Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1

Zondervan Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1

A strange meteorite. A deadly enchantment. And only Merlin can destroy it. A meteorite brings a mysterious black stone whose sinister power ensnares everyone except Merlin, the blind son of a swordsmith. Soon, all of Britain will be under its power, and he must destroy the stone---or die trying.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Review 1 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good Arthurian fantasy

Date:April 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What can a person do against a mysterious stone that seems to emit an evil power? What can he do when everyone in his small village seems to fall under its spell? What can he do when he is the young, nearly blind, son of a blacksmith? This is where young Merlin finds himself. When druids seek to use the stone as a power source of their old gods, they sway almost the entire village. With just a few who are still faithful to Jesu, they do what they can to drive the druid out, but danger mounts and plans go awry. The High King and his young Arthur are in danger as well. Merlin feels like the weight to save everyone is on him.
The first book in a series, this book is marketed as Teen Fiction, but I think it will intrigue adults as well. There are many themes at play in this book: faith, courage, doubt, good vs. evil. All of this set upon the Arthurian backdrop, which always holds mystery and enchantment, makes for a great read.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLook for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Christian fiction set in the Arthurian era

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have long been a fan of Arthurian legend and Christian novels are few and far between for this era.
I’ve read a few other books that claimed to be Christian but other than being clean stories there was no reason I could see for it to have been classified as Christian fiction. There was no mistake and this author did a great job of weaving Arthurian legend and Christianity into one tale.
About the Story:
Merlin is haunted by something—something evil. Once before it haunted his steps and it left him disfigured and mostly blind.
Merlin’s stepmother is the daughter of a druidow; the very man who leads a campaign to abolish Christianity and return Britain to the old ways and the old gods. In his possession is a stone which seems to hold a bewitching power over all who gaze upon it. Only Merlin seems immune to the power of the stone.
In this tale, Arthur is just a babe and already his life is in danger. Uther Pendragon is a follower of Christ and he opposes the return of the old ways and the sway that the druidow (and the stone) holds over the people. With his newly forged sword which was forged by Merlin and his father, Uther wages war against the druidow.
With traitors in their midst it lays on Arthur’s shoulders to destroy the stone and protect the High King and his family. His father has newly returned to the faith of his youth and restored his relationship with Christ. He, along with a few other villagers who have not bowed their knee to the old religion stands with Merlin and together they devise a plan to free the captive priests and destroy the stone.
This book was so well researched and beautifully written. You can tell the author paid great attention to detail and also to lore. I look forward to book two, Merlin’s Shadow which I’m picking up just as soon as it arrives in the mail!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great book

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Nc
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After meteorite falls it leave an enchanted stone behind that ensnares any who look upon it's blue flames!The Druids plan to use the power of the rock to overthrow King Uther's kingdom and take back Britain for their wicked practices! The stone must be destroyed but the only person it doesn't effect is Merlin,a blind son of a blacksmith!
Merlin must get over his inabilities and help his village but that's not his only concern he also has sworn to serve King Uther and his son Arthur! Merlin begins to despair with all the responsibilities but he must fulfill his designated task blind or no !
This was a beautifully written book and an amazing story! I can't wait to read Merlin's Shadow!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good book!

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Birdie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merlin's Blade by Robert Treskillard
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
When a meteorite crashes near a small village in fifth-century Britain, it brings with it a mysterious black stone that bewitches anyone who comes in contact with its glow---a power the druids hope to use to destroy King Uthur's kingdom. The only person who seems immune is a young, shy, half-blind swordsmith's son named Merlin.
As his family, village, and even the young Arthur, are placed in danger, Merlin must face his fears and his blindness to take hold of the role ordained for him. But when he is surrounded by adversaries, how will he save the girl he cherishes and rid Britain of this deadly evil ... without losing his life?
This was a great book. I was a little nervous about it from the start as it is considered juvenile fiction. But it was very well written and engaging, and I thought the story was a really creative spin off the traditional King Arthur stories. I would recommend this book for 12 years and up, not that there was any objectionable content, but with over 400 pages it may not hold the interest of younger ones. And the cover! Wow, the cover is like ten stars on a scale of one to ten! I am so excited to read book two!
I received a free copy of this book through booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC!!!

