Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2

Whitaker House Publishers Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2

Life gets a lot harder for Amish midwife Kristi Lapp when a buggy wreck lands her in the hospital and leaves her with a pronounced limp. Among her biggest concerns is the well-being of her dog, Chinook, as she is no longer able to keep up with the high-energy Siberian husky. Adding insult to injury, she fears she'll never marry for love, for what man would willingly wed a woman who needs help with even the most basic of household tasks?

Shane Zimmerman moved to Seymour for a fresh start. The veterinarian is still reeling from the loss of his young wife, who died in childbirth-an aneurysm, the autopsy determined, but he still blames the midwife and the herbal remedies she administered. He meets his next-door neighbor, Kristi, when he discovers her wrecked buggy and takes her to the hospital. Eager to deepen the friendship that forms between them, he offers to take care of exercising her dog. But the harsh words of Kristi's father discourage him from pursuing a relationship further-for the time being. Shane isn't Amish, although his grandparents were, and Ira Lapp would rather his daughter marry an aging Amish widower than a young Englischer.

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Review 1 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this story!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could hardly set this book down! For a romantic at heart such as myself, this book was everything I want in a story. There is attraction, romance, secrets, guilt, forgiveness and a troubled teenage cousin constantly needing supervision. What more could you ask for?
Janna and Troy are both such likeable characters. An Amish young woman and a formerly Amish young man, separated by the fact that he jumped the fence years earlier for reasons known only to him. When they meet up again years later, the attraction that was once there between them hums to life. But how can a relationship work between them? I just loved that the author has the attraction zinging between the main characters within the first few pages of the book and it just keeps growing throughout the chapters.
This story had great twists and turns. It is book two in the Amish of Webster County series. I really enjoyed book one, Healing Love. But I have to say that I absolutely adored this book! What a great series. I look forward to reading the next book, Awakened Love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I did NOT want to put this book down!

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While Jenna Kauffman is doing the personal shopping for the homebound in her Amish community she thinks she recognizes the policeman as the boy she'd always hoped to marry and drops oranges all over the floor. Troy Troyer, better known to the Amish as Hiram Troyer, ran away as a teenager and knows he'll never return to the Amish, he would never be accepted back even if he tried to.
Jenna is co-guardian, along with her parents, to her niece Meghan. Jenna's sister left the Amish also and now she can't handle Meghan so she sent her to live with Jenna and her parents. Well as Jenna leaves the store she's confronted by two police officers, one of which is 'Troy' Troyer. It seems Meghan hasn't even been in town two weeks and is already getting in trouble, as she continues with her shenanigans, Jenna and Troy seem to be thrown together a lot.
Jenna discovers she is still interested in Troy and Troy seems to reciprocate those feelings. Things can't go any further though because he has a secret and can't bring himself to tell anyone, that's the end of it. As if his emotions aren't tearing him up enough he accidentally shoots Jenna's daed.
What a great book! I hated to put this one down. How many times do we, as humans, do things and then regret them later and can't forgive ourselves? If we can't forgive ourselves how will anyone else forgive us, even if they are family or someone we love? We have to remember that all we have to do is ask God for forgiveness and then we need to forgive ourselves, we can do this with God's help if we just ask him.
Needless to say, I'm starting the next book, "Awakened Love", as soon as I'm done writing this review. I would encourage you to get your hands on this series, you will really enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
This review is fromSurrendered Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janna Kauffman enjoys her job as a personal shopper for the homebound in her Amish community. But when Janna's niece, Meghan, comes to live with her family—part of a plan by Janna's sister to rid her daughter of her rebellious ways—Janna spends less time shopping and more time explaining Meghan's erratic behavior to local police officer Hiram "Troy" Troyer, who was raised Amish but left the faith after a fatal accident that killed his brother and also a brother of Janna's. Frequent interactions draw Janna and Troy together, rekindling an attraction they first experienced in their youth.
What will become of their relationship? And will headstrong Meghan ever tame her ways?
My Review:
Topping the first novel in The Amish of Webster County was certainly a task - but Hilton managed to pull it off with a flourish! I didn't particularly care for the fact that the author bring into play the same elements as her last novel - Amish girl versus man with Amish roots. But it's part of the formula that makes the magic happen in these novels, so who am I to judge?
I did enjoy that Hilton brings a completely different flavor to the series, by not serving us the traditional Amish dish. It's not every day that a woman like Janna gets to explain to a former Amishman who is now the law why her niece is getting into so much trouble. With Jenna's father being the bishop, anything can happen, and I was holding my breath throughout the entire novel. It is a beautiful love story that hooks you from the very first page, and like a lover, draws you until you are utterly and completely lost within...
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janna Kauffman enjoys her job as a personal shopper for the homebound in her Amish community. But when Janna's niece, Meghan, comes to live with her family—part of a plan by Janna's sister to rid her daughter of her rebellious ways—Janna spends less time shopping and more time explaining Meghan's erratic behavior to local police officer Hiram "Troy" Troyer, who was raised Amish but left the faith after a fatal accident that killed his brother and also a brother of Janna's. Frequent interactions draw Janna and Troy together, rekindling an attraction they first experienced in their youth.
What will become of their relationship? And will headstrong Meghan ever tame her ways?
My Review:
Topping the first novel in The Amish of Webster County was certainly a task - but Hilton managed to pull it off with a flourish! I didn't particularly care for the fact that the author bring into play the same elements as her last novel - Amish girl versus man with Amish roots. But it's part of the formula that makes the magic happen in these novels, so who am I to judge?
I did enjoy that Hilton brings a completely different flavor to the series, by not serving us the traditional Amish dish. It's not every day that a woman like Janna gets to explain to a former Amishman who is now the law why her niece is getting into so much trouble. With Jenna's father being the bishop, anything can happen, and I was holding my breath throughout the entire novel. It is a beautiful love story that hooks you from the very first page, and like a lover, draws you until you are utterly and completely lost within...
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love And Forgiveness!

