Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather

Baker ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather

The ESV is the latest Bible version to appear in Cambridge's special wide-margin format.

The ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible is an enlargement of Cambridge's ESV Pitt Minion Bible. The text arrangement and pagination of the Bible text are identical but this edition uses enlarged text, has wide margins for personal notes, and is printed on paper that stands up well to note-taking. Another bonus for bible study is a more extensive concordance.

The English Standard Version is a literal translation from the original Bible texts, firmly rooted in the tradition of Tyndale and King James but without their archaic language. First published in 2001, it is extremely close in style to the Revised Standard Version and is well suited to public reading and memorization.

Features
  • Red-letter text for the words of Christ
  • Cross-references
  • Concordance
  • Maps
  • Ribbon marker
  • Smyth-sewn for durability—it lays flat when open
  • Gold page edges
  • Presentation page
  • 9.75" x 7.75" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Review 1 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful product - I love my new Bible!

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Josh
Location:Schaumburg, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cost of this Bible was a little high, but I intend to use it for the rest of my life. I am so thankful for the English Standard Version. It's a translation that is faithful to the original languages, and I find it easy to read and memorize. I love the ESV Study Bible. It's a great companion to this Cambridge because the ESV Study Bible has excellent comments, maps, illustrations, etc.
This Bible just has a great feel. The leather is very durable and flexible. The weight of the Bible is great too. The ESV Study Bible is large and heavy. This Cambridge is easy to carry. I like keeping the Bible in the original box (for protection) when I am not using it.
The font is easy enough to read. The margins are so handy for writing notes, though I haven't marked it up yet (I have a KJV wide-margin Cambridge as well).
I sometimes have a little difficulty finding a particular verse number quickly because of the formatting of the paragraphs, but I don't mind.
I would highly recommend this Bible to anyone who is serious about their study of the Word.
I feel so blessed to have such a beautiful copy of God's Word. I can't think of anything that I would change to make this particular product any better in it's quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cambridge ESV - NKVJ Wide Margin

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love my new Bible! It is exactly what I wanted. I am looking foward to using it for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As Good As It Gets

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Location:Clinton, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ESV Wide Margin Bible from Cambridge is one of the great Preaching/Devotional Bibles in print today.
How many ESV Wide-Margin Bibles have great paper, readible font, lined paper in the back and a wonderful goatskin cover?
The anwser is easy... ONE!
I know alot of people get bent out of shape over font size; however, there is so much more that goes into readability than just font size.
First, the paper in this edition is white and bright; that goes a long way in making the Bible readible. That is because white and bright paper causes the black ink on the page to leap off the page. Also, there is plenty of margin space for note taking
Second, Cambridge has become masters of finding the perfect font size for their editions. They combine the right font size with "leading" (This is the space between letters).
These things have also allowed this edition to remain fairly thin. So this editon can be taken to church with out giving you a workout.
The only drawback with this Bible is that the ribbons start to fray right out of the box; but this is not enough to take away the 5 star review this Bible deserves.
Be Encouraged:-)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleased so far.

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
doghillpolicechief
Location:West Tennessee
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is much better to understand, yet still seems to be a good translation. There is plenty of room to write around the margins. The text is not too small either. The Bible is a little wider than I expected... I call it my "photo album". But it has grown on me and overall, I'm very pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible with small print

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick Reynolds
Location:Kennewick, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This follows Cambridge's tradition of producing wide margin Bibles to match their Pitt Minons. These have generous margins for note taking, doodling, and personal reflections. The down side is that the type face is very small. Fortunately the Pitt Minon typeface is very readable in spite of its size, but the buyer needs to be aware that is is a very small type that may not be useful to older eyes.
Due to the margins the Bible is somewhat large, almost square in shape. For carrying around the Pitt Minon is much more practical; for studying at home, the Wide Margin is much more practical for study and reflection.
The calfskin is subtle and limp; the smythe sewn binding is wonderful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible small print

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick Reynolds
Location:Kennewick, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This follows Cambridge's tradition of producing wide margin Bibles to match their Pitt Minons. These have generous margins for note taking, doodling, and personal reflections. The down side is that the type face is very small. Fortunatley the Pitt Minon typeface is very readable in spite of its size, but the buyer needs to be aware that is is a very small type that may not be useful to older eyes.
Due to the margins the Bible is somewhat large, almost square in shape. For carrying around the Pitt Minon is much more practical; for studying at home, the Wide Margin is much more practical for study and reflection.
The calfskin is subtle and limp; the smythe sewn binding is wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The very finest ESV reference Bible available!

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Theologian77
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible with the intent of keeping notes in the margins. I love the Bible so much that I cannot bring myself to write in it however. It is a must as a family heirloom Bible to leave to your generations that follow. I love to read it, hold it and though it should not matter, it even smells great! If you can afford them, buy two. One to keep as an heirloom and another to use for daily study and research.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Gish
Location:Bartlett, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly like I wanted! Great Product! My daughter wanted an easy to read bible that had a wide margin for taking notes and I am very pleased with the quality of the item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great binding, print too small and condensed.

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
DavidT
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bible with its strong binding and beautiful goatskin leather is a beauty and for the most part I love it. There is room around all of the text for notes and you also have several blank pages in the back for more notes. I have a few complaints though, the pages are pretty thin and start to curl with use or writing (but they're not opaque or very prone to bleed through). The next complaint is that the font is pretty small and the paragraphs are condensed together enough that you can't really underline a passage, verse or word without covering part of the next line below, you are limited to just highlighting what you want.
If they would move away from using the same paging layout as the Pit Minion and made this with slightly larger text and more line spacing it would pretty much be the perfect bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marika Dipcsu
I can not say enough about his Bible. It feels so comfortable in my hands, and is a Beauty to behold, as the quality is seen through and through. The font is a nice size...for my 40(+) year old eyes. As well, I just want to mention, the goatskin makes the Bible worth every penny, (as until you have held it in your hands) it feels like a much loved partner to your hands no matter how you hold it. It smells so rich, just as the quality shows, and the fact that it holds God's precious Words, makes this a treasure today, as well, will be a family heirloom in many many years to come. This Bible is nothing more...than sent from Heaven above. Thank you Cambridge -for the quality that will last and last! (and thank you CBS- for supplying this superb Bible.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Wide-Margin Reference Bible, Brown Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
mark Barrett
I love the ESV and this is the best constructed bible I have ever seen. The print could be a little bigger but other than that it is a great buy, you will not be disappointed. The note pages in the back are a huge blessing if you like to write and the margins are excellent... 5 stars easy! Thank you CDB for getting great Christian materials to the front-lines at affordable prices!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.