Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Tender Vow

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Whitaker House Publishers Tender Vow

When daredevil brothers John and Jason Evans take a ski trip in the Rockies, only one comes home alive. Haunted by guilt, Jason---a new Christian---tries to make amends with his widowed sister-in-law, Rachel, and her children. But the last thing grieving Rachel wants is to become Jason's "charity case." Will God's amazing grace prevail? 432 pages, softcover from Whitaker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tender Vow
Review 1 for Tender Vow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
JOkie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so good I didn't want to put it down. The young women in the book reminded me of our military wives that face the death of a spouse and how they have no choice but to keep going. I loved the fact that she had such a strong family to help her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tender Vow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Story

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janice Stromberg
Location:PORT ALLEGANY, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Sharlene Maclaren is without a doubt one of the best authors in Christian fiction today. I have read every one of her books & they just keep getting better. The story of Jason & Rachel grabs you from the first page to the last. Although the death of John was a tragic event, she shows how the strong faith in Christ can get you through such sad events in our lives. You feel the emotions & the ups & downs of the families involved. Don't pass this one up. Trust me you will be blessed for having read it. I am anxiously awaiting her newest series which is set to be in print in 2011. I can hardly wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tender Vow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
rosalie r
Location:tenn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I loved the way the characters came together through their grief and even their guilt. There was forgiveness and understanding. I felt so sorry for Jason, the son who lived and felt like he never measured up. Sharlene's writing makes you want more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tender Vow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Audrey Hebbert
MacLaren's ninth novel has a positive, upbeat tone in spite of the tragic circumstances surrounding Jason Evans and his sister-in-law Rachel. How does a family deal with the tragic death of their husband and brother? The young widow struggles to raise her two children; Jason struggles with circumstances surrounding John's untimely death that he might have prevented. What does he do with memories of his love for Rachel long before she and John married, that he though dissolved when he made Jesus Lord of his life? Does the past ever fade? Can God fix the tangle of strong memories and genuine needs rising from the horrific loss of husband and brother?As usual, MacLaren's strong faith plays out in the lives of her characters for a never-a-dull-moment tale that inspires and encourages readers of any age. In other words, she's done it again. You will love this Michigan-based story.Review by Audrey Hebbert, M.A., author of Green Light Red Light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tender Vow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terri Marshall
Oh, my WORD! I loved this book. It touched my heart so much. What a wonderful story. Love all of Sharlene MacLaren's books, both historical and contemporary, but this is one of my favorites I think. I love the way she describes her characters. They just come to life before my eyes. Keep your books coming, Sharlene.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tender Vow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Shar Maclaren has written some of my favorite historical romance books of all time. She has 2 separate series that were so good I was always on the edge of my seat waiting for the next one to come out (Daughters of Jacob Kane series and Little Hickman Creek series). While her historical books capture the essence of the time periods and places to me, her contemporary romances don't pack the same punch for me. Tender Vow is a nice story with nice characters and some little twists in the plot (nothing too big) but the whole concept of the widow of one man falling in love with her husband's brother just didn't sit quite right with me. It was probably a personal thing and there will be tons of people that love this book. For me, I will continue to be first in line for every historical book Sharlane Maclaren writes, but I won't be in as a big a hurry to get the contemporary books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tender Vow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Tender Vow definitely captured my emotions! I felt like I was connected to the characters, and I really was interested in their story. This is a sweet, gives-you-happy-feelings kind of book. It has a great plot, with characters that are deep and you really get to find out about them more as people than just characters. Sharlene did a great job. I cant wait to see what she has coming next!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tender Vow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kensie Carter
I've read all of Ms. MacLaren's novels, but this one is definitely one of my favorites. I love the romantic tension in this book, the little twists and turns, and the overall plot. I just couldn't put it down even though I had so many other things I should have been doing.Don't miss this wonderful book! It will make a warm path straight to your heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.