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love a good Arthurian tale and have read many in the past. I haven't decided if it's the magic or the story line that centers around Arthur an/or Merlin, but I just know that when I see a book that involves these characters, I MUST read it!
I was thrilled to have the chance to read "Merlin's Blade". It's a fantastic story that centers around an almost blind Merlin and has quite a different take on the Arthurian tale. With fascinating characters, a captivating story, and a different religious focus, this story held a twist I was not expecting.
Robert Treskillard created a refreshing tale that kept me up long past bedtime and reading more than I should during the day. Although created for the young adult audience, I know that without a doubt that this novel (and series) will be welcomed and embraced by all ages! The only thing I really disliked about this series is having to wait to get my hands on the next book.
Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy as soon as possible! Highly recommended!!!!
I received this book through the Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review, but instead, one that gives my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

most teens will enjoy it

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wayne S. Walker
Location:Salem, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There appears to be a great deal of interest in the Arthurian legends generally, and Merlin specifically, among modern writers of youth fiction including those that would be considered Christian. I have not read the five-book Merlin series by Thomas A. Barron nor the six-book Pendragon Cycle by Stephen Lawhead, but both are reputed to be good. In Merlin’s Blade, the first of the projected Merlin Spiral trilogy, author and Celtic enthusiast Robert Treskillar, a software developer and graphic artist who exhibited and I think even spoke at the Greater St. Louis Area Home Educators Expo last year, gives his take on the life of Merlin, and it is a distinctly Christian one that portrays the conflict between paganism and Christianity in fifth century Britain. When the book opens, Merlin is a fifteen-year old young man who is partially blind due to a wolf attack.
Merlin’s parents were Christians, but after his mother Gwevian drowned when he was but a child, his father Oswain, a swordsmith, married Monda, the daughter of a Druid arch priest, and turned away from Christ. However, under the tutelage of local monks, Merlin has become a believer. The Druids, led by Oswain’s father-in-law Morganthu, return to Merlin’s home village of Bosventor with a mysterious meteor stone that bewitches anyone who comes in contact with its glow. They hope to use it to destroy the high King Uthur who supports Christianity. Merlin, who seems immune to the stone, offers fealty to Uthur and his heir Arthur. When his family, village, and even the young Arthur, are placed in danger, Merlin must face his fears and his blindness to take hold of the role ordained for him. But how can he save the girl he cherishes and rid Britain of this deadly evil, all without losing his own life?
In the book, Merlin is pictured more as an up and coming prophet-bard than a magical “wizard.” There are some references to drinking mead and wine and one instance of a euphemism (“drat” which literally means “God rot”), but nothing with any major objections occurs. Of course, a lot of fighting and killing happen, so this might not be a good book for younger or rather sensitive children, and the length of the chapters and nature of the plot may not be the best for reluctant readers. However, most teenagers will likely enjoy the story, especially those interested in Merlin and Arthur. Treskillard and his wife have three children and are still homeschooling their youngest. Book 2, Merlin’s Shadow, in which Merlin finds himself to be a royal advisor without a king, so along with his friend Garth and Natalenya, his betrothed, he treks north with the orphaned Arthur in hopes of keeping the young ruler safe from soldiers misled by their turncoat captain Vortigern, was released in the fall of 2013. Book 3, Merlin’s Nightmare, will be available in the spring of 2014.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merlin's Greatest Weakness Could Become His Greatest Strength
When a meteorite crashes near a small village in fifth-century Britain, it brings with it a mysterious black stone that bewitches anyone who comes in contact with its glow---a power the druids hope to use to destroy King Uthur's kingdom, as well as the new Christian faith. The only person who seems immune is a young, shy, half-blind swordsmith's son named Merlin.
As his family, village, and even the young Arthur, are placed in danger, Merlin must face his fears and his blindness to take hold of the role ordained for him. But when he is surrounded by adversaries, how will he save the girl he cherishes and rid Britain of this deadly evil ... without losing his life?
Book includes location map and detailed character index.
My Review:
For me, book covers are not a heavy influence on whether I pick up a book or not. If a cover is awesome, I will want to read it, but if a cover scares the living lights out of me, I tend to avoid it, if possible. This novel has such a cover. My first thought was "what in the world am I looking at?" I took it for an animal of some sort, and I almost skipped the novel. Bring geared towards the younger reading set, I didn't know if I would enjoy and appreciate the story. While I enjoyed it after all, I there were a few things worth mentioning...
While there are a lot of exciting things going on in the story, I don't know that I would recommend it to the younger readers it was meant for. There is an enchanted demonic stone that makes trouble for everyone, and while God is thrown in there for good measure (called Jesu in the book) it really seems that evil is stronger than good. There are more books coming in the series, so I'm not overly worried that such will ultimately be the case. But it was depressing to see the constant prayer and no results.
