Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1

Revell A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1

When young widow Lady Lydia Gale helps a French prisoner obtain parole, she never dreamed he would turn up in her parlor. But just as the London Season is getting under way, there he is, along with a few other questionable personages. While she should be focused on helping her headstrong younger sister prepare for her entrance at her debutante ba ll.

Readers will enjoy being drawn into this world of elegance and intrigue, balls and masquerades. Author Laurie Alice Eakes whisks readers through the drawing rooms of London amid the sound of rustling gowns on this exciting quest to let the past stay in the past and let love guide the future.

Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 out of 2387%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Review 1 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Old England

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stargazer
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This story would have been a really good story if it had been easier to read. The whole basis of the story at the beginning was about blackmail and espionage. But the way they conversed about it, I didn't follow the blackmail part at all. They always talked around the issue rather than telling the reader what was going on. I'm not up on English history and English/French wars. I haven't got a clue why the heroine needed to be involved in blackmail or what that blackmail was about. I wish the author had clarified that for the reader. It would have made the book a whole lot more interesting to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unbelievable story line

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Catie
Location:U S A
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It took you back to the early 19th century but the story line was very unbelievable and by the end of the book you are more confused than when you started. I am surprised it was published. I am hesitant to bother with reading any of the author's other books. I was very disappointed with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I want to read the whole series now!

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Necessary Deception was a great ride back into the past. The author did a wonderful job of describing life in the ton and life in general back in the regency time period in England. This first book in the series follows widow Lydia Bainbridge as she tries to determine truth from lies and protect her family, while also staying true to England.
Lydia finds herself in quite a predicament when she is blackmailed by spies and forced to help them gain entrance to society. She is further dismayed to realize that she is having trouble determining who is truly working for England and who is looking to undermine it. She finds herself drawn to a French man, Christien, but is unsure of whether he is able to be trusted.
There is much to love about this book. The descriptions of the time period, the frustrations that Lydia faces in dealing with her sisters’ activities and bad choices, the guilt that Lydia bears over what she deems her failure as a wife, and the danger that follows Lydia and those she cares about all add up to a most appealing novel.
I am rating this book at 4 stars because it took me a while to really get into the book and truly understand all of the players. I was a bit confused at first. But, I am so happy that I persevered. The second half of the book just flew for me and I definitely plan to read the next two books in the series. I want to see what happens with Lydia’s two sisters and see them get their happy endings. I believe that lovers of Regency novels will truly enjoy this novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this first book of her new series, Laurie Alice Eakes sets the story in England in the spring of 1812 when France is at war with England, and the United States is threatening war with England as well. This is also known as the Regency period, and the story is set among the aristocratic class.
Lady Lydia Gale is a widow, living a rather poor life in comparison to her upbringing on her husband’s pension as he died while in service to his country fighting the French. She only enjoyed one week of marriage before her husband set off to rejoin his unit, and Lydia never saw him again. She received one final message from her husband before his death and now the time has come to fulfill the obligation set forth in his message. After meeting this obligation, she thinks she is done with her duty and heads off to London to help plan one sister’s wedding and another sister’s coming out season. Her mother is often ill and leaves this task to Lydia as she is the oldest. Lydia also is still trying to measure up to her father’s expectations in anything she does as she feels she has always failed him in everything she has tried to do. She failed at being a wife, a mother, and a daughter in her eyes. She believes God no longer hears her prayers and has given up on praying. Now she is being blackmailed by an unknown government official to introduce two operatives into society or else her family will be ruined once it is found out the task Lydia was obliged to perform per her husband’s last edict.
Christien de Meuse is French, but moved to England with his family at the age of 10 to escape the revolutionaries. He is also looking to Lady Gale for an entrée into society. He and Lydia’s husband served together as soldiers. Lydia’s husband shared her letters and pictures with Christien, so he feels as if he knows her before he actually meets her. He is immediately smitten, but keeps his feelings to himself. He must complete his last mission, and then settle down in the country and see his sisters married off. Lady Gale on the contrary is very distrustful of him as she has just had the same request made of her by someone else. This can’t be a coincidence. Who is telling the truth? Christien has had to compromise his personal beliefs and integrity for his job. Can he successfully complete this last mission or will he return to the Christian man he was before the service?
This novel is classified as historical romance, but there is much more. There is a tension, intrigue and suspense with each page as the reader tries to figure out who is really who they say they are and who is lying. Also, there is humor, camaraderie and bolstering of shaky faith of some. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and have already started on the second book in the series, which I will review here shortly. This is a great adventure with great dialogue to keep readers interested and quickly flipping pages until the very last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great writing!

