Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1

Whitaker House Publishers Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1

Pregnant and unwed, Becky Troyer is a pariah in her Missouri Amish community. Even after she confesses her sin, she's shunned---and despairs of ever finding love. But things seem to change when Jacob Miller comes to help on her family's farm. Will their relationship grow? Or is Jacob merely being kind to Becky?
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Review 1 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
This review is fromPatchwork Dreams - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun read

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
judy
Location:Grass Valley CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good book to sit and read on an afternoon to relax. It has a good story line and draws you into the family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
This review is fromPatchwork Dreams - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
WISHJeopardy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good story line and remembers that it is a Christian book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story line

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beverly Fincher
Location:Akron, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much as I do all of this author's books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't Let This Book Pass You By!

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky Troyer faces a life of raising her child alone without a husband. Who would want her after the mistake she made during her rumschpringe? She is an outcast in her own community. People talk and snicker about her behind her back.
Jacob Miller arrives at the Troyer farm sent there by his father. Jacob is there with the understanding that he is to help Cousin Daniel with chores for the summer. Jacob soon learns that his father wasn’t truthful with him and he was sent away to separate him from his girlfriend Susie.
What starts out as a friendship between Jacob and Becky soon becomes apparent that they are drawn toward one other.
Jacob has hopes of courting Becky but will she agree to courting him?
Becky does not want to be hurt again after what happened to her during rumschpringe. What man would ever be interested in her?
Will Becky learn to accept God’s forgiveness and forgive herself for what she has done?
Will Jacob give up trying to win Becky’s heart?
I’m happy that the author Laura V. Hilton addresses the issue of a young Amish girl pregnant and unwed. I think at times we tend to idolize the Amish way of living. They struggle with the same issues that we do.
It was refreshing that the author gave Becky such supportive parents. God’s love shines through the way this situation was handled.
This book drew me in from page one all the way to the end. I did not want to put this book down and read it every spare moment that I had. This is the first book I have read by this author. I am looking forward to reading A Harvest of Hearts, the second book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish story worth reading

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This touching novel deals with sexual sin and redemption. We can learn from the characters' experiences while enjoying the story.
Will Becky Troyer be able to find true love after her indiscretion? could Jacob Miller, a new young man in the community, actually care for her? God's unconditional love is modeled in this compelling tale in the first of the Amish of Seymour series. Be sure to read the next one too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
sbcourtgirl
Location:South Bend, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good book, entertaining, and I would share with friends as a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super romance from the very beginning! Loved it!

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
fulluvjoy
Location:Brighton, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever since the TV series - Aaron's Way - I have loved Amish stories. Patchwork Dreams by Laura V. Hilton tops them all. There were definitely no `fillers' in this book. (What I mean by a filler is - scenes thrown in that add no real quality to the story and are only used to raise the word count.) In, Patchwork Dreams, each scene propels the story forward at a fast pace. And Jacob Miller, the hero, well that boy just doesn't give up. Wait, did I say boy? I meant man. That man refuses to give up. If I was Jacob Miller, I would have given up a long time ago and would have taken the next horse and buggy out of town. (Bet the heroine Becky Troyer is glad I'm not him. heehee) The man must be made of steal or something. Or to quote Aaron Miller from Aaron's Way, "That boy comes from fine stock." Jacob sure does. But poor Becky. What is it that Jacob isn't giving up on? Finding a man who will marry Becky, or what? After all, Jacob already has a gal back home. Hmmm.
Oh, and Becky Troyer, well, she's a real sweetheart who made a huge mistake. Or did she? What really happened to her? What am I talking about? And what secret is she harboring? Do the two have anything to do with one another? AS IF! I'll never tell. *smiling*
If you want to know the answers to these questions, and you want to read a really, really sweet story filled with romantic tension, then Patchwork Dreams is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Amish Love Story

