Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cambridge University Press ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown

Cambridge University Press ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown

One of the first Cambridge Bible to use the dignified, expressive language of the English Standard Version (ESV). The English Standard Version is a literal translation from the original texts, firmly rooted in the tradition of Tyndale and King James but without archaic language. Published at the beginning of the twenty-first century, it is closest in style to the RSV and is well suited to public reading and memorization.

This is a center-column reference Bible presented in the Pitt Minion format: the Bible text is compact yet easy to read, while the Bibles themselves are slim and elegant.

With full cross-references, a concordance, and color maps, all the Bibles are printed on high-quality India paper and Smyth-sewn, with a ribbon marker.

Features include: 

  • India paper
  • Black-letter text
  • Concordance
  • 15 color maps
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gilt or art-gilt edges
  • Page size: 4 3/4 x 6 7/8 inches (120 x 174 mm)
  • Page count: 1,120 pp.
  • Spine width: 3/4 inches (22 mm)
  • Typography: 6.75 pt Lexicon
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Review 1 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Waterloo, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've found that this Bible's features and quality are exceptional in every aspect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Color not what I expected

Date:December 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MWeb
Location:Salem, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User submitted photo
I wanted this Bible as a keepsake to eventually pass on to my son who was just born. After hours of searching for a small, durable, top quality Bible, this is the one I settled on.
I was immediately disappointed with the color. In the photo online the color is a light, almost tan brown. The Bible I got is a dark, chocolate colored brown. Be forewarned, the color is not accurately displayed.
Second, don't get an engraving the letters are tacky, oversized, and have strange diamonds in between. I mean, are those supposed to be periods after the initials? Are they just decorative markings?
See photo below for color discrepancy and the awkward engraving.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good, and compact.

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
amsurf9
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is amazing and compact. If you're looking for something small but pretty easily read, this is your Bible. Highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bcorley
Location:Hsv, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lays flat when opened and is surprisingly easy to read even with the small font necessary for a compact Bible. Love the brown color and matching double ribbons.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
This review is fromESV Pitt Minion Reference, French Morocco, Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely, Small Bible

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
lizziebeth
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Bible because of all the recommendations about how well it is bound. The Bible I am replacing had its maps first, then pages fall out, then the cover fall off. Hopefully this new one will last for the long haul!I also love the maps!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Supreme Compact Bible

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dflo75
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cambridge did it again, they came out with this ESV Pitt-Minion bible in Black Goatskin leather and it is just the most awesome of all compact leather bibles out there on the market. It's everything that you would expect that you won't always see in most compact-sized bibles. Goatskin leather binding for one, opens flat, no stick pages due to the gilt edges, Center-column references, words of Christ in red-letter
throughout the WHOLE New Testament, (not like just when Jesus spoke when he was on the earth, as in the KJV,)
A helpful Concordance, and most interesting enough, when you take the bible out of the box, it's side has gold pages, but when opened up, they're reddish. Did you know that this bible has not one, but TWO red ribbon markers? Not to mention, it's Smythe-sewn
pages. An excellent bible, without question!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect ESV Compact Bible

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
madzfrnt
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really like the readability of the ESV and this compact bible is excellent. The text print is clear, the bible lies flat when opened, and the goatskin leather feels superb. If you like a smaller bible to carry around, this one is absolutely perfect!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Pinolehto
I had no idea what to expect when I ordered this bible, being unfamiliar with Pitt Minion. I was pleasantly surprised by it. I am familiar with the ESV, and like its readability.I like its size: I now take this bible everywhere. The typeface is OK, I am nearsighted, and read w/o glasses. The bible lies flat when opened at nearly every point except for extreme front and back.The references are useful, the concordance is very welcome, and it has quickly become my everyday reading bible. I ow many others including an ESV Schofield, an ESV Reformation study bible and The Apologetics Reference bible (HCSB), allin leather. I have recommended this,to others, although some have balked at what they considered a small typeface. This bible promises to give me many years of reading and study. Easily five stars.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paulo
Thank you Christianbook.com for you're accurate delivery timing. I received my new ESV bible, and i am blessed with it. Perfect size, and the quality of this Cambridge bible is amazing! The text print is clear and the center reference just sits in the right stop. Good feel with the goatskin leather. If you are looking for a more softer bible wrap, i would recommend Calfskin leather. but this will do the job. I actually like the way its wrapped very nice with the goatskin leather and still has that stiffer feel than the calfskin bibles. May the Lord bless you in HIS word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Pitt Minion Reference, Goatskin, Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
George Baciu
Great Bible. Small and compact. Text is small but easy to read even at distance. Leather is very flexible and is a bit rough. The side of the Bible is Gold when closed and appears red when laid flat. this Bible opens flat and stays flat. Overall amazing Bible it is worth it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.