This story is filled with demonic worship, friendship, faith, betrayal, spiritual vision, loyalty, and forgiveness. A lot of things are covered in this novel that make you think twice about the traditional legend we all know a little bit about, and Treskillard brings new life into a story that has been retold countless times. Overall, it was an thrilling read, but if your children have nightmares and rather tender hearted, give it a few years before you hand them this book. Some graphic scenes were included, so definitely hold off if you've got squeamish ones.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One word. EPIC.
Where do I even begin?
When I first heard about Merlin's Blade, the cover caught my eye. I started seeing it pop up all over cyberspace, and friends were raving about it. I added it to my to-read list. When the author offered a handful of copies for a read and share contest, I jumped at the chance.
Merlin. Just the name conjures up quite a lot of images. For me, he has been mostly connected to King Arthur. A second hand man, a supporting character. But not in this book. Most of us have some familiarity with the Arthurian legends, stories, movies, so going into a book like this, I'm looking for that connection of familiarity. And this is the first time I've read about the young Merlin, before Arthur was King, before he was even old enough to crawl.
Merlin is a shy, half-blind boy of a swordsmith. He seems like a normal boy with a crush on a girl, trying to do what's right, and helping out the abbey and its priests. But he isn't, and we are left wondering the mystery surrounding him. Why him? Why did the wolves hunt him? Why did he receive the visions? Why was he given the special torc? But his integrity and personality drew me to him. True chivalry. He remained steadfast, despite his weaknesses, his blindness, and all the circumstances, obstacles that stood against him. I love stories that strengthen my resolve to be a better person.
The story, the setting, just came to life. I felt like I stepped back in time to fifth century Britain. It is a time of political upheaval and religious clashes between Christians and the druids. Even with the grounded, historical feel, there's just enough of the fantastical to whet the appetite of fantasy lovers. The power of the stone, the visions Merlin has, the druids' magic, the miracles of God. Everything is shrouded in mystery, and as Merlin learns, we learn. I look to the subsequent novels to reveal it and answer the questions remaining at the end of this book, especially the ones surrounding Merlin.
With a big cast, I sometimes had a hard time remembering who was who at the beginning, but it didn't' hinder my enjoyment. There were several different point of views, and as the action picked up, we switched between them quicker, building the tension. As a reader, I could see what the characters could not, and I could only watch helplessly as the characters made choices and marched off in a direction we know will end badly.
This book has the makings of epic. The layers, subplots, a grand cast of characters, and a map. Politics, religion, kings, bards, and peasants. The poetry, songs, history, visions, and prophecies. It's all there. Oh, and did I mention the secret code??? Awesome!
I'm having a hard time describing how much I liked this book without giving away too much information. It is a story to make you think "What if?" A re-envisioning of Merlin and what that might mean for the future King Arthur, and what these stories will bring to the Arthurian legends.
I'm ready to dive into book two! Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
This review is fromMerlin's Blade - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merlin's Greatest Weakness Could Become His Greatest Strength
When a meteorite crashes near a small village in fifth-century Britain, it brings with it a mysterious black stone that bewitches anyone who comes in contact with its glow---a power the druids hope to use to destroy King Uthur's kingdom, as well as the new Christian faith. The only person who seems immune is a young, shy, half-blind swordsmith's son named Merlin.
As his family, village, and even the young Arthur, are placed in danger, Merlin must face his fears and his blindness to take hold of the role ordained for him. But when he is surrounded by adversaries, how will he save the girl he cherishes and rid Britain of this deadly evil ... without losing his life?
Book includes location map and detailed character index.
My Review:
For me, book covers are not a heavy influence on whether I pick up a book or not. If a cover is awesome, I will want to read it, but if a cover scares the living lights out of me, I tend to avoid it, if possible. This novel has such a cover. My first thought was "what in the world am I looking at?" I took it for an animal of some sort, and I almost skipped the novel. Bring geared towards the younger reading set, I didn't know if I would enjoy and appreciate the story. While I enjoyed it after all, I there were a few things worth mentioning...
While there are a lot of exciting things going on in the story, I don't know that I would recommend it to the younger readers it was meant for. There is an enchanted demonic stone that makes trouble for everyone, and while God is thrown in there for good measure (called Jesu in the book) it really seems that evil is stronger than good. There are more books coming in the series, so I'm not overly worried that such will ultimately be the case. But it was depressing to see the constant prayer and no results.
This story is filled with demonic worship, friendship, faith, betrayal, spiritual vision, loyalty, and forgiveness. A lot of things are covered in this novel that make you think twice about the traditional legend we all know a little bit about, and Treskillard brings new life into a story that has been retold countless times. Overall, it was an thrilling read, but if your children have nightmares and rather tender hearted, give it a few years before you hand them this book. Some graphic scenes were included, so definitely hold off if you've got squeamish ones.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

