Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3

Whitaker House Publishers Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3

Annie Beiler is a spunky, spirited schoolteacher, but she's struggled ever since the man she was promised to "jumped the fence" and left the Amish of Seymour. She needs a man who is committed to his Amish beliefs. And now, she's struggling to regain the trust of the school board members and the parents of her pupils for taking her class on an unauthorized field trip to a nearby Civil War battlefield. She's put on probation, and one wrong step could cost her the position permanently.

Joshua Esh of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, moved to Missouri ostensibly as part of the man swap meant to bring new blood into the community. Annie Beiler caught his attention the moment he arrived in Seymour, but he's disheartened to discover that she is promised to another man-Luke, who left the Amish but vowed to return one day and claim "his" Annie. So, Josh fills his social calendar with singings and frolics, taking a different girl home from every event-with the exception of Annie, since she is already committed to someone.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Review 1 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness, accident, love, and more

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Beiler is promised to Luke. But Luke decides to leave the community and see what the Englishers have to offer. He returns for Annie but he isn't the same.
Joshua Esh is afraid to ask Annie if he can court her. He knows she was promised to Luke. Annie no longer desires Luke. She has a crush on Joshua but he is considered a player.
Fate changes a lot of things. There is a lot of forgiveness, an accident, a forced wedding, and so much more.
A story of misjudging others, mistakes, healing and such.
One thing different was Joshua being transplanted in from Pennsylvania Amish into Missouri Amish.
A good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful ending to another great series!

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie and Joshua’s story is my favorite in this delightful series. That girl has some spunk! She’s almost a rebel but not quite. The escapades in teaching that get her in trouble she does because she loves her students and wants them to have the best possible education. What harm can there be in going to a war cemetery? It’s part of history, right?!
Joshua is in Seymour under false pretenses and never expected to find someone he would want to marry while he’s there. He’s got some competition, though. Annie’s old beau, Luke, who doesn’t want to come to terms with Annie not being interested in him anymore, has surfaced after skipping out on her and is giving Joshua a run for his money.
Conflicts and misunderstandings arise between multiple characters creating a story that captivated me from page one. It was a quick but highly satisfying read. I don’t believe it would be at all confusing if you haven’t read the others in the series but you should, because they’re good.
Laura Hilton writes with clarity and genuine emotion. Her characters embed themselves in your mind and don’t want to let go. I highly recommend this book anyone who wants to read an engaging and well written story, but especially to those who love Amish Fiction! You’ll get plenty of tension and humor interlaced throughout with spiritual truth.
I want to thank Whitaker House for sending me this book for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review, just my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish romance with surprising plot twist

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schoolteacher Annie Beiler may not fit the typical Amish persona, but she steals your heart as she seeks to find her own true love. She’s feisty and spontaneous, but also a thinker and a lover of history. Attracted to one of the transplanted boys from Pennsylvania, Annie wonders why Joshua Esh seems to pay attention to every girl but her. When her former beau returns from the “Englisch” world to reclaim her, Annie balks. She no longer cares for Luke, but how can she convince him?
Joshua has his own secret, which he keeps from Annie even as their relationship develops. Will his deceit cost him her love? Continued misunderstandings threaten to drive them apart. Yet, other circumstances are at work, along with potential tragedies. How can any good come from all the negatives in their lives? Unexpected plot twists make this story one you’ll remember.
Laura V. Hilton’s third book set among the Missouri Amish completes her “Amish of Seymour” series. I’ll miss these wonderful and intriguing characters. She did a great job at bringing the people and place to life. It seems so real I wish I could visit them.
I recommend this for adults not younger teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Romance

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third and final book in the Amish of Seymour Series, and I for one wish there were more.
Love that their are updates of the people we learned to love in the first two books!
Annie Beiler wants to be an Amish Frau and Mother, she loves being a teacher to the Children of her Community. She is also starting to live again since being jilted by her fence jumping boyfriend Luke Schwartz. Now that he has returned, he is adamant that she is his and they are getting married. Kind of freaky! She has her eye on Joshua Esh, one of the transplants from Lancaster Pa.
Joshua, is know as a "player" in this Amish Community, he actually cares for Annie, but has been told she is Lukes! Some odd and some terrifying things take place in this story, and you will wonder who is going to end up with whom, and if everyone will live!
It will keep you on your toes, and become a real page turner. You don't have to have read the other two books to enjoy this one, but don't miss them either!
I received this book from the Publisher Whitaker House, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am going to miss this series!

