Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1

Revell Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1

U.S. Marshal Jake Taylor has seen plenty of action during his years in law enforcement. But he'd rather go back to Iraq than face his next assignment: protection detail for federal judge Liz Michaels. His feelings toward Liz haven't warmed in the five years since she lost her husband--and Jake's best friend--to possible suicide. How can Jake be expected to care for the coldhearted workaholic who drove his friend to despair?

As the danger mounts and Jake gets to know Liz better, his feelings slowly start to change. When it becomes clear that an unknown enemy may want her dead, the stakes are raised. Because now both her life--and his heart--are in mortal danger.

Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 39100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Review 1 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nothing too exciting...

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was my first book by Irene Hannon, and since she's considered one of the best in Christian suspense, I was super excited to read it.
I never realized how disappointing it was to be disappointed...
When I read a novel, I like the characters to become my friends and the plot to keep the pages turning. I'm not asking too much, just that the writer does a good job at bringing the hero and heroine to life. Throughout the whole story, I felt detached from Liz and Jake. Like I was watching their life happen from a distance and I wasn't really there.
And Martin Reynolds... I mean, I'm sure there are people like that in the world, but in my opinion, it was extreme and made for a very weak plot line. If you haven't read this book yet then I won't spoil the plot for you, but for those of you who did, then you might know what I mean.
Now, Irene Hannon is a decent writer and I learned a lot about US Marshalls and protection duty, but that wasn't why I picked up this novel. I wanted to lose myself in a mystery that was flavored with a good dose of romance. Did I get what I was expecting? I don't know... but it took me a whole week to read what should've been a one nighter.
I wouldn't recommend this book to just anyone, but if you're a fan of Irene, then by all means, give it a shot. Just don't spend a whole lot of money on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

twisty

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked this book.. action is great, mystery twists is awesome. and a little romance on the side just made it perfect!! with the exception of how insane that guy was. I know its reality - there are people like that in the world, it just scared me a little.
*** I never knew that red pen was indicating anything and i love using it.I had to stop filing my business contracts with it after this book.
I'm totally recommending it to all that love mystery romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AntieM
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. Suspense, romance, and written with class. I have enjoyed all of Irene Hannon's books. Writing style is similar to Dee Henderson. If you love christian suspense, don't miss this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dangerously good! Impossible to put down!

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh. Now this is why I like reading Christian fiction! It's been a long, long while since I've read a phenomenal, outstanding story and let me tell you that I was pretty desperate for one.
There's no other way to put it, this was my first read by Hannon and it exceeded my expectations on every level. WOW! And I don't even frequently read Romantic Suspense.
Excellent Cover! Excellent story that is amazingly told! Nail-biting suspense- no seriously. I almost couldn't do anything else today as I finished the story... I was glued in! This one deserves a 'dangerously good' sticker on it. And the romance? Oh. don't even get me started! This was one of the best EVER! The ladies will swoon when they meet Jake and will be able to love, understand- and cheer on- Elizabeth.
Soo good! I more than highly recommend it! You need to read this to believe it. The rave reviews are very right!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good read

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
kristiw
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoy romantic mystery novels so this was right up my alley. I enjoyed the book but I much prefer Dee Henderson's writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Irene Hannon always produces a good read.

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Waddles
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good character development. Gets you involved in the story from the beginning and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Always sorry when I turn the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Was hard to put down!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annya
Location:New York State
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good series; wanted to keep reading and sorry when the book was finished!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
sheepherder56
Location:orland, ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the book. Enjoyed the characters and the happy ending. I would recommend it . Couldn"t wait to read the second book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the money

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Frank Gotch
Location:Austin, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had I not already read the author's books on the FBI, I may have not purchased this book. I thought her first series were great and I simply was not sure if she could continue to write that way. She can and she does! My grandson does not like "girlie" books; they need some action for him to like it. I think this book will meet and even exceed his request for action. Well written, suspensful and logical. A great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Arletta Taylor
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT! I REALLY LIKE THE WAY IRENE HANNON HANDLES THE CHARACTERS AND SPINS THE STORY. GREAT READING!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read. A bit predictable.

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read a lot of Dee Henderson's drama/romances,and this was in that same genre. I wasn't sure I would relate to these characters who are young and professional, and the romance part was a little much for me, but the action got me so involved! I couldn't put it down until I found out exactly how it would end, even though it was predictable. Irene Hannon's writing is very good and engaging. Her characters are portrayed so vividly that you feel you know them. I will read her next one in this series, so that says it all!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great read!

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Perth, Western Australia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once again, Irene Hannon had me gripped to the end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blondie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book. If you enjoyed her precious series, you will like this one. Slow at the start, but if you continue on it becomes a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Often we have to face what we prefer not to

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jake needs to face his past with Liz and to do that puts
both in harm's way. A story packed with action and
life changing happenings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
I haven’t read a book by Irene Hannon that I haven’t absolutely loved and this one is no exception. There is a timeless quality about her writing that pulls a reader in and holds her fast. I didn’t want to let go of Fatal Judgment until I’d finished the very last page.
There is an unhurried feel to Jake and Liz’s romance despite the taut plot and tense timeline. Pages peppered with small revelations, guarded looks, beginning relationship jitters…all build romantic tension and increase the reader’s enjoyment.
And the suspense! Hannon has an eerie way of delving into a criminal’s mind, fleshing them out to be something more then pure evil. Complex, raw, emotional, the suspense drives the plot and keeps the pages turning.
If you like nail-biting reads, you’ll love this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite!

