Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1

Whitaker House McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1

Desperate to save her sister from an abusive husband, socialite McKenzie Worthington responds to a mail-order bride ad in the Montana Territory---where God-fearing rancher Zachary Sawyer prays for a wife to share his life. But when McKenzie arrives with a plan that includes divorce, will Zachary's persistent kindness and self-sacrifice change her heart? 432 pages, softcover from Whitaker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Review 1 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Room for Improvement, but an Entertaining Plot

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Most fans of romance will enjoy this first novel in the Montana Skies series about a Bostonian woman that travels out West as a mail-order bride, yet has an ulterior motive.
The title character of this book, McKenzie, answers an ad for a mail-order bride willing to travel to Montana Territory. The only thing is, she's really not all that interested in becoming a wife, much less to a complete stranger, but she is, however, in search of her sister who is trapped in an abusive marriage and also lives in Montana Territory. Her husband-to-be, Zach Sawyer, believes that God has sent McKenzie to him, and devotes himself fully to this new relationship even though McKenzie keeps him at arm's length. He eventually discovers her reasons for uprooting herself from a cultured lifestyle in Boston, and his initial joy of having her as his wife dissolves into feelings of disbelief.
Truly, the plot alone was worth the read since it's been a long while since I read a mail-order bride story, and this one came with an intriguing twist. McKenzie's snobbish nature early on turned me off, and her family wasn't particularly likeable, either. (In hindsight, I suppose that could be considered a good thing because by book's end, McKenzie had found a place in my heart.) Zach, on the other hand, was a complete and utter dream all the way through, and his young son, Davey, was as sweet as cherry pie. :)
On the flip side, I grew tired of the overdone Christian message throughout the novel. Most of the time, authors subtly include references to Scripture, but in my experience, it's atypical to see Scriptures used in their full context in the middle of a novel. If it had appeared once or twice, I would've thought nothing of it, but after multiple occurrences, I started to skim. Don't get me wrong...I have no problem with the inclusion of Scripture in Christian fiction, but in this case, it felt a little excessive and hindered the flow of the character's conversations in which it was used.
In spite of the preachiness of this novel, I was fully invested in the story, and sincerely wanted Zach and McKenzie's marriage to succeed. Also, there were a handful of great life lessons and nuggets of advice shared between Asa and Zach that were great additions to the story. The ending of this book set the stage nicely for the next book where I'll have the opportunity to get to know Kaydie as well as a certain confirmed bachelor who has already piqued my interest. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
McKenzie, by Penny Zeller, is a well written story, that makes you feel like you are back in the 1880's living beside the many wonderful characters that fill the pages. McKenzie has twists and turns and so much love that it makes it hard to put it down. Definitely worth the read.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this book, I loved Zachary's patience and his forgiveness toward McKenzie. It was precious to me. I was nervous for McKenzie the entire book all the way up until the end. But with the awesome mercy of God, McKenzie was able to find her way. What I love most about this series is that they are clean, decent and Christ-inspired. They are pure and sweet and will make you want to reread the books again!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McKenzie by Penny Zeller
McKenzie Worthington knew you don’t build a marriage on shaky ground, so when she signed up to be a mail-order bride she planned to divorce the man as soon as she accomplished her goal and go home to find a man she could love.
I don’t read books if I don’t like the main character. Ordinarily I’d toss a novel aside with the protagonist planning before the vows were even said to divorce the bridegroom . Ah, but McKenzie’s goal shows she is a person with redeeming qualities.
We discover early that McKenzie’s sister, Kaydie, is being abused and beaten by her husband who forces his wife to assist him in robbing banks and other crimes. Now McKenzie fears her sister’s life is in danger. McKenzie needs to slip away to Montana without her parents knowing to see if she can find Kaydie and get her away from the man.
No one else in the family will help. All they’ve done is condemn Kaydie for running off and marrying the guy when they had a nice rich man picked out for her.
So McKenzie sees an advertisement from a Montana man who is looking for a mail-order bride and devises her plan. She is chosen by Zachary Sawyer to be his wife and the mother of his young adopted son. Amazing thing, Sawyer, a rancher, prayed diligently before deciding on McKenzie over other women who applied by mail.
McKenzie, however, didn’t expect him to be young, personable and handsome.
As a reader, I already knew about the pain Kaydie was going through because I read that book first (I recommend it) although Kaydie was second in the Montana Skies Series. Now we find McKenzie and Zach hurting from trouble that keeps rippling over people’s lives from wrong decisions.
But Penny Zeller skillfully takes us through the rough waters, although we feel at times we think there is little hope. That’s the way a novel should be and that’s why I lost sleep reading into the night to see what happens next.
Although she has attended church all her life and believes she is a Christian, we discover why McKenzie was able to lie when she repeated her marriage vows before God and everybody. She has no idea what’s in the Bible, but Zach introduces her to the truths through reading the Word to her every day, and it makes her hunger for more and desire to know God.
If you like historical Christian fiction, you’ll like this book. I recommend it.
Note: I was provided a review copy by the author.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Historical story!