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brian Currie
Location:Victoria. B.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a little while for me to get into the book; but in the end it was a wonderful read. The characters are believable and you do come to enjoy them. The book ended rather abruptly I felt; but a good ending.
I began book #2 just a day ago and I am excited to see where this one goes. Book 3 is on order so perhaps by the time I finish book 2, book 3 will be here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Reading

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
LindaA
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This books starts with a mystery and winds thru several family problems. I enjoyed it very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Had the potential to be a lot better

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I truly loved Laurie Alice Eakes's first novel from Revell, "Lady in the Mist", but I'm afraid this one just didn't live up to my expectations. The plot definitely intrigued me, but the action scenes felt rushed and clunky, and I never really connected to Lydia. Charlotte and Honore were interesting characters, but Lydia was very indecisive and I struggled to figure out her motivations, besides vague suggestions at the fear of a man ruling her life. I did genuinely like Christien, but I wished for more insight into how he'd got his job at the Home Office and his mission in London. The details about this were pretty vague, again, but could have had a lot of potential.
It's hard to put my finger on exactly what I didn't like about this book. It was a quick and pleasant read, and at times I really did want to keep reading to figure out the mystery, but there was never any doubt in my mind that Lydia and Christian would get together, despite their personal issues. One of the biggest problems, which cropped up more so towards the end of the novel, was how preachy and forced the spiritual message of the novel felt. I had the same problem with "Lady in the Mist". I'm not sure if this is a remnant from the author previously writing for Heartsong Presents, since I've always found the spiritual messages in those books to be overbearing. Either way, I wished the message could have been better integrated into the story or perhaps even more original. A message about putting our trust in God, while valid, is one that's been done many, many times in Christian fiction, and I wished for something a bit more challenging.
Ultimately, this book wasn't a chore to read. It was fairly entertaining, but I struggled with it because I picked up on so many things I thought could have been improved on. To be honest, this book felt like it needed a thorough edit before it hit the shelves. I hate to say that, but that's the impression I was left with upon finishing the book; cliff-hangers that weren't picked up for several pages, or at all, plus wishy-washy backstories and an overwrought spiritual message all felt like they needed to be tidied up a little.
I'll still read the second book in this series, since I've already requested a review copy, but I just didn't find this book of the same quality of "Lady in the Mist", although I felt like it had the potential to be a lot better than it was.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

In the shadows

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yes, Laurie writes extremely well, and yes, the story was intriguing. However, the chasms in judgment and personal character tainted the tale for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very cute, light summer read. First time reading this author, but I would recommend this book, and I would read other books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing Read

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Necessary Deception by Laurie Alice Eakes is a book of mystery, intrigue and romance in England during 1812. I found it to be set in a fascinating time period. The young widow Lady Lydia Gale risks her reputation to aid a young Frenchman in obtaining parole from prison. With a strong desire to protect her family, Lydia goes to great lengths to do so, even at the risk of losing a potential love interest of her own. This was my first introduction to Laurie Alice Eakes and I found this book to be an intriguing read, and recommend it.
This book was provided free for review by the author and Revell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Regency Romantic Suspense at Its Best!

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roseanna
Location:Cumberland, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurie Alice Eakes has done it again. With A Necessary Deception she has penned a novel that combines heart-stopping romance with heart-pounding suspense, crafting characters at once strong but consistent with their times, blind in some ways and brilliant in others. These true-to-life characters of Lydia and Christien--not to mention the wonderfully made secondary characters, especially Lydia's younger sisters--will pull you in from the start and keep you flipping the pages as surely as the espionage and intrigue.
Needless to say, I love this book. I love the cover, so very Regency and elegant. I love the characters, so very real and true. I love the plot, with its questions of who you can trust, whether a man's place of birth determines his loyalties. And I love the romance, its depth and charm, its scope and breadth. As we watch Christien and Lydia dare to open their hearts, it makes us ask ourselves what we would do if drawn to a man who may just be our nation's enemy . . . what we would do if we fell for someone whose life may be endangered by our attention. How far we would go to protect our families.
Beautifully written, masterfully crafted, A Necessary Deception is a book for any lover of historical novels, especially those that combine suspense with romance. This is one you don't want to miss!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Favorite of the Year

