Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Material Witness Large Print

Center Point Large Print Material Witness Large Print

Average Customer Rating:
4.893 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Material Witness Large Print
Review 1 for Material Witness Large Print
This review is fromMaterial Witness - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Perfect Square by Vannetta Chapman

Date:July 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Perfect Square by Vannetta Chapman**** Paper-back copy
It is nearing time for Esther and Tobias' wedding and there is much is to be done. But wedding plans are interrupted when a young Amish girl is found floating in the pond on cousins Tobias and Reuben's farm. Who is the young girl and how did she get there? They are shocked when Detective Shane Black arrests Reuben Fisher for her murder. Reuben is a quite, gentle man and could not have committed this murder his friends insist. Reuben does not help his case by not talking or answering any of the detectives questions. Deborah Yoder is sure he did not murder the girl and enlists her Englisher friend Callie-owner of Daisy's Quilt Shop, to find out what happened.
Callie is all for helping Deborah figure out what actually happened to the young girl and get Reuben out of jail. But she also finds herself in the middle of another mystery when she finds an elderly Amish man at her shops door early one morning. He is looking for his long lost daughter and asks Callie to help him find her. Adding more mystery to his request, his son says he does not have a sister. Does the man only think he has/had a daughter? After a little searching, Callie learns that the man's daughter actually has been missing since the 1965 Palm Sunday Tornadoes. Convinced that she must help try to reunite this father and daughter, Callie continues to search and uncovers some surprising information.
A Perfect Square is a murder mystery but it has another mystery woven into the story. There is much more in this story: mystery-of course, suspense, little romance, the bond of friends—even between the Amish and Englishers, forgiveness, strong faith, prayers and God's will, with characters that are true-to-life making this a story to read. I have been a long-time fan of Vannetta Chapman and know when I read one of her books it will drawl me into the story.
~~I received a copy of this book from the author for my review~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vintage quilts hold valuable clues

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Magister
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vannetta Chapman set the bar pretty high in her previous two Amish mysteries (Falling to Pieces and A Perfect Square), but Material Witness has no trouble measuring up. In fact, my only complaint about this book is that it's the last in this series. Once again, quilt shop owner Callie Harper and her Amish friends work together to unravel a mysterious death in quiet Shipshwana. But this time, it seems Callie herself is the target! Some good police work and a trio of brave and intelligent Amish children bring the perpetrator to justice while the women decipher clues from a set of vintage story-book quilts. I found my heart racing as I read through Chapman's signature twists and the dangers her characters - my friends! - faced. You won't be disappointed with the way this series ends, only that it does. As a beginning quilter, I LOVED the way Chapman used quilts to tie each book in the series together: every personality, every clue coming together to make a perfect whole.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast action mystery

Date:May 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
LizD1
Location:Decatur,AL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Material Witness ( A Shipshewana Amish Mystery )
By: Vannetta Chapman
I have read all three of these books in Shipshewana Amish Mystery Series and I think that Vannetta Chapman really did an awesome job. This story starts out with action and it don't let up till the end. The name "Material Witness" really fits this book good. This one is my favorite of the three. At the opening of the Fall Crafter's Fair a woman is killed right outside of Daisy's Quilt Shop. This really upsets Callie Harper, the owner. She can't believe this is happening again. Someone has been killed and she is right in the middle of it. This time there is an eye witness to the killing.There is Shane Black the office who is heading the killing and he does not want Callie hurt. He has feeling for Callie. We have the non Amish Callie, and the Amish ladies Deborah, Melinda, and Esther. These ladies are so close that they feel like sisters. Yes they will have to help and find who the killer is before the killer goes after one of them. We also have another mystery about some quilts that these ladies just has to find out the mystery about them. I don't want to leave out the children and Max in this story. They play a big part in this story. I laughed one minute and on the edge of my seat the next minute. If you love a good clean mystery and light romance, you will love "Material Witness." Just be prepared when you start reading , you will not want to put it down. This last book has really turned out good. I would hope there would be another one .
I was given a copy of this book by the author for my honest review and I have given it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It will surprise you!

