Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Ishbane Conspiracy

Multnomah Books The Ishbane Conspiracy

Sneak a peek over the enemy's shoulder as Lord Foulgrin describes his plan to capture the souls of four young friends. Picture-perfect Jillian is terrified of getting hurt. Tough-talking Brittany trusts nobody. Successful athlete Ian dabbles in the occult. And former gang member Rob struggles with old guilt and new faith. Will they resist temptation? 300 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Review 1 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bailey Rapp AGE 15
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book has a interesting point of view. Love the book!
Bailey, age 15
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read-aloud book for parents of teens

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs V
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a mother of teens, I have been reading this book aloud a chapter or two a night to our 14 year old son. The book is a great tool to break down barriers between children and adults and open communication on sensitive topics of spiritual warfare and other items like abortion, suicide, occultism and spiritualism counterfeits, teen sex, abstinence, eating disorders, etc. Reading it aloud showed my son that Mamma could be trusted not to "freak out" when hearing about bad things his classmates or others might be doing. Our 16 year old daughter also read this and was highly encouraged in her spiritual walk.
In addition to addressing teen issues, the book shows that even parents can be deceived and manipulated by the evil ones and that our kids can stand alongside us in this spiritual battle and encourage us to do what is right, too. It has some surprising twists in the story. Our family highly recommends this book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for believers of all ages

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Phoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Randy Alcorn's books and teaching. This one was so hard-hitting and relevant for today's world that I ordered one for each of my adult children to give them perspective of the supernatural realm and how real it is whether we want to see it or not. It covers so many areas with such great insight - truly eye opening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent well-written, captivating, riveting

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arie
Location:Toronto ON
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine life as a puppet show, you are the puppets on the stage and every action and event is actually plotted and manipulated by the puppeteers who happen to be angels of good and evil. What if you were allowed to eavesdrop on this conspiracy and hear the devious plots and strategies of the evil ones?
This book is about four young people, Jillian Fletcher, Ian Stewart, Brittany Powell, Rob Gonzales and the struggles thrust upon them by their culture and their hidden enemies.
The book shows that the enemies of these characters are really a group of demons (the main ones being Prince Ishbane and his subordinate Lord Foulgrin) who plot to deceive and destroy the group of friends that they call “human vermin”. While the main story is enacted the authors allow the readers to go back stage and eavesdrop on Lord Foulgrin and Prince Ishbane’s letters that detail the evil plots to destroy these human vermin and outwit the forces of good, painted as “the Enemy.” These letters are written in old English the language of these demons who claim to have been around for more than 1000 years. The letters are actually quite entertaining and hilarious and in no way scary.
The authors present the struggles that the four main characters face over one year of their life and use their life stories to highlight some of the common teenage challenges and their consequences; some of which include: dating and the unwanted consequence of teenage pregnancy, drinking and the unwanted consequence of a car accident. These issues are all presented as a part of the unfolding riveting drama of this book creating awareness in the reader of real life issues but do so in an entertaining eye opening “want to read” manner.
The main character, Jillian, is faced with the struggles of a teen including the recent death of her dad. The teens unaware of the hidden plot “The Ishbane Conspiracy” engage, unknowingly, in a battle for their lives and experience the joy of victory and the pain of disappointments while bonding and discovering the value of true friendship. Read this book and discover who wins in this battle.
I really enjoyed this book because it was very exciting and always had me on the edge of my seat. It was also funny and entertaining to read, especially Prince Ishbane’s letters to Lord Foulgrin. I also enjoyed it because it was a real eye-opener and taught valuable life lessons as it showed the good of making the right choices and the terrible consequences of making wrong ones.
I would recommend this book to teens and preteens but as well parents and teachers. Even though the book is about teens it doesn’t mean that it’s only for teens. This book will help preteens and teens to successfully combat the struggles of the teenageyears and help us make right choices. It will increase one's awareness of the strategies of the devil and how he will stop at nothing to destroy us, After reading this book you will think twice before you make choices......you WILL NEVER BE THE SAME.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
De-angelo Coatie
I would recommend this book for every parent and teenager I know. I have my teenager reading it now. Although it is fiction, it reveals some Eternal truths that are relevant for today. There is a real enemy, and every Christian should have an awareness of this fact. The Author, Randy Alcorn, has become one of my favorite authors right along with C.S. Lewis!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bobbie Mcnatt
A real eye opener for me. Sometimes Christians go to church, go to work, go about the daily business and never see the world around them. Sometimes we don't know the world our children are facing and don't get involved enough. This book is a great read and maybe a connection to what is around us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robin H
Outstanding book that is similar to C.S. Lewis' "Screwtape Letters" but set is in the modern times with situations that young people are likely to deal with in High School and College today. There are also adult characters - parents, youth leaders and Pastors. It is applicable to readers of all ages. It helps to equip parents and youth workers as well as help older teens better understand spiritual warfare. It challenges us to become closer to the Lord, so we are able to withstand temptations and the firey darts of the devil. A must read for all old and young!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
UHS Catholic
A friend of mine recommended this book to me. It opened my eyes to the real dangers of the occult and other issues that many of today's teenagers deal with including suicide, drug abuse, sexual impurity, and the lack of respect teens show their authorities. Not only does the book show why kids may be tempted to sin, but also the consequences of their actions, both good and bad. As a teenager myself, this book made me realize that giving in to these types of temptations is giving in to the devil. This book has helped me to think twice about everything I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jim Farrell
We know from John 10:10 that Satan's goal for our lives is to "steal, kill, and destroy". We also know he disguises himself as an angel of light. This novel really makes you think about how the enemy may be trying to derail us as believers, and how we can truly resist Satan and his forces by holding fast to the Word Of Life and Truth. I am planning on using this book with my college women's softball team, during our weekly Bible study times at Cornerstone University. Thank you so much for this great work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2002
Customer Avatar
Vicki L. Chambliss
This is an eye-opener book! This is a great book for everyone but especially for parents and teenagers. This book will make you realize how much the devil is lurking around at all times. If you have a child that is close to your heart read this book and pray!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2002
Customer Avatar
Sarah
This book is a must-read for all parents and anyone else involved with teens. It gives fabulous insight into the problems facing the younger generation today while still dealing with issues that confront believers of all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
Lorraine Fuller
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. As a youth director I wish I could get all my youth and parents to read it. Every parent of a child of any age should read it and so should anyone else for that matter. It made me think about things I had never thought of before. One of my youth whom I had recommended the book to called me and told me she could no longer watch her favorite TV show, because the book convicted her about what she put in her mind. Everyone I have loaned it to loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Ishbane Conspiracy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2001
Customer Avatar
Gregg Beecher
Though not quite done, I've been reading this book to my 13 and 15-year-old, and that beg me to keep reading! The authors take a straight forward look at many struggles confronting young people (and adults) in this generation. Get a copy and read it with your young people!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.