Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1

Revell Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1

Readers often think of Job sitting on the ash heap, his life in shambles. But how did he get there? What was Job's life like before tragedy struck? What did he think as his world came crashing down around him? And what was life like after God restored his wealth, health, and family?

Through painstaking research and a writer's creative mind, Mesu Andrews weaves an emotional and stirring account of this well-known story told through the eyes of the women who loved him. Drawing together the account of Job with those of Esau's tribe and Jacob's daughter Dinah, Love Amid the Ashes breathes life, romance, and passion into the classic biblical story of suffering and steadfast faith.

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Review 1 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Amid The Ashes

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Amid The Ashes was a wonderful story. It is my first book by this author and I am really impressed. I have always loved the story of Job so this was really a joy for me to read his story in a novel version. I really liked that she brought Job's wife character more alive because the bible does not give us much details about her except the fact that she told him to curse God and die. I was really excited to meet Dinah Jacob's daughter in this book because again not much is said about her in the bible after her brothers bloodshed. I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series. I highly recommend this story to other readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mesu Andrews Has a New Fan

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A whirlwind of historical fact, drama, love, and God's word, are all woven together to make two remarkable Biblical characters come to life. The details of family life in an era when women were treated as chattel is so rich and vibrant, you sympathize with the women, and burn over the arrogance of some of the men. And the picture of Job's suffering is so vivid, that it would be impossible to view the book of Job the same way again. And through it all, you see God's hand overseeing and directing, even through the failures of men.
If there was a higher rating for historical fiction, I would give it. Mesu Andrews has a new fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I couldn't put the book down!

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
BeckaLynn
Location:Elkhart, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always loved Historical Fiction & have been intrigued by Job's story due to my own history of illness. I found this book so interesting & easy to read that I finished it in one day! My mind is still lingering on the complexities and thought-provoking concepts. The author did a great job explaining how God's Truth is constant, but historical study & imagination can weave parts of stories the Bible does not reveal. I can't wait to read more from this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good book!

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paula Jean
Location:Franklinville, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down! I studied the book of Job in the Bible so I knew what he was going through to a certain extent, but this book topped it off. I could see and feel what he went through. A really good book to read and follow in the Bible also. Also, don't forget to read the very end, the author tells where she found some of the information and that was very interesting too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brings the Bible to life

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
cheryl7children
Location:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first I was very confused with all of the names that were introduced and found it difficult to keep them straight. It did get easier, but some of the names/characters were hard to remember. That being said, it was a really good book. I found that it made me want to read the story of Job again in the Bible to remember what exactly was fact vs fiction. After losing a child of my own I found it interesting to read how this author perceived just how Job and his wife handled it. I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read and be encouraged!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
IVLeague
Location:Shiloh, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Following the death of her grandfather Isaac Dinah, daughter of Jacob, is betrothed to the son of Job. In her father’s house Dinah has worn the cloak of shame for her disgrace at the hands of Prince Shechem. Her future father-in-law, Job, prepares to take her home to Uz where she will marry his son Ennon. On the journey Job offers an atoning sacrifice to El Shaddai on her behalf, cleansing her of her disgrace. Afterward, he tenderly shepherds Dinah and her servant Nogahla (who at times made me laugh out loud), in the ways of the Most High. Upon their arrival in Uz a number of calamities befall Job and his household. A beautiful story of struggle, heart ache, and restoration follow.
I usually choose books to read that friends have read and suggested but I chose this book based on the reviews posted on a few websites. In three days I completed the book, a minor miracle for a mother of two small children, but to me this book was literally a page turner from the beginning. As you read the characters jump off the pages. Author, Mesu Andrews, did an incredible job at developing depth in all of the characters. When the characters wept then I felt a tug on my heart-strings and when they were grieved I was grieved for them.
Are you discouraged by an unbelieving spouse? Do you feel God has forgotten you or turned his back on your struggles? Are you holding on to guilt/shame for some actions or indiscretions in your past? Read and be encouraged!
Don’t set the book down without reading the Author’s Note at the back of the book. I don’t believe that I will ever read from the book of Job in the same way. I find biblical fiction intriguing in the way that it builds on the sometime sparse details reveled to us in scripture. In the Author’s Note Andrews describes how she has woven the truths of scripture into this delightful fictional piece. I hope that it prompts you to explore the truth for yourself.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gives understanding of Job's dilemna.