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
DonnasBookshelf
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There isn’t much I can say about Material Witness… it’s a wonderful read, and I was completely caught off guard a few times.
But I want to be careful to not give away any secrets, so although this might be the best of all three books in the series, it will possibly be the shortest review…
only because it’s “just so darn good”.
I encourage you to take the time to read this book… all three books… the writing is excellent, with secrets and intrigue… and romance.
Let me just say that if I had to leave behind most of my book collection, those written by Vannetta Chapman would be staying with me — somehow I’d find a way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super great series !!

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have not read this Shipshewanna Mystery Series you are missing 3 excellent books. I had not ordered them in the beginning because it mentioned a murder, however all 3 in this series are so great, I can or could hardly put them down. I am just finishing the last few chapers in Material Wittness and read until 4 a.m. Great books and I recommend all 3 in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Granny
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I enjoyed the complete ser. It was my first time to read this Author. I would purchase more of Vanetta Chapman's
books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Puzzles

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ConnieR
Location:ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Material Witness" is the third novel of the Shipshewana Amish Mystery series. It carries on with the characters we have all grown to love; Callie, Deborah, Esther, Melinda, Shane and Gavin, and continues to wind their lives together in a beautiful story of life and love.
For me, this novel is about puzzles. Big ones, like why do children fall ill with serious illnesses, why does evil exist in the world. Middle-sized puzzles, like how can Englischers and Plain people become real friends, the kind that are almost family....how does a new marriage become so quickly "normal" that it settles long-lived-with fears with just a glance or a touch at the right time. And the small puzzle in this book that's also the biggest puzzle of all begins with a last will and testament and a set of unusual quilts.
I will never hesitate to recomment a book by Vanetta Chapman, whether I have read it or not. I have found her stories to be compelling, riveting, and personal. These characters have been brought to life with her words, and I grow to care for each of them as if they have become a part of my family too. How does she do that? There we go again, another puzzle!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish mystery--don't miss it!

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callie Harper and her Amish friends encounter another murder mystery in Shipshewana, Illinois. Only this time Melinda’s wheel-chair-bound son, Aaron, witnessed the crime. How can they keep him and Callie safe while helping to catch the culprit. Set against the lively backdrop of the Fall Crafters Fair, the tension ramps up as the crazed killer makes demands they struggle to meet. The author pieces together a patchwork of a story filled with suspense, adventure, drama, memories, romance, troubles, hopes, and fears, which eventually fall into place like the hidden message of the antique quilts Callie inherited.
Material Witness is the third book in Vannetta Chapman’s endearing series of cozy mysteries, the second of which won a Carol Award for best mystery of the year. I asked her if there would be another, and she said yes, next March. I’m glad because I want to join these quilting friends on another case. I recommend reading them in order, but each could stand alone. I think they’re the best Amish mysteries I’ve read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery, Friendship, and Justice Once More

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the first page, this book had me smiling. Another murder has taken place in Shipshewana during The Fall Festival and this time the murderer knows all about Callie and their little town. The murderer claims that Callie has access to a load of money that she knows nothing about and this person is threatening her loved ones. It’s up to Callie, Deborah, Melinda, Esther, their families, and the police department to find out how to stop this murderer without anyone else getting hurt.
It’s difficult to have sympathy for a man who murders an old woman then attempts to hurt a dog, children, and a police officer. This person is either desperate or extremely dangerous or both!
The reader does not get to witness Callie dumping iced tea on anyone in this book (read the book Falling to Pieces for that wonderful scene), but in Material Witness we get to read about her falling in love which is also unchartered territory for Callie. However, her feisty behavior is enjoyed throughout the book.
Even though there is sweet romance in this story, the most enjoyable part was watching the Amish community, Callie’s friends and their families, band together in unexpected ways to find this killer while keeping Callie and Max safe. This community watches out for their own and even though they are a peaceful bunch, they still take risks in doing the right thing. I was eager to see who Callie falls in love with. Even though it wasn’t the man I had initially hoped it would be, I was very pleased with Callie’s choice and Chapman does an excellent job making this man a perfect match for Callie. One of the characters in the story watched a John Wayne movie so there are several references to that.
This book isn’t a typical page-turner, but it’s a wonderful conclusion to the series and it’s a treat to see how everything gets resolved. I highly recommend it. This book can be considered a stand alone, but my suggestion is to read the other two books before it so the reader will fully understand each relationship and why Callie feels hesitancy about certain things. Chapman does an amazing job describing the friendship Callie experiences with Deborah, Melinda, and Esther but that friendship slowly blossoms from the first book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book by Vannetta!

