Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books It Happened at the Fair

Howard Books It Happened at the Fair

Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
26 out of 2990%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It Happened at the Fair
Review 1 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great historical read.

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
vjones
Location:St Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not normally attracted to reading romances books. But I love historical fiction and this book did not disappoint. Even the romantic storyline became appealing as the characters were sensitive, warm and just plain easy to love. I would say this book was a great read for someone looking for a book on the lighter side and yet a book which contained some historical content. And there were some touching moments to really attract the most sensitive reader.
Risking it all including the family farm, a father’s confidence in a son’s dream sends Cullen McNamara to the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair. His purpose is to display and sell his invention, an automatic sprinkler which was motivated by his mother’s untimely death. But because of all the noise in the fair’s Machinery Hall and his failing hearing, it becomes almost impossible to communicate with potential buyers. Unwilling to let his father down, he decides to hire Della Wentworth, a teacher of the deaf, to tutor him in the art of lip-reading.
While the romance was quite charming and humorous at times, what really made this book a great read was the historical details she paints into her story. Photos from the actual event were included at the beginning of most chapters. And her attention to detail really transports the reader back and makes us feel like we are actually at the fair. For those of us who seek to define fact from fiction, at the end of the book is a synopsis of what was historically accurate and what she included as artistic license to make her story flow.
Ms. Gist also includes the controversy that surrounded teaching deaf students lip reading versus sign language. It was quite interesting how she incorporated Cullen's increasing deafness into the story line as a way for us to experience the prejudice and misconceptions that were often encountered by deaf people during the time period. Over all, “It happened at the Fair” is a very entertaining and yet has a lot of content making it well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fantastic Read!

Date:June 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was such a fun adventure to read about by Deeanne! I am purely amazed at how she describes so wonderfully and realistically! I felt like I was at the fair, but I just couldn't touch anything (which would have been so cool)!
My favorite part of this novel was by far the detail of everything! It would have been amazing to see some of the events and exhibits that Cullen and Della saw! I was really appreciative of Dee including pictures at the beginning of almost every chapter so I could have a real-life picture/drawing of the fair!
The only thing I was bummed about was how fast I felt the ending was! The novel has a slow moving pace which I was content with, but when a certain event happens (which will remain nameless) it quickens a lot faster then I expected! It really caught me by surprised and made me feel that the ending was too rushed for me to really enjoy!
However beside that, I loved this novel! I thoroughly enjoyed Cullen and Della as well as their outings! I learned so much about an important part of the history of America that I would strongly recommend this novel to history lovers! It left me wishing I could travel back in time and thanking God for the wisdom He gives men!
I give It Happened at the Fair a 4.5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Liked the setting!!

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book! I liked the setting of the Chicago’s World’s Fair. You could picture it so well with the excellent descriptions from this author. I thought the two main characters were well developed and you could see them growing throughout the story. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys this brilliant author, Deeanne Gist. I would also recommend this book to anyone who likes Christian historical fiction with a touch of romance. I could not put this down until I found out how the story ended! I would gladly read this book again.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Christian Historical Read

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first picked up this book, I wondered why on earth I was reading another "sappy historical romance." I am so glad that the author proved me wrong! I was absolutely enthralled by this book to the point that I did not want to put it down. The story was somewhat predictable at times, but it was different enough that I was intrigued. I fell in love with Della and Cullen, and I wanted to see how the author drew everything together at the end. And she did draw it together extremely well.
I really appreciated several things about this book. First, it was clean in every way. The Christian message was there but not too strong. I think the sovereignty of God was there, and it was clear that both characters could not have made it without their faith in God. Secondly, the historical accuracy of the book was a bonus. The author explains at the end how she took a lot of creative license with the story and historical facts, but the gist of the story about the World's Fair was true. She took no more liberties than most historical fiction writers do. I had not realized what a big deal the Chicago World's Fair was. Nor had I known of the lip-reading movement amongst the deaf--or at least not the extent of it.
If you like clean historical romances, I invite you to check out this wonderfully sweet book for yourself.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Historically rich, but lacks story

