Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed

Oxford University Press The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed

A full-featured study Bible at an amazing price! Dr. C.I. Scofield's classic study system (1917 edition) accompanies the authoritative KJV to form this matchless resource. A clear, red letter typeface and convenient size add to the usefulness of the Standard Edition. Features include book introductions and outlines, a unique subject chain reference system, comprehensive indexes and concordance and accurate New Oxford Bible Maps.

This renowned study Bible features:

  • An unparalleled, subject-based topical chain reference system that enables readers to follow major themes throughout the entirety of Scripture
  • Enlightening introductions, complete outline subheadings and a complete chronology for each book of the Bible
  • Illuminating, same-page explanatory notes
  • Comprehensive indexes to annotations and subject chain references which permit thorough topical study
  • A detailed study Bible concordance with integrated subject index and dictionary of Scripture proper names
Other Features:
  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • Double-column format
  • Center-column references
  • 9 Point text (both Scripture & notes)
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Gilded Page Edges
  • Black Genuine Leather
  • Thumb Indexed
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best reference/study Bible on this site

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
manny
Location:Miami, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As my summary states, I believe this to be one of the best reference Bibles a Christian can own. I have owned this Scofield bible for a few years now and it has held up pretty well. The leather is of good quality and paper feels great, thin but not flimsy. But the best part is the content, it is the preserved text, the Authorized Version King James Bible, the pure words of God. That, along with Scofield's references makes for an excellent product. I have given a couple away to new born-again believers. This is great for babes in Christ, or the Bible teachers and preachers. The only other reference Bible I'd pick over the Scofield would be the Ruckman Reference Bible, it's more expensive than the Scofield but worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to find

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
cappy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to find but this was also at an affordable price. What I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent & my go to bible.

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Southern IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these before which the size, print everything was right but had a major spill on it that ruined it. Not knowing there was a different between this the standard version and the classic version I ordered the classic and these 61 year old eyes had a hard time reading it. It's print was smaller. While searching the net I found the difference and ordered this standard size and love it. I just wish the leather could have been softer like my old one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This needs better, opaque paper.

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Customer224
Location:OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This could be such a great Bible, but the pages have too much show-through, making it annoying and distracting when trying to read the text. Readability ought to be a publishers top priority. Please use writable Bible paper in this Bible.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good quality study Bible

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Father Gregory
Location:Nooksack, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used Scofield study Bibles for years; usually the 1967 New Scofield edition and the Scofield III, NKJV. However, I wanted to see the original Scofield in the KJV. What surprised me most was the difference in the commentary footnotes. The new editions, utilizing other editors, have significantly changed Dr. Scofield's own notes in the study Bible the bears his name. For example, Dr. Scofield defends the Gap Theory very clearly in the creation account in Genesis. The newer editions have edited and deleted parts of that. It's a whole new reading experience reading the original Scofield.
I had hoped that Scofield would include more updating translations for archaic words in the KJV. That was the strength of the 1967 edition, now out of print.
As usual, Oxford publishes excellent quality Bibles. I might say, however, that the paper seems to be a little thinner in that you can see print behind each page. But the binding and quality of leather remains up to Oxford's fine standards.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
DR Bob
Location:Cedar Rapids,Ia.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good reference tool for studying scripture.I highly recommend this company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martie Corbin
Very happy with my bible. I will be ordering more from you guys. Thanks so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Manuel Frias
a wonderfull study bible if you are a true christian and you have a bible you must have a scofield study bible is complete and the study system is very good annd the understanding is avery accurate study bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Huston
I am very pleased with the quality of the Bible and love the Old Schofield because of the references to so many other verses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Steven Taber
it took took me three bibles to get one good one, it isnt usually that way, the service is great here and they do take care of business with replacing..this bible is wonderful, if your a dispensationalist and pretrib rapture you will love the 1917 notes and the feel of the bible in your hand is a pretty nice quailty, it`s a very nice read for the size print, i wear glasses and it`s an 8 point i think but it reads very clear, unlike many others who`s bible are hard to read.the only thing that saddens me is they changed the paper from being eggshell which made it look and read with ilegence, they use a white paper, so does thompston chain, they now use a white paper..it`s a nice bible, one that you will notice while its in your hand, it fits like a glove
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jessica BBC
This is a gorgeous Bible. Buy one for your pastor. Preachers like these cause all Scofields are set up chapter and verse on the same pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dianna
Wonderful, wonderful. Full of great insight.Wonderful commentary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Old Scofield Study Bible, KJV Standard Edition Genuine Leather Black Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2000
Customer Avatar
RON CARTER
I RECOMMEND HIS BIBLE ABOVE ALL OTHERS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.