Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2

Revell Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2

Life sometimes gets the best of us. For some it's the daily pressures, for others it's the shadows of the past. For Patsy Milstrap, it's both. When she travels to beautiful Cedar Key on Florida's Gulf Coast in search of healing, she never dreams her past will be waiting for her there.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Review 1 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An apt title!

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one of the books I received free at the American Christian Fiction Writers conference last fall, but I'm just getting around to reading and reviewing it. I loved it, and if you read it I think you will too.
Patsy Milstrap is thirteen when her mother sends her away to join her younger brother who was adopted shortly after he was born. Their father is dead, replaced by a cruel man who beats her mother and Patsy but seldom lays a hand--at least so far--on her two half brothers, Harold and Billy.
Who will help Mama clean house? Who will take care of her little brothers? Even though Patsy grows to love her new parents, the younger brother she had never met, and the young man she will marry, she cannot leave the past behind. It's there to haunt her every action and relationship.
What will it take to rid Patsy of all the wonderings that torment her?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even Better Than the First

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking forward to the second book in the Cedar Key Series, but I had no idea I was going to enjoy it so much! This was a great book! Everson is a masterful storyteller, making the reader feel like they are truly part of Cedar Key.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She's nailed it!

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheri Cowell
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been following Eva Marie Everson's fiction career from the beginning and she has nailed it with this book. This is her best written, most compelling story, most heartfelt book she's written. I was reading along and finally stopped and said, "She's done it!" Gone are the long descriptives and in its place is a story that hooks you from the beginning. I saw every scene and felt every emotion. Everson has delved into the depths of mental illness and into the reaches of generational abuse. Yet, we see how God has the power and ability when placed into the hands of someone willing to take a hold of what He has to offer to turn, not only a life, but a whole family around. This book is a must read for anyone who has struggled to overcome familial trauma or who has dealt with mental illness in her family. You won't be able to put it down (I stayed up till 4am to finish it).
This is a sequel to the terrific first book, Chasing Sunsets, but they don't have to be read consecutively. However, I can see how this one and the next will complete the picture of life on Cedar Key in the 1940's. I highly recommend getting both, but it would be hard not to say that Waiting for Sunrise was my favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not for me

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Patsy is a woman with a troubled past, who struggled with depression. Patsy looks back on her life and what led her to the edge, remembering the ups and down alike.
Written in a wonderfully readable style, Ms. Everson draws the reader effortlessly into the the life of Patsy Milstrap. And what a hard life it was, and that's what made continuing to pick up this book so hard, because it was so much of a downer. To a point I got sort of frustrated with Patsy, because she was surrounded by so many good people, and God had used so many situations in her life for good, though the path there was painful, yet she became so swallowed up by the depression. I really couldn't relate to Patsy that well, to me she just wasn't that likable for me, partially because of certain things that have happened in my life, and how I didn't like how she reacted to some of the things that happened to her. I just couldn't reconcile her taking her children for granted, and that frustrated me a lot!
There were a lot of great characters around Patsy like her half-brother, her husband, her adoptive parents, and the lovely nurse, Gabby, who was with Patsy in the hospital, who were all wonderful people in her life. I guess for me what was really missing was more detail on Patsy's personal faith journey and how she finally came to God, after this entire journey it was kind of a let down for me though I can see how the author was trying to convey how, things were never really hunky-dorey.
I think that the author did a wonderful job of bringing the turbulent time during which this book was set to life (1940's-1960's).
Overall this was a totally mixed book for me, because it was so well written, but I felt like the way the book dealt with helping Patsy, was done in a very worldly manner, with lots of medication...which is really bad timing because I just read a book about the conscience numbing dangers of treating depression with pills, let me stop myself before I go into that! I also thought that this book has a very mature theme about it. So basically, this book was just not my type of book for so many reasons, and I personally never felt that it delved into the real depth that was sitting benneath the surface.
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thanks.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirteen-year old Patsy Sweeny works her fingers to the bone along with her mother, Bernice Liddle to keep her stepfather Ira happy. As happy as possible, that is. Ira, a traveling salesman, can be counted upon to beat someone when he is at home. Bernice takes the worst of it, but Patsy and her two half-brothers, Harold and Billy have also been beaten. When Ira looks at Patsy one day and realizes she is no longer a child, Bernice realizes she has to send Patsy away. Patsy is sent to the Buchwalds, the Christian couple who took in Patsy's brother Lloyd years before. While living there, she makes a new life, falls in love with Gilbert Milstrap, marries him, and begins her adult life. But after a few years, the strain of her early years takes its toll. When a breakdown lands her in a hospital, Gilbert goes looking for her past.
This novel did something I thought impossible. It made me cry. I have always laughed at people who say they sit down to have a good cry over a novel, but this one did it. I'm not saying I want to make it a habit, but this was truly a good novel. Ira Liddle was the villain we love to hate (can we admit that in Christian fiction?), and in this it's well-deserved. Bernice is a difficult mother to understand. She not only tolerates so much, but she hides so much. The saddest part, in my opinion, is when they move up the financial and social ladder, and the abuse continues. It is just done quieter than before and covered up better. The part where Ira worries about his social standing in the church they attend is unbelievable. Every Sunday, somewhere there is a woman hiding a bruise and a man sitting next to her thinking he has everyone fooled. Ms. Everson has shown the truth behind the facade of the American family. This was an excellent novel that really made me think and, most of all, wouldn't leave me alone after I finished it. That's the test of a novel. That's a 5-star novel.
*Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Visit to Cedar Key