True to Lore

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaitlyn E
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is very difficult to write a book centered in the world of Arthurian Legends and characters, without making it seem like something we’ve read before. In Merlin’s Blade, the author was able to present a wildly popular tale without seeming to ride on the backs of those who have gone before him. The story was unique, implemented the THIRST method very well (as it should, since the author created the writing method), and engaged the audience by giving just enough of the ancient lore to make Arthurian fans happy.
Merlin is a very likeable character. He seems very human due to his handicap, but also has a hero’s heart which makes him endearing. He risks his life to save others, is very loyal, stands in the face of physical and verbal adversity, and refuses to back down, no matter what comes his way. The reimagining of this iconic character from skilled wizard to sword smith’s son was a bold move, I think, but one that paid off. People like characters that aren’t perfect, thus lending Merlin well to likability.
The book carries a serious tone throughout its pages, making it more action and lore as opposed to suspense and humor, which perhaps lends itself better to the market it is trying to reach. What the book does add to the Arthurian market, however, are strong moral principles which speak well to our current culture that is sadly lacking in this department.
As this book includes several Christian themes and elements to it, there will be some readers who are divided over the magical properties of the stone and it’s somewhat demonic nature. However, for avid Christian Fantasy reader, these themes will not be a concern, as good standing against evil is an overarching theme. If you are a fan of other Arthur/Merlin books, then the magic content will not be an issue.
There were a couple scenes that slipped into OTN dialogue; I’m sure due to the difficulty of having an MC that was predominantly blind. It wasn’t too heavy, though, and the book is a clean read involving little gore (not little action) that is not graphically described.
All in all an enjoyable read with sound character development, plot, and well placed lore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Walk by Faith and Not by Sight

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written Melodies
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Robert Treskillard, in Merlin's Blade, presents engaging writing and a relatable protagonist. Merlin's relatability springs from his daily struggle regarding his abilities and limitations. We all regularly contend with various infirmities be it mental, physical, or emotional. I enjoyed Merlin's strength even in his uncertainty. Despite doubting his physical prowess, Merlin continued to fight and never gave up. Notwithstanding the obstacles, Merlin stood steadfast in his belief.
Holding family and friendship in high esteem, Merlin demonstrates loyalty to both through his interactions with Owain, Garth, and Natalenya. Although Garth's motives prove damaging to he and Merlin, he later redeems himself. His selfless act to save Arthur, resolve to help fight the Druidow, concern of others, and denial of food, despite his never ending hunger, allows him to right his wrongs. A most refreshing aspect, Merlin's Blade contains no love triangles. Yes, score! I found Natalenya to be a likable love interest. During their walk to the smithy, I couldn't help but smile and root for them as Natalenya hints at marriage. Some of the names, objects, and customs were new to me, I appreciated the glossary and pronunciation key in the back of the book. My favorite quote alludes to the Book of Ruth, "But though I don't know where I'm going, I can provide for you. Will you come?" She took his hand. "Where you go, I will go, and your people will be my people" (405).
Now, I await the next installment to find out what's in store for Merlin and his band of followers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Debut

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
firequeen
Location:TN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great debut novel, one that I highly recommend for fans of Merlin and
King Arther. At first, because of its age group, I feared that Treskillard might have cheeped on the research and detail but that is not the case. He made Britain come alive with characters, both new and known, amazingly described scenes.
My only complaint is that the end seemed to drag out. I would have liked for it to have sped up just slightly.
I can't wait for what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fantasy book for all ages.