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the attempt to find her sister, Mckenzie Worthington answers an ad for a mail order bride in Montana because she thinks that is where Kaydie is living with her abusive husband. She never intends to stay married once she finds Kaydie, but no way will McKenzie tell her husband until she’s found.
Since Zachary Sawyer’s neighbors passed away and he adopted their son Davey, her realizes that Davy needs a mom in his life. And because there are just no women in the little town in Western Montana, Zachary decides to place an ad for a mail order bride. Zachary believes God will send him the right woman, and he will love her no matter what.
Zachary and Mckenzie’s marriage did not start of on the right track because of the deception of Mckenzie, though Zachary thought everything was fine and dandy. Of course Mother Worthington will be happy to have her two girls back home because they couldn’t possibly have a life in the Western Territory and her girls were use to the best of life. Join Zachary and Mckenzie on their journey as husband and wife on this Montana ranch. Will Mckenzie find Kaydie? And if so how will her husband take it when he finds out she is leaving town and was only there to find her sister?
McKenzie is the first book in the Montana Skies Series by Penny Zeller. I love this sweet little Montana town that everyone knows everyone else. Penny detailed description of the Montana Territory is so vivid and clear I felt as though I had been there while reading this book! I could feel the love between the people living there, almost taste the food they eat, experienced the different seasons and the difficult times they sometimes had. Lucille even felt like a neighbor! The characters were so unique and exquisite that woven into this wonderful story you wanted to be living in the house with them, experiencing their everyday lives. And I love and appreciate that Penny’s books have Christian characters with the ups and downs and struggles each of us face in the Christian life, showing the love, grace and forgiveness of our Lord.
Even if you don’t care for historical fiction, I think you will love this series. And if you’re a Historical fan, then this book is a Must for you! Grab you a copy of McKenzie, a cup of coffee, sit down and enjoy a wonderful read. Then pick up Kaydee and Hailee and finish out the series. It will be well worth your time!
I rec’d a complimentary copy of the book from the author. Thank you so much Penny! The opinions are mine alone. I was not ask to write a positive review of this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great start to a new series!

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
iluvmygrandkids
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McKenzie is the first in the series and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I loved how it is shown to us that God has a plan and a purpose for our lives.
As a woman who desires to see Jesus Christ honored in all things, I have found Ms. Zeller's novels to fit the bill. McKenzie shows the dependence of the characters on God and the importance of having a personal relationship with Him. I love the way the characters, Zach in particular, is committed to prayer.
I have shared my copy with several friends of all ages. I have enjoyed McKenzie and Kaydie and am looking forward to the last in this series, Hailee.
I pray Ms. Zeller will bless us with future novels just like these in her Montana Skies Series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Outstanding Story by Penny Zeller

Date:July 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jan Marie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McKenzie, by author Penny Zeller, tells the story of the depth of one sister's love for another. McKenzie Worthington loves her younger sister, Kaydie, so much that she is willing to risk everything in order to rescue Kaydie from a disastrous marriage to an abusive and evil man. McKenzie goes so far as to enter into a marriage via the venue of becoming a mail-order bride as a means to travel to the Montana Territory in search of her younger sister.
Having come from a wealthy and privileged background in Boston, McKenzie was not prepared for the lifestyle that she encountered when she moved to Pine Haven to marry Zach Sawyer. Zach was looking for a wife and mother for his son; McKenzie was looking for a place to stay and a means of support while she attempted to rescue her sister. The master plan was to have her father, who was a lawyer, annul the marriage, leave Zach behind, and return her life in Boston once Kaydie was found.
Penny Zeller has created a beautiful love story and shown how the best laid plans are often foiled when God steps into the picture and reveals His plan. In spite of all the obstacles that Kaydie, McKenzie and Zach had to overcome, the author has shown that, as the Bible states in Romans 8:28, "And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose." (KJV)
I have always been interested in the concept of mail-order brides and, in the story of McKenzie, Penny has revealed a realistic picture that vividly portrays this process. Her main male character, Zach Sawyer, is the same age as my middle son so, as I read, I could not help but compare Zach to my own son. This contrast helped the story to come alive in a very real way.
In the rapidly-growing field of extremely talented Christian fiction authors, Penny Zeller has excelled and has distinguished herself with her superb ability. She uses the tools of her trade with surgical precision to craft believable and captivating stories filled with a message of love and forgiveness.
McKenzie was provided to me by the publisher, Whitaker House, for review purposes. I was not obligated to give a positive review nor did I receive any other form of recompense for this review.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Zeller's McKenzie a great read!