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few months ago, I first visited Cedar Key, Florida, in Eva Marie Everson's Chasing Sunsets. Ever since, I've been anxiously awaiting a return visit. I finally had the chance, and it was worth the wait.
Waiting for Sunrise is the story of Patsy Milstrap. If you've read the first book, you'll remember Patsy as the loving older neighbor of Kimberly Tucker Granger who helped Kimberly through a particularly difficult time. This new book fills us in the story Patsy told Kimberly about the life she and her beloved Gilbert shared and how she ended up in Cedar Key many years earlier. Waiting for Sunrise would be easily enjoyed without the benefit of reading Chasing Sunsets . . . but why not enjoy them both!
Patsy has suffered a lot of loss and hurt in her young life. When she falls in love with Gilbert Milstrap and starts a new life with him, she hopes to put all the pain of her past behind her. Instead, those old hurts and fears stay with her and put her at risk of losing everything. Eventually, at Gilbert's suggestion, he and Patsy travel to the island of Cedar Key for a vacation. In that idyllic setting, Patsy comes face-to-face with her past and learns important lessons of family, love, and forgiveness.
Eva Marie Everson is a southern girl who knows how to tell a beautiful story. If you're also from the south, you may enjoy things like her comment about Patsy's "picking and putting up vegetables" in the first chapter of the story. And if you're not from the south, well, bless your heart . . . you can still enjoy the lovely story!
(This book was provided free from Revell for my honest review.)
Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Summer Reading in its Finest

