Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3

Revell Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3

Cedar Key has long been a place of rest, healing, and release in the Claybourne family. But it might also be the birthplace of a lie that is poisoning the family from within. Join the strong Claybourne women-Anise, Kimberly, Jayme-Leigh, Heather, and Ami-as they each confront the truth. Their unique paths will lead them through heartbreak, misunderstandings, and pain. But their journeys will also bring reconciliation with each other and renewed love in their own lives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Review 1 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow Moon Rising

Date:July 5, 2013
When I came across Slow Moon Rising on NetGalley I knew I needed to download it for a review. The cover photo and even the title give the book an eerie feel. Early on you realize there is something odd going on but you just aren’t quite sure what it is.
The first several chapters are told from the point of view of Anise then the narrative switches to the different daughters and Anise. Once it switches to the daughters you really begin to realize that something just isn’t right. There are buried family secrets that hold destructive power over the whole family.
Slow Moon Rising is a novel that delves into the complexities of family relationships. We are reminded that “no man is an island unto himself”. What we do both good and bad has long reaching effects on those around us. The ironic part in this instance is that the transgression that was committed was long before most of the daughters were born yet it has been a dark cloud over an otherwise seemingly perfect family.
Ms. Everson brings this story and the Cedar Key series full circle, showing just how powerful the act of telling the truth, seeking forgiveness and bestowing forgiveness can be in all our lives. This was a wonderful stand-alone series that I think many of you will enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
The third Cedar Key novel centres on Dr Ross Claybourne as he grieves the loss of his wife and unexpectedly finds love with a woman twenty years his junior. The story is revealed in the first person of the women in Ross’ life ~ Anise, and his four daughters, each of whom struggle to come to terms with the future as it clashes with the past. Eve Marie Everson exposes the impact on a family of long held secrets, when good intentions result in deeply buried pain, and the process towards healing and recovery. I enjoyed reading the perspectives of each character, and uniquely, Eva does this in blocks of chapters, not the usual alternating ones, so it is easy to ascertain whose head you are in as you progress through the story. This is an authentic book that doesn’t shy away from the realities of broken relationships, poor choices, and the searing pain of guilt and insecurities. All manner of issues are dealt with in this book from terminal illness, alcoholism, and divorce. Each of these are handled with sensitivity and honesty, reflecting the condition of the human heart in all its weakness and resilient strength. The story encompassed over 15 years and while, on occasion, it made some things feel rushed, overall Eva has created a genuine and intriguing story of family, love, and reconciliation. This is not a light hearted read but one that is worth reading and taking the insights of these characters to hear. I have no hesitation in recommending this excellent novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Family and A Romance

