Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections

AMG Publishers Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections

In Murphy's ongoing search for a deeper commitment, he practiced the standard methods of spiritual growth, such as Bible reading, prayer, and active involvement with other Christians. In the Bible, he became aware of spiritual qualities committed-but-flawed people exemplified. Each day he prays for God to help him cultivate those characteristics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Review 1 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Pat Shufford
The title of the book is what captured me, but I must say that after reading the first few chapters I began to think is this biblically correct. I understand the message the author is attempting to convey, however I did not feel comfortable, neither did I see it as being scriptural to pick out the one good quality in someone and aspire to be that. When you say I am Jacob, you take on all of Jacob, the good and the bad. Didn't God change Jacob's name to Israel? So why would I say I am Jacob? I can embrace the love of God, the same love He had for Jacob without saying I am Jacob. I couldn't get past the thought of making an image of the person in my mind as the author said he did, so that I could see them and be like them. The book did not work for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lisa Greer
Committed But Flawed is a spiritual growth book that youll want to refer back to time and again to enhance your prayer life and make that divine journey closer to God. Weve been told all our Christian lives that well never be perfect like Jesus, even though thats what we are to strive for. As a Christian, that can be difficult to grasp. Were flawed, and we will always be flawed, yet our role model is perfect. So how can God possibly love us? How can we ever live up to His expectations? This book will hold a mirror to your thoughts as the author, Cecil Murphey, focuses on those great icons that were the heroes and heroines of the Bible. Even they had flaws, but were very much loved and favored by God. If youre new Christian, not yet a Christian, or even a seasoned Christian, this book will offer you silent mentors by providing insight into the lives of those who were pleasing in Gods sight in spite of their quirks and flaws. With every character, I kept thinking there couldnt possibly be anyone else left for the author to write about that I could identify with. Then, as each chapter revealed another, I found that those individuals had a gift, or an attribute for which I strive in order to be pleasing in His eyes. Its a wonderful read in a length that is just right and will not only hold your attention, but will linger in your thoughts long after you are finished reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Shannon Primicerio
In Committed But Flawed Cecil Murphey introduces readers to an entirely new way to pray. His method of relating to people from the Bible causes readers to really think through familiar Bible passages and dig deeper for personal application. Spiritual growth is a guaranteed byproduct of reading this book! I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2005
Customer Avatar
Robin Bayne
Wow. I would never have guessed from the title and cover of this book how compelling the text would be. Not only did I get a deeper understanding of prominent and lesser known Biblical figures, I learned how to pray by drawing on their strengths and character. The author humbly reveals how he desires to be like these ancient people, how he prays to take on the characteristics he admires in them. I found myself nodding along at each end-chapter prayer; that yes, I should pray for these same things. Every lesson seemed applicable to me, and I suspect would to most other readers as well. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2004
Customer Avatar
Susan Schulz
If you yearn for more of God in your life, this book is for you. Murphey delves into the lives and characteristics of 26 different Bible characters. Actually becoming each character, his intriguing method of prayer carries application of God' Word to a higher level. Each chapter is like a prescription. For instance, if you are feeling weak and need stronger faith you can pray Mary's prayer. Because this book is one that will be taken off the shelf over and over it is guaranteed to be an invaluable addition to your library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2004
Customer Avatar
Paulette White
Speaks to my Heart! What a great book for adult Bible study. If God can use other flawed people, why not me? This book helped me see the possibilities and provides a roadmap for me to follow as I strive to grow spiritually.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2004
Customer Avatar
Wayne Holmes
COMMITTED BUT FLAWED is the best book on prayer Ive read in a long time. Mr. Murphey gives superb insights and tips on how to pray with fresh eyes and an open heart. I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. The authors writing style is simple and easy to readthe mark of a talented craftsmanand he shares his own struggles to pray more effectively. Rather than preach to his audience, he leads them by the hand, showing them the steps he has taken, and helps them to overcome obstacles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2004
Customer Avatar
Lisa
The psalmist, yearning for a deeper relationship with God, declared, As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. Boy, can I relate to that spiritual thirst. Can you? If so Committed but Flawed may be just the book that helps you begin the journey to increased intimacy with God, and spiritual fulfillment. In it, Cecil Murphey unveils a method of prayer that centers around the commitment qualities of biblical figures worthy of emulation -- not because they're prefect, but because they have flaws and or character traits that lead to a deeper understanding of God and/or His characteristics. Throughout the book, the author also shares his personal trials and triumphs, which provide refreshing insight into his spiritual walk and make it appear more possible for others to also grow-up spiritually. Finally, each chapter concludes with a sample prayer designed to cultivate the specific characteristic discussed. The greatest joy of reading "Committed but Flawed" is that it written in a gentle manner that encourages, rather than condemns, believers who are struggling in their overall spiritual walks, or just in the discipline of prayer. That gentleness opens the door for personal reflection, and spiritual renewal.I highly recommend the book for anyone who longs for more of God -- now. But, dont just apply it to your life, consider using it for group bible study (it is easily adaptable for use with groups of men, women or youth).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Committed but Flawed: Seeking God in the Midst of Our Imperfections
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2004
Customer Avatar
Laurie Latour
Cec Murpheys engaging new book, Committed But Flawed is sure to bless all readers from the new Christian to the older saint. Over two dozen Biblical characters come to life as Murphey shares vivid portraits of each, warts and all. He examines their faults as well as their strengths and draws Scriptural truths from each that we can apply in our own lives. He pulls these nuggets together at the end of each chapter into a unique type of prayer that allows us to both identify with and learn from men and women of the Bible.This refreshing approach spoke right to my heart. It not only continues to challenge me to grow in the Lord, but it shows me a unique way to do so. For those who desire to grow more; this is the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.