Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3

Whitaker House Publishers Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3

Jacob Kane's youngest daughter, Abbie Ann, is a busy woman! She manages the family's general store, is active in local causes, and helps elderly community members. There's time for little else---including matters of the heart. Can divorced Noah Carson and his son Toby convince her otherwise? And what about his brazen ex-wife?
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Review 1 for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
carol
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the series of The Daugher's of Jacob Kane. The books have great Christian prinicples which are helpful in how I live my Christian life. Great author, great series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Abbie Ann

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abbie Ann Kane is the youngest of Jacob Kane’s three daughters. She works at the Kane’s store, teaches Sunday school, and leads the local women’s temperance union in promoting women’s rights and prohibition. She also helps abused women. Her causes aren’t popular and she keeps her brother-in-law, Sheriff Gabriel Devlin busy investigating threats directed at Abbie Ann.
Noah Carson used to run a successful shipworks in Connecticut until his business partner cheated him out of his share of the business and stole his wife. Now divorced, Noah is hoping for a fresh start, so he moves with his six-year-old son to the west shore of Michigan to join a window business.
An unexpected accident propels Noah into Abbie Ann’s life, and they are immediately attracted to the other. But Noah doesn’t want anything to do with a God that allows bad things to happen—and Abbie Ann is a very committed Christian woman. What will have to happen to bring this couple together?
ABBIE ANN is the third book in the Daughters of Jacob Kane series, but it easily stands alone. I enjoyed getting to know Abbie Ann and Noah (as well as his young son) and revisiting the other characters from other books.
Set on the shores of Lake Michigan, I know the area where the fictional town of Sandy Shores well, and it is one of my favorite areas, even in the winter, the season the book begins with. The author did an excellent job letting me feel the blustery wind and the heavy lake effect snow that accumulates fast.
If you are looking for a good historical book, pick up your copy of ABBIE ANN or any of the other books in this series. A preview of another book by Ms. MacLaren is included at the end..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sharlene is a great author!

Date:October 25, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Sharlene’s books. I have read all of her books except one, and I have never failed to be thrilled by them! You can see her love of children in each of her books, and this was no exception. Abbie is a character that, despite her flaws, you love. Her drive to defend others and stand up for what she believed in was really inspiring. I loved her idea for the Hope House! That was great. :) Noah had been hurt by so many people and was struggling just to get by, day-by-day. I really liked him as the male lead for this book, and Abbie’s “other half.” While on the long side, (I tend to like longer books, though) I was able to read this book fairly quickly. The element of suspense in the book certainly didn’t hurt that! If you haven’t read anything by Sharlene, or just haven’t read this series yet, I suggest you move it towards the top of your To Be Read pile, because it is worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
M.a. Belcher
I loved this book - lots of exciting parts and plenty love scenes, plus it handled the scriptures so accurately and fed my soul and I had to cry a little. I love Maclaren"s books, especially this series - be sure to read them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly Edwards, Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
My word, this was the best Kane daughter story yet! I don't know how she does it but Sharlene MacLaren just makes each book better with her tender words and beautiful characters!I think Abbie Ann is undeniably my favorite of the three daughters. She was such a tender hearted young woman with a compassion to make the world a better place. She has an undeniable, strong desire to seek God's will in everything she does. And poor Noah and Toby. I prayed countless times for them. They were the depth of the story along with Abbie's humor and God's grace.I'm really having a hard time putting my feelings about this story into words. I don't know if it's Noah's situation, similar to my own in many ways, or if it's Abbie's compassion for people and the world and her desire to do God's will, that gripped me the most but, as Abbie Ann would say "oh, for crying in a basket", my emotions are flowing with this story! Abbie's story had me both laughing and crying and made me sad to know that I had to say goodbye to the Kane family. But, Shar's wonderful characters and words and lessons from God will be with me forever more. They will truly be hard to forget.Thank you, Shar, for creating a beautiful, breathtaking conclusion to a magnificent, riveting series that left me with a wonderful feeling of God's unending love and the true meaning of family and friendship. I highly suggest that everyone read this book, and Hannah Grace and Maggie Rose. It gets the highest of 5 star praises from me, as anything less would be shameful to this amazing author and her stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ada Brownell
Abbie Ann Kanes work with the Womens Christian Temperance Union not only bothers her suitor, but an unknown person who threatens her life.WCTU members are concerned about alcohols destruction on the family and society. Abbie Anns group in Sandy Shores, Mich., goes into bars singing hymns and asking owners to close. Although its 1907, and Carrie Nations followers are still carrying axes, smashing tavern fixtures and bottles, Abbie Anns club is peaceful, but intrusive. Saloons owners and patrons dont like it, especially the drunk who caused Noah Carson, recently divorced and the father of a young son, to crash through the window of Kanes Whatnot shop where Abbie works.Is this drunk the one who threw the threatening note attached to a rock through the window? Could it be a tavern owner? Who is the person she glimpses in the shadows following her?Other events tangle themselves around Abbie. Peter Sinclair, vice president of Sandy Shores Bank and Trust, who courted her for months, appears to love only himself. Noah Carson, a boat builder, meddles with her heart. The book has issues of unique interest, such as divorce, remarriage, renewing broken relationships, forgiveness. The author relays expansive knowledge on building a racing yacht. The WCTUs activities are interesting, especially their help for alcoholics families and home for abused women.I recommend Abbie Ann as a good read. The novel does stall a bit just before it goes into the ending, and uses past tense too much to suit me. But the authors characters come alive, she paints a good scene, and tells a good story. You can discover how it ends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eva Marie Everson
From the front cover to the last word, Abbie Ann is THE book for historical romance fiction readers. Sharlene MacLaren has taken the "make the first scene count" rule to heart. Not a moment is wasted in "Abbie Ann." Nor is there a lack of research on the part of the author. No stone was left unturned in order that the reader is able to feel as though she LIVED with Abbie Ann, her father Jacob, Noah -- the man who stirs her heart against all good sense and reason -- and in the endearing world of Sandy Shores, Michigan in 1907. Eva Marie EversonAuthor: This Fine Life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Abbie Ann, Daughters of Jacob Kane Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Richard
This book was enjoyable but not as much as "Hannah Grace" or "Maggie Rose", which thoough they are Christian books even a secular person could enjoy them, they were very realistic and believable. It is the 3rd book in the series and after the first 2 books you expect "Abbie Ann" to out do the others but it was disappointing, it seemed as if the book was rushed to end the series, and too much "Christianeez" descriptions, unrealistic, which would not be enjoyable for a secular person, and not believable which took away from this book. Ann
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.