Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lamplighter Publishing Tales of the Kingdom

Lamplighter Publishing Tales of the Kingdom

This intriguing allegorical children's classic takes place in the enchanted city where you will enjoy the wonderful experience of God's great deliverance; a story for any child who enjoys The Chronicles of Narnia and Pilgrim's Progress. 96 pages, hardcover.

Tales of the Kingdom is part of the Tales of the Kingdom Trilogy.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tales of the Kingdom
Review 1 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent.

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evath
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful story that draws the reader in, both children and adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful stories

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Hayward, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful allegory expressing truths about the Kingdom of God. The pictures are beautiful. My kids are completely hooked as I read it aloud to them. (I have 4 kids, ages 4-9.) Even the adults in the house get completely sucked into the story. It really helps us stop and consider life from God's perspective. I would highly recommend this for anyone ages 4 and up!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
momO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
an awesome story I enjoy it my children and now I am reading it to my grand children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect today as it was 28 years ago!

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Goldenmama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grew up reading this book over and over till it was completely worn through. Now with a young daughter of my own I am thrilled to see it back in publication with the original illustrations. My daughter loves the stories as much as I did and even at eight years old understands that the Enchanted City represents Hell and the Great Park is Heaven.
I highly recommend this book!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gammy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book to my 3 children and am now buying each of them one to read to my grandchildren. I can't say enough about the way these stories present biblical truths that opens the door for discussion to deep concepts in ways they can understand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read these to my kids years ago, now I am getting new ones for my grandkids; I am very glad they are in print again. They are very similir to Bunyuns "Pilgrims Progress" and I guarantee you kids will love em. (You will too, but you don't have to tell.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joei O'Neal
Wow!! Where have the years gone. This book, copyrighted 1983, was purchased by me Christmas 1985 from The Chapel of The Air, when my youngest was just one year old. A homeschooling mom during the growing years of our now close to forty-something daugther and our youngest (a son) now twenty-six and a Director of Youth Ministies, I was single-focused and intentional about passing down my greatest recreational joy-- "reading". I still have this book (and the second one --and today I am purchasing the third) to pass down as keepsakes for my grandchildren, of which I have three --the oldest fifteen. Young Moms (and Dads), in a day when so many of our young people are holding their God-given imaginations hostage to the latest technological quickies, determine to introduce your young ones to the adventure of reading even before they learn to read. Ignite their imaginations with books that may one day ignite their passion to read and re-read again "the whole counsel of God's Word." And, it wouldn't hurt to begin with this book and it's two companions: "Tales of the Resistance" and "Tales of the Restoration". Thanks David and Karen, I consider this book and the others to be classics. And, wonder of wonders, at my age, (I'm also sixty), I'm still reading these gems!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alice Binford
Great Book! I'm enjoying reading it. We are using this book as a study for Girls 4-6 grade at church camp.I've not read it all the way through yet; I'm excited to see how it will work in this setting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
kimberly
Wonderful book. My parents got this book for our family when I was a child and now I am enjoying reading it to my children. The stories are engaging and the illustrations are wonderful. The stories are a fun and easy way for children to understand complex ideas from the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tales of the Kingdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris Dieker
I ordered this book for a friend as I was constantly loaning her my copy, which I've read to children for the past 20 years.... my own and others. Every child I've read it to has wanted to hear these stories over and over. Not only was the book I received new and in excellent condition, but the price was much lower at CBD than I could find anywhere else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.