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Greensburg, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having never visited Shipshewana, IN, I have fallen in love with the wonderful group of people portrayed in Vannetta Chapmans, "Material Witness" book. When reading this book, one is taken to the place and really becomes one of the townspeople who could very well live there.
The circle of friends found, in Callie, Deborah, Esther, & Melinda and their families along with Gavin, Shane Black, and the officials of the town, makes one realize the importance of friends, family, & a loving community. Add to this cirlce of ladies an heirloom quilt given to each that adds a bit of a puzzle to the mystery in town, makes one take to the action really quick. The faith and trust from the youngest (and a Swap) to the oldest is seen when reading this style of Amish Fiction Full of Grace writing by Vannetta.
The reader is drawn into all the action from the beginning to the end when the romance becomes fully known in this mystery story.
I have now read all of Vannetta Chapman's books with the exception of her newest, A Home for Lydia, which will be started as soon as this review is finished.
These books are well-written with all the inspiration of the Amish with a bit of the unknown mystery thrown in that makes it feel really true to life. After learning about the Amish, you do learn that they do have problems just as their Englisch friends do, but it is the forgiving nature and love of the Amish that inspires one to wish that all people could be as forgiving.
I loved this book, and can't wait to start the newest read! I loved reading the Amish Proverbs throughout the book. Love, love, loved it! And, all of this from a person who doesn't (used to never) read mysteries. These books I love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Location:Mt. Orab, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It had a good mystery twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Exciting Mystery - A Real Page Turner!

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I felt like I was in Shipshewana right there with Callie and her friends Deborah, Melinda, and Esther. Another crime has been committed and of course Callie is right in the middle of it all. Was this latest crime targeted for her instead of the victim? The scary part was Melinda’s son Aaron witnessed it all. Would he be the next target?
The author Vannetta Chapman had me on the edge of my seat for this read. I turned those pages just as fast as my eyes would allow me to read. I was totally engrossed in helping Detective Shane Black solve this latest crime. Who did it I wondered. I didn’t even figure it out until the name was revealed! Good job Vannetta.
If you want a good mystery to read I am here to tell you that you don’t want to miss this one.
I just want to let you know there might be a little romance thrown in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A blending of two genre's for a great series!

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love it when really talented authors take some of my favorite genre's and mix them together to create such a seamless blend for a great story you truly fall in love all over again with being an avid book reader. In the case of Material Witness by Vannetta Chapman, we are taken back to the small Amish town of Shipshewana, Indiana that is comprised of about 600 residents, not all of them Amish. Here in this small town there's been a bit of competition between two owners of Amish quilt stores. Mrs. Knepp is the eighty-year-old owner of Quilts and Needles and feels that Callie Harper and her friends that run Daisy's Quilt Shop have deviated from the traditional Amish ways by offering quilting, knitting and other craft classes that draw much of the business to their shop. Even the English tourists have been frequenting Daisy's Quilt Shop over Mrs. Knepps.
Yet in the middle of the Fall Festival, things are about to get interesting. Now the population of the small town is well over thirty thousand and business is booming. The streets are crowded and no one seems to notice an Amish women standing in the shrubs just outside the parking lot of Daisy's Quilt Shop. No one that is except for Aaron, a small boy who is confined to a wheelchair and a Labrador named Max. Without any sound, the woman falls sprawled out on the ground. There is no sound, no blood. In the darkness only the evil eyes of a man who stands over the women and then stares at Aaron is the only lasting memory of what has just happened.
When Callie Harper learns what has happened and to whom, she is immediately ridden with guilt for all the months that her and Mrs. Knepp argued over their businesses. What's worse is this is the third murder to happen in the small town of Shipshewana in the last fifteen months and in every single one of those cases, Callie Harper has been involved. Not it seems that this murder case is about to get personal on many levels. Callie Harper is the target and not only does someone want what she has or they'll risk murder, but Aaron is the only eye witness. Will Callie be able to help solve this crime or will she finally run out of options?
I received Material Witness by Vannetta Chapman compliments of Zondervan Publishing and Net Galley for my honest review. I absolutely LOVED this book and it immediately captivated my interest from the first page and I could not put it down until I knew who did it! This is the third book in the Shipshewana Mystery series and once again brings back the characters we have fallen in love with including the romantic tension between investigator Shane Black and Callie Harper. Will they finally realize their interest lies more than just in solving cases and goes much, much deeper? You'll have to pick this one up to find out. I personally give this one a 5 out of 5 stars!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Englisch & Amish solving a mystery together? YES!