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surrendered Love is a book that touched my heart deeply. While I know it is fiction it contains a wonderful message. The main characters in this book Janna Kauffman and Troy (Hiram) Troyer are both searching for love.
Troy is harboring secrets from the past. Will he be able to seek forgiveness from God and those he caused deep hurt? Can he forgive himself?
Will Janna be able to accept Troy's hidden secrets and forgive him?
This book caused me to stop and ponder about my past. Have I truly forgiven myself? I know my God has forgiven me but have I truly let past issues go?
By the end of this book tears blocked my vision as I tried to read. I like to think they were healing tears. The author Laura V Hilton never fails to challenge me in the books she writes. God is working through her and using her to share the "Good News". Thank you Laura for touching my heart through your books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A wonderful Amish story about forgiveness. Janna is a personal shopper for several ladies in her community and on a shopping trip in town she sees Troy, a man who left the community to pursue his dream of becoming a police officer and wonders why he is back. He spots Janna and realizes those old feelings for her are still there. Their paths cross when Troy arrests the Bishops granddaughter for shoplifting. The fun begins! I didn't want to put the book down, it's such an entertaining read.
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book two in the Amish of Webster County Series, introduces us to Janna Kauffman. She has a job as a personal shopper for the Amish in her community. She loves her job, but is dismayed at the trouble her niece Meghan is getting into. This trouble re-connect Janna with an old friend Troy Troyer. A former Amish man who left the faith after the death of his brother and Janna's brother. A story of two people learning to deal with their own issues, while trying to help a troubled girl. This story will keep you fascinated. An avid fan of Laura's books, I promise this book will not disappoint you on any level. A beautiful story, with believable characters it is a book to include in your personal library. While this book is book two of a series, it easily can stand alone with nothing being lost in no reading book one. This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breathtaking & Unpredictable!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura V. Hilton artfully creates a poignant Amish tale of forbidden love and tragedy in this heart pounding narrative. "Surrendered Love" reveals a previously unspoken attraction between the bishop's daughter and a young, formerly Amish policeman, that threatens verboten passion as they acknowledge their intense feelings for one another. The beauty of the Amish farms and countryside are pictorial, and present the backdrop for this story of a young Amish couple seeking common ground.
The author presents a beautiful story of love and desire between her characters that continues to escalate. A poorly behaved Englisch niece adds numerous complications to the lives of the characters in this story. Past trauma, bad judgment and guilt are brought to the surface and openly examined. Those past mistakes and guilt are dealt with through the love and mercy of God and His forgiveness. Honesty and accountability are two qualities that stand out in this story of errors in judgment and the ensuing consequences and guilt that accompany those errors, both in actions and in perception. This is a beautifully crafted story of complexities in human nature, and the ways that faith and forgiveness bring beauty from ashes. Breathtaking, remarkable and unpredictable Amish fiction!
I highly recommend "Surrendered Love" if you love Amish fiction, or romantic fiction. This is the second in a series, but is also a wonderful stand alone book.
Disclaimer: For the purposes of FTC compliance, I hereby state that I have no vested financial interest in this book, and I have received no monetary compensation from the author or publisher. I received a PDF copy of this book from the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learning To Accept