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a delightful Amish story. A real insight into the Amish Culture. Jacob Miller is set to live with his distant cousin Daniel, where he learns the blacksmith trade. He comes from PA to Seymour, Missouri he thinks to appease his father. He is dating Suzie and has every intention to return in a few months and marry her.
At the door to Daniel's place he meets Becky. Does he believe in Love at first sight? Can't be there is Suzie? The Amish in PA are trading some young men with MO, in order to help with some of the birth defects that are common in each Community. Jacob hopes to return when the others arrive, if not before.
Both Becky and Jacob need to accept God's Grace and forgiveness. They are now thrown together along with Suzie.
I recommend this book...what a great Summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
joyce
Location:Waynesboro, Va.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always enjoy the Amish fiction. They are so positive and
you can always find something in them that applies to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patchwork Dreams is a dramatic portrayal of worlds colliding: an Amish community versus the worldly system they face. When Becky gets pregnant by someone outside of the community, the religious community is quick to judge. Shunned by the Amish and yet not a part of the world, she faces much loneliness and misunderstanding. Believing that the stain of her sin will relegate her to remaining unmarried or married to a much older man who she has no interest in, her future looks bleak. Finding love is that one illusive dream. But when she meets Jacob, the hurt she carries causes more misunderstanding! This story is refreshing in that it is honest and current to what young people face today. An easy book to get through....really looking forward to the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the book:
Becky Troyer is an Amish unwed mother. She knows she made a mistake; in fact she already had a kneeling confession in front of the entire church. But, she still considers herself damaged goods and has no hope of ever getting married. Until she meets Jacob.
Jacob Miller is in love with a girl in Pennsylvania. But his dad, fearing the girl will leave the Amish faith and take Jacob with her, sends him to Missouri. And there he meets Becky.
My review:
Amish fiction are some of my favorite books. But with so many authors now writing Amish fiction, it is like reading a cookie cutter story; they are very similar. Not this one. Jacob and Becky's story in unlike any other I have read. I had a very hard time putting this book down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling story !!

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Georgene Pettygrove
Location:Whiting, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story was a blessing to read and provided several peaceful afternoons for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

new author for me and very impressed

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
June Thompson
Location:fort atkinson wi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first book written by this author and i would continue to buy more of her books . she rates way up there with some of the pro"s in amish fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wilma Smith
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't wait for the next book in this series! I have been thru Seymour many times & enjoy seeing the Amish traveling as I go by
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming Amish Fiction

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY REVIEW
This is a story of mainly Jacob Miller and Becky Troyer, two young people from Amish communities in different states. Jacob’s father sends him to a cousin who lives in a rural Missouri town to hopefully change his mind about his sweetheart in Pennsylvania. That’s the one thing Jacob’s daed forgot to tell him though, Jacob though he was only moving to help out his cousin on the farm. As for Becky, she ends up with a boppli and single because of her wild rumspringa time. Upon Jacob’s arrival at their farm, there was a noticeable attraction between the two of them from the beginning. But Becky knew when Jacob found out about her secret, he would never come near her, and with Jacob, there was someone back home named Susie. Jacob noticed that Becky never smiled, and after he found out about her daughter, he knew something bad had happened, so he decided to make it his priority to be her friend and eventually bring her smile back.
Even though Becky has been before her church and confessed her sins, being shunned for 6 weeks because of them, can she overcome her past and trust another man into her live to love and trust?
And what about Jacob’s sweetheart Susie back home, they are to me married during the Amish marriage season in December. Will their time away from each other prove their forever love, or will his attraction to Becky grow stronger, maybe even as far as loving her?
I loved this book from Laura Hilton. In her writing this, she shows that being Amish is not always a perfect life. During the rumspringa years, some young people make bad decisions that will affect the rest of their lives. In most of the Amish books I have read, the daed was always the harsh type, almost as far as being just mean. It was clear they loved their children, but they tried to keep the ‘head of the house’ rule strict I guess. But in Patchwork Dreams this was different. I really liked the attitude of Becky’s parents Daniel and Leah. Daniel wasn’t afraid to hug his girls anywhere, letting them know his love for them. He didn’t agree with the Bishop on all things concerning Becky. (Don’t want to tell you all so you can read and find out for yourself.) Becky’s mamm even suggested the family would move to another Amish community to keep Becky from being forced to hurtful situations. This was just really heartwarming to me, to see her parents love and support for her. And the way they loved her daughter Emma, well the heartwarming love was easy to feel as you read the story.
If you love Amish, this is a must read! If you don’t know, or haven’t read any Amish books, then this would be a great start for you! I can’t wait for the second book in this series to be out. The series is ‘The Amish of Seymour’ and you can look for it, I think around fall of 2011.
A huge THANK YOU to Laura Hilton for providing me a copy of this book to read. I love the way Laura tells the story, and the characters she creates, making them real life. I didn’t want the book to end!
The book review and the opinions are totally mine. It was my honor to write the review for Laura
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NOT ONLY GOOD REVIEWER..GREAT AUTHOR AS WELL!!!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! Was I surprised with this one. I just LOVED this book! Great storyline and great characters. What I liked most about it was her writing style. Very fresh and unique and kept me intriqued throughout the whole book. The characters were very involved, felt like I knew all of them. The story line of cute misunderstandings all through the story were humorous, touching and heartfelt. I just wanted to scream at them, you arent understanding each other, lol. I hope she writes many books so I can enjoy reading them. Impatiently awaiting the next book in the series. GOOD JOB!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

