Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3

Revell Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3

Beautiful Rachel wants nothing more than for her older half sister Leah to wed and move out of their household. Maybe then she would not feel so scrutinized, so managed, so judged. Plain Leah wishes her father Laban would find a good man for her, someone who would love her alone and make her his only bride. Unbeknownst to either of them, Jacob is making his way to their home, trying to escape a past laced with deceit and find the future God has promised him.

But the past comes back to haunt Jacob when he finds himself on the receiving end of treachery and the victim of a cruel bait and switch. The man who wanted only one woman will end up with sisters who have never gotten along and now must spend the rest of their lives sharing a husband. In the power struggles that follow, only one woman will triumph . . . or will she?

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Review 1 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fresh retelling!

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jill Eileen Smith excels at penning interesting, well-written, and moving historical fiction. "Rachel" is a solid addition to her growing repertoire, providing a new look at the well loved story of Jacob, Rachel and Leah. She does a fantastic job at getting into the minds and hearts of the Biblical characters, giving us readers a new insight into why they may have acted the way they did. I absolutely loved how she described Jacob's encounters with God, especially the scene where Jacob wrestles with God by the river. It provided me with a fresh appreciation for how Jacob must have felt to go through such an incredible experience. Smith gives a lot of insight into the conflict Rachel and Leah must have had, as Leah marries her husband on Rachel's wedding night. The author helps us peer into Rachel and Leah's minds as they struggle with loving the same husband, and Smith also captures Jacob's desperate love for Rachel, exploring how he must have felt like a pawn in their father Laban's hands. I loved how in this story Rachel and Leah do experience a level of reconciliation that I like to imagine occurred in real life. Smith follows the biblical account as accurately as could be possible, while doing a beautiful job of fleshing out the story, and I enjoyed this book from start to finish!
"Rachel" is another winning read from an author who continues to give me a fresh appreciation for many of my favourite characters from the Bible. I award this book a solid 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Team Leah!

Date:March 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
TonyaTells
Location:Goldendale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can true love overcome a legacy of betrayal?
Rachel wants nothing more than for her older half sister Leah to wed and move out of their household. Leah wishes her father would find a good man who would love her alone. Unbeknownst to either of them, Jacob is making his way to their home, trying to escape a past laced with deceit and find the future God has promised him.
But the past comes back to haunt Jacob when he finds himself on the receiving end of treachery. The man who wanted only one woman ends up with sisters who have never gotten along and now must spend the rest of their lives sharing a husband. In the power struggles that follow, only one woman will triumph . . . or will she?
Combining meticulous research with her own imaginings, bestselling author Jill Eileen Smith not only tells one of the most famous love stories of all time but will manage to surprise even those who think they know the story inside and out.
-- I knew a little about Rachel/Jacob/Leah but this book really made me think. Rachel and Jacob were in love. They thought Rachel's father had promised to give Rachel to Jacob after working seven years for him. But Laban is sneaky and he makes Jacob seal the deal with his older unmarried daughter, so Jacob has to keep Leah too. So now he has to work seven more years for Laban to give him Rachel too.
This story is fascinating. I really enjoyed it, for the most part. It seemed in areas to drag for me, so that is why I gave it four stars instead of five. I did enjoy it though, but sometimes, I wondered if it had a modern touch, rather than what they really did and thought? That put me off a bit as well. Team Leah here though. I thought that Rachel used her wild ways a bit too much!
I received a copy of this book, in exchange for an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great writing by Jill

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Jill Eileen Smith is back with another book based on Biblical characters. I am not sure why I didn't connect with this book more. I have loved Jill's books and always found them enjoyable, but this story just didn't ever click for me. I found Leah, unlikable, and had trouble ever pitying her, like I do when I read the story in the Bible. While the writing was good, the connection wasn't there for me. Not my favorite of Jill's books. 4 stars because Jill is an excellent writer and the book was good, just unable to connect personally.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love how she weaved the biblical and fiction