Date:December 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie Lynne Costello
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurie Alice Eakes is a master of intrigue. A Necessary Deception is a book you won't be able to put down. I found myself falling in love with not only the hero and heroine of the story but other characters as well. Ms. Eakes did a wonderful job with the suspense, intrigue and romance. She pulls you into the story from page one and never lets you go. You just keep wanting to turn the page so allow yourself plenty of time to read. This is not a typical who done it story. She keeps you guessing the whole way through. Her cast of characters are fleshed out and not cardboard. This is definitely one of my favorite reads of the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance and Mystery

Date:October 24, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lydia feels like she is spending her whole life making up for the mistakes she feels she has made as a wife and even as a daughter. (I think this is the character most women can identify with because we probably all feel like we are disappointing people all of the time when we are really trying our best.) When she gets word that her husband has died but that a Frenchman helped her husband, she seeks him out to obtain his parole. While out for a stroll at her parents house, a stranger meets her on the road and blackmails her, wanting her to introduce his friends to all of the people who present themselves to her house. She could object, but that would mean certain danger for her family and for her. What happens if she obliges? What does this stranger really want and why does the Frenchman present himself to her at her parlor? Will her younger sister fall for the friend of the stranger? If so, what will she tell him? Can Lydia trust the Frenchman and who was her husband, really? This was a different type of book for me than I normally read, but I found that I really did enjoy it. It had suspense, but not enough that made me feel like I needed to turn to the back of the book to see the ending! It had a love story attached, of course, but it was a love story that made sense for the time in history and for the characters. It was a book that was very believable. I can't wait to read book 2 in the series when she finishes it!
_____________
Available October 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intrigue and Romance... A Good Combination!

Date:October 22, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trying to atone for her mistakes as a wife, Lady Lydia Gale helps Christian de Meuse, a French prisoner and friend of her late husband, obtain parole. Having done her good deed, she expects never to see him again. With one sister debuting in London society and one sister close to marriage, Lydia's days are full with preparations for the events. However, when a mysterious stranger blackmails her and Christian reappears, Lydia struggles to keep her sanity. Will her preoccupation with Christian ruin her family? Or might he be able to help her connect the clues about the blackmailer?
A Necessary Deception by Laurie Alice Eakes is the first of the Daughters of Bainbridge House series. I definitely see potential for future stories that focus on Lydia's younger sisters. I loved all the plot twists in this story. The suspense kept the plot moving and I was unsure of the blackmailer's identity until almost the end. The one character that seemed out of place was Barbara. Although she accompanied Lydia occasionally for the sake of Lydia's reputation, Barbara seemed flat and unnecessary as there were plenty of times that Lydia went out alone or unaccompanied while spending time with Christian. Overall, I enjoyed this book and will probably read it again in a few years. I recommend A Necessary Deception to fans of historical Christian romances.
Available October 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Captivated Reader

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Winnie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the invitation to review A Necessary Deception hit my inbox I was about to decline, seeing as I’m not a Regency reader. But one of my critique partners urged me to give a shot and said I might be surprised by the book. After all, it had a Frenchman, a mystery/suspense thread, and of course it wasn’t your typical Regency. So, I did. And was I ever glad. A Necessary Deception was everything promised and more, I was given a wonderful history lesson on the political ongoings in 1812 in England, something most Americans have no clue about considering 1812 was when we entered war once more with our English cousins.
I found myself drawn into the story, wondering just who the mysterious caller was blackmailing the heroine, Lady Lydia Gale. And just how did Christien de Meuse fit into the whole spy plot. The twist and turns kept me guessing–something I thoroughly enjoy and love with my suspense books–and the antics of Lydia’s sisters certainly added to the plot and kept the poor woman on her game. I have fallen in love with this particular genre and look forward to the upcoming books in The Daughters of Bainbridge House series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery, Romance at its best!

