Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English

Hendrickson Publishers Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English

If you're a student of Greek, you'll appreciate this handy volume. It gives you the complete Septuagint text in parallel columns with Brenton's English translation. You'll gain a better understanding of the Scriptures because the Septuagint vocabulary is frequently found in quotations and terms used by the New Testament writers. 1378 pages, hardcover from Hendrickson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Review 1 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bearsm
Location:Barberton, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My uncle (a retired minister) has been wanting this book for years. It was out of print for a while. I thought I would search again and you had it. Yeh!!!
I ordered it and my mother and I went togerther and got it as a early birthday gift to surprise him. He has been so excited and has had a hard time putting it down. Ever spare moment he is reading. His words: It is just a wonderful book. I wrote in the first page:(Not exact) The bible has been a light in your life and pathway and when you have finished your course may it be the light and way for L.M. to follow in your footsteps. For him to pass it down to my grandson that is age 6 right now. And I hope he gets as much knowledge and understanding out of it as he has. I pray everyday that Landan will follow God and be a blessing to others. Thanks so much. He has also told a friend and his friend ordered one and is reading it. They talk about it alot. The friend is so happy to. Thank again
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michael Alimo
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has the necessary features I expected and as a student of Greek, I really love this product. It is easy to read and understand. No Bible student will regret buying this book. It is awesome!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fine Volume

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:Manchester, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a disappointment to me. The Greek is on one side and English on the other with no way to link them. I think you'd need to know Greek to get any value from this. I don't and will look for another Septuagint more user friendly. I do want to say this is a beautifully bound volume with quality paper and well printed. A nice addition to any library.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is beneficial

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Wayne
Location:Woodstock, Il
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Given as a gift to my best friend, I had gone through the book and found it enlightening for the serious student of God's Word. It better helps one to understand the terminaology used in the N.T...lol I plan on confiscating the book for future reference...God Bless and I pray this book will be as beneficial for others as it has been for us :D
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Love to Study
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some other reviews prior to purchasing this. They said it was difficult to read due to a fax quality about the print. So when I received it, I found it better than I expected. I only gave it four stars (quality) for that reason. It's actually very nice. My eyes are not the greatest, but I find that once I begin, they adjust. Great information for anyone who would like to dive deeper into the bible and our history! I think the "Old English" is lovely. It gives a more descriptive view. I would truly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great. Just what I expected.

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pushrod
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I teach Sunday School at my Church. This book will be a great asset to me. A valuable tool for cross reference.
I especially like the Apocrypha.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Book

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ray Mustin
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding Book, Outstanding Value. A very well put together book - really useful for in depth study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very strong translation.

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
mickey
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am greek my self and I wanted to see if the translation would awaken any latent connections in my heritage. I was not disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Smithson
I'd been looking for a copy of this and was so pleased to finally be able to have the Greek! It's an awesome tool for studying the Word of God! I have recommended it to all of my friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Bone
Been wanting this bible for awhile and am so glad that I finally got it. Christianbook is really a great company with affordable prices and the product was really fast in getting into my hands in a timely matter..This is a great tool to have in your collection.Thanks Christianbook for your great service...Brenda
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Leffler
Ordering this as an ordinary pastor who wanted to know more (not an OT or Greek scholar), I find it interesting. It is the Brenton text of 1851 (mostly from Vaticanus with some reliance on Alexandrinus and other texts), reproduced in 1986. My copy is the 13th reprint, January 2009. I was impressed by the speed and efficiency of delivery across the Atlantic and delighted with the book as an item. It is handsomely bound and will last for years if not generations. I am not qualified to comment on its accuracy and value in scholarly terms, but I am glad to have it as an addition to my Bible study tools. Thank you Hendrickson, for publishing it, and Christianbook.com for distributing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Wilson
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading from both the Greek and the English translation of this book. It will make a valuable addition to my library. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Russell Thompson
I really like this edition. For Bible students who are trying to learn the original languages and are progressing with Greek, but are struggling with Hebrew, this book helps by providing a Greek translation of the old Hebrew text. I also like the fact that the Apocrypha books are included, but they are separated from the Old Testament books - that way it's there for those who want to study the Apocrypha, but it's not intermingled with the Old Testament for those who do not wish to read the Apocrypha. The only complaint I have is that I would have like the English text to be lined up with the Greek text, like an Interlinear Bible, but overall, this is a great book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bibleman
a wonderful book in itself, but the foreward speaks a warning. A number of books are well - written and reflect hellenizing judaism in a beautiful way, but some books (especially Isaiah) are very poorly translated. Blame the original translators (bias of some sort?)therefore, 3.5 out of five due to incomplete description of the book, and some glaring textual inaccuracies.. I also add that the apocrypha includes 3rd and 4th maccabees, leaving out 2nd esdras (written 70 AD or later), but relegates them (unlike the septuagint) to an apocryphal index. Certain books are valid and the greek translation can be invigorating, but if something sounds odd, cross - reference it while you study the book. The preface says the pentateuch are the best translated books in the septuagint, and I see no evidence to the contrary yet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Hayes
The forward is a bit scary in admitting that Christ and His apostles used this but then flips and claims that much later 10th century hebrew works are more reliable than what our Lord and His apostles quoted and referred to as scripture?!? Well, as a christian, I choose to follow what Jesus taught and said and not modern bible "scholars".
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Ambrose
As this Apocrypha is taken from the Greek translation, it doesn't contain all of the books from the Hebrew Apocrypha. However, it is well arranged, and interesting to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Benjamin Kane
First, christianbook.com, This is one of the best for price, search ability, and speed of delivery of any online book store I have used (many). Second, Septuagint, This version is so effective on answering many OT questions. Names mentioned in one place match names of people/places in other place, including apocrypha. The best part is that the language of translation is as convicting as intended. Many English translations erring on the side of commonality and familiarity, and frankly lukewarmness, are not here. I read a verse in particular that was specifically prophesied over my family in my other versions and had no new fear/respect. I definitely have it with this version. God Bless you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bob Steffens
This is the closest to the original text for the O.T. that I have been able to find. I just love it. Jesus did too! In fact He quoted from it. Great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Allan
The book itself:Well made book, should last a long time.Open the book and lay it flat the pages lie and remain flat and don't flip around. I like that.The small English print isn't an issue with me, I can see it fine.Study resource:A nicely welcomed addition to my Library of study materials. Christianbooks.com:Nice price.Other places were much more expensive and the delivery was a day ahead of the scheuled time.Great service, great product/book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Septuagint with Apocrypha: Greek and English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Fred Steck
I received my copy in the mail yesterday and was overall extremely pleased. I can highly recommend adding this version of the Septuagint to your library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>