Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life

Zondervan Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life

In this student edition of gods at war, Kyle Idleman, bestselling author of not a fan, helps us recognize there are false gods at war within each of us, and they battle for the place of glory and control in our lives. What keeps us from truly following Jesus Christ is that our hearts are pursuing something or someone else like money or popularity. While these pursuits may not be the 'graven images' of old, they are in fact modern day idols. Behind the sin you're struggling with, the fear you're dealing with, the lack of purpose you're living with is a false god that is winning the war for your heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Review 1 for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book not just for teens!

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Samantha Coville
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible commanded us to not kneel down before idols. This seems irrelevant in today's society since we no longer make golden statues of cows and worship them to bring rain and good luck. But a new world has brought about new types of idols and these idols have a special hold on the teens of today. Things such as food, love and technology have taken a place in our hearts; a place that God should hold.
This is a great book not just for teens, but for whole families to read. It's shocking how many objects of our everyday lives can easily turn into idols. Kyle Idleman, the author of Not a Fan, has created a guide that helps identify our idols, learn how to tear them down and discover the one person who can take their place and satisfy the desires that built them in the first place.
Idleman does a terrific job of writing in an easy, breezy tone that keeps a younger audience's attention while still treating our idols as seriously as they should be. There's humor and there are great pieces about everyday people that helps make examples relatable. It's understandable and enjoyable, but still informational.
This should be a must read for all youth groups and stand alone teens. It would make a great gift for any occasion and especially with the upcoming graduation season. It's a lesson that needs to be learned sooner rather than later and Idleman is the best teacher. Five idols out of five.
*I received this book for free from the author but it in no way affected my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inspiring book that you don't want to put down!

Date:April 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
PastorsDaughter
Location:WV
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this student edition of "gods at war" the
author talks about the wars going on inside of us from idols and false gods (notice the lowercase 'g'). Things were talked about such as money, popularity, and like, while sending out the message that Jesus Christ in the only way we will ever truly be happy.
I wondered how this book would be and have to admit that I loved every second of reading it! Kyle Idleman address the struggles that come our way as young adults, adults, and tweens. There was humor throughout which made it even more enjoyable to read, and the author was just incredible. I found myself laughing at some of the things he said, and the notes at the bottom of some of the pages were just awesome.
It was very enouraging and inspiring! I highly think that any teen should read this, and it wasn't boring in anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
This was a great book. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect when I started reading it, but once I began I couldn't put it down. I received this book as a ARC, and below are my thoughts.
This book is appropriate for a High School or Older Audience.
+It Brings in Culture Students Can Relate to.
+Very Whitty. Multiple times I laughed out loud. Not a boring read in any way.
+Very Much to the point. Each chapter describes a different god that often rules our life.
+There are boxed sections for added stories. Also at the the end there are Idol ID's which help the reader see if this is a god in their life. Also a "Choose Jesus" section at the end of each chapter --NOT Decision Theology-- rather how to make God the center of our life.
+There is lots of Scripture!!!
+Very Relateable Illustrations.
Only Negative thing would be the end left me wanting more.
I would STRONGLY Recommend this book to ANY Student.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clearly explained and absolutely relevant

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Loopy Librarian
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If someone were to ask you to name all of the Ten Commandments, could you do it? What about the second commandment in particular? The one that says “You shall not make for yourself an idol.” I know I have often overlooked that one because it seems obsolete. No golden calves here, not a one. So, I’m good. Right? WRONG!
Idleman points out very clearly that idols come in all shapes and sizes, and he devotes a chapter to each of the main ones that students (and adults) put on the throne of life. The god of entertainment is a good example. Although Idleman makes it clear that watching a little television or spending time playing video games is not a sin, putting these things ahead of God definitely is. Anything can become an idol if it replaces God in your life.
In this book, idolatry in its modern form is clearly defined and explained. Age appropriate examples are included. The organization of the book is simple and easy to follow. There are also healthy doses of humor and interesting facts. I highly recommend this book for students. So many things try to lay claim to our hearts, but God and only God can truly fill the void. Anything else is a poor substitute.
In accordance with FTC guidelines, please note that I received a free advanced copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great and VERY Relevent!!