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
McKenzie Worthington is a spoiled, wealthy, socialite who is on a mission to rescue her sister from the clutches of an abusive husband. Only thing is, her brother-in-law is on the run and the last place she knew her sister to be was in Montana territory. When her best friend marries the man she thought she was destined to marry, she decides to go find and bring home her sister. When a Wyoming rancher, places an advertisement in the Boston newspaper for a mail-order bride, it seems the answer to her dilemma. She’ll simply answer his inquiry, marry him, enlist his help, rescue her sister, annul the marriage, and come back home.
Zach Sawyer prays to God to send him a wife. He needs a helpmate and someone to help raise his adopted son, Davey. He places an advertisement in several newspapers for a mail-order bride and receives several responses. But only one truly stands out. When this woman named McKenzie agrees to marry him, he thinks her motives are sincere.
But when McKenzie arrives, she is not prepared for what greets her. His simple ranch house and humble furnishings repel her. She’s used to being spoiled and not lifting a finger to do anything, even for herself. She does not make the best of impressions, but Zach is a man like she’s never met. He is a man after God’s own heart, not that she’d have much experience with that. The most she’d ever done with her Bible was carry it unopened to church. Attending church was a social function for her prominent family. But Zach is patient, kind, forgiving, and teaches her about God and His Word. She falls in love with his son immediately, despite her best laid plans. Zach is making it difficult for her to avoid developing feelings for him. The ranch hands are kind and forgiving, despite how she treated them upon her arrival.
When Zach finds out about her plans to find her sister, he helps her on her quest, and she finds herself becoming more endeared to him each and every day. Guilt begins to prick her conscience and her well-laid out plans don’t seem so well-thought out now. How will she be able to walk away?
When her mother suddenly shows up to rescue her based upon a letter filled with untruths she’d sent during her first few days in Montana, her original plan is disclosed to Zach and his heart is crushed. She realizes she’s fallen in love with Zach, and has no desire to leave the ranch. But will he ever forgive her for what she’s done? The very place that months before she couldn’t wait to escape is now the only place she wants to be. Can she make her mother understand that the wealth, status, and benefits of Boston no longer hold any appeal for her? Can she win the back the heart of her husband? Will she ever find her sister?
God has a plan and He works all things together for good. But I’m not going to tell you how He goes about that. You’re just going to have to read it for yourself. Believe me, you’ll be grateful I didn’t spoil it for you. And hold on to your bookmark, because Kaydie, Book 2 in the Montana Sky Series is already out. Plus, Hailee, Book 3, will be released in the fall. I love a good series and Penny’s certain written one. I know you’ll enjoy it too. Keep your eyes peeled for more of Penny Zeller’s books.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of Desperate Plans turned to God's Purpose

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
a Spoonful O Sugar
Location:Shreveport, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Desperate plans are often turned to God's glory and purpose despite the original intention. This is what occurs in "McKenzie" a Christian fiction historical romance by Penny Zeller. It is the first of three in the Montana Skies series published by Whitaker House.
My Review
McKenzie is a young lady of high society living with her wealthy parents in Boston. She is desperate to find and rescue her sister who is married to an abusive husband and living out West. This desperation leads her to plan on becoming a mail order bride to support the search. After she rescues her sister, McKenzie’s plan is to divorce her husband and return to Boston. However, her husband, Zach is unaware of McKenzie’s plan. This story has many twists and turns as the plan begin to work to God’s purpose not McKenzie's. This is an enjoyable read and one to be re-read.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McKenzie by Penny Zeller is a great book. I could not put it down! McKenzie Worthington is part of Boston's High Society and expected to marry one of Boston's elite bachelors. She loves the high life of Boston and plans to live in Bosotn forever as the wife of a rich Bostonian. There is only one thing that stands in her way. The love she has for her sister. Her sister married a con artist and was dragged to the Montana Territory and is being abused by him. The only way McKenzie can think of to save her is by becoming a mail order bride.
Zachary Sawyer is an orpahn who now owns a rach in the Montana Territory. He adopted his best friend's son after he died. Davey needs a mom and Zach needs a wife, but women are scarce in his town. He decides the only way is to pray and ask God to send him a mail order bride.
God has his own plans. You'll have to read the story to see how God works a miracle in the lives of McKenzie, Zach, and her sister, Kaydie. This is a great book and you can tell that Penny has a close, personal relationship with God. The book is very uplifting with many biblical truths woven in
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Requires Patience