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amish and Englisch working together as a team within the covers of one book, and that book is a mystery? Never!
However, it is true in Material Witness, the third book in a new series by Vannetta Chapman called A Shipshewana Mystery. And a very intriguing story it is.
Callie is an Englisher who inherited a quilt shop from her Aunt Daisy. Her competitor, an Amish lady, is mysteriously murdered right in front of Callie's quilt shop, right on the busiest weekend of the year. And to make matters worse, a seven-year-old handicapped Amish boy, Aaron, saw it all happen, and now he is in danger.
How all this works out as the Englisch and the Amish work together to not only find the criminal, but to solve a years-old mystery, is a delightful read. I must warn you, before you begin reading this book, you need to make sure you have enough time to finish it, or you will loose some sleep. It is a book you can't put down!
I appreciated the way the author made each character not only true to their heritage, but to also work together in order to live as friends and neighbors, and to solve the mystery.
I have read many Amish books, but this book series - A Shipshewana Mystery - has become one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Material Witness Large Print
This review is fromMaterial Witness - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable "who done its."

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
MotherMary
Location:Green Bay, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying these Amish mysteries by Vannetta Chapman. I can't wait for her next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing third book in this series. Very well written, the characters stayed true to how they had been written in the past two books. I absolutely loved the quilts being part of the mystery. What a great twist!! Callie has finally settled down with her "man". This book gave me a great appreciation that kids will be kids no matter to what parents they are born to and also of what it means to live a different lifestyle that most people.
I stared this book one night and finished it the next afternoon. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic read.

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ashley
Location:London, Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. Keeps you in suspense. A nice closure to the 3 book series. I would recommend this series to any age group and it is mysterious but yet exciting. A must read if you are interested in Amish reading. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY INTERESTING BOOK

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leatherman
Location:OWOSSO, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS BOOK WILL KEEP YOU INTERESTED ALL THE WAY THROUGH. IT IS ONE BOOK THAT IS HARD TO PUT DOWN. I FOUND MYSELF READING IT EVEN ON COMMERCIAL BREAKS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Mystery Series 1-3

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
VickiA
Location:OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished book 3 in the series "Material Witness" and I have to give it the 5 stars. In fact all 3 books were wonderful and I'd recommend them to everyone. In fact, I have already loaned mine out to a friend who loves the Amish books as well. I would so love to read more about Callie and her new life and maybe kids in their future. Excellent writing and keep up the good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Material Witness Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Material Witness

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished another great visit with Callie, and her Amish girlfriends. Deborah, Esther, and Melinda who have made Callie an honorary sister.
When the owner of the other fabric shop is found dead in Callie's parking lot, and the murder witnessed by young Aaron, Melinda's young handicapped son. You have to think...not again?? Mrs Knepp, the deceased has never liked Callie, but why was she murdered?
The only thing they can think of is the quilts that an elderly Amish woman left the four of them. Mrs Hochstetler, gave these quilts to them to be restored, and the money split.
Do the quilts that appear to tell a story hold a clue to this murder? Shane Black the Police Detective, has feelings for Callie, he had arrested her in the first Shipshewana mystery. Will things move forward with them, and will they even survive who ever seems bent on killing. He has even attacked Max, Callie's Aunt's dog that she inherited.
I read this book in less than a day, and couldn't put it down. I want to spend my days visiting with this great friends.
I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Zondervan, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>