Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pocket Books The Bridge

Pocket Books The Bridge

Five years ago, Molly Allen left her heart in Tennessee when she walked away from the man she can't forget. Ryan Kelly spends much of his time in Franklin's bookstore, remembering the hours he and Molly once spent there. But when tragedy and trouble threaten to close the shop for good, what miracles will unfold?
Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
40 out of 4393%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bridge
Review 1 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wilani
Location:Franklin, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book! I loved the way it showed God’s answer to prayer. The theme of forgiveness and a second chance was all through the book. It also had a Christmas miracle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good lesson

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marilyn S. Carter
Location:Oregon City, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always enjoy the lessons brought forth through Karen Kingsbury's books - "The Bridge" is no exception.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
candibee
Location:texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So good, can’t put the book down. Read it in 2 days! Loved how the characters are brought back together. You can feel the struggle and the emotions each one is going through. Great Book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story - Well Written

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nadine
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You became a friend to the lead characters and watched their lives unfold and cheered them on through each segment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great story!

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
susanamiracle
Location:Rutland, VT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always love reading Karen Kingsbury's books! Excellent stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product should be read now!

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
annijay
Location:Leoma, TN
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. Read it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another heartwarming book!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joey
Location:Okotoks, AB, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read most of Karen Kingsbury's books and am a huge fan! Always looking for new ones to read and she never disappoints!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Story!!!

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aeriel
Location:York,Pa.
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of Karen Kingsbury's best books!! It's a lot different then what she usually writes. She writes a lot of books that have lots of glitz, glam, and fame, but this book was heartwarming and down to earth. I love it and would recommend this to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good fast read.

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelley Jamieson
Location:Franklin, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is consistent with what one would expect from author, Karen Kingsbury. This one has a good story line with inspirational characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a fast read enjoyed how the bridge brought lives together of all classes and true love is lasting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story!

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
QuiltedDrummer
Location:Bandon Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great story which reminds us that God is in control and if we just talk to Him and listen to His guiding that we WILL receive the best HE has to give us! I pray all will enjoy this story as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leone Murrells
Location:Coldstream, BC, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little slow to get into compared to other of her books but once I got into it, it was very heartwarming.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reminds Me of Karen's Earlier Novels

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
In the past few years, I have shied away from reading books by Karen Kingsbury. To me, it seems as though she has been churning out books left and right, which has left much to be desired in the content of her stories. But on a whim, I decided to give her latest book, The Bridge, a try after seeing it featured on the new releases shelf at my library. Honestly, I'm very glad that I did.
I'm not sure why I connected so much with this particular story, but I think most of it had to do with the setting being in my home state of Tennessee. I remember the 100-year flooding events that occurred in my area of the state--Memphis--two years in a row. One of those years, it also affected Nashville. Truly, both years were horrible. There were so many people forced out of their homes, losing all they had in the world, not to mention the large amounts of damage that affected so much of downtown Memphis.
Maybe it was that remembrance of so many real people losing everything that helped me connect with Charlie, the owner of a small-town bookstore, The Bridge. His character was so kind and helpful, causing many of his customers to think of him fondly for months and years. But after the flood hit Nashville, he lost everything. With creditors breathing down his neck for rent payments and no stock for the bookshelves, the end of The Bridge was surely coming soon.
Paralleled with Charlie's story was Molly and Ryan's story--a tale of love lost. For two years, they met every day at The Bridge, mostly for studying and occasionally to discuss books. Slowly, feelings of friendship turned into something more, but each one was promised to another. It would take many years full of questions before either of them realized how they started down separate paths away from each other.
There were many times that I could've reached for the tissue box because of the feelings of despair, distrust, and loss woven throughout this story. Yes, there were moments of happiness, too, but this was a soul-searching journey that connected three people together through a small-town bookstore. In the end, I could honestly say that I was happy that I'd picked up this particular Karen Kingsbury novel. Here's hoping for many more tales from her just as good as this one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gods Girl
Location:Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading Karen Kingsbury books. This was a nice short story with a positive message. Great Christmas gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was a good book

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Harrisburg, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a sweet love story and an easy book to read. I finished it in one day. It's a bit pricey if you don't buy it on sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marcy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a big fan of Karen Kingsbury. I've read all her books and this one is a great one especially for the Christmas season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Enjoyable Story

Date:December 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bridge
Karen Kingbury
Book Summary: Molly Allen lives alone in Portland, but her heart is back in Franklin, Tennessee, where five years ago she walked away from a man she cannot forget, a rare sort of love she hasn't found since.
Ryan Kelly lives in Franklin and spends plenty of time at The Bridge-the oldest bookstore in historic downtown Franklin-remembering the long hours he and Kelly once spent there.
Now, Ryan and Molly's favorite bookstore is in trouble. For thirty years, Charlie and Donna Barton have run The Bridge, providing the people of middle Tennessee with coffee, conversation, and shelves of good books-even through dismal book sales and the rise of eBooks. Then in May a flood tore through Franklin and destroyed nearly every book in the store. By Christmastime, the bank threatens to pull the lease on The Bridge and is about to take the Bartons' house as well. Despondent, Charlie considers ending his life. And in the face of tragedy, miracles begin to unfold.
Review: It started out slow but moved into high gear quickly. The book was split between the owners of the Bridge and the younger couple who moved from college to present time. Some of the time is spent in the past and was moved there nicely by a video or remembering through a character. I found the background information to be enjoyable and like the characters. I thought some of the hospital events to be less believable, although not impossible. Overall this was an enjoyable well laid out story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lydia
Location:South Dakota
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Bridge by Karen Kingsbuery was a great Christian fiction CHristmas romance. I was disappointed because it was nothing like the rest of her books. Its just another Christmas romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a precious story -- especially for Christmas!

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy Vanzandt
Location:Palmdale, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In typical Karen Kingsbury style, the story deals with our "God of second chances." Beautifully written, with a "can't-put-it-down" plot, Karen delivers a wonderful read -- light, but poignant -- for the holiday season. Just be sure and keep the Kleenex nearby -- as always for a Kingsbury novel! Enjoy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bridge
This review is fromThe Bridge, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book at a great price

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy D
Location:HolmesCounty Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always anxiously awaiting each of Karen Kingsbury books to come out and this was no exception! She is able to convey the thoughts and feelings of the people she writes about as though she has experienced the exact same situations herself. And of course the "Christian" perspecitive that she writes from is a must for me! I haven't read a book of hers that hasn't left me different than before I read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.