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once again, Eva Marie Everson writes an engaging emotional drama within the pages of her latest novel.
Waiting for Sunrise tells a double tale of abandonment and the feelings of neglect that coincide with the act.
Patsy Milstrap finds herself facing her past as she vacations with her husband in Cedar Key, Florida. Patsy’s mother put her on a bus when she was thirteen with no explanation as to why she had to leave. Harboring unforgiveness toward her mother has caused her to curl up inside of herself, unable to focus on life. Internally distant from her husband and children, Patsy struggles to find peace.
Meanwhile, her mother’s tale continues to play out through the eyes of Billy, Pasty’s youngest brother. Watching his father abuse his mother and his brother, Billy shows us just how far a mother’s love will go to protect her child.
Will Pasty ever be able to get beyond the feelings of abandonment she holds so far inside of her? What if Pasty can’t forgive her own mother? How will it affect her children? What if she loses her family, too?
Waiting for Sunrise touches on many issues women may face within their lifetime: abuse, neglect, unforgiveness, and the tough decision to hold a child close or send her away in the name of protection. Eva Marie brings her gentle touch to a tough story and tells yet another tale containing the harsh realities of life.
The only difficulty I had with the novel was in following the double story. The years go by and are noted in bold print throughout the book. But the character viewpoints switched with a lightly noted hard break. Sometimes it took me a moment to catch whose viewpoint I was now reading. This, however, was the only thing I found challenging in reading Waiting for Sunrise.
Eva Marie Everson continues to be one of my favorite authors, and I look very forward to the final chapter of her Cedar Keys novels.
*Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Please note: I did receive a copy of this novel from the publishing company for review. In no way was I required to write a good review. But when you have a great author, a great review always follows...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You have to be entirely heartless not to need an entire box of tissues by the time you finish this book.
Patsy’s story is filled with love and pain. And love that goes beyond the pain. It’s a story that’s split back and forth between two families until finally they collide.
In the beginning of this book, it felt as if I’d already read it. Actually, it was a teaser at the end of Chasing Sunsets.
Eva Marie Everson clearly speaks to my heart. I’m eagerly awaiting another story from Cedar Key. In the meantime , I think I’m going to have to hop into my little silver Honda and drive up there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family, Restoration And Forgiveness

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eva Marie Everson in her new book, “Waiting for Sunrise” Book Two in the Cedar Key series published by Revell gives us a view into the life of Patsy Milstrap and the family vacation at Cedar Key.
From the Back Cover: Sometimes finding your future means making peace with your past
Patsy Milstrap wishes she could leave her past behind. Though she tries to put on a brave front for the sake of her family, the wounds still ache, and the scars on her soul are still deeply felt. At her concerned husband’s gentle insistence, they take a vacation from South Carolina on Cedar Key, an idyllic island on Florida’s Gulf Coast. A week in paradise will do them good, he says.
When a familiar–and most unexpected–face greets her at a seaside restaurant, Patsy knows she can no longer run from the past. But what will opening old wounds mean? And what will the future hold?
I think Eva Marie Everson is incredible. She takes serious topics of abandonment, parental abuse, dysfunctional family and instead of giving us a downer of a story weaves a very interesting tale of forgiveness and restoration. Of course none of that is possible without the intervention of God so it is interesting on how Ms. Everson plays His hand over the lives of those concerned. “Waiting for Sunrise” is a story about letting go of past hurts, making unexpected changes, and believing in new starts. I liked this book and am looking forward to the next in the series.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours a day non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
“Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Read for Summer

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Writer Woman
Location:Chicago Area
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A while back, I devoured the first book in the series, Chasing Sunsets, and now Revell Publishing is releasing the second book, Waiting for Sunrise. I devoured that story as fast as I did the first.
Waiting for Sunrise begins in the forties and carries the reader through the fifties and into the sixties. I love that time period for stories, and because of that, I am always able to find nit-picky misused details in stories that are not of that era. In this case, Everson did her homework well.
But more than that, it’s a study in how one person’s bad decision can sometimes affect others for years to come. Or maybe it’s not so much a bad decision, but one reluctantly made because the person feels they have no choice.
Patsy Milstrap’s mother had to make such a decision regarding Patsy when Patsy was old enough to remember. Patsy wants to erase her past forever, and tries to stuff it down and ignore it, but the pain remains. Her husband hears about Cedar Key and in a kind gesture, takes Patsy there for a few days of escape. There on Cedar Key Patsy comes face to face with a familiar face from her past, and she can find no way of escape.
Everson weaves a story of healing and forgiveness, lacing it with Southern charm that keeps you turning the pages until you get to the last. Then you want to say, “More please.”
So go get yourself a copy, settle onto a porch swing with a big glass of sweet tea at your side, and give it a read. You won’t regret it!
This book was provided to me free of charge by the publisher for review purposes. The opinions expressed by me are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 Stars!

