Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1

Whitaker House Publishers Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1

Life gets a lot harder for Amish midwife Kristi Lapp when a buggy wreck lands her in the hospital and leaves her with a pronounced limp. Among her biggest concerns is the well-being of her dog, Chinook, as she is no longer able to keep up with the high-energy Siberian husky. Adding insult to injury, she fears she'll never marry for love, for what man would willingly wed a woman who needs help with even the most basic of household tasks?

Shane Zimmerman moved to Seymour for a fresh start. The veterinarian is still reeling from the loss of his young wife, who died in childbirth-an aneurysm, the autopsy determined, but he still blames the midwife and the herbal remedies she administered. He meets his next-door neighbor, Kristi, when he discovers her wrecked buggy and takes her to the hospital. Eager to deepen the friendship that forms between them, he offers to take care of exercising her dog. But the harsh words of Kristi's father discourage him from pursuing a relationship further-for the time being. Shane isn't Amish, although his grandparents were, and Ira Lapp would rather his daughter marry an aging Amish widower than a young Englischer.

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Review 1 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a surprising ending! I loved it.

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristi Lapp, an Amish midwife, and Shane Zimmerman, an English veterinarian new to the area, meet when he notices her buggy turned over in a ditch. He stops to make sure no one is hurt and discovers Kristi. She's unconscious and he calls to have her transported to the hospital. Her parents are out of town so he stays with her daily until they return. When her parents return and her daed sees an attraction forming he demands that Shane stay away from Kristi.
Shane tries to stay away from Kristi but it seems circumstances keep throwing them together. Kristi has a Siberian husky, Chinook, who needs exercise daily so Shane takes over doing that since Kristi can't walk and will need a lot of therapy. Even though they are each falling for the other, there are some things that are keeping them apart, she's Amish and he's English with Amish grandparents, neither one knows if they want to 'change' or if they want to ask the other to 'change'. Next is the fact that she's a midwife, he blames a midwife for the death of his wife and baby. Finally Kristi's daed is determined to marry her off to a good Amish man, even if he's already had three wives and has many children.
I had been wanting this book for a long time, as well as the next two in the series. When I won the third book I mentioned that I was going to buy the first two and Laura was kind enough to send them to me, she really blessed me by doing so. I really enjoyed this book and I'm looking forward to reading the last two, Surrendered Love and Awakened Love. I would highly recommend this series to anyone that like reading Amish books.
Oh, did I mention the fact that I was VERY surprised at the ending, I think you will be too. Wonderful job Laura!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
This review is fromHealing Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life gets a lot harder for Amish midwife Kristi Lapp when a buggy wreck lands her in the hospital and leaves her with a pronounced limp. Among her biggest concerns is the well–being of her dog, Chinook, as she is no longer able to keep up with the high–energy Siberian husky. Adding insult to injury, she fears she’ll never marry for love, for what man would willingly wed a woman who needs help with even the most basic of household tasks?
Shane Zimmerman moved to Seymour for a fresh start. The veterinarian is still reeling from the loss of his young wife, who died in childbirth—an aneurysm, the autopsy determined, but he still blames the midwife and the herbal remedies she administered. He meets his next–door neighbor, Kristi, when he discovers her wrecked buggy and takes her to the hospital. Eager to deepen the friendship that forms between them, he offers to take care of exercising her dog. But the harsh words of Kristi’s father discourage him from pursuing a relationship further—for the time being. Shane isn't Amish, although his grandparents were, and Ira Lapp would rather his daughter marry an aging Amish widower than a young Englischer.
Despite all the forces that would keep them apart, Kristi and Shane can’t deny the strong attraction between them. So, their on–again, off–again relationship persists, as Kristi submits to physical therapy for her leg and Shane reevaluates his reasons for being Englisch. But will they find a way to stay together? Or are their differences too divisive to resolve?
My Review:
