Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1

Zondervan One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1

A young boy named Cantor has the gift to jump between the realms that make up his world and is determined to become one of the realm walkers destined to uphold the ways of the creator. But when his first assignment encounters a rocky start (and a hard-to-work-with dragon), he must summon every skill he's developed to battle the secrets that threaten his guild and his people's very way of life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Review 1 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It’s whimsical, magical, and full of charm.

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
GraceThorson
Location:Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cantor is destined for great things. He’s just been given the title of realm walker, and much is expected from him. His sacred oath to protect the realms is crucial to mankind. Leaving his mentor, Ahma, behind, he sets off for adventure. Cantor leaps through a portal on his first journey into a new realm, but this time as a true realm walker. As a young man, he finds the feeling of independence refreshing.
On his trek, Cantor meets a clumsy, shape-shifting dragon by the name of Bridger – who is determined to become his companion. With a dragon on his heels, a talk of rebellion within the council of realm walkers, and a whole new host of whimsical creatures in his path, Cantor must bravely face his life-long journey as a realm walker.
Choosing faith over fear, he must do whatever it takes to protect the realms, even if that means starting a fierce revolution within the council.
{My Thoughts:}
I’m an avid reader of fantasy – it’s my favorite genre. Most of what my bookish-mind devours is actually Christian fantasy with a twinge of medieval flair. Usually, these consist of sword-fighting, castles, kings, and the fight between good and evil. I often try to stay away from any book that incorporates too much magic (this is difficult to do), and I often find Christian fantasy to be allegorical – which is what I prefer.
I was eager to pick up One Realm Beyond by Donita K. Paul. She’s well-known for her stories on dragons. I’ve never read any of her books, but I’ve noticed her passion for writing fantasy. I was not disappointed with this one. My expectations of her writing were indeed met. Cantor’s story engulfed me. My mind was filled with amusement, fear, joy, and sadness. I connected with all of the characters and was drawn into their plight.
I was struck with this book’s unique take on the story’s structure. It lacked any obvious plot path. Like a true adventure, I didn’t know what to expect in One Realm Beyond. The weaving of the story surprised me, and I really enjoyed that feeling of being left hanging in mid-air from it.
It’s allegorical in that there’s a being that watches over the realms: Primen. The characters also visit a “sanctuary,” and sing songs – a-kin to a church service. Some of its meaning is easy to ascertain, but other parts may be hidden. I want to go back and chew on what I read. I don’t want to miss any significant part. Overall, it’s not preachy, but balanced well.
The tale left me hanging at the end, and I wanted to continue reading. It was so hard to let go and put it away with my stack of books. I am now impatiently waiting for Donita’s next title to be released – which I hope will be soon! In the meantime, I fully intend to check out her other collection of works.
Well done, Donita. I’m impressed. You’ve won a new fan.
I highly, highly, completely, and definitely recommend One Realm Beyond to fantasy readers. As with most fantasy, there’s violence, tense situations, and a guarantee that you will be drawn into the story. One Realm Beyond not only made it in my top reads of this year, but in my top reads ever list! It’s whimsical, magical, and full of charm. A must read!
{This book was provided to me by BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.}
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but a slow read....

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Synopsis:
“Cantor D’Ahma waited his whole life for this day. Born with a gift to jump between worlds, the young realm walker is finally ready to leave his elderly mentor and accept his role as protector and defender of the realms. But mere hours after he steps through his first portal, Cantor discovers that his job will be more dangerous and difficult than he ever imagined. The realms are plagued with crime and cruelty, and even members of the once-noble Realm Walkers Guild can no longer be trusted. To make matters worse, his first assignment—finding a dragon to assist him on his quest—has led him to Bridger, who is clearly inept and won’t leave him alone. With the help of his new friends Bixby and Dukmee, Cantor must uncover the secrets of the corrupt guild before they become too powerful to be stopped. But his skills aren’t progressing as fast as he would like, and as he finds himself deeper and deeper in the guild’s layers of deceit, Cantor struggles to determine where his true allegiance lies.”
My Review:
Before I write what I thought about the content of this book, I will say that the cover is gorgeous! The cover is actually what hooked me into reading it, I had decided I was going to review it before I read the synopsis…..
Okay, now that this has been said, the book itself was kind of slow in my opinion. It took almost half the book before anything “bad” happened. Yes, there were some challenging dilemmas in the beginning, but nothing of consequence happened, making everything look really easy. Everything also happened really fast (I don’t know how I can say the book was too slow and too fast, but I just did, so, hopefully you know what I mean….). I also didn’t like that I would be reading one chapter and then the next chapter was taking place over a month later without any warning, that left a lot of confusion on my part.
However, the characters made up for the loss of conflict. I loved each and every one of the characters, as well as their personalities. The detail was also great and I could easily picture what was going on. Even though the book is kind of slow, it is a good story, and I will most likely read book 2 when it comes out. I do recommend it to fantasy lovers, as well as my friends.
Thanks for reading!
“I received this book from Book Look Bloggers for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
This review is fromOne Realm Beyond - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good character development