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaelme
Age:25-34
I am, in general, a fan of Deeanne Gist. However, I feel some of her best works are her earlier ones, though, and this novel affirms that feeling.
I really appreciated the historical climate and situation of the 1893 Worlds Fair. The amount of detail poured into the book was done tastefully and I did not feel like it distracted from the story. The problem lies more with the fact that there is very little story. Punctuated by extremely short chapters that rudely segment any sense of flow - the plot cannot fill an entire book - let alone one of this length. We have no significant over-arching conflict that propels the story forward. All we have is tiny snippets of Cullen struggling with being pseudo-engaged, yet attracted to a woman who is not his fiancee. Even in that, though, we have very little understanding of why the financee exists in the first place - or why the relatively loveless "understanding" has not been rectified before this. This takes away significantly from the feeling of tension we should have. His struggle with his invention at the fair is a plausible one - but still done so lightly (and briefly) that it cannot fill the pages it aspires to.
Della is an even more poorly drawn character. There are few scenes that really help us dive into who she is or how she is feeling about Cullen and her struggle with teaching sign-language to the deaf is not explained well enough for us to feel the real conflict.
The entire book just...lacks. And the passion and tension Gist is known for almost entirely gets slammed into the last few pages of the book. It's an awkward transition. But, well, the entire book is a bit awkward. I was happy for a one-time read because of the vivid description of the fair but the pleasure, unfortunately, ended there.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

DELIGHTFUL READ!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
IT HAPPENED AT THE FAIR by Deeanne Gist is an exciting Historical Fiction set in 1893 World's Columbian Exposition, Chicago. Filled with inventors, deaf teachers, faith, healing, danger and love. Join, Cullen McNamara, a farmer and inventor and Della Wentworth, a deaf teacher he hires to tutor him in lip-reading. For his invention is loud and he will need to be able to read lips. But their attraction is growing stronger, he has a girl back home on the farm. A masterfully,immensely delightful storyteller,Ms. Gist will keep her readers enthralled as they read "It Happened At the Fair". Another hit for this author. Written with her usual wit, and vivid descriptions, you feel as through you are at the World's Fair in 1893, all the excitement and drama in Chicago during this time period. How exciting indeed! Oh, there are also wonderful, delightful pictures throughout the book,of the different area of the Fair. What a delight to read of Cullen and Della and their story of love, faith,determination and inventions. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another one of Deeanne's HITS!

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cullen McNamara finally agreed to set a wedding date with Wanda Sappington the day before he's forced to take his invention to the World's Fair in Chicago. His father has faith in him and has taken every last bit of money he has and made all the arrangements without telling Cullen, that way Cullen can't refuse to go, there are no refunds. His father also knows that Cullen has to get off of the farm because of his allergies.
It is so loud in the building where Cullen is located and he thinks he's losing sales because he can't hear when the people try to talk to him about his invention. When it's suggested that he learn to lip read, he finds the woman he saved, Della, is the teacher so he strikes up a deal with her to teach him. He can't afford lessons so he explores the exhibits of her choice in the evenings while she teaches him. Cullen and Della spend every evening together and he finds it hard to concentrate on his lessons because he finds himself thinking about her more and more. He loves Wanda but Della is the one on his mind.
He is having a hard time learning and is still losing sales. Cullen decides to have a demonstration but that gets sabotaged as does his exhibit. Not only has he wasted six months at the fair, he's lost the money his father invested and in turn they will lose the farm. Then when he thinks things can't get any worse, Wanda shows up unexpectedly and demands to get married immediately.
I just love Deeanne's books and this one is no different. A wonderful story about how people looked down on the deaf, even if a person was just starting to lose their hearing, which was the cause of some of the loss of Cullen's sales. Also I loved reading about the world's fair and the 'new' ferris wheel, elevator, etc., things we take for granted today and how they amazed people in 1893.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'd give it 10 STARS if I could!