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stacey Zink
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I love all of this author’s books. I haven’t read one that I said, “ehh, that was okay.” I always come away from her books feeling like I know her characters and I understand the bible story they are based on better. You can tell Mrs. Smith puts a lot of time into her research. If you follow her blog, then you know biblical history is one of her passions. She weaves the biblical story into her fiction and the outcome is a book that you won’t soon forget. The story of Rachel is filled with treachery. First you have Jacob’s mother who ensured her son stole the blessing that belonged to his older brother, Esau. Then, you have Laban who stepped in and switched brides on Jacob at the last minute. Once they are both married to the same man, Rachael and her sister, Leah, have to find a way to share him and endure. It’s a story that will make you cheer, laugh, cry, and sigh with love. It was a book that kept me guessing and I enjoyed every minute of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully Written

Date:March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in “The wives of the Patriarch” series and the best of the three in my opinion. This story has been one of my favorite bible story for years. However this book tells the story of Jacob and Rachel and Leah with fresh perspectives that enriched the story tremendously. I truly found this book fascinating. Reading the account in the scripture, I have always felt sorry for Rachel and looked at Leah as the bad guy and Jacob as very foolish man. But this book brought a changed to all that. I found that the author brought heart to the characters and gave the reader a “why” they behaved the way they did. I love books that tell the tale of “how it could have been”.
This book basically covers the time frame of the weddings until the end of Rachel life. I did absolutely love the way the book ended. I thought it was very realistic.
It was a great read and I completely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fiction based on biblical events

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How many times in our lives have we read or heard the story of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah . . . many times, I’m sure. It is not a pleasant story, though often it is mentioned as a great love story.
Reading this novel as a very detailed account of that love story has been agonizing and frustrating. Jacob’s life began with deception with him referred to as a schemer, a deceiver, because he grabbed his twin’s (Esau) heel as he followed him at birth. As a young man, influenced by his mother, Rebekah, he persuaded Esau to give up his birth right for a bowl of stew, then later deceived his father, Isaac, into giving him the blessing of the firstborn. From that point, his life was shrouded in guilt and fear, though he was also aware of his special blessing from God Himself (Elohim).
Jacob fell in love with Rachel the moment he first saw her. He made an agreement with her father, Laban, to work for seven years to pay her bride-price. When the time came for Jacob to receive his bride, Laban cruelly tricked Jacob into marrying Rachel’s older sister, Leah, instead and thus began the unthinkable struggle to obtain what was rightly his. Jacob did receive Rachel as his wife, but she became the second wife, and he had to work an additional seven years for her.
The struggles in this family situation are so immense and intense that it is nearly impossible not to sympathize with each of the characters. None of them would ever have imagined the outcome of the decisions that were made. Each of them suffered and felt cheated as they pursued individual goals. Jacob faced many decisions through his life but the one to love Rachel (his first love) never wavered.
This story brings to light the many seemingly impossible conflicts which eventually lead to more common-sense conclusions: love, forgiveness, support of one another, understanding---but also grief and despair. A very human story with divine consequences. A story that is very emotional in its conflicts and conclusions. We can never look too far ahead when making life decision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible Story Of Rachel Jacob & Leah Brought To Life

