Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Disney Press The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD

Disney Press The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD

What begins as a dreary commute to their English boarding school ends as the most joyful thing the Pevensies can imagine: a return to Narnia! But they soon realize that the enchanted land's in trouble---and they're in danger. Can they help the rightful king reclaim his throne? Stars Ben Barnes, William Moseley, Anna Popplewell, Skandar Keynes, and Georgie Henley. Rated PG. Approx. 2.5 hours.

DVD Features:
  • Audio Commentary with Director and Actors
  • Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
  • English, French and Spanish Language Tracks
  • English, French and Spanish Subtitles
  • Widescreen
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Review 1 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It amazes me!

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
rachel
Location:Manistee County, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find it so amazing how life like the talking animals are. You can let your imagination go! It's like the animals/ creatures are alive and really talking! It is nothing like cartoon characters! I love these movies!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am a great fan of the Narnia series

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
margo
Location:louisville, ky
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only complaint is when I received the DVD, the catalog enclosed with the package had the DVD on sale for $9.99.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah
I am truly a devoted Narnia fan. My parents took me to see the first on my birthday and I had never heard of Narnia before then, but am I glad they took me. I would never know about Narnia if it wasn't for them! This movie is absolutely amazing unlike some of the others I find it similar to the book. I like the first just a little bit better though. The battle scenes are a bit violent, but not to bad. I loved William Moseley's acting in this one, he was really good. Alldid really well, and they picked an AMAZING person to play X (Caspian). As my second favorite character (Peter is my favorite) I believe Georgie played an remarkable job on Lucy. And Edmund, well he may have grown up a little to much for it to have been just a year in the movie and book, but absolutely GREAT! And Susan, Anna did a great job. I liked the love scene between her and X. I think if you're considering buying this You should! Narnia Rules
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Good movie! Probably better than the 1st. A little scary for younger kids, but still good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cherry Castle
I LOVE NARNIA, BUT this is not really a narnia movie. It's a typical Disney action film with a medieval twist. Acting and script are weak. I only watch it for the music and costumes. Caspian is a washed-up character. They could have done WAY Better!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angelina
This is not Prince Caspian. It really messes up the whole series. On its own I'd give it three stars, but as a part of Narnia it's a flop. Very disappointing despite the lavish detail.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Olson
This is another great family film. Aslan once again uses the Pevensie children to help return Narnia to its rightful rules and peace. The song "The Call" is especially nicely done and moving.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheli
If this was it's own movie and not supposed to be C.S. Lewis' Prince Caspian I might have given it a higher rating. If I think of it as a Hollywood movie that has some remarkable similarities to the book that just happens to have the same name - then it was good action movie. But it most definately NOT the story written by C.S. Lewis. The story I grew up with and have read dozens of times to myself as well as my children. First off, the movie starts about halfway through the book. To fill up that lost time they add in a whole extra battle scene, a juvenile flirtation, macho-rivalry and pointless hostilities. I am ashamed to admit that I had to walk out of the theater several times. I had expected some worldly modifications and hollywood editing as they did with the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. All those little underlying tweaks in worldview (a change in word here, a paraphrase there) were painful to note but certainly to be expected. When watching Caspian I felt betrayed. I know mine was a rather dramatic reaction, and I can tell you I felt so silly - a grown woman trying not to cry in the movie theater hallway! Not one of my best moments. I pride myself on being able to glean good from modern movies and books. But it wasn't just that they didn't faithfully follow the timeline - it wasn't just that they seriously messed with the storyline - but what killed me was that they completely rewrote the characters themselves - the very heart of these beloved child-kings and queens, who had been transformed by the presense of Aslan in their lives - they simply did not exist. King Peter struck me the most. I suppose Hollywood simply could not allow him to be magnanimous - they wouldn't have a clue what it looks like. I hope that when I watch it again - as a completely separate story - I will enjoy it as much as the others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Moffect Thorpe
Always find products of very high quality. products usually arrive before the allotted time expected and the prices are usually good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Pendexter
I loved it. I can't wait for the rest of the books to made into movies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
The animation wasn't as good as "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" and not everything in the movie is from the book,but the movie was still good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Manchega
I've read the Narnia series, including Prince Caspian and when I watched the movie, I was expecting it to follow the book-- at least as well as the first movie did. I was very disappointed to see that the movie was nothing like the book at all. The movie held true to about five facts from the book, and the rest is changed. However, once you get passed the inaccuracies of the story, you've found a good movie. It was very well made and still a good story even though it's nothing like the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
hungryforGod
This is a very good family film that has a good moral value the we need in this day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Remillard
As a family, we couldn't wait to watch this movie. It was a GREAT movie and we are happy to have it in our home, along with the Lion, Witch, & Wardrobe, to view as frequently as possible. We made it a movie night and the whole family was there. Thank you for offering this. The price was comparable to other stores. I would recommend this film to everyone. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alice Johnston
Good movie, we enjoy it, a little rough for younger viewers. We are happy to have it in our library
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark Shiver
Awesome movie. My entire family loved it and enjoyed watching it together. Buy it today and enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Raymond Kidd
I enjoyed the movie (DVD) but had problem with it I'm not sure if it was the DVD or my player. Other movies work good on it. It frooze and skipped a few times in the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teeanna Schimmel
Well put together, my boys really enjoyed it. One of those movies you can watch again and again. Well worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Kinney
We have truly enjoyed this movie and will over and over again. We can hardly wait till the next one comes out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jnel Birkel
I have not read this book but I did really like this movie and so did my whole family. My daughters have read the book and did note differences which there always is but did love the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>