Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The One Year Bible For Children

Tyndale House The One Year Bible For Children

This new devotional in The One Year line for families with children ages 5-8 combines beautiful four-color illustrations with skilled writing from best-selling author Gil Beers. Every day's reading features a three-part discussion section: "Remember" (to recall factual information); "Discover" (to learn a lesson that relates to today); and "Apply" (to apply to the child's own situation). This is a format that Gil Beers established in the full-text edition, The Bible for Children. Classic Bible art from that project is reused in this edition.

Features

  • Presentation page
  • 9-point text size
  • 9.25" x 6.25" x 1.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The One Year Bible For Children
Review 1 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good children's Bible for this age range

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"One Year Bible for Children" is an illustrated Bible for young children (ages 5-8). It's designed to be read to the child and perhaps later read by the child.
The daily readings are about 1 page long and each has a date (January 1, etc.) for when it's to be read. I'd suggest starting at "January 1st" even if that's not when you start reading the book. The selections follow the narrative portions of the Bible from Genesis to Revelation with excerpts from the Psalms and some of the New Testament letters. Not all of the narrative in the Bible is covered, but it does cover more than I've generally seen in children's Bibles and it comes across as an ongoing story rather than stories taken out of context.
The text is a simplified vocabulary version of the actual Bible. You couldn't use this to look up specific verses, but I'd feel comfortable using this as a "real Bible reading" for young children. The commentary is kept out of the main text except when used to explain an event that might confuse children.
At the bottom of each reading, there are questions to see if the child has been paying attention and comments about what we learn from the passage. I like that these comments usually pointed out what we learned about God rather than using the story solely as a moral lesson. Also included is a prompt to think of ways to apply what we learned from the reading.
The full-color illustrations look like the cover and accurately portray the time period (except for the scarcity of brown- or black-skinned people). There is an illustration every two or three pages. Not every daily reading has a picture, but there are plenty of pictures.
While not perfect, this is the best children's Bible I've found for this age range. Overall, I'd highly recommend this children's Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
rev mm
Location:saint charles, mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased several children's bibles for baby dedications, but this, by far, is the BEST!!! Great pictures...includes the most important stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
LilKams
Location:Chicago, IL
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great daily devotional for your children that is very true to the Scriptures with good application questions. I highly recommend this for age ranges of 3 or 4 -7 or 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leslie Harvath
I purchased this for my 5-1/4 yo who has been using The Beginner's Bible by Zonderkidz since she was 3 yo. She loves the pictures in this volume, but wishes there were more (at least one picture per story would be nice). I really like the story and follow-up questions and application at the end, perfect for her next level of Bible reading. It has spawned many extra questions (from her) which tells me she is listening and absorbing the text. Though we purchased it in July, we started at January 1 as our beginning point, which has worked just fine. She pours over the pictures and wants more than one story per day, so I let her choose another story (out of order) everyday, which whets her appetite for more. She can't wait for Bible reading everyday. (Recommend The Beginner's Bible for ages 2-4, then this one after age 5 as the next step--we still read The Beginner's Bible daily, too, and it is still her first choice for "cuddle" reading.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
vicki ingram
I have an in home Christian preschool for children ages 3-5 yrs. I use this Bible for the Pre-K children (class of 6) ea. yr. that come M-F for the afternoon class. We begin ea. day with Bible time. I like the Bible because it has ea. date written at the top of ea. page so it's easy for the children to place their bookmark and find the next day's story. The stories follow the order of the Bible so the children can follow the biblical time line and not just have random stories. Ea. day builds on the previous day's lesson. They learn so much about God, Jesus and the people in the Bible as well as many life lessons that apply to them, even at their young age.The pictures that are in it are great. Not cartoony but realistic looking. I do, however, wish that there were more since young children need a visual to associate the stories with. I was disappointed to learn that this Bible is not avail. to order through the publisher at this time. I hope it's not being discontinued but perhaps only revised with more pics. It's wonderful to be able to send ea. child home at the end of the school yr. with their Bible that they have used all yr. long.After 35 yrs. of teaching young children in Christian settings and reviewing every Bible avail. over the years, I would highly recommend this Bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Preston O'lary
This is the best Bible for children I've found. Too many kids Bible's reduce the Bible to cute stories that children will outgrow. This one does not do that. The realistic pictures add interest. My kids are 4-9, this Bible holds their attention, and gets them asking for more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
San Miguel Community Church
This Bible is wonderful. The pictures are fantastic. I only wish that there were more pictures on every page. There are also some daily readings that are concept studies, which I prefer a Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Pierce-Ruhland
I just love the One Year Bible for Children. My oldest son (now 8) and I did this devotional 2 years ago when he was 6 and we enjoyed it then. Now we are doing it again with all three of my children (my twins are 5.) The children love it. They like the pictures. I like that it has questions at the end. Everyday it has a "Remember, Discover and Apply" section. The devotion time even with reading the Bible takes around 10-20 minutes. It is amazing to hear my 5 year olds answer questions like "What land did Terah leave?" and they all shout out "Ur!" I feel that through this devotional they are really digging in and learning the Bible. It is sticking and they are getting past the basic Bible story knowledge of just knowing who Noah and Moses are. I too have learned a lot from this devotional and often find myself saying "I didn't know that was in the Bible" but sure enough, I go back and read it in the Word and there it is plain as day. This devotional just has a way of plainly explaining each event in the Bible. I have recommended this devotional to several of my friends and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to help their children dig a little bit deeper into God's Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Millsap
I like it but I wish there were more pictures. There's a really nice painting-style picture every 2 pages or so, so on some day's reading, there are no pictures. The readings are mostly short (1 page or less) so my 5 and 3 year olds are able to sit through it without any trouble (but they want pictures!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The One Year Bible For Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vidette Benn
My 6 year really enjoys this Bible. It's the next step in his Bible study. It has more chapters than his beginner Bible, so he is learning more stories of the Bible and it is divided per day, which is the best. He really enjoys the pictures, also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.