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eva Marie Everson in her new book, "Slow Moon Rising" Book Three in the Cedar Key series published by Revell gives us a view into the life of Anise, Ross, Kimberly, Jayme-Leigh, Heather, and Ami.
From the Back Cover: One family, one secret-and one chance to make it right
The beautiful Claybourne home on Cedar Key has long been a place of rest, healing, and release. Each member of the family has turned there in times of confusion, loss, and hurt, only to feel their spirits renewed and their hearts restored.
But Cedar Key might also be the birthplace of a lie that is poisoning the family from within.
Join the five Claybourne women-Anise, Kimberly, Jayme-Leigh, Heather, and Ami-as they search the past and confront the truth. Their unique paths will lead them through heartbreak, misunderstandings, and pain. But their journeys will also bring reconciliation with each other and the precious renewal of love in their own lives.
In her lyrical, evocative fashion, Eva Marie Everson weaves a tapestry of complicated relationships that, when complete, reveals the most beautiful work of art there is-family.
I think "Slow Moon Rising" is Eva Marie Everson's best work to date. This is the end of the series and Ms. Everson takes us out with a high note. This is a story about the twenty year difference in age romance between Ross and Anise and how they made it work. This is the story of Ross's four daughters, their problems and how God leads them to resolution. "Slow Moon Rising", to me, is a lot like looking at a tapestry, on the one side is the beautiful artistry that we can stare at for hours and on the other side are the knots and weaves that it takes to make the tapestry. Each character is unforgettable and we come to root for each one. "Slow Moon Rising" is a story about family and a wonderful family at that.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
"Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slow Moon Rising is the last installment in the Cedar Key Series and was preceded by Chasing Sunsets, Waiting for Sunrise and Things Left Unspoken. I read Waiting for Sunrise some time back and enjoyed the story so much that when an opportunity came to read this novel, I couldn’t pass it up. There are some who read every book of series in order and some like me who forget to read the other books. Whether you have or haven’t read the other books, this one is heart-gripping, perhaps even a thought-changing novel.
Basically, Anise, who has become the owner of a floral shop in Maine, thinks she will forever remain single until she meets the man who will become her husband. There is an age difference between Ross and Anise, but the love they have for each other overrides any attention on their differences. Throughout the novel, you will be introduced to characters who struggle with relationships, divorce, alcoholism and even cancer. Dr. Ross, who is a pediatrician, had been married to Joan for almost 30 years and has four wonderful daughters.
As each daughter grows to adulthood so too do the mounds of joys and sorrows along with a growing family. Every couple of chapters a different character shares life from their perspective though not all covering the same time frame. Beautifully woven scenes of what real life looks like in a family are mirrored in the fictional work. So too is the reality in each of their lives as to their faith in Christ and what is lovingly referred to as second chances.
I believe that is what the whole point is throughout the writing; because of Christ we can have a second chance. Born with a sinful nature and battling it every day is a thread of this masterpiece as well as the hope we have because of Christ’s sacrifice and the forgiveness He holds out to one and all without withdrawing His hand. I cried some during this novel as it had scenes that reminded me of past experiences I have walked through along with some pretty recent ones. I don’t cry easily when reading a book, but this one had me tearing up in parts and laughing in others. I also became quite thankful to the Lord for His redemption in my life and the hope of seeing loved ones again in eternity.
Eva Marie didn’t write a fairy tale; she wrote the Truth about God in a work of fiction to remind us all of the grace and unending love God has for each of us. There is also the awesome reminder that we can be new every day because great is His faithfulness! He heals the brokenhearted, and we who have Him as our Savior don’t mourn like those without hope. We hurt, sometimes for quite awhile, but we are able to see the sunrises and sunsets in their entire vast array because of His great love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not a favorite, but a sweet story nonetheless!
I wasn't sure what I expected to find in Slow Moon Rising but what I found certainly wasn't the picture in my head. I had to force myself through the first few chapters and I struggled getting into the story, particularly when we kept changing point of view every few chapters. While I'm glad to say it got easier to read as I went, I never fully connected with any of the women aside from Ami. She's my not-so-secret favorite.
I loved Eva's vivid descriptions and attention to detail in the setting. Anise's little hometown in Maine, Ami's world in Atlanta, and my favorite, Cedar Key, Florida came to life in my imagination. Eva also did a superb job making her characters as real as they come. Their struggles, their problems, and their lives are under no circumstances perfect.
Slow Moon Rising is the third and final in the Cedar Key series. I haven't read the earlier books yet, but it didn't seem to take away from the story. If I had read the previous books, some things in the story might have made more sense. I don't recommend this book to younger teens. This novel is definitely more on the adult woman's side of the spectrum--something I didn't know when I requested the book.
Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Relaxing Summer Read

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:New Mexico
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a relaxing summer read, Eva Marie Everson provides just that with Slow Moon Rising.
Once again we join the Claybourne family, this time visiting the four sisters (Kimberly, Jayme-Leigh, Heather, and Ami) and their step-mother, Anise. The family is hiding a secret, and one daughter in particular wants to know the truth behind the lies and the cover ups.
As always, Eva Marie provides a compelling story that brings the reader straight into the written world. Slow Moon Rising may be a meandering read, but that doesn't mean it isn't worth turning the pages. Just as it takes time to reveal any family secret in the real world, the truth slowly rises throughout the novel.
This is definitely a beach read, especially if you'll be visiting Cedar Key.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Summer Read!

