Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3

Revell Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3

Anna Olsen knows it's time to leave her sister's increasingly crowded house and start a life of her own. Following her sisters' examples, she becomes a mail-order bride, and after a short correspondence with clock maker and jeweler Edward Parker, she moves to Denver to become his wife. Almost immediately it's painfully apparent that Anna and Edward are very different. Anna is a free spirit who would rather be painting and enjoying the company of friends than cleaning house. Edward is a consummate perfectionist who, on their wedding day, hands Anna a list of chores that need to be done around the house daily.

Can this mismatched couple see past their differences to a harmonious future? Or will their disparate passions create obstacles neither is willing to surmount?

Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Review 1 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too many boring details

Date:February 21, 2014
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually enjoy mail-order bride stories, but this one didn't keep my interest. The pacing was slow, bogged down by boring details. The plot was not compelling and the characters seemed two dimensional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Okay

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anna is a mail order bride and her groom is not what she expected. Where she is easy-going and loves adventure Edward is all about lists and order. Can they over come their differences to be the perfect match?
This is the third book in the series. I have not read the other two but this book can easily be read as a stand alone. This book was a little slow going at first but it was a good read.
What I liked: Anna and Edward were opposites which made the book fun. The list he gave Anna on their wedding day made me laugh. I liked how both characters grew and changed as the book went a long. I liked how the book had marriage be a two-way street and that both parties need to give and take to make it work.
What I did not like: This book was a little slow in the middle. I also thought Anna was being a little selfish when it came to helping animals. Even though things worked out in the end she never seemed to show that maybe she should have understood that bring home all those strays was a little crazy. She was very much pushing Edwards good graces.
Over all this was an enjoyable book. The plot was a little slow at times but the ending was good. An enjoyable Christian historical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A sweet romance

Date:October 30, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this sweet romance. From the first words of Perfectly Matched to the last, we get to see the growth of two people as they struggled through the highs and lows of marriage - whether by mail-order or by choice. Ms. Brendan's way of showing how marriage is never about one person's desires made me appreciate my spouse more.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Mismatched Couple Learn About Each Other

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie Brendan in her new book “Perfectly Matched” Book Three in The Blue Willow Brides series published by Revell Books takes us into the life of Anna Olsen in 1888.
From the back cover: His life runs like clockwork. Hers is a spontaneous adventure. But God’s timing is always perfect.
Anna Olsen knows it’s time to leave her sister’s increasingly crowded house and start a life of her own. Following her sisters’ examples, she becomes a mail-order bride, and after a short correspondence with clock maker and jeweler Edward Parker, she moves to Denver to become his wife.
Almost immediately it’s painfully apparent that Anna and Edward are very different. Anna is a free spirit who would rather be painting and enjoying the company of friends than cleaning house. Edward is a consummate perfectionist who, on their wedding day, hands Anna a list of chores that need to be done around the house daily.
Can this mismatched couple see past their differences to a harmonious future? Or will their disparate passions create obstacles neither is willing to surmount?
Maggie Brendan closes her Blue Willow Brides series with a heartwarming tale of true love despite misunderstanding, showing readers that God’s timing is always perfect.
I like Mail Order Bride stories. Maybe it is because they portray the woman with such a sense of adventure and trust. She has to pack up everything, say goodbye to family, probably for the last time, and move to a different City and State to marry someone she did not know nor had yet to meet. This is what Anna Olsen agrees to as she travels out to Denver. Anna and her new husband, Edward, are two different personalities. Ms. Brendan has done it again. She has provided a story that has real substance to it, as to what makes a good marriage, while showing us the fun in learning about another person. I think that “Perfectly Matched” is a winner and may be Maggie Brendan’s best story to date. ”Perfectly Matched” is a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I liked it a lot and am sorry that this series is over however I am looking forward to the next book by this highly talented author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfectly matched? She’s young and spontaneous. He’s older and rigid. She does whatever it is that pops into her mind. He lives life according to a list, and expects her to do the same.
Then there’s the surprise arrival of her pet dog, and all the other animals that she takes in. Anna and Edward have a lot of hurdles in front of them. It doesn’t look as if they can become a happily married couple. Can mismatched ever become perfectly matched?
Thank you, Ms Brendan for giving us The Blue Willow Brides series. These books have brought back pleasant memories of my Aunt Maimie’s blue willow dishes that were only brought out on a special occasion.
***A special thank you to Lanette Haskins for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet historical romance