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
addicted reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say about this book? I loved it! NO surprise there. As you know, I am somewhat of a book worm. I love just about any story.... but this one, what can I say... Lydia Gale saves a French prisoner, then he saves her life........ what more can happen? Lydia is threatened! Christien tries to find out who it is...
Laurie Alice Eakes knows how to keep a reader on their toes! I just could not put the book down.... I wanted to know who was the "Bad guy". I was shocked when I found out! (Don't even ask me! You know I can't give the end away!) I will say the chemistry between Lydia and Christien are something....
This is the first book in The Daughters of Bainbridge house. Lydia has two other sisters, Cassandra and Honore. I wonder who the next novel will be about.... I can't wait to find out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Regency Novel

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The last time I read a Regency novel, I was less than thrilled. The lifestyle and culture of that time was so slow and methodical--far different from our current society. There was hidden meaning in almost every action, and one had to be so careful to be seen or not to be seen with just the right people. So, I won't lie...I was a little nervous about picking up another Regency. I was so afraid I would be disappointed.
Thankfully, Laurie Eakes exceeded my expectations with A Necessary Deception. There was mystery and intrigue mixed with a plentiful dose of romance. Oh, the romance... I tell ya, I couldn't get enough of it. I could picture Christien as one of the most handsome heroes I've read in a long time, and his love, Lydia, a lovely and beautiful member of London Society. Together, they were thrust into danger more than once, and each time, I couldn't help but hold my breath until I knew they were safe.
However, the mystery portions of the book left me unsatisfied. I don't know a lot about the history of England and France in the 19th century, so I didn't fully understand the disdain that the English felt toward the French. I thought that the final reveal would revolve more around uncovering someone up to no good within one of the governments. Instead, the ending was anticlimactic and left me unfulfilled.
All in all, I think Laurie Eakes has greatly improved since her last full-length novel. This was only my second opportunity to read one of her books, and overall, I'm glad that I gave her books another chance. She clearly conveyed the atmosphere of the Regency Era in a believable manner, and I'm anxious to return for another visit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who is this man? Who are those men? Who is Elias Lang? What is Lydia going to do about all these men and who can she trust?
Lady Lydia’s mother and father pretty much puts the care of her younger sisters in Lydia’s hands. One is engaged and the other is an outrageous flirt. And what a handful trying to get them settled down!
This adventure takes you to London during the Season. All the while, Lydia is trying to run herd on her sisters, she also finds she must deal with intrigue and danger.
It’s very easy to get caught up in this book. You’ll definitely be looking forward to the next in The Daughters of Bainbridge House series. I know I am.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Necessary Deception

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lady Lydia Gale, a widow, decides to help a French prisoner obtain parole. She then heads to London to help her ailing mother plan her sisters's wedding and chaperone her youngest sister's coming out.
Lydia is intrigued with the Frenchman, Christien de Meuse, and is torn between the other new male acquaintances she must introduce into London's ton. She must decide which of these men she can trust while also learning to put her trust in God.
The main characters have depth to them, one can sense Lydia's struggle with trying to keep a constant eye on her sisters all the while sorting out which man is a spy and dealing with her past.
The book contains mystery, murder, romance and intrigue. Nicely written Regency book with interesting characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Necessary Deception, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A historical romance with lovable characters

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eakes has written a story chock full of interesting historical details about London Society and the social tension due to the war between Britain and France, providing a splendid backdrop for a story of family drama, new love, and political intrigue. The scenes were filled with just enough action to keep the story moving, while allowing the reader to delve into the characters' minds and hearts and empathize with the difficulties that they face. Lady Gale is a likable character with an independent streak tempered by a love for her sisters and a desire for them to do well in life and marry for a greater love than she experienced in her own marriage. Christien de Meuse, the Frenchman whose motives Lydia cannot quite figure out, is a character who displays the characteristics that all good men should display such as bravery, courage, and ultimately selflessness. Their faith is dealt with in an honest manner, allowing them to struggle in a very human way as they wrestle with their beliefs in God in the midst of difficult circumstances.
I must admit that some of the mystery, when resolved, did not quite seem believable in explaining why the events unfolded the way they did. It simply did not seem likely that so much time would pass between the villain's attempts to "wrap up" the situation and achieve his purposes. I don't want to say more as I would hate to give any of the plot away, but this aspect of the story did not quite live up to my hopes for the book.
However, readers who enjoy historical romance with well developed characters, heart-warming relationships, and a dash of suspense will definitely enjoy this book. I give this book a solid recommendation and award it 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Christianfictionaddiction.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>