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill Eileen Smith in her new book, “Rachel” Book Three in her Wives of the Patriarchs series published by Revell gives us a fictional account of what might have happened with her life and that of Jacob.
From the Back Cover: Can true love overcome a legacy of betrayal?
Rachel wants nothing more than for her older half sister Leah to wed and move out of their household. Leah wishes her father would find a good man who would love her alone. Unbeknownst to either of them, Jacob is making his way to their home, trying to escape a past laced with deceit and find the future God has promised him.
But the past comes back to haunt Jacob when he finds himself on the receiving end of treachery. The man who wanted only one woman ends up with sisters who have never gotten along and now must spend the rest of their lives sharing a husband. In the power struggles that follow, only one woman will triumph . . . or will she?
Combining meticulous research with her own imaginings, bestselling author Jill Eileen Smith not only tells one of the most famous love stories of all time but will manage to surprise even those who think they know the story inside and out.
Jacob has been sent away to his uncle because Jacob’s brother wants to kill him. While there he meets and falls madly in love with Rachel, his uncle’s daughter. He works seven years so that they can be married and then he is tricked into marrying Rachel’s older sister, Leah. In itself this is quite a story but there is more to the story than that, much more and Ms. Smith has done a wonderful job of bring Rachel to life. There is lots of information that I never considered and what Ms. Smith has offered us gives us much to think about. I like “Rachel” by Jill Eileen Smith because of the depth of research that was put into the writing and the fact that everything that is in The Bible is in Ms. Smith’s story but with much more detail, emotion and back story that The Bible leaves out. Ms. Smith tells us the events from the Bible but from Rachel’s viewpoint and it lends a new flavor to the telling. Ms. Smith makes Rachel and Jacob come alive and we get a chance to walk with them and share their adventures intimately. We see what they see, we feel what they feel simply because Ms. Smith is such a great storyteller.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2014
I grew up going to Sunday School so the story of Rachel, Leah and Jacob is not a new one to me. However, through the wonderful writing of Jill I was still enthralled by the retelling. I found myself anticipating what was next as if I didn't already know what was about to happen.
Jill did a masterful job of portraying the struggles of a household that contains two wives. Can you just imagine the tension, especially when the second wife is actually the favored wife? Add to all of that the fact that the two women are also sisters . . . drama at its finest! When the two concubines are added into the mix the situation is almost unbearable.
While this book is primarily from Rachel's perspective I also enjoyed how Jill delved into the background of Jacob and his brother Esau. I found it interesting to ponder how Jacob really felt about his deceit where his brother and father were concerned. I had never really thought about him being introspective about his deception as compared to that of Laban.
This was a quick read, but it was full of beautiful complexities that made me once again consider the Father's plan in our lineage. If you are at all interested in Historical Fiction and specifically Biblical Fiction, I believe you will really enjoy not only this book but this series as a whole.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching, Sweet, and Realistic

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After finishing Jill’s books, I am always amazed by her attention to detail. In addition to that, I always feel like I really have gained a great insight into whichever characters were featured. This book was no exception! I found myself completely empathizing with Rachel and the anger she harbored, and with Leah and the desperation and pain that pierced her. I definitely felt a connection with each of them, and with Jacob. It takes skill to establish such a connection, but Jill has it down to a science! As is usual with Jill’s books, this one was Biblically accurate and even had direct quotes for some of it. It kept me reading (and up too late). I highly recommend it to all Biblical and historical fiction fans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A heartbreaking fictional account of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah's life up to Benjamin's birth.
First off, I must say that I admire Smith's work. She presents three points of view in Rachel: Jacob, Rachel, and Leah. She did an amazing job. There is no easy way I could verbalize what I expected going into Rachel, but I am very pleased with the outcome. Smith personifies each widely recognized figure in a way we can relate to them. My heart broke so many times for both Rachel and Leah. I think it's safe to say Smith avoided bias.
We are not told much about daily affairs within Jacob's household, but I believe it is a safe assumption that the first few years things were tense and rough. Not only for the women but for poor Jacob as well. We'll never know the kind of people they were until we get to heaven, but I would like to think that Smith got a lot of things right. With every new release, she continues to impress me and I am torn as to whether Rebekah or Rachel is my favorite.
To conclude, I am a very picky reader when it comes to Biblical fiction and I am pleased to say that Smith meets all, if not most, of my high standards. I highly recommend this series in particular to fellow Biblical fiction fans out there. (I cannot speak about the Wives of King David series as I have not read them yet.) Smith does not shy away from topics spoken about in the Bible, but she does treat the more questionable content with delicate care. Jacob has four wives. We are told about him "going into their tent", but we are not given much detail, save for Leah and Rachel's wedding night where we are briefly told about the taking off of Rachel's robe and Jacob's ritual belt. Murder is mentioned and a in a city near Jacob's camp there is a festival of virgins.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rachel by Jill Eileen Smith