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jelly
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a big fantasy lover, but this story carried me along. It's like taking reality and adding a lot of fun to it. I'd pass this along to friends of all ages, Christian or non. Donita K. Paul has created a set of characters who are distinct from each other, well drawn, enjoyable, and make for great relationships.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
This review is fromOne Realm Beyond - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Realm Beyond will not disappoint fantasy lover

Date:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryA
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two young people ready to spread their wings and take on the challenge to become realm walkers set out on a quest with a checklist and a plan. But when things don’t happen according to their expectations, and they are joined by unlikely companions, their plan begins to unravel while a bigger picture is revealed and the real adventure begins. And since this is book one, this is just the beginning of the battle between the good and evil taking place amidst the realms.
This story typifies Donita K Paul’s writing style. She sets her characters out to accomplish a task but the real story takes place on the way. They must learn to adapt to whatever life throws at them while they grow in their skills and knowledge before finally nearing their initial task.
I love the mix of companions from a petite but spunky young heroine, a naïve but strongly convicted young hero and two Mor dragons – one who is always one tale whacking away from disaster and his sister who is a diplomat with a talent for persuasion and fashion. Their vast differences compliment each other’s weakness but their interchange makes for some interesting events. Like when you try to move an enormously growing but knocked out dragon in a too small wooden cart.
Sure to be as much of an adventure as the Dragonkeeper series, the Realm Walkers will not disappoint fantasy lovers. Jump in, cross the realms into One Realm Beyond.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2014
One Realm Beyond is the first book in the Realm Walkers series by Donita K. Paul. This story will capture your interest right from the beginning, and the characters were well done especially the unusual dragons. They were one of the best parts. At first, I didn't like how the author switched the main characters first person view. It came as a complete surprise to me, but I got used to it and ended up liking it. Also the story read so simply I was confused and had to double check that it was teen fiction! Even though it read like it was for a younger audience, I was able to enjoy the story and characters. This is a series that you will have to read in order as it is really one continuous story.
Cantor D'Ahma has been training to be a realm walker ever since he was a little tyke. At twenty he is finally ready to realm walker on his own, and his first stop is the dragon realm to find his dragon who will be his constant for life. Bridger is sure that he is the dragon Cantor is looking for, but Cantor is dismayed by him. Bridger isn't at all what he envisioned for his constant and is irritated that he keeps following him. Then he meets Bixby, another realm walker who excels at almost everything.
Bixby is an eccentric character with many talents and has been tutored by experts in many different fields. She meets Cantor and later Dukmee and they all have one destination in mind. Gilead. It's where they need to register with the Realm Walker Council, but it doesn't take them long to realize there is something fishy going on with the Guild. Why are all the realm walkers abusing the people? And why is everyone so afraid of the Guild?
As they study to pass the requirements to be a realm walker, they discover an evil plot. Can they stop it before thousands of people die?
This was an easy read full of lightheartedness with a dash of seriousness throughout. The story moved pretty slowly, but began to pick up near the end. I like the uniqueness of it and am looking forward to the next book. :-)
I was given this book free from Booklook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Magical YA Fantasy

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
kathae
Location:Front Royal, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was not in my usual genre of reads, but I certainly enjoyed it. When a dragon was sitting on Cantor’s chest in the first few pages, I knew that this book would be different. This is a coming-of-age story in which Cantor has a special gift in that he is able to travel to different realms through portals that are available only to Realm Walkers. Realm Walkers are supposed to be helpers, and defenders of justice, but Cantor and his companions learn that corruption is rampant among those ranks, and learning whom they can trust becomes critical.
This is a great fantasy read. I enjoyed reading about Cantor’s adventures, and I can’t wait to find out what happens next!
I am thankful to have received an Advance Reading Copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best fantasy I've read in years