couldn't put it down

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marcia Pennington
Location:Ijamsville, Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderfully different from a lot of the Amish books I've read, couldn't put it down, and can't wait for the next one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirley Kratz
Location:altus ok
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these book about Becky and Jacob.Jacob had come to Seymour on a swap.Becky had a babe without no father.Even though becky confesses her community stills shuns her.She is afraid she will never marry.Jacob is not happy about the move because he left his girl friend Susie behind.When Jacob and Becky meet they eventually fall in love although Because is unsure of Jacobs real motive.I love these book and looking forward to the next one in the series
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i AM REALLY SKEPTIC ABOUT NEW AUTHORS BUT lAURA hILTON MADE ME VERY GLAD i BOUGHT pATCHWORK dREAMS. tHIS WAS AN EXCELLENT WRITTEN BOOK AND ONE I WOULD REREAD OVER AND OVER. IT HAD GREAT DEPTH IN THE STORY LINE AND YOU GET SO CAUGHT UP IN THEIR LIVES THAT YOU FEEL APART OF THEM..SHE BROUGHT OUT THEIR RAW FEELINGS AND THIS BOOK IS ONE THAT MAKE THE AMISH LIKE US ENGLISHERS. THIS IS ONE BOOK YOU WILLWANT TO READ. IT TAKES YOU TO PLACES OF HOPE,REDEMPTION, GREAT FAITH AND EVERENDING TRUE LOVE. THIS IS ONE BOOK YOU CANT PUT DOWN TILL YOU FINISH; YOU ARE CAUGHT UP FROM PAGE ONE TILL THE END.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Patchwork Dreams, Amish of Seymour Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Patchwork Dreams

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shanin
Location:Burley, Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! I chose this book to read during my spring break and I could not set it down until I finished it. A young unwed mother’s desire for acceptance and forgiveness in an Amish community left you hoping for the redemption of love to take place. Even though she had a supportive family the odds seemed stacked against her for ever obtaining a marriage based on love instead of obligation. Then came Jacob Miller. He was there for just a short time to help the family. He saw value in the young woman and knew about God's love and forgiveness. He would find a mate for her. He had already found love and was hoping that he could find someone to treasure Becky like he treasured his Susie, the girl whom he was pledged to back home.
The two main characters, Becky Troyer and Jacob Miller, held your attention the whole entire time. Laura Hilton thought of everything when she wrote this book. It had depth, excitement and unpredictability. If you are like me you will also appreciate the glossary of Amish terms in the back of the book.
Thank you Laura for having such a descriptive imagination and gift of writing that took to me to a place of hope, redemption and true love. What a wonderful escape from a worn world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>