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
RACHEL by Jill Eileen Smith is another exciting inspirational Historical Fiction set in 1879 BC. #3 in the "Wives of the Patriarchs" but can be read as a stand alone. See "Rebekah" and "Sarai". What a joy to read! Ms. Smith, makes these biblical characters jump off the page and come to life. She weaves facts, with fiction and tell some of the most romantic, dramatic stories and brings the Bible to life. Filled with treachery, secrets,betrayal, deceit, faith, healing, forgiveness, love,conflict and sibling rivalry. The agony of two sisters, and the grief that follows.
"Rachel" is the final installment of this series. What a powerful story from beginning to end. Ms. Smith is a wonderful storyteller and brings the people of the Bible to life. A must read for anyone who enjoys historical fiction and a great story! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
*Coming in February from Revell Books*
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fresh Look at a Beloved Story

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Savanna
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This third novel in the Wives of the Patriarchs series takes the reader, along with Jacob and Rachel, on quite an emotional and surprising journey. The beloved Bible story of a wandering shepherd and his true love has always captured me, but I had never really stopped and put myself in their shoes before. This story changed that. Written in a beautifully honest and intimate way, Rachel paints a fascinating picture of the hearts and personalities of the people behind the names.
From the moment you see Rachel first meet Jacob at the well, you're rooting for these two soul-mates to get together. Vows are made, time is invested, and many years spent when a sad deception threatens to destroy their dreams and brings great consequences to their lives. The unexpected introduces Leah, Rachel's sister, to the story and with it many complications.
I will admit that this was my first time reading Biblical fiction, so it took me a little while to get used to the setting and the already-familiar parts of the story and characters. At times, simply due to the truth of the text, portions seemed a little repetitious. There are a lot of children born in this story! ;) The power struggle and heartache between the sisters forced to share their husband wearied me along with them at times, but the author dutifully crafted in-depth layers to each of the characters. There are still plenty of surprises along the way – even if you're familiar with the Biblical account.
My heart broke for Jacob, Rachel, and Leah at many moments throughout this book, but God's grace and strength is quite evident and unwavering. Rachel offers an invitation for all of us to ponder the difficulties in our lives through the perspective that God's sovereign hand rules all for His glory.
After reading Rachel, I was very eager to go back and read their story in the Old Testament again. Jacob's wrestling with God. His wives. His children. Their prayers and fears. The journey back to his homeland. A beautiful story, indeed. This time, I feel like I know them a little better.
This is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richie Mullins liked to say that he loved to read the Bible, and that many people didn't like the way he read it, but he couldn't help it. He said he loved to read the Bible and look for all the weird people in there, and as he read he was always amazed that God would choose such odd, crazy, broken, unpleasant people to be His!
Lets get one thing straight: the story of Jacob, Leah, and Rachel is one of the weirdest. Reading it in novel form reminded me of that. And that's what makes this story so cool: it's true.
Man goes to his cousin's household to find a wife (?) and he falls in love with the youngest of two sisters.
The father-in-law manages a massive sleight of hand and switches daughters for the honeymoon. Jacob realizes that he's wedded to Leah, throws a fit, and demands his first choice. Dad agrees, and both girls and Jacob and two maids all live the historical version of Downton Abbey.
You know, people have long dismissed Christianity as an invention designed to subdue people into behaving. That's preposterous, because the point of Christianity is that model citizens don't win. Weird people caught up in Grace is what Christianity is about.
By weird I mean dysfunctional. People with battles to fight. People who make bad choices. People who do downright evil things.
In the Kingdom of God an ex-con who's repented is closer to Heaven than the suburban businessman who only commits respectable sins.
That's the insanity and joy of the love of God. It is there for Rachel who shared a husband with her sister, and for Jacob who lived a strange life, and for me and for you!
This story must have been really neat to write, to explore the lives of the patriarchs and their wives.
It must have been fascinating to imagine how a woman like Rachel would respond to her culture, her husband, her children, and her God.
It is something to think about: that those women in the Bible, who exist as names in the historical record, they were real. They felt disappointment and and pain and hope and joy and longings. They walked on the sands of this earth and they looked at the stars.
That's what makes Biblical fiction so good. To remember the flesh-and-blood life of the characters as you read.
Thank you Revell for my review copy of Rachel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Biblical Read!