In life, the impossible is what challenges the human spirit. Whether it's in love, circumstances, or destinies we want to change; the indomitable essence of the vitality and substance of the heart cannot be changed or altered. When Kristi finds herself unable to do the simplest of tasks, life as she knows it comes to a screeching halt. Shane too, has pain in his past, and the differences between their lives seems impossible to bridge. Shane has a past that is waiting to be rediscovered. And Kristi has a past that echoes the reason why Shane no longer has a future.
I loved the tension between the characters in this book. So many times relationships are rendered virtually unthinkable because of pasts, presents, and futures. Hilton plays all the cards in this novel, drawing us into the story until we can't help but love every little bit of it. My only point of contention was how Kristi kept complaining about English food. I felt it was rather unnecessary, but it served it's purpose to show what kind of person she was. Great reading, very educational in terms of midwifery, and the drama building up to the story's resolution was wonderful!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life gets a lot harder for Amish midwife Kristi Lapp when a buggy wreck lands her in the hospital and leaves her with a pronounced limp. Among her biggest concerns is the well–being of her dog, Chinook, as she is no longer able to keep up with the high–energy Siberian husky. Adding insult to injury, she fears she’ll never marry for love, for what man would willingly wed a woman who needs help with even the most basic of household tasks?
Shane Zimmerman moved to Seymour for a fresh start. The veterinarian is still reeling from the loss of his young wife, who died in childbirth—an aneurysm, the autopsy determined, but he still blames the midwife and the herbal remedies she administered. He meets his next–door neighbor, Kristi, when he discovers her wrecked buggy and takes her to the hospital. Eager to deepen the friendship that forms between them, he offers to take care of exercising her dog. But the harsh words of Kristi’s father discourage him from pursuing a relationship further—for the time being. Shane isn't Amish, although his grandparents were, and Ira Lapp would rather his daughter marry an aging Amish widower than a young Englischer.
Despite all the forces that would keep them apart, Kristi and Shane can’t deny the strong attraction between them. So, their on–again, off–again relationship persists, as Kristi submits to physical therapy for her leg and Shane reevaluates his reasons for being Englisch. But will they find a way to stay together? Or are their differences too divisive to resolve?
My Review:
In life, the impossible is what challenges the human spirit. Whether it's in love, circumstances, or destinies we want to change; the indomitable essence of the vitality and substance of the heart cannot be changed or altered. When Kristi finds herself unable to do the simplest of tasks, life as she knows it comes to a screeching halt. Shane too, has pain in his past, and the differences between their lives seems impossible to bridge. Shane has a past that is waiting to be rediscovered. And Kristi has a past that echoes the reason why Shane no longer has a future.
I loved the tension between the characters in this book. So many times relationships are rendered virtually unthinkable because of pasts, presents, and futures. Hilton plays all the cards in this novel, drawing us into the story until we can't help but love every little bit of it. My only point of contention was how Kristi kept complaining about English food. I felt it was rather unnecessary, but it served it's purpose to show what kind of person she was. Great reading, very educational in terms of midwifery, and the drama building up to the story's resolution was wonderful!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A pleasure to read

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
cjajsmom
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Healing Love" is the most enjoyable book I have read in quite a while. Both Kristi and Shane are characters you would want to have as neighbors. Their journey to love was compelling to read. This book will put a smile on your face. In the midst of their own trials, Kristi and Shane portray godly character as they seek the best for the other, putting aside the longings in their own hearts. There are few authors whose books I look forward to reading, and Laura Hilton is among them. I'm sure the other books in this series will not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating Amish Romance

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first book in The Amish of Webster County series, Healing Love, is captivating. Well written characters, strong romantic pull and the conflict of Amish and Englischer kept my attention to the very end. I found this book hard to put down and could not figure out which way the story was going to go. Would Kristi choose to leave her Amish family and be shunned? Or would Shane give up the life he was used to and turn Amish in order to be with Kristi? The author surprised me and kept me guessing till the end. I recommend this book to any fans of Amish fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great writing.

