Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1

Revell A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1

Allie will do anything to gain her mother's approval---even marry a man she doesn't love. Lieutenant Walter Novak is fearless in the cockpit, but hopeless with women. When Walt and Allie meet, a wartime correspondence begins that binds them together. But can they untangle the secrets, commitments, and expectations that keep them apart? 432 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.927 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Review 1 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Randomgirl1990
Location:Beaver, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I did not buy this book from CBD, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Sarah Sundin has a way of drawing her reader in and making them feel like they are part of the story. As I was reading, it burned me up the way that Allie's family trumped her wishes and even though she broke the engagement to Baxter, they still tried to make her go through with the wedding even after she cancelled everything. Mrs. Sundin made me feel like I was actually there, experiencing everything with Allie and Walter.
P.S. I wish there was a present-day war effort like there was back then. It would give me something constructive to do with my time and it would be a very worthy cause.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tina
Location:Switzerland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book totally exceeded my expectations! I could hardly put it down and the story touched my heart. Eventhough it's a fictional story, you get a little insight into life during WWII. I'm looking forward to read the second and third book of the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great WWII story

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth Axtell Morren
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best Christian historical romances I've read lately. I wasn't sure I wanted to read it because it was supposed to involve a correspondence between the hero & heroine for much of the story, which meant they'd be apart a good while (a no-no in a romance). But the author made up for this by having such a good development to their friendship/relationship in the first third of the book. One of Sundin's strengths is excellent dialogue between the hero and heroine. Their wit was so catching, you could just feel the growing chemistry between two shy people. When they were apart, there was such interesting stuff going on and good interactions among the secondary characters, which made up for the separation of the two main characters. The World War II details, especially about flying, were so well done and authentic-sounding. There were quite a few laugh-out-loud moments for me, and one tear jerking one (reading Walt's grandfather's letter to him). I look forward to reading the other two books in this series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Distant Melody is set during World War II.
Allie Miller is the daughter of wealthy parents. They arranged a marriage with a man she doesn’t love. She hopes to get the approval of her mother with this marriage. So far she could never please her mother.
When Allie is on her best friend’s wedding, she meets Walter Novak. He is the first person who seems to understand her.
Walter Novak is a pilot in the Army Air Force and flies a bomber plane B17. Shortly he has to leave for England.
Walt is hopeless with women. But Allie is the first woman he can talk to and have fun with. Allie stays for a week with her friend and after the marriage she’s going home again. Walt has fallen hard for Allie and when she returns home they share addresses and promise to write each other.
Walt leaves for England and is fighting against the Germans. His crew respects him, but he told a little white lie to earn their respect.
Through their letters Walt and Allie get to know each other and fall in love. But Allie still has her boyfriend and soon is engaged to him. But Allie is unhappy. She’s willing to marry Baxter, but the Lord shows her that she can’t marry an unbeliever. Will she obey the Lord, or will she please her parents?
Allie is praying for Walt and his crew. When they are in trouble the Lord wakes her at night to pray.
Walt is falling more for Allie with every letter he receives from her. He decides he can’t love a woman who is soon to marry another man. It’s best to stop writing and Walt tells another lie in his last letter to Allie. Allie is devastated by Walt’s news. Soon she wakes up again in the middle of the night and must pray for Walt. It’s the last time that the Lord awakens her to pray. What happened that night to Walt? Can Walt tell Allie about his lie before it’s too late?
This book was a nice surprise! Never before have I read a WWII book so very well written. I loved the historical accuracy, the growing love between Walt and Allie, to read about the normal life in the US during the war and the hard life for Walt and his crew in Europe. I learned rich lessons from reading about sacrifice and obedience.
I simply fell in love with this book and I’m looking forward to read the other books in this series: A Memory Between Us and Blue Skies Tomorrow.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharyn Noble
Location:Cape Paterson Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with all the other reviews a really great book, couldn't put it down. I loved the setting WW2, the characters.Can't wait to read the next two books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret R. Henderson
I have read both books and really enjoyed both books. I can relate to the setting of each books and to the timing. Am looking forward to future books written by this new author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Adrian
Really enjoying this book and its wonderful message of how God can be trusted with our lives. You won't get bored and you'll love going back in time !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julia Reffner
Sarah's first novel is one part romance, one part gritty historical, and one part rip-roaring hilarity. Every detail has been attended to in this historical. I loved the excitement of being "part" of Walt's crew on the plane as we followed him from mission to mission.A beautiful romance is made of two ordinary people. But you see my husband and I knew this all along. I LOVE the fact that Sarah took the marketing risk and made Walt and Allie ordinary looking individuals with sometimes low self-confidence. I could really relate to Allie's struggle to follow her parents versus following God. I very much struggle with being a people pleaser at times. Walt's main struggle throughout the novel was truth-telling. Although it was war time, I liked that the struggles Allie and Walt faced were ordinary struggles, too, that so many of us struggle with today. I am so glad A Memory Between Us is coming out in September, as I don't want to wait long to find out what happens to Walt, Allie, and the rest of their Air Force buddies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
A great book. I truly enjoyed reading it. Couldn't put it down. I had to keep reading to find out what would happen. Lots of interesting history. Sweet love story. Good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Schuett