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackson
Location:st.louis ,mo
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 12 years old and love fantasy novels. I would highly recommend this book, although some concepts may be hard for younger kids to grasp. Robert does a great job on squeezing in history and geography into this already action-packed novel.
Over all three thumbs up!
-Jackson
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found a new favorite fantasy favorite in Merlin's Blade!
I've always enjoyed reading stories or watching movies and TV shows about King Arthur and his knights of the round table, but Merlin has always been my favorite legend. I especially love the Christian re-tellings of his legendary tale, so this book had a lot to live up to, and it definitely exceeded my expectations.
It was a bit slow to start, but by chapter five I knew that this book was totally for me! Merlin was a noble character with an inner strength about him, his past was a fresh, exciting mystery.
This book is definitely setting this series up to be absolutely epic, there is no doubt about that!
There were a lot of characters to keep track of, but I found the guide in the back to be extremely helpful with that, especially because it taught me how to say their names the right way.
Overall, I loved the twists that Mr. Treskillard brought to this legend, in a new adventure. And I really liked how the speech was distinctly different from modern-day conversation, it really added a richness to the storytelling. There was plenty going on in the plot, so the pages turned steadily and I was far from bored! I will definitely be reading the next book in the series :)
In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Merlin As You Have Never Seen Him Before

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert Treskillard in his new book "Merlin's Blade" Book One in the Merlin Spiral Series published by Zondervan takes us into the life of Merlin.
From the back cover: Merlin's Greatest Weakness Could Become His Greatest Strength
When a meteorite crashes near a small village in fifth-century Britain, it brings with it a mysterious black stone that bewitches anyone who comes in contact with its glow--a power the druids hope to use to destroy King Uthur's kingdom, as well as the new Christian faith. The only person who seems immune is a young, shy, half-blind swordsmith's son named Merlin.
As his family, village, and even the young Arthur, are placed in danger, Merlin must face his fears and his blindness to take hold of the role God ordained for him. But when he is surrounded by adversaries, armed only by a sword he helped forge, how will he save the girl he cherishes and rid Britain of this deadly evil ... without losing his life?
Just say the two words, Merlin and Arthur and, immediately you know you are in for a good time reading the story. Mr. Treskillard knows the legend and he has done an admirable job of bringing Merlin to life. This is not the Merlin we are accustomed to from the books and movies. No, this Merlin is half blind which works out in his favor considering that everyone else, who can see, is under the power of this meteorite that the druids are using to enslave everyone. "Merlin's Blade" is an epic battle between good and evil. Mr. Treskillard has done an incredible job of bringing his characters to life and we root for them to win against overwhelming forces. "Merlin's Blade" is a wonderful, interesting story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I am most definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

plausible introduction to King Arthur tales

Date:May 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The legend of King Arthur is buried somewhere in legend and Treskillard has begun to uncover it in this historical fantasy.
Merlin is an important character in the Arthur legends and this novel gives us a plausible way he came into King Arthur's service.
The novel centers on the pagan druidow trying to overturn the Christian influence in Britain. Their leader has found a stone, a meteorite, that has amazing power, evil power. This stone epitomizes the devil and his hatred for Christ. The druidow use this stone on the people in Merlin's village, to entice them back to belief in the ancient gods.
Merlin is a young man nearly blind from an attack by wolves. The son of a smithy, he did not want to get involved in the spiritual battle. But he had to. “Merlin could feel it. Change. Change that would sweep across Britain, erase the name of Christ from the people's memory, and bring suffering and bondage in its wake.” (204)
I am not an avid reader of Arthurian tales but I really liked this novel. It brought to the forefront the spiritual battle between Christians and the druids in the fifth-century. The spiritual future of Britain is at stake. And Merlin is such a little guy, so to speak. He's nearly blind (but that turns out to be an advantage). He's not a burly swordsman. But he has the courage to fight for what he knows is right for Britain. I really like him as a hero.
I also like learning about what Christianity was like in Britain during that time. We sometimes think Christianity has always been like we experience it today. This novel is a good reminder that many have had to fight so that Christianity would survive the attacks of evil.
And fight Merlin did. There is tons of action in this novel, and just a bit of romance. But this is just the beginning of the story. I look forward to the successive books in this series.
I received an advanced reading copy of this book from the publisher, in cooperation with the Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy blog tour, for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An exciting new look at the adventures of Merlin!