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Writer Woman
Location:Chicago Area
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been reading Eva Marie Everson's Cedar Key series of novels since she began writing them, and have loved each one. A good author friend of mine told me about Cedar Key, Florida many years ago and made it sound so delightful I was ready to jump on the next plane and plant myself there to do nothing but write. But, so far I've not yet made the trip. At least by reading this series, I've been able to vicariously enjoy the setting through Eva Marie's wonderful characters.
I jumped at the chance to review her latest -- Slow Moon Rising. But when it arrived I was in the middle of a number of writing projects and other things and had to put the book on my to-be-read pile. When I realized a few days ago that the blog tour was this week, I made myself take time to start reading and I'm better than halfway through it. I only wish I could just sit for a whole day and do nothing but read. It's that good!
The only complaint I have is that the first couple chapters were a little too slow-paced for my taste. But having read many of Everson's books, I had faith that the pacing would pick up, and it did. If you find this small nit-picky point to be the case with you, hang in there because the best is yet to be!
Note that I received a complementary copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book with the pull and currents of a river...

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The luscious cover on this book is what first caught my attention, the family epic inside is what held it.
Slow Moon Rising does not falter once through all its 376 pages of story.
I am left wondering: who is the woman in white alone on this sunset beach? It could be any of the women whose stories are revealed inside the cover...
It could be Anise, who fell in love with a newly widowed man over 20 years her senior. She married Ross Claybourne, and grew to love his four daughters even they rejected her and resented her place in their father's life.
The woman could be Kimberly, the Clayburne's eldest daughter, with her two sons and her broken heart...
Or she could be Jayme-Leigh, the next girl, who became a physician like her father.
She could be Heather, who may understand better than anyone what their mother Joan went through...
Or she could be Ami, the youngest Claybourne, whose story is achingly sad with the potential to be stunningly beautiful. Ami, who carried a secret for the longest time.
The woman in white might even be Rosa, a woman who lives in Cedar Key and who is part of this story in a way the four daughters never expected her to be.
These are the women of this book, all of whom experience both wounding and the beginning of healing.
This novel is a tapestry, woven full of experiences that make up life, events and changes and trials that every woman has encountered at some time in her pilgrimage on earth. I think the phrase "a book like a river" describes this one well. There are many currents under the suface, all braiding together, there is a journey that the story is taking, and the pull of the flowing writing sweeps you away. Yes, a river is a good metaphor for this book.
I like the way that the point of view transitions from one woman to another through the chapters, so as you read you are allowed to see inside their world and to look out with their eyes.
As I read Slow Moon Rising I found that I really cared about all of the women here...I am so glad I got to meet them!
Thank you Eva Marie and Revell for this book!
**Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of My Favorites!

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
This is without a doubt one of my favorite novels! How I hated to have it end. Complex characters are written so well that their experiences could be true.
The story is told from the first-person viewpoint of five different Claybourne women. Rather than the usual way of repeating the same scene over and over from a different angle; therefore, the timeline advances down through the years as each person shares. The novel begins in the year 2000 and concludes with the current day. I loved piecing the story together. I did not want to to put this one down as long-kept family secrets are revealed.
Here is your summer read. Don't miss this compelling Christian novel.
Thank you to Donna Hausler for my copy. Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining with Complex Characters

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cedar Key, the family beach house where summer and holiday memories are made, calls the Claybourne family back together and provides a comfortable atmosphere for some difficult and also some happy occasions. The third and final book in the Cedar Key series is a well written novel about complex characters (most notably four sisters) whose family secrets threaten their relationships. Restoration comes when problems are acknowledged and help ... godly counsel, prayer, financial, etc. ... is accepted. Learning to accept and assist each other is part of the family dynamics that make up this novel. Even with the difficulties addressed in this book, it's entertaining and draws you in so you can't put it down until you've finished reading it. Loose ends were tied up in a concise and satisfactory manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Slow Moon Rising, Cedar Key Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you can get to the end of this book without using a pile of tissue, there’s something wrong with your tear ducts.
This story is about new love and old resentments, long lasting love and divorce, and secrets that can either tear a family apart or bring them closer together.
Best of all, this book takes us back to Cedar Key. I think there are still lots of stories there, but apparently Ms Everson has decided not to take us there again.
I would love to live there, but since I can’t, I’ve enjoyed life in Cedar Key vicariously. Cedar Key is not only a place on the gulf, but also a place in one’s heart.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.