know the Bontrager family pretty quickly. If you are looking for a novel that cuts through the production that has become Christmas, and gets to the heart of the season, this is the book for you.
Miss Cameron’s writing comes alive with the warmth and love of an Amish family that steps out of their everyday life, and travels to New York for a vacation before Christmas. Readers are taken around the city, experiencing everything through the eyes of a family that, for most members, have never seen anything like a big city Christmas. Annie, the title character, is easy to identify with as she struggles with juggling her dreams with the love she has for her family, and a possible future with a childhood friend, who might just be something more.
This novel left me feeling hopeful, warm, and thankful. It is a good, clean story about people who understand what is truly important, and it sets a good example that I wish to strive for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christmas addition to this series!

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not often you find a great Christmas novel with a compelling and lasting message regarding extended family, but I think Barbara Cameron has managed to do just that with Annie's Christmas Wish, book 4 in her Quilts of Lancaster County Series. This is perfect for those that enjoy Amish fiction or even a great contemporary romance because that is exactly the blend that Barbara has managed to create.
Annie Bontrager knows that she desires to become a writer at some point in her life. She carries around a notebook so that she can capture whatever thoughts or ideas come to her wherever she might be like all great writers do. She carries that inspiration from being around her step mother Jenny who was a famous newspaper reporter when she used to live in New York City. Jenny was raised English and thus was never really subject to the terms one usually finds in an Amish community. However when a bomb exploded while covering a story on children who were living in a war zone, she found comfort and love recovering in the Amish community of Paradise, Pennsylvania under her grandmother's care. It was there she discovered healing and love in the being reunited with David, Annie's father who was born Amish but decided not to join the church and in a way incorporated the love of both English and Amish upbringing in the children. Annie's mother died when she was just a child and had known no other mother but Jenny. To her, she was as real as a mother could be.
The family is on the brink of making a trip to New York City for vacation and Jenny hopes to show Annie not only the major tourist sites but also take her on a tour to her old office as well as to the New York Times, something Annie has only dreamed about doing for as long as she can remember. All she knows is that the desire to write is just as strong in her blood as it was for her mother and even though she knows at some point she might find love, she isn't the least bit interested right now.
Yet Aaron Beiler who has grown up with Annie as a close childhood friend has been making plans for what he believes will be his future with Annie working as a carpenter and furniture maker in town. Now if only he can convince Annie that his feelings go beyond that of just her friend and into something more. With the trip to New York coming up however, Aaron fears that Annie's love for writing might take her someplace she may never want to return. He just want's a wife that will take care of the home and any future children they might have and leave making a living up to him. What if Annie goes to New York and decides to never return? Is there anything he can do to change her mind?
I received Annie's Christmas Wish by Barbara Cameron compliments of Abingdon Press for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are mind alone. This is such an incredible book and one of the few that really reach to the heart of what really makes a family even though in this case it is a blended one. Annie sees the relationship with Jenny as that of what a mother/daughter relationship is as well as one with Jenny as her friend as well. Jenny never tries to replace Annie's birth mother but gives her the room and the time to accept her as she is in her role as a mother and wife in their family. It also shows how difficult our choices can be when it comes to the true desires of our hearts, in this case with Annie's love of writing and how she will have to make a choice that will forever change the relationship in her family and possibly her community as well. I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and think this makes the perfect Christmas addition to The Quilts of Lancaster County series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Annie's Story is a Sweet One