Date:February 5, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being an avid fan of the hit show, NCIS, I was leery about reading this book in case it didn’t measure up to my high standards. I’m happy to say that it did. And some!
The suspense was so well written that I couldn’t put the book down. I read it in one day, so I’m warning that you need to set aside time to read this. It is not a “by bits and pieces” read. You won’t want to be interrupted! The romance fit naturally into the book, and didn’t seem forced or boring. I loved all the characters!
I would say that this is an excellent romantic suspense, and I will definitely be checking into reading other books by this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marshall Jake Taylor does not want his next assignment. He is to guard federal judge Liz Michaels. She is the widow of his best friend who died five years ago and Jake holds Liz responsible. When Jake meets Liz again he discovers that maybe she isn’t the cold-hearted person he was led to believe. Jake and Liz race against time to discover who is trying to kill her. I thought I knew who the killer was. I was wrong. Irene Hannon weaves suspense and romance in this suspense novel. It was hard to put down. If you have read the Heroes of Quantico Series you will meet a few of those characters again. I can’t wait for the next book in the Guardian of Justice Series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great new Series

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
trusthimto
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful blend of mystery and romance. This new series, Guardians of Justice, is sure to draw you in and hold your attention. The story is embedded with twists and turns, faith and romance, murder and danger, suspense and maybe even second chances. You will have to pick up a copy of this book to find out for yourself. Just plan sometime where you can read it without the interruptions of having to put it down. Looking forward to the next installment of the Guardians of Justice series.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 Stars!!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Fatal Judgment was the first romantic suspense novel I've read in quite a long time. It was also the first time I've read anything by Irene Hannon, and I have to say that I was very impressed. The first novel in her new series, Guardians of Justice, was a thrill ride with U.S. Marshals, the FBI, and a murderer on the loose. The action was consistent throughout, but sprinkled with moments of grief and healing for both Liz and Jake. It was up to Jake to protect Liz at every turn, and he was definitely a hero worth reading about!
Another thing I loved was that, as a reader, I knew who the bad guy was all along because he was revealed about 1/3 of the way into the book. From past experience, sometimes that works for a story, sometimes it doesn't. In Fatal Judgment, it defintely worked! I was given a glimpse into his crazy mind, and his motives for striking out at Judge Michaels. On the other hand, his character saddened me because there are so many people in the real world that have his same twisted logic toward our country.
I have no doubt that the next installment in this series will please suspense fans as easily as this one did. Irene Hannon has enormous talent within this genre, and the thoughts and research that went into this novel was evident on every page. And now that I know that a few characters from this novel were a part of her previous series, I can't wait to get my hands on those next!
4.5 Stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fatal Judgment, Guardians of Justice Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be careful picking this book up.......

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
LVescape
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
........cuz you may not want to put it down!
From the Publisher
U.S. Marshal Jake Taylor has seen plenty of action during his years in law enforcement. But he'd rather go back to Iraq than face his next assignment: protection detail for federal judge Liz Michaels. His feelings toward Liz haven't warmed in the five years since she lost her husband--and Jake's best friend--to possible suicide. How can Jake be expected to care for the coldhearted workaholic who drove his friend to despair?
As the danger mounts and Jake gets to know Liz better, his feelings slowly start to change. When it becomes clear that an unknown enemy may want her dead, the stakes are raised. Because now both her life--and his heart--are in mortal danger.
Full of the suspense and romance Irene Hannon's fans have come to love, Fatal Judgment is a thrilling story that will keep readers turning the pages late into the night.
My Take
Irene Hannon, author of the Heroes of Quantico series, has done it again! She has taken the mystery & romance together to make the start of another excellent series—Guardians of Justice. The story dives right in at the beginning to get the reader hooked.
Federal Judge Liz Michaels’ sister is shot in the judge’s home and it soon becomes apparent that bullet was meant for the judge. In walks, US Marshal Jake Taylor, straight from another case. He had no clue that the Judge was actually the widow of his best friend. With all the unflattering stories Jake had heard about the Judge from his embittered best friend, how was he going to protect her with unbiased professionalism?
Hannon develops the characters a little at a time to keep the reader’s interest in their developing friendship. Both the Judge and Marshal Taylor have their demons they have to work through. But it’s those demons that have made them who they are and gotten them to this point in their lives. They each have preconceived notions of each other and, as they spend time together, they realize those notions are wrong.
This is one of those books you just “need” to keep reading---that you “need” to know what’s going to happen next. The characters draw you in so you have a hard time putting the book down. There is a faith-based undertone, but you know both characters rely on God to guide their way. I really liked this book and would highly recommend it! Hannon does it again!
Available January 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Author Bio
Irene Hannon is the author of more than 25 novels, including the CBA bestsellers Against All Odds, An Eye for an Eye, and In Harm’s Way. Her books have been honored with the coveted RITA Award from Romance Writers of America, the HOLT Medallion, the Daphne du Maurier award, and the Reviewer’s Choice Award from Romantic Times BOOKreviews magazine. She lives in Missouri.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>