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gloria Schilling
Location:Wadsworth, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story made Job come to life for me. I appreciated the interweaving of the lines of Jacob and Esau into the story. Job and his predicament became real--like I was actually present.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Stirring Novel of Redemption and Faithfulness

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie Dobson
Love Amid the Ashes is a beautifully written account of Job’s faithfulness and Dinah’s redemption. Mesu Andrews’ passion for storytelling and Scripture shines throughout this novel. Not only did I enjoy reading the rich history and details, the story reawakened my desire to dig deeper into the lives of the Old Testament’s seemingly familiar characters. Congrats to Mesu for a stirring debut!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God always shows great expectations

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirley Bartlett
Location:Reddsport, Or.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful book This shows love endurs all obsticles. Nothing is to great or to big that God can't help you through every problem. Job shows us that as terrible as things get if you fully trust god you will get through it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrsbakery
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this amazing book and bought this copy to give as a gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exquisite book!

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First: GORGEOUS cover!! Next, wow! I learned so much from this wonderful author, from her dedication page through every one afterward. Thank you for this masterful fictionalized version of Job, Dinah, and their contemporaries. The book began with a timeline showing lineages from Abraham on. The Jacob/Esau animosity and how these things (may have) played out were fabulous. Suddenly, Job became a man I could know and love. His loss, his faith, his suffering, his frustration....His desperate, yet tenacious love for God. Achingly realistically written. Dinah's story took on a whole new facet. I won't look at these people the same way after reading this book. They were people, not just stories. Reading this gave me a fresh view of Scripture. Just outstanding. Highly, highly recommend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ ON BIBLICAL CHARACTERS JOB & DINAH!!

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
LOVE AMID THE ASHES by Mesu Andrews is an amazing,inspirational biblical fiction about Job and Dinah. It is well written with details,scriptures,and depth. The characters are enduring,courageous,steadfast,suffer and romance. This story will bring the biblical story of Job,his suffering,his faith,his journey,loss,and weaves this story of the old testament to life. This story will weave beauty,steadfast faith,suffering and love amid the ashes together with vivid details.Job's tale is not only one of tragedy,but it is the story of his faith,and the beauty of Dinah.The author has threaded the story with explanations of Job's faithfulness to his God,reveals how suffering plays out in our life,and his interaction with Dinah.This story has a powerful plot with romance,passion,biblical truth,and will have you in tears. This is truly an epic love story with forgiveness,love, suffering,restoration and staying steadfast with your faith.If you enjoy seeing biblical characters of the bible come to life,than this definitely a story to read.While this is this author's debut novel,I can see others forthcoming.This is an author to be on the watch for in the future.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Revell,a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT read!

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dawn
Location:Ashland, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a GREAT read! I can't wait till the next book comes out!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating biblical fiction

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynn McCallum
Location:Stoney Creek, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Amid the Ashes is the debut novel of Mesu Andrews. From the beginning, it is obvious that Mesu has steeped herself in the study of the biblical text, and has done careful research in order to bring a fresh perspective on the sufferings of Job.
At first, I wondered about a love story which takes place in the midst of Job's incredible pain and suffering. But Mesu has done justice to this story, parts of which are well-known, and others, little known. She has carefully woven together a story from details in the Bible, together with possible scenarios. Readers will be wanting to re-read the Book of Job as well as the relevant chapters from Genesis to see how the storyline flows.
Love Amid the Ashes is a story for all time, as it deals with the ageless themes of forgiveness, shame, love and romance, family dynamics, and suffering. Faith shines brilliantly through words and actions. Characters come to learn of El Shaddai, and this knowledge deepens throughout the story. As the reader, I was caught up in the dilemmas of the characters, and felt their mounting tension. I found the hope-filled ending satisfying.
Mesu adds the story of the hoopoe bird, now Israel's national bird, to tie the story line together. She also includes the relevant biblical text at the beginning of each chapter. Author's notes explain how the book came to be written.
This is one of the first historical fiction books set in biblical times which I have read. I am very impressed with this debut novel, and look forward to what is yet to come from Mesu Andrews!
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Mesu Andrews is a speaker who has devoted herself to passionate and intense study of Scripture. Harnessing her deep understanding and love for God's Word. Andrews brings the biblical world alive for her readers. She lives in Washington.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definately a book to recommend!

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I was up until the wee hours of the night reading this book. It was very well done and i will definately look for more books from this author. Thank you for literature that bring us into God's word and gives a perspective of what life would have been like during these times.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good biblical historical fiction!