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by just saying that if your not a true history buff like I am, don't read this book! If you want a preachy book, don't read this! If you want a predictable romance, don't read this book! I feel it's an insult to Deanne Gist, who has invested incredible amounts of research and time, only to give it negative reviews because you don't like to read facts? I disagree, and I hope Miss Deanne ignores the haters. This book is nothing short of magnificent, brilliant, stunning, a feast for your heart and mind! Unexpected love will find you At The Colombian Exposition, in honor of the 400th anniversary of Christopher Columbus discovery. Instantly, I fell in love with Della and Cullen who find each other in rather dramatic circumstance amidst the enormous crowds of people! He's a country boy that invents an automatic fire sprinkler system who vows to honor his Mother's tragic death from a burning building. Hoping to sell his invention in Machinery Hall, he begins to lose his hearing and can't communicate with potential buyers from the loud noise. Della is a skilled lip reader and sign language teacher for the deaf, who at first was not willing to teach Cullen, caves in and agrees. The romance is built slow and steady, the way in reality it would be. Surrounded by the glory of each exhibit, I just couldn't get enough to the point I even went onto Google Earth, looking for my favorite site, the Wooded Island that still exists today, it's still beautiful in person! I can only imagine all the elegant people that graced it's path 100 years ago! I would rate it PG only at the end because of intimacy, (again people are overreacting that it was too intimate, but THEY WERE MARRIED, it was written proper, yet sexy. I see nothing wrong about that! I look forward to the continuing story, and hope it has as much fire as the first!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Makes you feel like you back in time!

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeanne Gist does a wonderful job of bringing details to life in It Happened at the Fair. The fair in this book is the famous 1893 Chicago World's Fair. Our two main characters, Della and Cullen, meet at the fair where both of them work for six months.
Cullen has invented an automatic sprinkler system and is at the Fair to demonstrate how it works and hopefully garner many sales. He has a major problem doing this...he is hard of hearing and is having trouble interacting with customers in the loud Machinery Hall where he is stationed.
Della could be the answer to Cullen's problem. She works to teach deaf children how to lip read. Could this be a solution for Cullen? Is it possible that Della will agree to tutor him after hours? Will the tutor-student relationship grow into something more?
The author has crafted a story full of details that made me feel that I was really back in that era. I found myself frustrated with certain people in regard to their attitudes about certain things. And I do admit that I sometimes found myself reading slower than I usually do in order to absorb the descriptions. I received a copy of this book for free in a giveaway on Lena Nelson Dooley's blog, A Christian Writer's World. I was not required to offer a review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Deeanne's best... but still GREAT!

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deeanne Gist is one of my favorite authors, and although this wasn't my favorite book of hers, it was still worth every minute. Dee has done a remarkable job researching the World Fair of 1893 and she really brought it to life. Characters were engaging although if your looking for a hot romance, I would look elsewhere. It was a sweet book filled with vivid descriptions of the fair's wonders, but the romance was quiet and like I said... sweet. I really liked the aspect of having the deaf involved, and seeing what that all entailed in the 19th century.
I'm glad I read this story, as I always anxiously await anything Dee writes. For lovers of historical fiction, this is a book you wouldn't want to miss!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
rkjohnson
Location:Cottonwood, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have all Deanne's books and this one is one of her best. She went into such great detail about the fair and the story was wonderful. Great Read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for It Happened at the Fair
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST!!!

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From start to finish this book is amazing!!! DeeAnne has a talent to put something absolutely hilarious in otherwise serious situations (The parade incident still makes me laugh).
Cullen is so conscientious and humble. Della is out of line cautious and good hearted. Wanda doesn't give up without a fight and Tomas just wants to win her. A father, that believes in his son and is ready to lose all just to see him succeed; and the Fair that is absolutely beautiful. DeeAnne’s vivid description of the Fair and a smooth blend with romance and integrity of character made me fall in love with the story and feel as though I have really been there. If you end up like me wishing the book didn't end, I suggest you read the little confection she is making in the Author’s Note.
The scene with the fire and the plight of deaf children really touched me. It is true that we don’t really know what people around us go through until we are in their shoes-so to say.
I should probably give you the insight on what really happened at the Fair but I truly believe that you should read it and let yourself be surprised by what you discover in it….I know I was because this book is different from all the other DeeAnne wrote ( I read them all and none compare).
Note to Author --- Absolutely can’t wait to see your next book come out.
Disclaimer: I got a free copy of this book from Howard Books through NetGalley.com in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Love, Love this book