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been fortunate enough to read all three books in the Amish of Seymour series and have become a Laura V. Hilton fan. She has the writing skills to easily transport the reader right into the heart of the stories that she is telling, allowing me to envision the characters, setting and drama so vividly it makes me feel as if I have been transported to another place.
In "Promised To Another" we get the story of Annie Beiler and Joshua Esh. Annie is the local Amish schoolteacher, she is always excited about history and learning which often gets her in trouble and puts her teaching job in jeopardy, something she can't afford to lose. You see her steady beau Luke Schwartz jumped the fence to become English and no one else has even noticed her, or at least that's what she thinks. When Luke makes an unexpected appearance after a singing and offers to take her home she turns him down flat but her refuses to listen, that is until Joshua Esh steps in and offers her a ride home, a rider home with the other girl he is already taking home. While the men who came to Seymour from Pennsylvania came looking for wives Joshua didn't instead he came to see a different part of the world but has plans to return to PA. He has earned the reputation of a player because he is always taking a different Amish girl home after singings, but that doesn't stop Annie from noticing him.Thing is Luke has decided to join the church and marry Annie and doesn't want to take no for an answer. Is Josh really a player or does Annie have the wrong idea about him? Will Annie give in and do what Luke wants or will she realize that there just might be someone else for her after all.
The beginning of this story started out a bit predictable but then the author started throwing in several different plot twists that had me changing my mind. I thought the characters in the story seemed very realistic, especially Annie. I could totally understand her love of history and wanting to share it with her pupils. I enjoyed getting to know the different sides of Annie, there was the Annie who stood strong when her beau left her, but we also got a glimpse of an insecure Annie wondering if she would ever have someone of her own, we also saw someone who had a zest for teaching and wanted to share her love of learning with her pupils even though the board members didn't always see things her way. I thought Josh was a good male lead, and while he kept a secret from Annie I still liked him. I liked the unconventional twist the relationship took toward the end of the story.
If your a fan of Amish fiction then your going to want to read this story. Even though it's the third book in The Amish of Seymour series it can easily be read as a stand alone work although this series is so good that your going to want to read all three books. On a scale of one to five I would easily give this whole series a six because it's just that good!
A copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Story!

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Beiler's ex-beau, Luke, had jumped the fence, so that is why she thought that no one wanted to court her. Little did she know that Luke had warned everyone to leave Annie alone because he was back and intended on marrying her. Annie, on the other hand, had no intention on rekindling their relationship because she knew he wasn't reliable.
Joshua Esh was with an exchange from Pennsylvania and was taken with Annie from the beginning, but knew she was intended for another - a man Joshua didn't like. As time progresses, Joshua learns that Annie's father might be interested in matching him with Annie, but Annie seems to have other ideas.
This was a captivating read that had me interested from the first page. It was different from the other Amish stories I've read in the past - hitting on some new things I didn't know about, like the exchange and also that a Bishop can make a couple get married or they are disgraced.
These characters were true to life and the situations were very realistic. I enjoyed this book so much that I really want to go back and read the others in the series. Even though this is book 3 in the series, it can be read as a stand alone. I didn't realize it was the third until after I had finished reading and went to see what other books Laura V. Hilton had written.
A must read for any Amish fiction lover!
***Special thanks to Cathy Hickling of Whitaker House for sending me a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good!!!

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Promised to Another
by Laura Hilton
I enjoyed reading this book and i wasn't ready for the story to end. The characters were described so well you felt you knew them, and some felt like your friends.
One lesson the book shares is about honesty. By hiding things from others we can hurt those whom we love.
I recommend this book and look forward to reading more from Mrs. Hilton.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful conclusion to the series.