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nellie
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This well-researched book certainly carries the reader along on a fascinating journey and gives interesting perspective to this well-known, powerful true story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:April 1, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, this book certainly captured my emotions! I cried so often while reading this book. It is a very touching story. (I even got really mad at Job’s friends/family when they came to see him. I was truly angry at them! LOL) The author did an amazing job of portraying the time period, family squabbles, and inner battles that the characters faced. The romance was sweet and I loved how everything turned out! The ending was just wonderful. It was all very well done. Also, this book has definitely aroused my curiosity to read more about these characters in the Bible! In my opinion, this is a great romantic Biblical fiction novel.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hard to put down!

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamm
Location:Portland, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though reading a book on the sufferings of Job didn't initially appeal to me, I'm so glad that I picked this book up and read it. Mesu did her research well, and I loved how she peeked around the pages of Scripture and gave a possible context for the book of Job. She placed Job in the time period of the patriarchs and in doing so, made Job's story come alive. I don't think I will ever read the book of Job the same way again. I loved the characters she developed and the relationships between the characters. The hope displayed in this book was beautiful. I will look forward to reading more books by Mesu Andrews!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwrenching Yet Hopeful

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was thankful to receive a review copy of a story many people quote from the bible and look to when they are suffering. The story of Job is a powerful one. Meus Andrews states in the author notes how she came up for the premise of her book Love Amid the Ashes! She says, “I hope you can see (through my extensive research) that biblical fiction is so much more than a fanciful imagining of how things might have been. It is truly my heart cry to know how biblical characters experienced the God I know today!”
Having read this gripping, heart wrenching book I can say Mesu has accomplished her goal. Not only did she show how biblical characters experienced God in their lives but she got up-close and very personal in showing the inner turmoil every character had endured watching Job suffer. No matter what came Job’s way he stood faithful to not curse God like his friends and family wanted him to but was a witness to the love he had for God no matter what happened in his life.
Love Amid the Ashes is not only about Job, and the impact he had on his community, family, friends and the world around him. But it’s also about Dinah, the only daughter of Jacob, who was violated by King Shechem. Her brothers avenged this act by killing the king and did some horrible things to the people that lived in the kingdom before they murdered them.
Dinah isn’t mentioned in the Old Testament much so the author had to dig deep to uncover facts she could use to make her story work. Through extensive research Mesu found a way for Dinah to cross paths with Job, a wise man and respected man in his community, who was highly favored by God, and who showed the love of God to everyone he came in contact with.
Soon after Dinah and Job’s paths cross calamity befalls Job. One messenger after the other reports horrific news to Job, first the report that his children are dead, then a report that all his live stock are slain and then to hear that his grandchildren are killed. Soon after that Job’s house burns down to the ground. Job is left homeless and penniless. His wife is used to living the good life and agonizes over their new situation even more so when Job gets deathly sick. She is willing to do almost anything to get money in the house and live the life she is accustomed to.
We read in scripture of how everything was taken away from Job and then later given back more than he had in the first place without all the drama associated with this horrendous situation. The author reveals the heartache and struggle of a man losing his children (the loves of his life), everything he owned and his status in his community.
This author not only shows Job’s terrible situation but on the flip side she discloses Job’s hope and faith in God. Mesu brings scripture alive as she gives the reader a peek into what life might have been for Job back then. This Mesu Andrews pens an amazing story of Job’s authenticity, his passion, love for God and family and how he suffered well. He stayed faithful even when his body was in horrific pain. This story brings this story to life in a real way. You’ll never think of the book of Job in the same way.
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love Amid the Ashes, Treasures of His Love Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exceptional Debut Novel

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Having been a fan of Biblical fiction for many years now, I was very intrigued to read a story about the life of Job. Job's story in the Bible is not one that I've read very many times because frankly, it's a little sad and depressing, even though it does end well. I have to say that the fictional retelling of Job's story in Love Amid the Ashes really has me wanting to crack open this book in my Bible to get a better appreciation of Job's trials.
I really appreciated the genealogy flow chart at the beginning of the book because without it, I don't know if I'd have ever been able to keep all the characters straight! There are a LOT of characters mentioned at the very beginning of the story, and I admit that I was confused a number of times. However, had all of those characters not been introduced, I wouldn't have gotten a full picture of the people involved in Job's life.
I was also very grateful for the author's note at the end of the book explaining how she developed the story. I never would've thought of Jacob's daughter, Dinah, as being a part of Job's life at all, but thanks to the enormous research done by Ms. Andrews, it very likely may have been a reality. Because of that, I doubt I will ever look at Job's story the same way again.
I highly recommend Love Amid the Ashes for those who enjoy Biblical fiction. Ms. Andrews has challenged my thinking, and has encouraged me to thoroughly re-read the story of Job. I can't wait to see what she has planned for her next novel because as a debut author, she's hit the ball out of the park with Love Amid the Ashes! My rating is 4 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>