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
DEE LANA
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill Eileen Smith brings to life the Biblical story of Rachel, Jacob and Leah. I witnessed the competition between two sisters, fighting for Jacob’s favor, while coming close to hating each other. I knew the story of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah but the author made the story alive for me.
Rachel wants nothing more than for her older half sister Leah to wed and move out of their household. Leah wishes her father would find a good man who would love her alone.
Unbeknownst to either of them, Jacob is trying to escape a past laced with deceit but the past comes back to haunt him when he finds himself on the receiving end of treachery. He, who wanted only one woman ends up with two sisters who have never gotten along and now must spend the rest of their lives sharing a husband.
Leah delivered her first child and wishing it would be the key to making Jacob love her. She yearns for Jacob to visit her tent as often as he visits Rachel’, but she's well aware that Rachel was Jacob’s first and only love. Rachel is enjoying the passion her and Jacob share, but she's longing for it to be just them every night. I could feel the anguish that Rachel felt at the betrayal of her own sister, Leah.
I liked how this Biblical story was very detailed. If you enjoy Biblical Fiction, then this is the book for you. I enjoyed it very much and would highly recommend!
Thank you Revell for sending me this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart-wrenching story

Date:February 8, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I. Loved. This. Book.
Oh my, this book is a mess and I mean that in the best, dysfunctional way possible.
I don't know about you, but I have read the story of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah many, many times and thought how horrible for them. I never liked Leah much because she went along with this plan to replace Rachel and then she had all these babies while Rachel couldn't.
The way Jill writes this books had me completely torn. I still didn't like Leah most of the time yet my heart hurt for her because she really did just want to be loved. Rachel is depicted at times as being a bit selfish and I didn't even like her all of the time but then again, my heart was torn for her because she had her love stolen from her. She dreamed of her wedding night with Jacob and being his first love and she didn't get to have that. Although Jacob clearly favored her and didn't care if she had children or not. He loved her so much.
I never thought about how Jacob was really used as a pawn between these two women. When they couldn't have children they made him sleep with their maids. The way Jill writes about it Jacob didn't want to do that but it is the wife's choice in which case he can't refuse.
As I was reading about all these babies Leah had I went to the Bible and re-read the story because I knew Rachel had Joseph but I couldn't remember where in the line-up. And...hello....Joseph is pretty dear to my heart since he was the one who said Genesis 5020!!!! Yay Joseph. It's pretty amazing to think that as I am reading this story (which is fiction but based on true events) that Rachel's child would have such a profound impact on my life and be the foundation of my blog. So cool. Isn't God awesome how He can use things from so long ago to reach us now. The Bible is timeless.
I could go on and on but you just really need to read this one for yourself. It is so good and so messed up and isn't that they way life is? We are one big mess but God loves us anyway.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel is a fictional tale that seeks to speak to the heart of the readers of the Biblical account that anyone can read in the Old Testament book of Genesis. Rachel is the woman who Jacob worked seven years for as a bride price only to be tricked by Laban, the girl’s father. Then Jacob works seven more years for the one his heart truly longs for, Rachel.
Why is Jacob even in a land so far away from his brother Esau, his mother Rebekah, and his father Isaac? To fully appreciate the God who reveals Himself throughout the Biblical narrative, one must read the words God inspired Moses to write in Genesis. Some of what the audience will read in the novel will ring true with the Biblical account; other parts are purely fiction as God chose not to reveal everything at this time.
What can we learn from both the Biblical account that is solely God-inspired or God-breathed, and the fictional rendering offered by this author? While this is certainly not an exhausting list, here is what spoke to me as I read: 1) The choices we make may reap consequences, both good and bad, long after they are sown. Jacob was a deceiver, and look how was he then treated by his father-in-law; 2) Relationships whether familial, marital or friendly take work in order to thrive, especially through harsh and trying times. Sometimes that entails seeking forgiveness or giving it when we would rather give back the grief we received. Other times it means that like Jesus we don’t have to speak a word to defend ourselves as our God can defend His children quite well in His own time and way; 3) No matter how long we walk this earth we really just get a glimpse of the heart of love God has for us.
Read the Biblical story in Genesis, and then read the fictional tale. Then, sit back and allow God to speak to your heart and mind. You might just be surprised what He has to say to you. We all wrestle like Jacob did in one way or another, whether it is grieving past mistakes or current ones or really believing God’s love for us. We might even be wrestling with understanding the great gift of His Son, Jesus Christ, who came to save us when we have such an easier time remembering our sins rather than thanking Him for coming to us. Enjoy the fictional tale and perhaps share the novel with someone else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Think Twice if you are Leah!

