Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1

Revell Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1

It's 1895, and spunky Marguerite Westing is thrilled to discover that her family will summer at Lake Manawa! Escaping her boring suitor, Roger, Marguerite stumbles upon two new loves---sailing and her instructor, Trip. But when her father's gambling threatens to ruin them all, will she marry Roger to save her family's name and fortune? 368 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
30 out of 3488%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
Review 1 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute, funny, good message and appealing characters

Date:April 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the first of the Lake Manawa Summers trilogy, Lorna Seilstad introduces us to the delights of Lake Manawa - a large Iowan lake near Council Bluffs where sailboats skimmed across the waves, young and old enjoyed the delights of the water slide and lake, where the wealthy would camp all summer on the shore, and where other, darker snares lay hidden for the susceptible. Marguerite's family chooses to spend the summer there in large tents with all the comforts of home, and there Marguerite discovers the love of her life - sailing. Except, of course, women are not supposed to sail, but boys can, so Marguerite convinces her younger brother to take lessons with Marguerite supervising - and soaking up everything he is taught. The handsome instructor's main stipulation is that she be able swim, which she can . . . for a couple seconds, if she can bounce off the bottom. Spending more and more time with Trip, Marguerite knows she has to send her rich and boring suitor Roger packing, but she hates to cause a scene. When her little white lies come to light and family problems suddenly appear, what will she do?
It's fun when an author chooses a little-known location or time period for their setting. Lake Manawa, Iowa, is certainly not someplace I had heard of, let alone known it was such a popular entertainment area at the turn of the century. Back when there was a significantly greater divide in classes, the lake became a place where rich and poor alike mingled, where fantastic daily events drew large crowds to its shores.
Any lie - big, little, whatever - can hurt someone. And they don't just hurt other people - they have repercussions on the liar too. Marguerite's little white lies did not seem all that bad; they were largely to avoid causing a scene. However, if she had told Roger the truth at the beginning of their courtship - that she had no desire to marry him at all - rather than always putting it off and waiting for her father to rescue her, how much strife could the whole family have avoided? This is not to say everything is her fault, since the blame can be spread around generously, but could the simple action of telling the truth have prevented much of their hardship? And her relationship with Trip takes several blows when he catches her evading the truth.
As much as I like Trip, he is rather judgmental. All have sinned; all fall short of the glory of God. Marguerite is right up there with everyone else, relying on God's mercy for the foolish things she does. But Trip needs mercy too, especially for his attitude, which is far from Godly at times. It is hard to forgive that which causes enormous pain, but it must be done lest one wallow in bitterness forever.
This is a well-rounded book - a bit of danger, a bit of fancy, plenty of humor, and sufficient gravity; a spunky heroine, a dashing hero, villainous knave, and a merciful God. Cute and funny with a good message and appealing characters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book, anxious to read the next one

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marguerite Westing from Council Bluffs, Iowa was a spunky girl who detested the man her mother had picked for her to marry, Roger Gordon. He was vanilla ice cream and she was a strawberry sundae. In 1895 her father decided the family would spend the summer months at Lake Manawa, Iowa, that is where she met Trip Andrews when he had to pull her from the lake and she got her first taste of sailing. Her mother let her younger brother Mark do anything he wanted because he was a boy but she couldn't do anything, that is why she sneaks and lies.
I wanted to read this series because I was born and raised about 100 miles north of Lake Manawa, where Iowa, Nebraska and South Dakota meet, in South Sioux City, Nebraska and these books sounded like some fun stories. I can say I really got into this book, Lorna started out with a fun, lighthearted story and by the final third of the book I was fighting back tears for Marguerite. She was such a fun character it was a shame she had to fight her mother and later her father who had always been her hero, he would let her do things that her mother didn't approve of, until now.
I would encourage others to read this book if they like Christian Historical's, I think they will really enjoy Lorna's work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Keeper!!!

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Traci Myers
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the passion the author used to write this book. It was like I could taste, see and feel everything. And the characters spent a lot of time together and we got to hear all there points of view, my favorite kind of book. Can't wait to read the other two in the series, just started on book 2 and I am enthralled. Great family values too, with the perfect amount of scripture thrown in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Cute Book!

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Salem, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such an easy read. I'm a caregiver and a teacher. This was so nice to sit down and appear in a different time period and enjoy it! Enough suspense to keep you in it but lots of fun to read. Thanks for offering it for the ereader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable, great characters, good story

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
prayingpeg
Location:Joplin, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Entertaining characters, well developed plot, loved the ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
bzzybee
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:25-34
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this story started out interesting, albeit predictable, but seemed to meander midway through to a speedy finish. At some point the story took a different focus, toward her father and seemed to lose steam and foundation. I also found the main character, Marguerite, increasingly inconsistent, e.g. spunky, daring, rebellious; yet still winy and passive in the face of her distastefully impending engagement. On the other hand, Trip's character seemed both well developed and stupendously mature next to Marguerite's. Overall it wasn't a bad read, just okay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebeca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
keeps you interested through the whole book, like the stroy line
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
reading for fun
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a very fun and funny book and at times made you cry at injustice. Very well written. The heroin was easy to like and the story and plot easy to follow! Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
iluvJesus87
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the story. It kept me interested. I didn't want to stop reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A step back in time..

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rhejoyce
Location:Central California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed stepping back to a setting not so long ago but so very far removed from today's hurried summer vacation escapes. I loved the sailing component & longed for more along that line. The dating/engagement rituals were very well written in this story.an enjoyable summer 'read.'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was a nice light read

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nattyann
Location:Miramichi, NB Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is what I call a fluff read. I enjoyed it. There was no heavy thinking involved just a good escape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
readn4fun
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I truly enjoyed the book "Making Waves". I felt I was on a wonderful adventure with the characters. The book is well written & accurate info for the time period.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I liked the book very much. I would recommend it.

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
peachcircle
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book kept my attention. I enjoyed the drama and could not wait to find out what was going to happen next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Fiction...I love it!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
nelle
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very interesting since I live in Iowa. I didn't know anything about lake Manawa. Good writing, good reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once I got through the first couple of chapters this book really grab ahold of me and I flew through it. I thought the author does a wonderful job of weaving God throughout the book. Great beach reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisingly Good!

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I wasn't expecting anything more than an easy read and a lot of fluff, to be honest, but was pleasantly surprised with the depth of emotion the author portrayed in each of her characters. I laughed and cried! Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Ouch

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm constantly in search of new authors for my book reviews. This title was suggested and didn't make the cut.
Flaws were in writing, character building [or lack of], plot, and inferences to the LORD.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
L Rain
Location:Toronto
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy read. Fun for summer escape. Good values. Historically accurate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth reading

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
dingo4mum
Location:Vicoria, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I started this book with great expectations, and was sadly let down. I found the main characters poor, unrealistic, and I couldn't identify with them. Very rarely do I leave a book unfinished, but with this one I couldn't bring myself to waste any more time muddling through this one.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Making Waves, Lake Manawa Series #1
This review is fromMaking Waves: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stefanie
Location:kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes the main character may be "flippant" in the beginning, but like most christian books you have to give the character time. And as the story unfolds they end up either receiving Christ or growing in their spirituality. I never put a book down after only a few pages. You have to give the author a chance to take you on a journey! That's the fun of reading!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.