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this novel. I think it is probably the best fantasy I've read in several years.
Cantor was born with the gift to walk between the worlds. Finally it is time. In his first journey through the portal to another realm, he is to find his dragon. Within a few minutes of being in the new world, he does meet a dragon – Bridger, a bumbling and inept dragon that insists he's the one for Cantor. But when Bridger almost sets himself on fire, Cantor is not so sure this is the one. He'll keep looking.
As Cantor travels, Bridger on his heels, he meets Bixby – in a tree. Bixby may become a realm walker. She's not sure. She has many other special gifts and Primen (God) has not yet identified her role.
Cantor and Bixby, Bridger following along, travel this realm. They are dismayed to learn that it is plagued with evil. Even the once noble Realm Walkers Guild is in danger. There are a few in the council who destroy the others to gain power. Cantor and Bixby, with the aid of Bridger and his sister, are in a race for time to save the guild.
I really liked this novel. Donita has created a world that is very real and believable. There are no hard to understand (and pronounce) characters or places. There are no strange customs or or animals (except dragons) or plants (except one that blows up).
The best part for me were the dragons. Bridger is a riot. He has a heart of gold but is such a bumbling dragon, I just had to laugh at him. And his sister, who agrees to be Bixby's dragon temporarily, loves to shop! Both of those dragons have character!
This is definitely my kind of fantasy novel. There are clearly identified good guys and bad guys. There are crazy shape shifting dragons. There are well developed characters. There is evil needing to be eradicated and two young people growing into the task. A great book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent fantasy for 5th grade and up . . .

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Donita K. Paul returns with a new fantasy series aimed at middle school readers, filled with unforgettable characters (both human and dragon) in a battle of good vs. evil.
In One Realm Beyond, Cantor d’Ahma trained with an elderly mentor for the past twenty years. He is finally ready to begin his role as a realm walker, a protector and defender of the realms. His first step: find his dragon constant, but he is unprepared to bond with the first dragon he meets, especially since Bridger appears so inadequate. Cantor befriends Bixby, a female realm walker trainee, with colorful clothing and crowns. Cantor’s next assignment is to uncover the secrets of a corrupt Realm Walkers Guild and stop them before it is too late. Together they use their gifts to discover who can and cannot be trusted within the Guild.
Paul is an accomplished storyteller, taking her time to create a world where dragons are constants (similar to sidekicks for superheros), special gifts enable humans to perform their duties as realm walkers, and where good vs. evil is fought on a regular basis. The realms are the different worlds with portals that realm walkers use to travel between them.
Though it starts out slowly, One Realm Beyond engages the reader in the struggle facing Cantor as he progresses in his skills and puts his training to use. Bixby is an endearing character with her quirky ways, and Bridger appears an inept dragon when in fact, his gifts are equally important to Cantor. One Realm Beyond ends a bit abruptly and with a cliffhanger, but that may be a result of being book one in a trilogy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A whimsical tale for readers of all ages

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cantor has trained his whole life to be a realm walker. He sets off through a portal on his first solo journey and is immediately caught up in an adventure. And while he makes new friends with another realm walker and two dragons—including one who likes to shop—he also discovers that the world is corrupt. Even the members of the Realm Walkers Guild cannot be trusted. There are few heroes left in all the realms, and Cantor and his new friends step up to the challenge.
This book was delightful. Donita K. Paul has crafted a complex and whimsical storyworld. I loved how her realms sat on different planes and were shifting dangerously. I loved the portals that enabled realm walkers to travel between the planes. And, most of all, I loved the shape-shifting dragons, especially Bridger and his cat. Just mentioning some of these fun facts to my children got them excited to read the book for themselves. (My daughter is especially intrigued about the dragon’s pet cat.)
This is a story about characters. The plot unravels slowly, building the storyworld and setting up the rest of the series, but the characters each grew in this story. And I look forward to seeing what happens to them next. This is a wonderful new series for readers, both young and old. Give it a try.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MG/YA fantasy

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jael
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Donita K. Paul returns with her style of creativity in Realm Walkers: One Realm Beyond. And I love her creativity. I never know what I'll find when I'm venturing in one of her stories.
This one is written for a younger audience similar to that of the DragonKeeper Chronicles, which I love. And I LOVE young adult novels, but this one feels more middle grade. Perhaps the style felt a bit young for me, but I LOVE her DragonKeeper Chronicles. I think the difference with this one is that Cantor is 20 years old and Bixby is 18, and I expected a bit older behavior. Yet the contrast of different worlds where things don't line up with our own, helped to ease the odd feeling. Perhaps their timelines don't match our timelines. This is fantasy, after all.
The story started slow and wound its way to the end as we get to know some interesting characters and places. I loved the idea of the different plains called realms in the universe only accessible by portals through which the realm walkers are able to walk through. The realm walkers are responsible to protect and defend the realms, and to uphold the laws of Primen, the creator of the realms.
There was a lot of information to take in about the way the realms work and the purpose of everything. I feel that this story will be foundational to ones that are to come, and once we know all the ins and outs, we'll have a deeper appreciation for all the adventuring these characters will do.
I definitely enjoyed getting to know the characters and I'm curious to see if Cantor will accept the dragon Bridger as his bonded companion (called constant), and if the dragon's sister Totobee-Rodolow will emerge from retirement to become Bixby's constant. Bixby is something else, lots of mystery. Like I said, this story is just the tip of the iceberg, promising lots of adventure and political intrigue for the younger readers and young at heart.
*In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great fantasy read.