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
cjajsmom
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Promised to Another" is the third book in The Amish of Seymour series by Laura V. Hilton. Each book explores the story of one young man sent from an Amish community in Pennsylvania to the Amish community in Seymour, Missouri, as part of swap of young men between the communities.
Joshua Esh arrives in Seymour but does not intend to stay. Then his eye is drawn to Annie Beiler, the community's schoolteacher, but when he inquires about her, he finds that another Amishman has staked a claim for her. Annie is equally attracted to Joshua but doesn't understand why he won't pay any attention to her, unaware of the claim Luke Schwartz has voiced to the other men.
A series of conflicts results in Joshua residing in Annie's home where his attraction to Annie is noticed by her father yet Annie seems to remain distant due to wrong impressions she has of him. Annie has not only caught Joshua's eye, but the bishop of the Amish community is keeping a close eye on her as a result of some complaints by parents of her students. After a tragedy occurs, the bishop makes a pivotal decision that changes the course of Joshua and Annie's lives.
This book was an entertaining tale to read. Both Joshua and Annie are likable characters and you quickly want to know their stories. At one point, I felt like I wanted to shake some sense into both of them and tell them to quit thinking so much. Annie's father is a wise man that loves and protects his daughter and wants the very best in life for her. He isn't beyond manipulating situations to Annie's advantage when possible.
Of the three books in this series, this is the one that left me wanting to know the next chapter in the lives of the main characters. I am hoping the author will consider another book to continue the tale of Joshua and Annie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Ending To A Great Series!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Beiler captured my heart from page one in this book. She doesn’t seem to be very sure of herself at times and I most certainly can relate to her character. Annie is a school teacher and is a natural at it. She loves her students and they love her. Annie is very fond of History. So much so that she took her students on a field trip to A Civil War Battlefield without the permission of the school board and her students parents. Will she lose her job over this?
Annie is attracted to Joshua and hopes he asks to take her home from the singings, but on the other hand she has heard that he is nothing more than a player. Would she really want to be seen with the likes of him?
Joshua Esh is from Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. He came to Seymour, Missouri participating in the swap. He never intended to find a young lady to marry and settle down like the other young men. Joshua came along for the adventure. He fully intends to return to Lancaster County when it is time to harvest the maple syrup on his Dad’s farm.
Joshua has been intrigued with Annie since he saw her reading a story to some of her students. He saw how much she enjoyed it and how the children responded to her. He would really like to ask Annie if he could take her home from the singings but he is hesitant because he thinks that Annie is promised to Luke.
Luke Schwartz Annie’s previous boyfriend jumped the fence but has returned to Seymour. He is determined to win Annie back even though Annie wants nothing to do with him. She doesn’t trust him and she doesn’t believe he is home for good.
After a series of pranks being played on Joshua, a buggy accident, Luke's threats, a quick marriage, and the arrival of Joshua's parents, will Joshua and Annie find the love they have for each other? Will Joshua’s lies and secrets come out?
I must admit at the end of this book I was shedding tears. Why the tears? Let me just say I was caught off guard by the emotion. It touched my very soul.
Patchwork Dreams, A Harvest of Hearts, and Promised to Another was a fantastic series. Author Laura V. Hilton knows how to write great Amish fiction. I can’t wait to see what this Author publishes next!
Thank you Laura for providing me with this advanced copy of Promised to Another to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Promised To Another, Amish of Seymour Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome story!!

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Beiler just wanted order in her life, but mostly she wanted to be loved and to love. But it seems it is not to be, she was set to marry Luke Schwartz, but he jumped fence and left Amish, in the middle of his classes to join the church. Even though he was back, she knew that marrying Luke would be settling, and she wanted true love. She wondered why no one was asking to take her home after singings, how would she ever find love, if she could not even get a bu to take her home after singing?
Joshua Esh, just wanted to see the world. He had come to Seymour with the man swap arranged by the Amish communities in Missouri and Pennsylvania, but he had no intention of staying, but he was keeping that to himself. He knew that as an only child, he was expected to take over his family's farm. What he didn't count on was loosing his heart to a certain girl named Annie. However it was made plain from the other bu in the neighborhood that Annie was not available. He just could not accept that and set out to win her heart.
Having been a long time fan of Ms. Hilton's, I just was blown away at this book, there are twists and turns that will keep you coming back until you finish this story. I laughed and cried, over and over. Each book Ms. Hilton writes keep getting better! This book is definitely a book to put on the top of your must read list for Spring 2012! 5 stars, 304 pages, US $10.99
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.