Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism

Harvest House Publishers What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism

This booklet presents a protestant critque of Roman Catholicism. It seeks to give a comparsion of what the church teaches and what the bible teaches about Salvation, The Mass, Mary, and Authority.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Review 1 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Ploof
I find it interesting that this author is so scriptural except where scripture points out the Catholic (as in Roman) Church. John 6 shows us that Christ did want and expect us to eat his flesh and drink his blood.This does not service to those who want to learn what the Church teaches and where to find it in the Bible. A better source is the Catechism of the Catholic Church.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
gina
Excellent! The truth needs to be told. I am an ex-catholic. The truths told in this guide are from the bible. Read them together.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
James
A great tool to guide others to read the "Bible" and see what scripture says. Not Protestants, Catholics, or any other religion. The Bible is the final authority, and this pamplet is a terrific and brief guide to understanding what the Word says about Rome's teachings.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Paul Kuspa
I use this to supplement the text by McCarthy on "The Gospel According to Rome," in my course on RC vs. Biblical Christianity. I was a devout RC for 25 years, and this is what I was taugh. One can berate these materials as being merely 'a private interpretation', but in fairness he presents the current teaching of RC church and presents a Biblical response. Why not check it out, and then find a basis for discussing the issues raised, not dismissing the man? St. Paul taught us all to check it out in the scriptures, like the Berians of Acts 17:11. Speaking the Truth in love ....
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nate Matthews
I must agree that there is not much redeeming about this pamphlet. The author makes unsupported arguments as his critique. Genuinely of no benefit to true critics of RC and makes protestants look foolish. There are much better comparisons available that spare mindless statements. Not worth the cardboard it's printed on.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cliff
No matter what your denominational affiliation is, you should be able to find enough information on the quick concerning Roman Catholicism from a general protestant viewpoint. And yes! LUTHER was a, and the Reformer of the (c)atholic church. Those that sat at the feet of the Apostles were (c)atholic not Roman Catholic! The many protestant viewpoints and roman catholic(and the many orders within catholicism),orthodox,coptic and for that matter the many christian sects that existed during New Testament times beg to differ with each other! These kinds of books can help to give us ideas where the differences are. I have found books on all sides including ones authored by roman catholics that create straw images of other faith and proceed to knock them down. This booklet is not totally successful in refraining from some of that,but on the whole it does a pretty good job in presenting what some of the more conservative protestant critiques are.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert
Please tell me why I should believe anyone's interpretation, even this one? When Jesus said, You must eat my flesh and drink my blood", shouldn't I believe Him and not some fallible theologian? I challenge anyone who believes this nonsense to read what the earliest Christians believed; the one's who sat at the feet of the apostles themselves. If you take the scales off of your eyes, you will see that they were very Catholic in their beliefs. Its so easy to knock down the straw man that is represented here as the Holy Roman Catholic faith! The true reformer was not Luther, but St Francis. By the way, which of the 33,000-protestant churches teaches the truth since they all contradict each other? Ah, the fruits of the reformation!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2004
Customer Avatar
Dawn
This is a GREAT resource! We love the way that it takes each Catholic belief and then puts what the bible says beside it. It points to the Word as the authority!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What You Need to Know About Roman Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2003
Customer Avatar
renee bell
This is an incredible resource for everyone who is witnessing to those who are catholic. Very helpful in sharing the truth with all who are lost in catholicism.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.