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
QuiltWriter
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Penny Zeller brings readers a sweet love story in this historical fiction. She weaves deep moral lessons into our hearts through her interesting cast of characters. I particularly enjoyed Zeller’s underlying themes of patience and forgiveness. “McKenzie” paints an exceptional picture of God’s vast love for us.
McKenzie Worthington is a scheming Boston socialite with a goal to rescue her sister and head for home. She undergoes enormous changes as she learns to express love for the people of Pine Haven and the boy who calls her Ma. In turn, she finds that God loves her and has a better plan for her life.
Her new husband, Zach Sawyer, displays extreme patience as he teaches McKenzie how to have a personal relationship with God. I appreciated the way Zach gradually wooed his reluctant mail-order bride into a loving marital relationship. His tenderness, understanding, and willingness to forgive, mirror God’s never-ending patience and forgiveness for us.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
angelmom1165
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McKenzie Worthington is not what I expected when I started reading. At first she seems like the usual nice Christian heroine. But we find out that she isn't what she seems in many ways. It is a welcome change to see how this young woman grows and changes when she finds out that her Bible isn't just something to carry around and church isn't just a social event. She goes from lying easily to feeling guilt for doing so.
Zachary Sawyer is a strong godly man who has known sadness and loss in his life but his faith has grown through it. From the beginning you see him taking it all before the Lord and trusting Him to guide him. He actually shows her how to have a relationship with God. That is him being the spiritual leader in his family and I loved it!
I recommend this book to readers of all ages. It is wonderful to see a romance that is an option for younger readers, too. I wish there had been romance like this when I started reading romance at the young age of 11. I am so pleased to see more and more available like this.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New Twist to Mail-Order-Brides' Inspirational

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyjournaling
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Penny Zeller has given Mail-Order-Bride books a new twist. I am going to be shelving this book with my other 'keepers' in my personal library.
Although I didn't care for the heroine at the very beginning of the story I came to respect and enjoy her as the book progressed. Her selfishness at the beginning had an unusual quirk in that she desired to see her sister safe and that led to her unusual plan.
I am recommending this book to my children and grandchildren.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Room For Improvement but still a good read

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookReviewsbyMolly
Location:Willow Spring, NC
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, this was an okay debut. It has the intents of being a good book but I think that it could have been a lot better. I am thinking that this was a little bland, though, because this is the author's FIRST novel, and sometimes the first ones are great, and sometimes they need more work. This falls a little in between those two things I just mention. It does need a little work but it's still a good read. It took me quite some time to pin point what I thought was wrong with the book though. It has good characters, yes. It has a good mail-order plot line, yes. But, it was still lacking.
I finally, after much consideration, figured out what through me for a loop on this book and why it wasn't up to par for a story like this. The way the author created McKenzie and what McKenzie did to Zach and sweet little Davey, really through me. I didn't like her character for quite some time in this book. Her character lacked what I thought she should have: she portrayed herself to be a Christian, and, yet, led Zach to believe she wanted everything he did. She let sweet little Davey to believe she would be his ma but all the while planned to leave??? That just didn't sit well with me. Sweet Zach was a one of a kind hero and I would have LOVED to have been in McKenzie's shoes and been married to such a devoted man! I really think that if McKenzie was portrayed a little differently in this story, with a kinder heart (even if she was looking out for her baby sister!) I would have been instantly captured!
There were several other minor things that stuck out to me as lacking, like lack of conversation between the main characters. The descriptions of the town that McKenzie was living in when she went to Montana Territory, was great, however, not enough to completely and wholly capture me. By the time I was completely engrossed in the story and things picked up, it was the end of the book. So, that threw me,too.
All in all, I will give this book 3 stars. It has the potential to be a good Christian inspirational historical novel and one that I encourage everyone to try, as they may find that it isn't lacking to them. I am looking forward to reading Penny Zeller's second novel in the Montana Skies series, Kaydie, McKenzie's baby sister's story, though, as I am sure it will be good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought-provoking challengin marriage relationship

