Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name

Zondervan The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name

Beautifully written and illustrated, The Jesus Storybook Bible invites children to discover for themselves that Jesus is at the center of God's great story of salvation---and at the center of their story too.

The Jesus Storybook Bible tells the Story beneath all the stories in the Bible. It takes the whole Bible to tell this Story. And at the center of the Story, there is a baby, the Child upon whom everything would depend. From Noah to Moses to King David, every story whispers his name. Jesus is like the missing piece in a puzzle---the piece that makes all the other pieces fit together.
Average Customer Rating:
4.823 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(198 Reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (198 reviews)
5 stars
181
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
129 out of 13198%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Review 1 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Children's Bible!

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
NatesNana
Location:AUCKLAND
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought my grandchildren a number of Children's Bibles. Most have only been used to read to the children and have not really gripped their attention. However this one has proved different. My granddaughter (who is 6) loves reading it herself. She grabs it out of my bag in church and settles with a satisfied sigh. She loves the illustrations which seem to allow her imagination to catch the emotions of the characters.
I would highly recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Know the Lord

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Macomb, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A child would benefit from reading this book with their parent or another family member to become aware of every aspect of our Savior, the Alpha and Omega. It's a kindly written book in encouragement and enlightenment to exactly who GOD the Son is & what he accomplished because of salvation through faith in His Son, Jesus Christ's work on the cross and in His bodily resurrection. Your child & you will appreciate this introduction to his salvation through God's Book of love for mankind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Toby
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best children's book to tell the story of Jesus accurately and yet modern enough to keep interst. My grad kids listen with such excitment and always want one more story...highly recommend my grads are sis and eight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

advanced theology on a child's level

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
cookecutter
Location:New Brunswick, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book reminds me of one of my favorite teachers at Bible College who introduced me to the concept of "types", which are glimpses of Jesus in the Old Testament. Some of the language might be a bit unfamiliar, but children will love learning about God's Secret Rescue Plan through the repetition of certain phrases as the mystery of redemption unfolds. I only noticed one detail that didn't seem to fit with my knowledge of Scripture--the writer left Judas out of the Last Supper. Other than that, I was extremely pleased with the book. I had ordered it just to have on hand as a gift for some child when the occasion arose and was happy to include it in a Christmas box our family put together for a single mother struggling to provide for her children. God already had plans for that book even before I bought it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible, kind of falls apart though

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryM29
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Bible! Really helps kids see Jesus through the whole Bible!! On the downside the book falls apart- we have gone through a couple already! But its very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great first Bible

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
LeeH
Location:Springfield, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandchildren love it! They are just learning to read and the pictures are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lins
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite of any bible storybook purchased before. Love how it brings Jesus into every story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is 3, and he and I both love the stories from this Bible. We used this Bible to do Advent readings this past Christmas, and enjoyed doing it so much that we gave copies of this Bible to cousins for Christmas! The stories are Biblically accurate, easy to understand, and keep both children and adults engaged. I love how every story points to Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tanya
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderfully creative storyline pointing to Jesus in children's language right from the beginning of the Bible. Lacking direct references to Scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great pictures!

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lori Pankratz
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my nephews will have years of enjoyment looking through all the stories in this book. great pictures! very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book for husband with dementia

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
MRae
Location:Upstate NY USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband forgetting the tenets of his faith in God and the Lord Jesus. I bought this book to read to him and show pictures to involve him in Christmas. Story of Nativity was done well and helped I think. Perhaps will find other Bible times that he can grasp, but have not looked beyond the Nativity yet. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such A Beautiful Book

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gypsymagpie
Location:Roanoke, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible storybook. We bought it for our almost 4 year old son for Christmas, he loves it! Most of all I (mommy) enjoy reading it to him at bedtime, the stories are so well phrased and they really impart the tenderness and love of Jesus so clearly. I actually catch myself reading it alone sometimes. We have a few bible type story books but we purchased this to be his full bible until he is older, and we are so glad we did. This will be a cherished book for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is well written.

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
dcamp
Location:Washington
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was purchased as a gift for a child. The illustrations and amount of text per page make it an inviting choice for a young reader or a great story time read for an adult and child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written. Not just for children.

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
dcmmom
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already suggested this Bible to many after hearing about it at a conference. Our kindergarten children received this Bible at the beginning of the program year. The staff loved it and have bought copies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
slsp
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best kids bible book ever! Everyone should buy it and find a child to give it to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We loved it! Great story! Be blessed Oxox

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Felicia
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read the other reviews, I almost didn't buy it...but I did, and hence why I'm writing a review for this amazing book.
I bought it, read it, and it was so good and based on scripture! For example, someone gave a review stating that the story of Abraham and Isaac was incorrect by claiming that Abraham had only one son. We know that he did have another son, Ishmael, however, in Genesis 21, Abraham sends his son Ishmael and his mother Haggar away. In Genesis 22, the Lord Himself says: “Take your son, your only son—yes, Isaac, whom you love so much—and go to the land of Moriah. Go and sacrifice him as a burnt offering on one of the mountains, which I will show you.” (Genesis 22:2 NLT) So, as you can see, the story is true and will enlighten any child to read the truth.
Hopefully as the child, who reads this book, grow up they will read the actual bible and get every Word of God planted in their hearts.
Be blessed and be inspired to dig in His Word to find the truth Oxox
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

love this book but

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilcatsmoo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this book but it does leave out a lot of key points in the Bible stories it relates. On the other hand it does a great job pointing out that Jesus is the main focus throughout the Bible, Old and New Testaments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz N
Location:Silver City, NM
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 year old son as a beginner Bible and it's perfect! The stories are written and presented in a way that it's easy for him to understand. The chapters are short enough that it's easy to make them a bedtime routine every night!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kari
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this to teach preschoolers and I love how it explains how each story points to the bigger story of God loving us so much He sent His Son!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book!

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Photog
Location:Muleshoe, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first saw this book at a friends house and asked her about it. She gladly told me where to get it and that they loved it so much. So, that landed me to your website. I found the book, added to cart and checked out right away. My husband and I both love the book and we enjoy reading the stories to our 9 month. I am sure when we make it through the book we will start it again. I want my child to know the bible and to be honest it is actually teaching me things I didn't know. When I was younger, we didn't attend church often but I yearned to go and learn. It is important to my husband and myself to have Christ the center of our home. Thank you for having such amazing products and for this very special book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...10Next >>>