Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook

Crossway Books & Bibles Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
Review 1 for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
This review is fromFool's Gold?.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Reba Grider
It is an interesting and true that many Christian books may well be less than Biblical in the author's application of scriptures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
This review is fromFool's Gold?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rob McMichael
A very good book. MacArthur's style is so easily recognizable; and this is good. He seems never to drift from a Biblical standard in his writing (and, editing in this particular work) nor candid remarks about the Church, contemporary Christian living, or Christian culture. Although I did not agree with every word or every concept, MacArthur, (et al) poignantly reacts to some modern works and movements in our modern society, thereby informing Christendom about some very dangerous movements, books, etc. He rarely pulls punches, and this work is no different. It is refreshing to read an author who writes from the heart and uses frank discussion woven through Biblical precepts. Some chapters may be difficult for some to read through without thinking of ways of countering his arguments; however, one cannot dismiss the integrity with which this book is written. I especially liked Daniel Gillespie's chapter (5) on John Eldredge's "Wild at Heart": an onerous book that provides an insufficient view of Scripture, and paints God as Someone Who is not 'in control'. Also, the chapter by Nathan Busenitz (3) about the ubiquitous Rick Warren's "Purpose Driven Life" was a thoughtful assessment of this rather weak and superficial (Warren's) book. As a whole, "Fool's Gold" more often than not discusses the pros & cons of each topic in a clear, objective style. Very recommendable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
This review is fromFool's Gold?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna Edwards
This is an amazing resource for anyone wondering what is wrong with books like The Purpose Driven Life, Wild at Heart and The Revolve New Testament. With so many of our churches turning "seeker" friendly and buying into many emergent thinkers, John MacArthur continues to uphold the TRUTH with another great book. I HIGHLY recommend this!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
This review is fromFool's Gold?.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cassandra Hale
There were many sections I appreciated, but I least appreciated the section on modern worship. All worship was at one time, modern. I think it's sad to discredit the sincerity of so many believers. Again, MacArthur usually goes to far in this sphere of Christendom. I think more praise and worship choruses today are more praiseworthy than some hymns. Some are lifted entirely from Holy Scripture. As far as repetition, there is a lot of repetition and hymns AND in the Bible.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
This review is fromFool's Gold?.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
David D. Flowers
If there is a book that the church needs to read before they pick up another, this one is it. MacArthur puts together a wonderful thought-provoking book concerning the lack of discernment by the church today. I'm so heart sick to see how many Christians buy into every new book and trend that attracts the masses. Much of the church has not hidden the Word in their hearts and have been led astray by an "American pop-culture gospel" which is no Gospel at all. Get this book and you will find that it points you to the Scripture... as every book should do. God's Word ought to be the centerpiece to all that we do as a church. MacArthur really shows his love and respect for the Word of God. However, I would like to point out something in the book that I thought was off base. In chapter 4 Phil Johnson discusses 'New Perspective Theology.' He really pushes N.T. Wright into a category that he doesn't belong. I believe New Perspective Theology is misrepresented by Mr. Johnson. His case sounds good, but he doesn't present New Perspective Theology in full. N.T. Wright is only trying to broaden our understanding of "justification by faith." A closer study of first century Judaism will prove that. Mr. Johnson defends the understanding of "justification" taught by Luther and the reformers years after Paul. It is peculiar that he doesn't mention Luther's view on the book of James. It certainly would not have helped his case. If the truth be known, Luther's understanding of "justification" comes amidst the Catholic teachings (legalism) concerning indulgences and such. Luther had a particular axe to grind with the gospel presented by the "church" of his day. We certainly owe a lot to Luther, but we better recognize that the buck doesn't stop with Luther. Luther's agenda is no secret. We want to understand "justification" the way Paul intended us to, not through the eyes of Luther and the reformers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
This review is fromFool's Gold?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2005
As with all of Dr. John Macarthurs works, this is excellent. I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
This review is fromFool's Gold?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Mary Ward
Excellent! Much needed teaching for the church today! MacArthur et al have hit many nails on the head! I only wish the book was longer. Very instructive and helpful. The teaching on exposing areas in the church that need discernment was excellent; the one chapter I felt could be added would be a chapter on discernment in Youth Ministry. I also appreciated the final chapters on developing personal discernment. All in all a thorough examination of areas the church needs to be asking some hard questions about. Thoroughly biblical and very honest. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fool's Gold?: Discerning Truth in an Age of Error - eBook
This review is fromFool's Gold?.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Christian Book Previews.com
Bravo! I dont think I said the word aloud when I finished reading Fools Gold?, but it may have slipped out. John MacArthur is the general editor of this new book from Crossway, and contributing authors are several of his ministry associates. The theme of the book is spiritual discernment; not set forth in a didactic way, but in a series of topical snapshots. Section one lays the foundation for the chapters to follow: a call for biblical discernment, and the consequences of a weak proclamation of Christianity. MacArthur makes the point that discernment is not just the responsibility of pastors and Christian leaders, but of every Christian. He covers the favorite verse of many in todays church: Judge not, lest ye be judged. (Matt 7:1) and compares that with 1 Thess 5:21: Test everything. In the second chapter he lists fifteen negative effects of superficial preaching, whittled down from an original list if 61! My only reservation is with the twelfth point, and his comment about the difficulty of exercising church discipline where there is no commitment to the authority of Gods Word. Im not sure that very many churches even practice biblical church discipline, according to the teaching of Matt 18:15-19. Perhaps a brief exposition of this passage, and an example of how this is practiced in his church is in order. The final two chapters of the book, A Doctrinal Framework for Developing Discernment and A Practical Plan for Developing Personal Discernment are excellent. I particularly appreciated the exhortation on page 201: Discernment is not enough apart from obedience. The rest of the book is a series of chapters looking at current doctrinal trends in the church and in Christian books. The contributors cover such things as altar calls, contemporary worship music, Wild at Heart and The Purpose Driven Life, as well as politics and consumerism. This is a must-read, written in a clear, straightforward style. -- Pam Glass, Christian Book Previews.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.