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
B loves romance
Location:Roberts, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always another amazing book by Deanne Gist. Absolutely loved it. The characters, the plot, the time period, and the location everything was great. I couldn't put this book down. I love how there were pictures of the fair included in the book, it just made the book that much better. The only thing I wish were different about the book, is that we never learn who tampered with Cayden's display. Other than that, the book was great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Christian

Date:May 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmyL
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed. This book has no mention of Christianity. I'm surprised that CBD even sells it. I buy books not only for my own reading pleasure, but also so I can share them through our church's library. I cannot share this book. I'll have to donate it the public library. The story is OK, although predictable, but without a Christian basis, I feel that my time reading it was wasted.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for It Happened at the Fair
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fresh View

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read quite a few novels that take place surrounding the Chicago's World's Fair, and my interest was beginning to wain. So when I began reading this story, and realized what a fresh perspective of the fair that this tale tells, it caught me by surprise. I was hooked.
Deeanne captures the street-level feel of the fair from within. The authentic feel of this book showcases strong research, and the characters that come to life on its pages are intriguing.
To use a cliche, I felt "swept-along" as I turned each page. I was never tempted to put the book down. It was a very satisfying read, and it left me wishing that I really could go back and experience the Chicago World's Fair for myself.
5 Stars
I received an eBook copy of this book from Litfuse in exchange for my honest review. All opinions rendered are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read quite a few novels that take place surrounding the Chicago's World's Fair, and my interest was beginning to wain. So when I began reading this story, and realized what a fresh perspective of the fair that this tale tells, it caught me by surprise. I was hooked.
Deeanne captures the street-level feel of the fair from within. The authentic feel of this book showcases strong research, and the characters that come to life on its pages are intriguing.
To use a cliche, I felt "swept-along" as I turned each page. I was never tempted to put the book down. It was a very satisfying read, and it left me wishing that I really could go back and experience the Chicago World's Fair for myself.
I received a copy of this book from Litfuse in exchange for my honest review. All opinions rendered are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Look At The Chicago's World Fair

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do the 1893 Chicago's World Fair and Deeanne Gist have in common, they make for an amazing great read.
First we have a North Carolina Cotton farmer, highly allergic to all parts of the seed and plants, and a Pennsylvania young Woman who teaches lip reading to children. What could they possibly have in common?
The young man Cullin McNamara has an invention that can save lives. His Dad has sent him to the fair to let the world know of it, and hopefully to save their farm.
Fate and God have put these two young people together, first he saves Della's life. Then he has a hearing problem, getting worse, from where is exhibit is put. He desperately needs help, and lip reading could be the answer! Della unbeknown to him teaches this.
I loved the pictures of the actual buildings that are included in this book, even in my kindle edition. While we are reading the story, you can see where each event is happening. I have been in the one remaining building, many years ago.
We experience many parts of this fair through the eyes of these characters. Come and experience the end of the 1800's, like seeing the first Ferris Wheel....I wish the story would last for a bit longer!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Amazing 1893 Chicago World's Fair

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Cullen McNamara is the son of a farmer and is an inventor. His father recognizes that Cullen’s allergic reactions to farm work mean he needs to find a new way to earn a living, and gambles everything to send Cullen to the 1893 Chicago Worlds Fair with his latest invention, an automatic building sprinkler system. Unfortunately, a slight hearing impairment plus the deafening noise of the Machinery Hall make it impossible for Cullen to communicate with potential buyers, and in desperation, Cullen hires Della Wentworth, a teacher of the deaf, to teach him to lip-read. As payment for the lessons, Cullen escorts Della around the various exhibits of the fair during the evenings.
I have always enjoyed history and I learned as a young child that the easiest way to absorb history is in the pages of a fictional account. While I enjoyed the story of Cullen and Della, it was definitely made more fascinating by the wealth of description provided about the fair itself. It’s easy in today’s world to take a lot for granted, and based on our experiences of products displayed at trade shows or state fairs, to think we can picture what it would have been like. Thanks to the impressions of Cullen and Della, and to the actual photographs displayed throughout the book, I now realize that any picture we could imagine would never come close to the splendor of the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair! When you add the intrigue and events of the fictional storyline, you come up with a real winner! I greatly enjoyed this story and at the same time, learned a tremendous amount about the fair as well as public opinion about deafness more from this book.
I received a free copy of these books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More like 4.5 stars. Really enjoyable romance.