Date:May 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before the Round Table...Before Arthur was crowned...There was MERLIN!
Inspired by the renowned Arthurian Legends, MERLIN’S BLADE tells the story of Merlin’s battle to save his family, friends, and king from the druids’ treacherous plan to reclaim Britain by using a strange meteorite that has the power to ensnare anyone who looks at it.
Only Merlin, who lost hi vision in a wolf attack, can steer his friends and family away from the object’s dreadful influence, and back onto the path of truth. His lack of sight is his secret weapon.
While the villagers, including Merlin’s father and his best friend Garth are under the stone’s spell, Merlin takes on the evils that live beneath it’s surface. Facing off against despicable creatures and fearless villains that aim to turn Britons against each other.
Surrounded by adversaries, and armed only with a sword, Merlin must rid his country of this deadly evil, even if it means losing his own life. He sets out on his mission with the help of the beautiful Natalenya, who gives him the confidence-and assistance-he needs.
Will Merlin be able to save the people of Britain? (excerpt from rear cover).
I find that Robert Treskilliard has researched Merlin’s history very well and has put together some of the missing past of how Merlin became such an icon to Historical Medieval time period where legends are forged through time and remain one of the strongest myth and legends of all time in his latest novel Merlin's Blade.
The novel from the Prologue into the first Chapter seems a bit confusing and leads you almost into a separate story so you really have to focus on the first chapter and just read from there. Since I am only about halfway into the book the Prologue might come into play here in the next few chapters. I found Merlin’s character to be full of hardships with not only being attacked as a young child from wolves and losing most of his eyesight, to a pair of young bullies Dyslan and Rondroc who continue to torment him throughout most of the first part of the book. Merlin offers to take full punishment of being whipped for his friends lying and stealing of the horses and cart. Merlin is even attacked again by a wolf and suffers wounds on his arm.
I can’t go into detail anymore than what I have read as you must pick up the book to continue on Merlin’s journey in the book to see if he is able to save Britain from this foul evil that lurks behind the strange meteorite. I find this book very accurate in the style of writing and character development is superb! It is a little hard to follow sometimes as the author goes into the English writing style of the time period so you really have to focus sometimes and even go back a bit to clarify the paragraph or sentence.
Over all I would rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars and would recommend it to not only this genre of reader, but to young and old readers alike! So far it’s been a great story and cant wait to finish the book! Thank you Robert Treskilliard for a fascinating story and journey into Merlin’s youth!
I received Merlin's Blade by Robert Treskilliard compliments of Zondervan Publishers and Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Tours for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. This novel is the first book in the Merlin's Spiral Series and is perfect for those young adult readers looking for a bit more spice and flavor in their historical fictional novels based on the tales of old legends with just the right balance of Christianity to keep the story engaging with a powerful message. The next novel in the series, Merlin's Shadow will be out in early fall of 2013.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merlin's Blade, Merlin Spiral Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A most absorbing and epic adventure

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Merlin is the blind some of a blacksmith. When his friends and family become interested in the miracle stone that the druids are using to draw people away from King Uthur and his infant son Arthur, Merlin tries to stop them. He can sense that there is something evil about the stone. But can he destroy it before it’s too late?
I’m a big fan of epic fantasy, and there’s a lot in this book that’s praiseworthy. The setting and characters offer a vivid picture of the past. And Merlin is a tremendous protagonist—a half-blind young man whose belief in honor and family make him a figure to cheer for. He will sacrifice his life rather than compromise his word. Treskillard takes the skeletal bones of the Arthurian legend and builds a real person in Merlin. This was an engaging story that I didn’t want to put down. Treskillard can be proud of Merlin’s Blade. It’s a most absorbing and epic adventure. I can’t wait for the next volume in this new series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.