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is the first of Maggie's books that I've read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Sometimes I just want a book to relax with and that makes me smile, and Perfectly Matched did exactly that. Although it concludes a series, this story easily stands alone.
The setting of Denver, Colorado in the fall of 1888 felt very real as many actual places were incorporated, some still standing today. And characterization is strong in both major and secondary characters.
Edward is certainly a unique hero! He suffers from a mild form of what we know today as obsessive compulsive disorder, first evidenced in the humorous scene where, shortly after saying "I do," he presents Anna with a detailed schedule of her daily chores. As frustrating and unbending as he seems at first, knowing his background and understanding that his actions were merely coping mechanisms, I grew to really like him. Edward's father had been an alcoholic, and his sister explains to Anna: "Edward and I both had our ways of coping as children. He liked to tinker with things that took total concentration and perfectionism. I think that was his way of controlling what he could around him, and he became compulsive about certain things."
Anna is completely his opposite, and their marriage a total recipe for disaster without God in the equation. Scatterbrained, impulsive, untidy and disheveled - but with such a giving nature, genuine sweetness, and compassion for others, especially animals in need. "When the Lord places an opportunity to do good right in front of me, then I have to take a stand," Anna explains.
I particularly enjoy romances where love grows between a married couple, and Maggie did an excellent job at portraying this. That intimate moments are a part of Edward and Anna's marriage is obvious, and it's just refreshing to see this included and so tastefully done "off camera."
This story also shows how Edward and Anna, both committed to their marriage, work through personality differences and discover that they actually have much in common and bring out the best in each other. I loved how, as early as their wedding night, Edward "suddenly had a premonition of things to come, and he felt like he was losing control."
Perfectly Matched is a tender, heartwarming romance which includes some interesting history, such as the beginning of the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. I believe this is a book that romance fans will enjoy.
This book was provided by Lanette Haskins and Revell in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Liked the Historical Aspects, but rest is so-so

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Perfectly Matched
The Blue Willow Brides #3
By Maggie Brendan
Perfectly Matched is the third book in The Blue Willow Brides series. This book follows Anna Olsen as she marries a man whom she has met only in letters when he advertised for a mail-order bride. Leaving the comfort of what she has known behind Anna travels to Denver where she weds Edward Parker.
But can two such different people who don't really know one another truly ever become a harmonious couple? Anna's youthful caring heart is about disrupt Edward's orderly world in a way he never expected. Her exuberant spirit both attracts and distracts him. While his orderly structure annoys Anna especially when it is presented in a list of expected daily duties and chores the moment she enters her new home.
When Anna finds a need in Denver she decides this is the mission that has been given her. But Edward doesn't want any animals in his home much less the entire stray population that roams the city streets. Is there any hope of compromise and a happy understanding?
Perfectly Matched has Anna bringing the ASPCA to Denver as she attempts to be a champion for the abandoned and abused animals of Denver. Along the way she makes friends who help her with her endeavor and she learns the value of give-and-take in marriage.
I have to say what I liked best in Perfectly Matched were some of Anna's antics like playing peeping-tom on the neighbors and her first suggestion for the literary circle's reading selection. Though she's impetuous Anna has a caring heart, and I'm sure when she gets a little age and experience (after all she's 18) she'd be an outstanding person in everything she puts her mind to after giving it careful thought. Edward and Anna need each other to balance one another and to draw out what each lacks in themselves - thus they are Perfectly Matched.
I love the cover of this book with the Blue Willow design in the background and Anna's lacy blouse / dress is so lovely with the Battenberg lace. The cover alone would have convinced me to review this title, if I hadn't read Maggie Brendan's previous Blue Willow Brides title.
There was a little too much intimacy in the book to suit my personal reading preferences so I was a little disappointed in this book. Maybe there should have been a little pre-wedding story before the wedding. I really liked the previous two titles in this series so I was a little surprised with this book.
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story right up there w/Deeanne Gist!