I love this time period so took a chance on ordering a new authors 1st book. I loved it and am glad I've preordered the 2nd book in the series. All of the characters were so real and I was easily wrapped up in their stories, from joys to sorrows. Great book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jean Schuett
I really loved this book. I was impressed that it was the authors' first novel. I can't wait for her second book to come out.The characters were believable, sympathic, warm and caring.The war scenes were gripping and made you feel you were right there.I love a great Christian novel where the scriptures mean something and values are key. So refreshingly different from the worldly fiction so blatently published in this day.I thank Sarah Sundin for such a fine book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
I loved this book. Really enjoy historical fiction! Everything seemed so real to me. My folks met and married during this period of time, and tried to picture what they went through with this story. Want more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
LMcFee
I enjoy historical romance and until now have not read anything with a WWII setting. I loved this book. Sarah Sundin set the book up well. The characters were well written and the plot simple but true. Well researched. I look forward to her next book.. Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn Dick
Awesome book! I couldn't put it down. Historical fiction is a favorite genre of mine. I quickly fell in love with the characters and appreciated the Christian lessons written throughout the book. So often issues are vaguely brushed over today. I am looking forward to reading more of Sarah's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
My book arrived just as I was leaving for a trip. And because of weight restrictions, unless it is a driving trip I only take my Kindle. My granddaughter who had been taking a long "reading fiction fast" saw the book. She had refused to read the last two YA books I thought she would love.To make a long story short she saw A DISTANT MELODY and asked if she could borrow it while I was gone. Read it in one day and loved it. So when I got home from my trip, as soon as I got the book back I read A DISTANT MELODY . I like to read many genre. Historical Romance is hot right now and I was a bit burnt out on the genre. However I found A DISTANT MELODY well written and I quickly fell in love with the characters and the life and times in which they were living. I look forward to reading the next story from this debut author.It is worth the read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela
When I first got the book for A Distant Melody, I wasnt really looking forward to reading it. I just wasnt in the mood for a historical romance. Then I opened the book and read the first page. Thats all it took for me to get totally engrossed in Sarah Sundins first release.My own parents met , fell in love, and married during WWII, and I found myself wondering how they would have reacted to the situations Allie and Walter found themselves in. I felt the emotions when they had their differences, I felt the fear when Allie didnt hear from Walter in so long.Sarah Sundins A Distant Melody is a good read that does come off preachy at times, but is still a very enjoyable time. She takes you back in history, weaving words to form a nice snuggly scarf to wrap yourself up in. I look forward to Sarahs next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia M.
I absolutely adore this book and am greatly looking forward to the next two. The whole WWII era is fascinating and Sarah Sundin has made it come alive. The people are very normal who get in real situations. For once the hero and heroine are plain looking. No beautiful, gorgeous models here. They're just normal people. Besides the doing a fabulous job making one feel like one is a part of this era with the different descriptions, the author has some valuable lessons that should make all Christians stop and think about their own lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
T. Martin
I am not a huge fan of historical romance, but this novel swept me off my feet the moment I read the back information. Sarah Sundin captures the essence of the WW2 era with such passion and pride. Even after avidly researching WW2 for a great part of 11 years while working on my own historical trilogy, I learned things in Sarah's book I had not known before. She has such a simple yet poignant style I fell in love with it immediately. Sarah tells it plain and simple, using short sentences with only the choicest words to make her point. An excellent tip for any author. I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone who loves a splendid book about WW2. (Tears coursed my cheeks at one point in this story...that is a major A+ for a new author to compel the reader!!) I can't rave enough good about this first book -- I can't wait for the next two, and hope they will be as grand, if not grander, than the first one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
I knew I was going to enjoy this book, as soon as I saw the cover. Im a huge fan of WWII historical fiction and A Distant Melody delivered the subject matter brilliantly! This is Sarah Sundins debut novel and I think she did a fantastic job. The story revolves around Walt and Allie who meet at a mutual friends wedding and quickly hit it off. After spending a week getting to know one another, they agree to correspond when Allie goes back home and Walt fulfills his duty to his country as a bomber pilot. Walt doesnt know that Allie is engaged to a man she doesnt love and Allie doesnt ever seem to find the right time to tell him. As their correspondence becomes more frequent, Walt and Allie fall hard for each other and Allie faces the fact that she has to choose between following her heart and telling Walt how she feels about him, or marrying a man she doesnt love. As her wedding day quickly approaches, Allie is afraid of disappointing her parents by backing out yet terrified shell lose Walt if she doesnt make up her mind. This story is very romantic youll have a hard time putting it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Distant Melody, Wings of Glory Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Not being a huge historical fiction fan, I embarked upon reading this book and was taken on what felt like an amazing journey. This book is the author's first and she has done an exceptional job. I can't wait to read her future books. This attempt at historical fiction is not your traditional Victorian Era or Prairie Life book that many historical fiction fans are accustomed to reading. This has the excitement of flying high in bomber planes that our dedicated war veterans may have experienced. The story takes place during the war and encompasses friendship and a sweet love story along with a few unexpected challenges. The author draws you in and challenges you emotionally and spiritually. For these reasons alone, I loved this book. Want to know more? I guess you will have to pick it up and read it for yourself. Happy Reading! Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.