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How wonderful to read the continuing story of the Bontrager family! In this, the fourth book in the Quilts of Lancaster County series, we follow Annie and her family as they take a trip to New York City. Annie's Christmas Wish could be read as a stand alone book, however, I believe the reader would benefit greatly from reading the entire series. I have a real fondness for this series...A Time to Love, the first book in the series, was the very first Amish book I ever read! It introduced me to the Amish in a story that will forever be one of my favorites.
In Annie's Christmas Wish, Annie has grown into a delightful young woman. She loves her family and her Amish life, however, she would like to continue to grow her writing skills and perhaps find a way to put them to good use, as her stepmother does.
Aaron is in love with Annie and wishes to make her his wife. At first, Annie is totally taken by surprise by this shift in their relationship. She has only ever viewed Aaron as a friend. It is sweet to watch her feelings grow for him.
When the family and Aaron head for New York City to visit and support Annie's stepmother as she receives an award related to the work she has done (she wasn't always Amish), will the lure of the big city and opportunities that arise bring Annie and Aaron closer or put a rift in their developing relationship? Their relationship is still so new and miscommunications about Annie's hopes and desires threaten to bring the love that has begun to build between them crashing to the ground.
I recommend this book to fans of romance and of the Amish genre. I recommend the entire series, as well. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and publisher in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A NICE CHRISTMAS STORY TO READ.....

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Annie was dreaming of New York since the time her step mother brought her a NY snow globe. She was thrilled to find out Jenny her step mother was being honored for her work helping children. That meant the family would travel to New York. Jenny came into Annie’s life when Annie’s mother passed away. Jenny was like a true mother to her. They also both enjoy writing and have many things in common. Aaron was always a friend to Annie, but as they got older feelings started to arise and they both felt like there could be more to their friendship.
I was looking for a nice Christmas story to read, and I found one. The book was based in the Amish community. It had words used by the Amish, but they are very close to English and not hard to understand. It was also helpful that the author added a glossary at the end of the book. I enjoyed learning about the Amish community. The author tells us that the Amish young adults court (date) and then when they are about to be married then they notify the parents. Very different from how it is done in our society. A nice read about friendship and understanding, and ultimately love. I started with book 4 with no trouble. I would love to go back now and read the whole series.
Rating: 4
Heat Rating:Sweet
Reviewed By: Rae
Courtesy Of My Book Addiction And More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Read!

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was so good to reunite with Jenny and Matthew Bontrager again. I don’t think I will ever tire of reading about their life together. They both are important to this story but Annie, their daughter, takes center stage.
Annie wants to visit New York City. The desire began when one year for Christmas her Mom, Jenny, gave her a snow globe of the skyscrapers. Watching the snow gently float down over the city fascinated her. How wonderful it would be to see where her Mom use to work and live before she converted to Amish.
Even though Jenny isn’t Annie’s biological mother, they share a close bond and a love of writing stories.
Aaron, a friend of Annie’s, has deep feelings for her but he knows she doesn’t share the same feelings he has. He knows that Annie is going on a visit to New York City and he jumps at the chance when he is asked to go along. He fears he will lose Annie to the big city.
This storyline captured me right from the beginning. I am a huge fan of author Barbara Cameron and I haven’t read a book of hers that I haven’t loved. She keeps us guessing right to the very end on some important issues in this book.
I had so much fun in New York City but wait, I didn’t leave my living room. Each scene described was alive and colorful. I love it when a book does this for me.
The lesson that I received from this book is, we can’t control every situation in life. We must trust God to know what is best.
I gave this book 5 stars, that’s how much I loved it. You could definitely read this book as a stand alone but I highly recommend reading the previous books in this series first, A Time to Love, A Time to Heal, and A Time for Peace.
I wish to thank Barbara Cameron and Abingdon Press for giving me a copy to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Annie's Christmas Wish, Quilts of Lancaster County Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

magical New York trip

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara Cameron has created a lovely picture of an Amish Christmas in Annie's Christmas Wish, Book #4 in her Quilts of Lancaster County series. The Amish place great value on family, love, and Jesus' birth and this is reflected in every aspect of this book. I have never been to New York either, so it was wonderful to view it through Annie's eyes. I actually felt as though I was actually there too. Seeing the attractions of New York through the eyes of an Amish young lady and her family was almost as good as going there myself. It made me want to visit New York!
Readers will delight in following Annie as she has now grown from a young girl who was unable to speak with ease to an articulate, attractive young woman. I loved seeing Jenny and all the rest of the family again too.
I received a free pdf version of this book from netgalley and the publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.