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I could give this book ten stars, I would. This historical novel was set in 1888 in Denver, Colorado, so the setting was one of my favorites, too. There is something about mail-order bride stories that I really enjoy reading. It probably has to do with a newly married couple -- essentially strangers before the wedding -- discovering their love for each other.
This is the best mail-order bride story I've ever read. Ironically, the second best one was also in this series. I think Ms. Brendan has a gift when it comes to writing about romantic love between newly married couples. Add to that the tender heart the heroine has for animals and rescuing them from abuse and you have an intriguing book.
The hero was a sweetheart. Yeah, he had a pretty rigid personality at first, but as his love grew for his new bride, his strict boundaries became blurred and he learned to be spontaneous and not take life so seriously that it's predictable and boring. I loved experiencing the softening of his heart as he fell in love with her. The heroine's desire to please her husband while remaining true to herself is a good lesson for young women to learn. This novel illustrates that beautifully.
I can't say enough good things about this book. It's heartwarming and sensual at the same time, as newly married love should be. This is definitely one of my favorite books this year, if not at the top of my list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sappy, but cute story

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A sappy, but cute story of Anna, a mail order bride and Edward, a clock maker, who live in Denver Colorado.
Like most newlyweds, who haven't lived together before marriage, they have a time of adjustment; which is often hilarious, but also heart wrenching when feelings are hurt and miscommunication occurs. Edwards OCD (OCD - Obsessive-compulsive disorder - apparently emerged in 1877, did you know that?) was a major contribution to Anna and his rocky start, just as much as Anna's spontaneity. They had to learn how to live a balanced life between the two.
It was interesting learning a bit of the history of the A.S.P.C.A. (American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) and Anna's efforts to star the first shelter in Denver. Both were admirable.
I wanted to read this book because of my interest in mail order brides. I cannot fathom how women, girls even, could do this. Usually they left their families behind in another city, state or country. I mean, I did that but I knew my husband before I made the move. I have read the first two books of this series and thought the first was the best one. To me Perfectly Matched was a regular fictional romance novel. It isn't a book I get excited about or would read again, unfortunately.
“Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While this is the third book in The Blue Willow Brides series, each book can be read as a stand-alone story. The other books are titled, Deeply Devoted and Twice Promised. These two books feature Anna’s, the main female lead in this book, sisters and their stories as mail-order brides. This story is set in Denver, Colorado in 1888.
Anna Olsen is living with her sister, but wants her own life in her own house. She decides to accept an offer of marriage as a mail-order bride to accomplish her goal. However, she soon realizes she and her husband are very different. On their wedding day, he gives her a list of household chores that need to be done and when to do them. Anna is a free spirit who never feels more alive than when she is outdoors. Now she finds her life consumed with trying to keep up with her list of things to do. She soon decides the list is impossible to keep up, and encounters a new interest…homeless animals. Her husband is against this at first, because of their hair all over everything, the mess they make in the backyard and the time they take away from his wife when she should be spending that time with him. Anna is convinced the Lord wants her to follow through with taking care of these animals.
Edward Parker is a watchmaker. He runs his shop, his home and his life with precision, and he expects his wife to do the same. Edward gives his new wife a little slack as she is young and has never run a household before. He tries to keep in mind they are both new at the marriage, and don’t know each other very well, having only corresponded by mail before marrying. Edward must learn to deal with his jealousy where his new wife is concerned. Is there any way this marriage will work? Anna is not nearly as concerned with his schedule or doing things his way and has her own ideas on how to do things. Will they learn to compromise or will they continue to step on each other’s toes?
I have read the prior two books in this series, as well as the Heart of the West series also by Maggie Brendan. While her prior works have been very good and held my attention, this particular installment was just average. The storyline just didn’t draw me in. Edward just was not likeable in my opinion. I did like Anna’s compassionate heart for animals and her willingness to take charge about solving the problem of abandoned/homeless animals. After finally consummating their marriage, it seemed readers were frequently “getting to know one another better”. I felt this excess aspect of their intimacy took away from moving the story along, and in fact was an unwanted distraction. Authors cannot always write a 5-star book, so I will still be reading future books by this author. However, this novel was just so-so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Romance