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLovinSinger
Location:Green Lane, PA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his book, Kyle addresses a topic that is becoming increasingly more relevant as our modern day gives birth constantly to "masked" temptations and, later, obsessions. These "masked" temptations are advertised as harmless fun and something that everyone is doing. Of course using the "bandwagon" technique works like magic every time. Such things that have already succeeded at overwhelming people's lives are electronics (TV, computer, Ipods, phones), excessive use of social media (Facebook, Instagram, etc.), and desire for/purchasing of material things. This is a daily battle for the majority of teens in today's world, and it's spot-on how Kyle says that these things are, in many cases, replacing God in our lives. He then reveals how we can find our way back to God and learn to remove the idols of our modern world from our lives, so we can become pure once again. A great book that is worth reading!!
Thank you Zondervan for my ARC of this book in exchange for my honest review!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mr. Idleman is well known from his book, Not A Fan, and having read that book, I had very high expectations for this book. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to all of them.
This book is well written, with his trademark conversational tone and covers a very important subject: idolatry. Mr. Idleman points out that idols are all around us and sometimes aren’t even a tangible object. He covers the most common/popular ones with much thought and detail. He leads us through the journey of how they become an idol and offers questions to help you see if you have them in your own life. “Idols are defeated not by being removed, but by being replaced,” could be the tagline for this book. It is stated at the end of each chapter and is thrown in the middle for good measure. I appreciate how much research has gone into this book. He offers statistics of how each possible idol has progressed and become forefront in our society. There are also Bible verses that correspond with each and show God’s take on it.
While I enjoyed this book on one side, it irritated me on the other. There are little notes and comments on many of the pages and while some have a purpose, I found most of them to be pointless and annoying. Also, at the end of each chapter is a section titled “Choosing Jesus” and while it is very well done, I’m rather confused as to who is the author. Is it Mr. Idleman? Or someone else? And why is it all in italics?
I would recommend this book for new Christians who want to become more committed to God and to rid themselves of some idols, who are trying to take His place.
I received an Advanced Reading Copy of this book from Zondervan publishing for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have received no compensation for it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great thought provoking book

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lilikin
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gods at War by Kyle Idleman was a thought provoking book. I am a Christian so I found reading about the concept of idolatry to be most likely true in everyone's life at times, and a serious issue that we don't always realize we face or commit.
The way this book was written kept my attention, and I really liked how Kyle Idleman used passages from the Bible, explained and elaborated on them, then put them in context for the twenty first century. I also liked how he talked about how the different "gods" ( as in god of achievement) have evolved over time.
There were many sentences from this book that would make great quotes, and I really liked some of the references and comparisons.
One of my favorite things that Kyle Idleman mentioned in this book was that the heart is the center of a person and that everything that we do should reflect our heart and therefore God (because he should be at the center of our heart and lives).
I will be honest and say that I did not read about one of the "gods" because it was not something that is in my reading comfort/appropriate zone. Though I do understand why it was in the book, I just didn't want to read that much about it.
Will you choose to let God win the war of your heart, and give him glory and control over our lives? I know I have!
I received an ARC of this book for free from the Zondervan Z Street Team in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gods at War, Student Edition: The Battle for Your Heart That Will Define Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great resource for youth pastors

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kyle Idleman is a Pastor at Southeast Christian Church in Kentucky. He is also the author of the book Not A Fan. His new book for students "God's at War" is a look at the idols and voices that pull us as Christians away from God. Why is that we never have time for the things that matter? Why is it that we sometimes listen to our own voice and not God's? Is it possible that even though we don't bow down to statues, that modern people still have "idols" that we "worship" with our time and money?
Kyle writes a book - geared to teens and college aged youth that helps them to explore the many ways in which idolatry becomes an issue. Through the book Kyle looks at sex, entertainment, materialism, success and vanity and really brings each "idol" face to face with the reader.
This is a great edition for teens and I would certainly recommend it for study or curriculum in a youth group setting. Thank you to Zondervan for this preview copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.