Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2

Skylar Hoyt may have vowed to change her partying ways, but it's not so easy to change her friends. Even though the old Skylar is gone, she's still not sure who this new Skylar really is. Add to that two parents battling for her loyalty, a younger sister struggling with a crisis pregnancy, and a new boyfriend wishing for more of her time, and Skylar feels like she can't win. After all, how do you choose favorites among the people you love most?
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Review 1 for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is Changing really the Best Option ?

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As we read in Book #1 after an incident at a party that nearly left Skylar raped and then when she woke up , she was so hung over and couldn't remember it the next day. She decided that she was going to change her life for the best, she was going to re-invent herself . Get a closer relationship with God , stop partying . As we read in Book #1 it took it's toll and Skylar ended up losing everything she had. In Book #2 Out with the In-Crowd , we read as Skylar is dating Connor - a good christian guy , her sister Abbie's pregnancy is going well and she is dating Chris - Connor's little brother. Though it seems that this is all about to fall apart , as Skylar's ex-best friend Jodie who also happens to be Connor's ex wants him back and will do everything in her power to make that happen. Will the jealously bug get the better of Skylar and tear the only good thing on her life apart ? Her parents are arguing and now her mother is moving out and to Hawaii . Abbie is stuck trying to decide what the right thing for the baby is , should she keep it or adopt it ? It seems that Skylar's life is not only falling apart at school but also in the home. Who knew Changing was going to be this hard ? When the going gets tough , will Skylar take the easy route and revert back to her old ways when she is offered an invite to a kegger or will she turn her problems to God and ask him for his help ? Find out what path Skylar Holt will take in Out with the In-Crowd, Book #2 of Th re-invention of Skylar Holt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Skylar is back for her final semester of high school and things are awkward. She'd thought that committing her life to God would make life easier, but everything is so much harder. For one, is she really supposed to be nice to her ex-friends? Especially the one who is clearly trying to steal her boyfriend? And how can she make time for that boyfriend when she has to take care of her pregnant little sister? You'd think her parents would help, but they are in the middle of a major separation/continuing meltdown. How does a girl cope?Ack! I wanted to go straight to book three but it's not out yet! I hurt for Skylar as she went through all these troubles. This is a teen soap opera in book form. I love it, but it's so painful! I just want everything to be okay for poor Skylar, but her life is all mixed up. I liked seeing her do some hard things at the end of the book. She's a strong main character and very likable. I can't wait until book three is out so that I can see what happens to Skylar Hoyt. Fun read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Skylar is going through a lot right now. Her parents cant seem to decide if they are together or not, her fifteen-year-old sister is pregnant (and not dealing with anything), her boyfriend seems just a little too friendly with his ex (not to mention that she is also Skylars ex-best-friend), and on top of all that she cant seem to decide what she wants to do with her life. Wouldnt you be stressed?This is a great book and I love that this series is an ongoing story. Each storyline blends into the next book so you know that the best is yet to come. It isnt a cliff-hanger ending, but it certainly shows that Skylar and the other characters still have some changes to make, and some growing to do. Im really looking forward to the next book in this series and seeing how everything ends up with Skylar!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikki Studebaker Barcus
"Why do I do what I don't want to do?" That is a question we all ask ourselves. Skylar Hoyt is no exception. She wants to be the young woman God calls her to be, but life just has a way of messing up her plans. Why is reinventing yourself such a difficult task? Stephanie Morrill captures all the ups and downs of life as a teenager--the boy troubles, the parent problems, the identity issues. She does a wonderful job of showing believable characters in difficult situations. While we root for Skylar to catch a break, we understand her trials and her reactions to them. Highly recommended for teenaged girls looking for a book to encourage their faith and challenge their hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erica Vetsch
Wonderful! This book and this series are so realistic, so true to life. I couldn't stop reading it once I picked it up. One of the things I love about this book is that the characters aren't perfect. People make mistakes, sometimes with far-reaching consequences. Not only does Stephanie offer a good read, she offers life-lessons for teens in a way they can't help but respond to. This book is making the rounds of my church's youth group now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Out with the In Crowd was excellent. I liked it even better than the first book, and I definitely recommend reading them in order to get the full effect. I may not have liked Skylar had I started with the second book. However, I understood her well by the time I read this second novel in the series so it worked for me. The plotting, inner dialog, and characterization were incredibly realistic and totally reminded me of my highschool days with the on and off relationships and the worries teens had. And the petty things girls and guys did like participating in activities just to be around certain people you liked - drove me nuts! (But did that myself a time or two). There was so much good stuff that could be gleaned from this story. I loved the portrayal of the sister's pregnancy and the undecidedness that often occurs with girls who are so young. Skylar did a great job trying to be there for her family while suffering from a bit of self-absorption herself. But hey, she was a teenager and a senior trying to figure out her own path to take after graduation. I really appreciated how this story showed that running away from your problems (or denying them) solves nothing, and in fact, often makes things worse. I am so glad I'm done with high school and have been for many years. I just wish they'd had realistic books like this when I was a teen because this story includes Christian themes and attitudes and the need for a personal relationship with Christ that simply didn't exist when I was young. I am really looking forward to the third book in this series. This is making my best fiction of 2010 list! I must have a thing for books published by Revell/Baker. LOL!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn Rush
Stephanie Morrill hits another one out of the ballpark with "Out with the In Crowd." Skylar Hoyt is a fantastic character. Many teens face a lot of what Skylar goes through, and Stephanie paints a compelling picture of it all. Her writing is so smooth, and each chapter left me hanging enough to want to read more and more.Several surprises caught me off guard. Some I liked, some I didn't, but all of them were realistic and well plotted, that's for sure. I can't wait to see where Stephanie Morrill takes Skylar in the next book, but I'm sure it'll be worth the wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Out with the In Crowd, Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
Skylar isn't the same girl she used to be. She wants to be a good daughter, a good sister, a good girlfriend . . . but she isn't so sure she even knows who she is.OUT WITH THE IN CROWD is way more than a sequel--this is a book that dives into the nitty-gritty of a young woman's heart, both the noble goals and the ugly hang-ons of her former self. It doesn't just pull you in--it connects you with the Skylar in you.Stephanie Morrill is a talented new voice who has really outdone herself with this new book. Witty, honest, and soul-wrenching, OUT WITH THE IN CROWD won't let you go once you turn the first page.The story will update anyone who hasn't read the first book in the series, but since it's a continuation of Skylar's story, I do recommend getting your hands on ME, JUST DIFFERENT first so you can enjoy the full rediscovery of our once-popular friend. And you'll be on pins and needles for the final book in The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt trilogy, SO OVER IT, that hits shelves this summer.These are the perfect books for the teens in your life, but fair warning--you adults out there might just get caught up in it too. You'll be amazed at how quickly she drags you back to the drama of high school! The wit is hilarious. The plot is gripping. The characters are so honest it makes you want to take a closer look at yourself. Young Adult doesn't get any better than this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.