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patsy Milstrap and her husband travel to tranquil Cedar Key Florida. Patsy's younger years reinvade and interrupt her thoughts when she recognizes a part of her past in Cedar Key, someone like she, who endured a violent and cruel life at the hands of evil. Her mother Bernice many years ago had made the ultimate and selfless sacrifice for her daughter to ensure of Patsy's well being. Through it all Patsy discovers what has been there waiting for her all along, but when the hurts are still raw after many years, is it possible to move toward forgiveness, or will the past hold her captive to a bitter heart?
This impossible to put down read will tear at your heart, cause you to rejoice and leave you yearning for more! This novel reads like a real life family drama with unforgettable well formed characters, captivating scenery and engaging dialogue. There are no dull parts in the story and the storyline held my attention from the beginning until the ending. I was highly entertained and enjoyed peering into the character's lives and enjoyed getting to know them on a personal level. Even though this book is the 2nd in the Cedar Key series it can easily work as a stand alone novel. I found the overall message to be inspiring and will definately recommend this book to others. Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. Thank you to Revell Publishing for my complimentary copy to review for this blog tour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cedar Key Novel

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
This is the second book in the Cedar Key series, but it is the first one that I've read. It can be read alone without having read the first.
Characters are well formed with flaws. This makes for an interesting and complex story line. The reader follows Patsy Milstrap from childhood throughout her adult life. She's a person that I would have liked at any age. Life for Patsy is not easy, but she usually muddles through. She keeps her problems to herself until one day she breaks. I cannot tell you more without divulging the plot.
Trust me, this book is worth reading!
Thank you to Donna Hausler for my copy. Available June, 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great summer read!

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Were you born in the late 30's, grew up in the 40's and went to high school in the 50's? Waiting for Sunrise will bring back fond memories. Even if you didn't, Eva Marie Everson has written a book you will love! This is a truly well written story as well as full of the memories of that time.
How do you handle the really difficult things that are a part of life? Hurtful things that not only cause you pain, but are destroying your marriage and family? Patsy has much to try to forget, but she can't and finds it very hard to understand the deep hurts she has experienced. With the love of her husband, her family, and most importantly the Lord, Patsy slowly finds her way to peace and healing. This story - of a loving husband and how he helps his wife to again become the woman he married - is a book that is hard to put down.
I can confidentially recommend Waiting for Sunrise by Eva Marie Everson, and know you will enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wear sunscreen when reading

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ane Mulligan
Location:Suwanee, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you read this on the beach, you'll need sunscreen because you'll be so involved in the story you'll burn. Eva Marie Everson explores and lays bare family relationships, love, deep hurts that leave hearts scarred, and acceptance. Novel Rocket and I highly recommend it. It's a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Waiting for Sunrise, Cedar Key Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Waiting for Sunrise

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patsy Sweeney a hard life. Her stepfather is abusive, her mother brings in laundry to help out, and Patsy has the care of the house and her two younger brothers, Billy and Harold. Until one day when Patsy tries to stop her stepfather from beating her mother and he notices her another way…
Desperate to save her daughter, Patsy’s mother puts Patsy on a bus to go live with a family that adopted her brother when he was just a baby. Patsy has a loving family, a great set of new friends, and even better—a future spouse waiting for her at the end of the ride.
But, now, years later, Patsy isn’t happy. She’s never recovered from the loss of her mother. Why did her mother give her up? Why did she keep Patsy’s younger brothers and not her? What will it take for Patsy to finally learn the truth about her past?
WAITING FOR SUNRISE is the newest book by Ms. Everson. It is a page turner. I started reading this book and hours later closed it, every word read. I cried through parts of it. This is a book that will reach the heartstrings and hold on, making the reader care.
I couldn’t understand exactly why Patsy couldn’t move on, having never been in that situation. I also couldn’t understand why she didn’t understand the truth behind it a lot earlier. She’d seen her stepfather’s looks, barely escaped his clutches a few times, and that never crossed her mind that her mother was protecting her? But the author handled it well. Billy’s story is also included in this book, and the ending is heartbreakingly sad—but satisfying. Don’t miss WAITING FOR SUNRISE. This is a book to read and remember.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.