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mammoo
Location:Galesburg, ill
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book. Had to keep reading so I could get to the end. I love stories about the Amish. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves fiction reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Is Patient!

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristi Lapp is an Amish midwife who is injured in a buggy accident. Her English neighbor Shane Zimmerman happens upon the accident on his way home from his Veterinarian practice. He phones for an ambulance after finding Kristi bleeding profusely from an injury to her leg.
Shane takes it upon himself to visit Kristi while she is hospitalized. He’s confused to why he is drawn to her. Kristi also finds herself drawn to Shane. Both know that coming from different backgrounds, Kristi being Amish and Shane being English; nothing could ever come of their attraction to each other.
When Shane finds out that Kristi is a midwife he knows for sure that a relationship between them could never happen. Shane doesn’t want anything to do with midwives because of a painful memory in his past. But yet, the attraction is there.
As the story continues Kristi’s Father notices Shane’s attraction to Kristi and Kristi’s attraction to Shane. Ira Lapp warns Shane to stay away from Kristi.
Will Shane and Kristi’s attraction grow into love or will they realize it is a forbidden issue and go their separate ways?
This is not the first Amish fiction book that I have read by this author. I loved every one of them. Healing Love did not disappoint me. I was drawn in from page one and the story kept building right to the last page. I would highly recommend this book to all Amish fiction lovers.
Thank you Laura V. Hilton for another delightful read. I’m looking forward to your next published book.
This book was provided by Whitaker House for review purposes. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

story of love and persistence

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura V. Hilton has written a masterful piece of Amish fiction. I loved this book, but I sure did get mad at her Uncle Timothy and her daed for always butting into her romantic interests! It seems very unfair that an Amish person can not look to the Englisch for marriage or even friendship among the opposite sex. I was also surprised that Kristi's injury which left her with a limp and forced to use a cane would be of such concern to Amish men. They seemed to feel that she could no longer handle the responsibilities of an Amish home. The ending rather surprised me and I am anxious for a second book to be published so that I can find out what happens to Shane and Kristi. I highly recommend this book to readers! Thank you so much for writing a beautiful story of love and persistence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully crafted story from beginning to end

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Ohio
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura Hilton's new series is off to a auspicous start with Healing Love. Her multi-dimensional characters leap from the pages to lodge firmly in readers' hearts until the story's conclusion. I couldn't put the book down once I started. Fans of inspirational fiction will eagerly await book two in the Amish of Webster County series. I plan to be first in line!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Despite the odds

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Healing Love is the perfect title for this book since it all starts with Kristi Lapp's buggy wreck. I wanted her to be able to marry her true love even though he wasn't Amish.
Shane Zimmerman, a vet who care for Kristi's dog is her match made in heaven, but her choice of being a midwife is a huge obstacle for him.
I was privileged to be able to read these chapters as they were written and until the end wasn't sure if Laura V. Hilton could end this story on a satisfying note. And if she could, how??? I won't write more, you'll need to read Healing Love to find out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Healing Love, Amish of Webster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Wonderful Amish Read

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A story about the choices we are willing to make for love.
Kristi Lapp's takes a sharp turn, when she is hit by a car, that ends up breaking her leg so that it is hard for her to take care of her Siberian Husky, Chinook.
Shane is a war veteran and veterinarian, and an Englisher, who offers to help Kristi with her dog.
As their friendship grows Kristi and Shane struggle to keep their feelings in check.
I really liked Ms. Hilton's writing voice, this is the first time for me actually reading something by this author after hearing some great things about her :)
I think that the characters were well developed and I liked how they both tried to keep their feelings in check, and to respect that they were from different worlds. I also thought that they interacted well, and I liked how they always seemed to run into each other even though they were sort of avoiding each other to some extent.
I think that there were many details in the book's setting that were really realistic to what Amish is like, and I like how it showed the Amish doing normal things like going to McDonalds :)
Overall, I think that this was a sweet Amish romance, that was well written, and had some great leading characters. A book that I would recommend to fans of Amish fiction :)
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.