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reading Rover
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel by Jill Eileen Smith
Narrator told story of a Love Triangle- of
Old Testament Jacob, Rachel, and unwanted half-sister Leah.
Jacob and Rachel have the gift of Love at First Sight-True Love, the kind that leaves no room for “another”.
Leah is the older, First Wife’s -First born, whose Father has neglected to provide a chosen Husband for her, who must be married before the Younger Rachel, daughter of the Second Wife or socially lose all chances of marrying.
You haveEdit Tutor Consult to pity Jacob. A repentant inheritance “thief”, who works seven years with smelly animals to earn Rachel as his wife. Rachel is the sum of his life, all he wants, and all he needs.
But his Uncle, soon to be Father-in-Law using low-light and lots of veils, sticks him with Leah, the forgotten daughter.
Leah’s just desperate enough for the future security of bearing children, to take the “switch”.
The misery of the next twenty plus years, especially for single-hearted Jacob, ‘I love only Rachel-I WANT to love only Rachel’, suffers the most.
All the turmoil of hidden hearts, replayed around them till God’s strength, maturity and self-honesty begin to free them, and those in their world.
You’ll come away with a list of ‘not for me’ that will save you a world of regret. You can survive the pain of choosing the least choice, but it is not simple, straightforward, easy-and it lasts your life. Choose the best you can, and try to avoid the ‘Jacob deceits‘, the ‘Leah desperations‘, and the ‘Rachel regrets’.
Based on true history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Take on the Bible Story

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel brings to life the Biblical story of Rachel, Jacob and Leah. While reading, I could just feel the anguish that Rachel felt at the betrayal of her own sister, Leah. But later, I felt sorry for Leah and at times I felt like crying for her.
I like seeing how this Biblical story plays out in a more detail. I highly enjoyed it. If you enjoy Biblical Fiction, then this is the book for you.
5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Boring & tedious

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherry
Location:Southfield, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the first two books in the series but this one didn't sit well with me. It is not as well written. It goes on and on and on about who will get to sleep with Jacob next and produce the most sons. I wanted to take the characters of Jacob, Rachel, Leah, Laban, Fara and Suri and slap them silly into the next generation. It is constantly describing the jealousies and infighting between Rachel and Leah and talks way too much about their sex lives. Not good subject matter for a book as far as I am concerned. I can think of way better things to read that will be more interesting and less tedious.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rachel, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deceptions! Right Or Wrong?

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will stay with me for a long time. While I already knew the story of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah the author made this story come alive for me. I witnessed the competition between two sisters, at times coming close to hating each other, while fighting for Jacob’s favor.
I found the author Jill Eileen Smith to be an amazing story teller. I was caught up in so many of the scenes in this book. I was torn with emotion while Leah yearned for Jacob to visit her tent as often as he did Rachel’s. I felt pity for her even though Leah was aware that Rachel was Jacob’s first and only love.
I was angered at Laban for treating Jacob the way he did. Just who does he think he is? Then I remembered, Jacob was not an innocent bystander in this story. But still…..
So many deceptions in this Biblical story. When we set out to deceive others we must pay for the choices we make.
The author most certainly did her research for this book. I compared the happenings in this story to the Bible and it is an accurate account of the Biblical story. This is why I will read more books by this author. I have already ordered a few more of her novels. I can’t wait to once again be engrossed in another great read!
I urge those who are reading this review of Rachel to purchase a copy of it. I highly recommend this 5 star book to you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.