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title is a bit misleading. Perfectly Matched...Anna Olson is now a mail-order bride. Edward Parker, the groom, is a bit, well maybe more than a bit, OCD. Whereas, Anna, is a bit scatter brained, in a good way.
Will these two different people, newly met, be able to forge a marriage? Edward needs organization in his life, everything in its place. A day for each chore, and meals right on time. Enter Anna, and she arrives with a dog. Now being a dog lover I know that fur, and playing and just being in the house leaves things a bit disorganized! Poor Edward!
Now Anna does not stop with just one dog, oh no. Pretty soon a menagerie of different animals begins to appear, you can just picture what happens.
The story is not just about Anna and Edwards different personalities, but it is about the sweet romance that blooms. Of course, there is a rocky start to even that.
This is the third and final book in this wonderful series, and each book can stand on its own. I highly recommend that you read each of these fantastic stories, you will not be disappointed!!
I received this book through the Revell Blogger Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie Brendan knows how to write good stories, plain and simple. Perfectly Matched is probably my favorite of the Blue Willow Brides series and that's saying a lot since I fairly gushed over the first two books. It wasn't the heroine, although she was great, and it wasn't the hero who was pretty special too, but the fact that stray animals played such an important role in the story. If you have a soft spot for dogs, cats, horses. etc. you will definitely like that Anna Olsen stands up for sick, hurt, and abandoned animals -- so much so that I think she'd give Sarah Mclachlan a run for her money! Even her new husband, Edward, can't say no to Anna when it comes to her heart for caring for the towns sick and abandoned animals. I loved how Ms. Brendan threaded the history of the ASPCA into this great western romance. I don't think I've ever read a Christian book that featured such a great cast of four-legged critters who added such joy and fun to a story.
Even though they definitely lightened the mood of the story, this book wasn't all about animals. Edward's and Anna's budding romance, of course, took center stage. Edward was a bit of a control freak to say the least and definitely had problems adapting to Anna's free spirited ways. Sometimes he came across as bit of a jerk, he was such a stick in the mud! It was definitely interesting to say the least to see them both adapt to their newlywed status. It was nice to see both Anna and Edward gain confidence in who they were AND in their relationship.
As the final book in the Blue Willow Brides series, Perfectly Matched is a real winner. I'm so sorry to see this series at and end, but if this series and Maggie Brendan's Heart of the West series are any indication, her next book will be well worth buying and reading! Kudos to Ms. Brendan on a job well done!
~ My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars -- A favorite! ~
*I receive complimentary books for review from the publisher. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3rd in the trilogy

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynne
Location:North Dakota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this finale to the Blue Willow series, the 3rd sister tries her luck at being a mail order bride.
What was different about this one was the fact the couple married right away.
As always, Brendan keeps us in a mild state of suspense. The road to true love has a lot of twists and turns and this is what she does best.
This book is well worth the read, and especially if you are an animal lover as this plays a key role in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hard story to rate

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anna and Edward spent most of their time fighting off or surrendering to their physical desires. While not a bad thing for a married couple, it just didn't fit the story. Yes, the mail-order bride thing with the 10-day waiting period, etc. was woven into the attraction issue. But over and over and over this was the big theme, other than rescuing animals. The latter a nice twist. I enjoy the author and her other two books in this series, but didn't get her fixation with the physical desires.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Perfectly Matched, Blue Willow Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Conclusion!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
sheri03
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this last installment of the Blue Willow Brides. Anna and Edward are such opposites that it makes for a great story. Brendan has a wonderful way of weaving in humor throughout her books. The love of animals in the book was something fun and different. I can't wait for Maggie's next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.