Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD

Baker 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD

After a devastating car accident, Baptist minister Don Piper is pronounced dead at the scene. During the next 90 minutes, he remembers hearing beautiful music, meeting those who had a spiritual impact in his life, and experiences deep peace until suddenly he is brought back to "real life" through another minister's prayer in this amazing true story. Unabridged. Read by the author. 5 CDs, 370 Minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Review 1 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biblically and logically unsound

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Rouse
Location:Auckland, NZ
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Briefly covering the most significant points:
- Don Piper contradicts himself, showing his dishonesty. He clearly says at 13:22 of the attached video that he saw God. However, in page 30 of his book, Don Piper clearly says "I did not see God".
- There is a litany of issues with what Don Piper describes of what he saw in heaven - mansions and such.
- Don Piper gives a very detailed account of what he saw in heaven. Now, only 3 men in the New Testament were allowed a glimpse of heaven. (1) Right before he was stoned, Stephen said (Acts 7:56) "Behold, I see the heavens opened, and the Son of Man standing at the right hand of God." That is either all he saw or all he described of what he saw. That's it. (2) John – who wrote Revelations. (3) Paul in 2 Corinthians 12:2-4. Paul, "whether in the body or out of the body", he did not know, was "caught up into Paradise and heard inexpressible words, which it is not lawful for a man to utter."
These are the only 3 accounts. Now Paul, who roughly wrote a third of the New Testament, was not allowed to tell us what he saw in heaven. Even with that inability to tell us, he was given a "thorn in the flesh" in 2 Corinthians 12:7, so that he would not become prideful - "And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me". Paul wasn't even allowed to say, and even then we was given a thorn in the flesh to prevent pride. How then is it that Don Piper is allowed to give us such a detailed account?
Don’t waste your time with this book. You are much better off looking at something like “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Dickey
After listening to the CD... it was worth hearing Don Piper's description of heaven, even if it was only a brief moment that he used to take us where he was. After all, he said it was difficult to describe, he couldn't find words in our vocabulary to give us a perfect picture... and if he did... we may have not have noticed the same things in only 90 minutes.His experience made me feel like I was there... and gave me such peace and hope after losing my mother-in-law in a tragic accident. I'm certain she wouldn't have wanted to survive in the horrible state her body was in. I know that heaven exists, and Don Piper made heaven even more real!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tina Rickett
Interesting , the book is more about the injury and the recovery of Mr. Piper. It is a good book.I did think when I ordered the book that it would be more about his experience in Heaven. So from this stand point I was somewhat disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy Burch
The only thing better than the book is hearing Don Piper tell his dramatic story! I lost both my grown sons to sudden death. I knew they were in a better place, but struggled with my sorrow over my and their families' loss and my son's lives cut short. I have received much comfort and joy knowing they are in such an awe-inspiring place with their loved ones who went before them, and knowing they'll all be there, waiting for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sean Carpenter
It is an excellent book. His testimony is honest and demonstrates power of God during incredible trials. It helped strengthen me in my walk with the Lord. I would recommend it to anyone that would read or listen to it on CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Karen
I appreciate the truthfulness and the openness of Don Piper's testimony, but most of all my heart and spirit were encouraged to hear an "eye witness" account of heaven. I, too, was hoping for more chapters on details about heaven, but Piper clearly told all he knew and could express. Many times he explains that it was difficult to find words to tell of what he had experienced. The rest of his story lets us know what he endured so that we might one day hear this story. The author's inflection and emphasis adds meaning to this oral version of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Duane Kilman
Very enjoyable, many things to look forward to in heaven. There are a lot of good lessons to be learned from Don Piper's testimony. A lot of things that people should remember and appreciate, but take for granted. This testimony is a good reminder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
kipacha
This was the most boring audiobook I've ever listened to. It was very repetitive and could have been condensed into 2 CDs. I can't imagine what the book must be like. There is only about 2 chapters on heaven and the rest is about his painful recovery. I didn't feel the author truly represented his feelings about the whole thing. He was too "spiritual" about his anger with God. Instead of saying he was angry with God, he said he just didn't understand why God returned him to earth to live a life full of pain. I feel that the author should be thankful he has access to modern medicine and new surgical methods. B/c God could have saved him in centuries past and his recovery would've been a lot more painful. I just got tired of him complaining and trying to sound all spiritual about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harold McNeil
We were given this book for Christmas, and did not put it down until finished. I am 72 years old, have been saved since age 11, have the assurance that I am going to heaven and will see Mom and Dad as well as many other friends and relatives. However, after reading this book, I look forward, with great excitement, to the experience. Friends and family members also have thanked me for recommending the book and have comments similar to mine. God bless Don Piper for having the courage to recover from the accident, and then to share the details of his life experiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
E. Holk
I lost my son 9 months ago. He was a 23 year old worship pastor at a growing community church in the Atlanta area. He died of leukemia. This book gave me a sense of peace that I needed. It's hard to put into words the pain associated with the grief from the loss of a child. The journey during his sickness and after his death tested our faith and everything we were ever taught about christian spirituality. The story of Heaven and the struggles Piper faced after being snatched from Heaven were relevant to everything we face even now. I indeed call him a minister of hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 90 Minutes in Heaven, Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
julie frisch
90 minutes in Heaven had very little to do with a visit to Heaven, and much more about complaining. I'm sure the title will sell the book, people want to know what lies ahead, but I bought it on CD, and listening to every detail of every pain hour after hour was not what I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.