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emma
Location:Wyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a refreshing story to relax with! My first impression was that I didn't really like McKenzie but I think that her process of transformation was really quite beautiful and was, after some pondering, much more realistic than what I was at first thinking. Penny Zeller really captured the struggle with the "Old Adam" in all of us and how our entire focus and perspective about relationships changes when we start seeing things through the eyes of Christ. Just what would the world be like if even half the population had the same view of the marriage relationship as Zach? Gentle, understanding, patient, teaching yet recognizing and not accepting of sinful foolishness-what a great guy....sigh!! Can't wait for "Kaydie"!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I will be reading book 2

Date:December 3, 2010
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I did see room for improvements in this book, I also saw potential. I will definitely be reading the second book in this series.
Here are some things I thought could be better… The dialogue could use some work, but that was only in some areas. Occasionally it would seem a bit dramatic or over done, but that is easily fixed. It seemed to miss some opportunities to bring the reader closer to the characters and what was happening in their lives. Or a scene wasn’t played out, when I think it should have been. Such as when McKenzie and Zach get back from their wedding ceremony, you never know what happens. You just know that McKenzie sleeps in her own room, but you never know if they talked about waiting or what! That seemed an odd thing to leave out of the story to me as it is a pretty big deal in the characters lives. Also, when Kaydie tells her sister that she is pregnant. I felt like you waited such a long time for the sisters to be reunited, then you don’t even get to “participate” when they are really together and catching up for the first time.
The hero and heroine don’t meet until 100 pages into the book, but it seemed to pass quickly for me because of the letters passing between them. McKenzie is a spoiled brat when she first comes into the book, but as the story progresses you begin to see her changing into a more loving, God-centered person.
Zach is a first-rate hero! I loved him. He is so patient and kind! Awesome. He is a hero that is truly admirable. I loved how he took his dad’s advice about the “small things” and was ready and willing to please, compromise, and forgive whenever he needed to. Such a great guy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"McKenzie" is a winner!!!

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookwormjan
Location:Friendswood, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my goodness. How do I even start? I LOVED this book! Penny has written a remarkable love story. She has written about faith, hope, and God’s unchanging love for us.
McKenzie Worthington was born into a rich, sophisticated, well to do family in Boston. She is the middle daughter of three. She is used to having everything done for her by servants. Her parents are hoping for her to marry one of her own kind. McKenzie is used to beautiful clothes, tea parties, balls, etc.
Zachary Sawyer is a rancher. He loves God with all of his heart. He lives in a small town in the Montana Territory. His home is rather crudely built, according to some standards. Old, worn out blankets cover the windows. Zach works hard on his ranch. He has been praying for a wife, someone to share his life, his dreams, and his young adoptive son with.
Thanks to a nosey store keeper, Zach runs ads in several newspapers across the country advertising for a mail order bride. Back in Boston McKenzie is desperate to find her younger sister, Kaydie, whose abusive husband took her across the country away from her family. Kaydie has written a few letters to McKenzie, the last of which she mentioned being in and around Montana Territory.
McKenzie sees Zach’s ad for a mail order bride and decides to answer it. She sees it as the perfect way to find her sister. She will go there, marry Zach, find her sister, then her and Kaydie will both return home to Boston where she will have the marriage annulled. Sounds like the perfect plan until she gets there and finds Zach to be a very kind, gentle, loving man. His son, Davey, falls in love with his new Ma. The towns people accept her with open arms. All of this begins to change her heart and ruin her plans!
What will McKenzie do? She wasn’t supposed to actually have feelings for these people. She wasn’t born to live like this, she was born to live in high society.
Penny did an excellent job of writing her characters! They come alive on the pages! Her descriptions of the surroundings are so vivid you are there! This book is definitely one I will want to read again! And the sequel, Kaydie, is coming out next year! Can’t wait for that one.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "can't put it down" book.

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan
Location:Dayton, WY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Penny is a gifted writer with the ability to take you into a fictional setting while leading you into the truths of God's word. An excellent story plot that makes you want to continue living in their world to see what is happening with each character. Can hardly wait to see what takes place in Mc Kenzie's sister's life in her next book,Kaydie.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
jb05
I absolutely loved this book. The story was a lot like how my husband and I first started dating. We met via an online dating website, so no I wasn't a mail order bride!! This book was very well written and I enjoy the love story part of it without all the "smut" that comes a long with other books. I can't wait until the next one. My 16 year old daughter loved this book as well. Getting her to read it no easy task. But she picked this up and read it...even before I had a chance to. I really enjoyed our chats about the book. Thank you Penny for a wonderful book. I look forward to the next one.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for McKenzie, Montana Skies Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie
I love this book! I love how it's a christian book and how McKenzie's attitude changes by God. My friend let me barrow a copy and I always looked forward to reading it any time I could! I can't wait till Kadie comes out! I would really advise you to read this book! You will really like it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>