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
TinaP
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Young Cantor D’Ahma begins his first quest as a Realm Walker, finding a dragon to be his constant. He meets mor dragon Bridger as he enters his first realm, only to feel dismay at the ineptness of this dragon who has claimed him as his constant. As Cantor and Bridger proceed, with new friend Bixby, they discover secrets and corruption of power of the older members of the Realm Walkers Guild. The story follows as they try to determine who they can trust and how to protect the innocent residents of the realms from the corruption of others.
This was an enjoyable book that reminded me of C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia in some ways. I’m not normally a huge follower of fantasy books, but as I continued through the story I became invested in Cantor, Bridger and Bixby. I enjoyed their distinct personalities and interactions. As a parent or grandparent, I would recommend this book as a great option for any youth intrigued with fantasy, multiple dimensions, dragons, etc. I may even continue to follow the series myself!
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan Z Street in exchange for a review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful fantasy read

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
CherylSec
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One Realm Beyond by Donita K. Paul is Book One of her new Realm Walkers Trilogy. Cantor D’Ahma has dreamed his entire life of becoming a Realm Walker, a defender of the realms. When the day finally arrives, he sets out on his journey which turns out quite differently than he imagined. He meets up with intriguing characters and takes on dangerous adventures. Through it all, he grows in his own character.
I really enjoyed this book. The characters are wonderful and written with depth. The story world is fascinating with the realms existing on different planes, and I absolutely love the way the dragons are portrayed. The spiritual theme of the book is brilliantly woven into the plot without being preachy in any way. I’m already looking forward to Book Two. I highly recommend this book.
Note: I received a free advance reading copy of this book, but was under no obligation to give a review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One Realm Beyond

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book! I would definitely recommend this book, the only drawback is that it is a major cliff hanger. I cannot wait until the next one comes out. I could tell you more, but I don't want to give anything away. Just know that it is a very well written book, and that you should read it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lilikin
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One Realm Beyond by Donita K. Paul is the first book in the Realm Walkers series. Cantor D'Ahma was born and trained to be a realm walker (a protector and defender of all the realms of the land). His adventures lead him to meet new people and make new friends. Cantor, Bixby, Bridger, Totobee-Rodolow, Dukme, will meet both people they can and can't trust along the way. They will make many discoveries about the worlds around him, how the Realm Walkers Guild is corrupt, and most of all their belief in what is right and wrong and what God would want him to do.
I really enjoyed how this book was written, incorporating new elements, worlds, and characters. I loved how the characters were all diverse, but still had things in common and got along so well together. By using their unique natural talents will they be able to save the citizens from the corrupt Realm Walkers Guild? You will have to read it to find out.
I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys adventure, mystery, magic, and fantasy.
I received an advance copy of this book from the Zondervan Z Street Team in exchange for an honest review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianne
Location:pittsburgh pa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having received an my copy, I was very anxious to start reading another book by Mrs. Paul. I must say I was not disappointed. Again her characters are very descriptive. She makes it so easy to picture each one. The story is about a young man Cantor, who is so eager to perform his duties as a realm walker that it does get him into problems at times. A realm walker is one who goes through different portals to serve and protect. The first one he goes though is to find a dragon that will be there to help him in his travels. Unfortunately the dragon he meets Bridger is not what he had hoped for, but circumstances keep throwing them together. After meeting a young lady named Bixby , who is also on a quest they team up. She has a dragon who is very sparkly, fashionable and has a name of Totobee-Rodolow. Just when you think everything is going okay, Cantor discovers something sinister is going on with the Realm Walkers. How he discovers what it is, and IF he can straighten it out and make it all right again, I will leave up to you to read and find out for yourself. The book is one of a series you really don't want to miss. I am looking forward to the next one with great expectations.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for One Realm Beyond, Realm Walkers Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first book in the Realm Walkers series, One Realm Beyond is an adventures tale of Cantor D'Ahma's life as a realm walker, a gift to go into different worlds. When issued by his mentors, Cantor goes into a portal and enters into a world were injustice is in control. After meeting a mor dragon, Bridger, who is convinced that they are meant to be together, along with Bixby, another realm walker, they make their way to the council, where they train and try to uncover the mystery of the injustice throughout the realms.
Once I was able to understand this new world I really enjoyed One Realm Beyond. My favorite character was Bridger. Cantor regards him as a nuisance, but Bridger's friendship and personality make me smile. With shape-shifting dragons, evil vs. good, and new friendships, I imagine that this is only the beginning of a good series.
This book goes on sale January 28th, 2014. (I received this book free from Zondervan as an Advanced Reading Copy.)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.