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the historical aspects of this story and the pictures the author included. The emotional bonding that took place between characters over various incidents that occurred at the fair was well done. I appreciated the insight the author had into a number of issues. One had to do with how the belief in someone's abilities and admiration of them as a person will increase their feelings for each other. Especially men. They want the woman they are attracted to also believe in them as a person and what they can do, not just the length of time they had known each other. That makes for a stronger kind of love; one that leads to a passionate marriage rather than just a comfortable one.
The hero, Cullen, was very likable, but also quite manly. The description of his physique was quite hot, actually. I enjoyed how the author used the need for him to learn how to lip read as a way to meet the woman he became attracted to and make it difficult for him to learn from her by putting them in a number of private situations. That was great when it came to developing tension between them. His fierce protectiveness of her made me love him more. He was a good guy and cared deeply about a number of things, including loyalty. One of his most intense issues was his need to put out fires to save lives. He got to the point where he had to rely on God to see him through some tough issues. I loved that he grieved along with Della during a tragic time at the fair. It helped bond them even more. That was very well done.
The heroine, Della, was a sweetheart as well. The way her feelings slowly developed for the hero was touching. The scene with the little girl in her class was a tear-jerker, but it really made Della think about what the kids experienced from being separated from their parents. Della had her own frailties, but she was a tough lady. Her response to seeing the hero's buff physique made me smile. I felt like I was touching those ripped muscles. And that first kiss... whew! Great romantic tension. She got a bit skittish at times when she felt like she couldn't trust him, but she came around and that made me admire her more. Very enjoyable story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for It Happened at the Fair
This review is fromIt Happened at the Fair.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great story by Deeanne Gist!

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leahhhh12
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed all of Deeanne Gist’s books and It Happened at the Fair was no different. It Happened at the Fair transports us back to the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair. Before traveling to the fair, we meet Cullen McNamara, a farmer from North Carolina, who has dreams of being an inventor. His father pays his way for him to go to the Fair to try and sell his invention of the automatic fire sprinkler. Before leaving, Cullen gets engaged to his childhood sweetheart, Wanda. Cullen is swept away in the enchantment of the fair but he is greatly discouraged when he tries to sell his product and runs into several roadblocks, including his inability to hear some of his potential customers over the loud noise of the fair. Not only are the noises too loud, but Cullen is starting to go deaf as well. In his desperation, Cullen hires Della Wentworth to teach him how to read lips. Of course, Cullen didn’t expect his teacher to be an attractive young lady. Della agrees to teach Cullen, but is still very reluctant in opening up to him and has several suspicions about him. As their lessons progress and tragedy strikes the fair, their friendship deepens and an attraction starts to grow as well. Cullen must soon choose between his love for a girl he’s always known, or this new girl who seems to have captured his heart.
As I mentioned before, I greatly enjoyed this book! The descriptions of the Fair were very detailed and it brought the Fair to life for me. The author also included pictures at the end of each chapter so you could see what some of the exhibits looked like. The author did a great job of telling the story of Cullen and Della but also showing us what the fair was like. I also really liked reading about Della teaching Cullen to lip-read. I felt like I was being taught right alongside Cullen. It was also interesting the way the author jumbled up some words when someone was talking to Cullen, so that we had a hard time understanding them as well. At first I thought there was a lot of spelling mistakes, but then I realized that we were “hearing” the way Cullen was. I would definitely recommend this book to my friends! One more thing, I know a lot of people sometimes skip over the Author’s Note at the end of books but I definitely recommend reading the Author’s Note in this book because the author gives more interesting information about the Fair and more historical details. I hope this review was helpful and that you’ll enjoy the book as much as I did!
I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions stated are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>