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura V Hilton has done it again, another wonderful Amish story. It reinstates the fact that the hardest person to forgive is oneself.
Janna Kauffman has become a personal shopper for several people in her Amish Community. While she is shopping she spots someone from her past, or is it him?
Hiram "Troy" Troyer, has left his Amish roots and become a policeman. He has some hidden demons that he hasn't dealt with. When he spots Janna, he remembers that he has deep and forgotten feelings for her.
Also living with the Kauffman family, are the Bishops Granddaughter Meghan, who keeps them on their toes. She seems so unhappy, and when Troy ends up arresting her for shoplifting, um...she doesn't care much for him.
What happens in this mixed up tangle is a delightful read. You won't know what is coming next, and it will keep you turning pages. You will wonder right to the end about Megan, and what comes out is heartbreaking.
Will Troy and Janna be able to forge a relationship, or will Jenna become shunned for being with Troy? Will her Dad being a Bishop be able to accept Troy? Especially after???
Enjoy this visit with the Amish community, I did!
I received this book through First Wild Card Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this book~openness and discovery

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friday, March 1, 2013
Surrendered Love by Laura V. Hilton, ©2013
SHORT BOOK DESCRIPTION:
Janna Kauffman enjoys her job as a personal shopper for the homebound in her Amish community. But when Janna’s niece, Meghan, comes to live with her family—part of a plan by Janna’s sister to rid her daughter of her rebellious ways—Janna spends less time shopping and more time explaining Meghan’s erratic behavior to local police officer Hiram “Troy” Troyer, who was raised Amish but left the faith after a fatal accident that killed his brother and also a brother of Janna’s. Frequent interactions draw Janna and Troy together, rekindling an attraction they first experienced in their youth. What will become of their relationship? And will headstrong Meghan ever tame her ways?
Surrendered Love
The Amish of Webster County Book 2
Product Details:
Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Whitaker House (April 1, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1603745076
ISBN-13: 978-1603745079
***Special thanks to Cathy Hickling for sending me a review copy.***
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Amish romance writer Laura V. Hilton, of Horseshoe Bend, AR is a pastor’s wife, stay-at-home mother of five, homeschooler, breast cancer survivor and avid blogger. Her passion has long been the mission of Christian fiction, initially as a reviewer, but in the past two years as the author of four successful novels including The Amish of Seymour series (Patchwork Dreams, A Harvest of Hearts, and Promised to Another) and Healing Love, first of The Amish of Webster County. Her books have sold thousands of copies and garnered kudos from reviewers and readers alike with A Harvest of Hearts receiving the 2012 Laurel Award.
MY REVIEW:
I really enjoyed this book. With openness and discovery, each character finds out about their own lives and how they can go forward. One of my favorite characters was Meghan. She comes to trust and healing begins. Janna and Troy's families are unique. They reach out and are favorable models of temperament and examples to follow. They are direct but loving. Approachable. Janna and Troy are giving, which is a direct result of the care and love they have been given.
Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee. My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.
--Psalm 73:25-26 KJV
Being received, forgiving and forgiven, the families are able to move on beyond their pain and hurt. It is a good model for today to bring families together when disintegration seems to be all that is known.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Surrendered Love, Amish of Webster County Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Many interesting and likable characters

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet
Location:central Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed Surrendered Love by Laura V. Hilton. In this work, she has many interesting and likable characters, however, some of the events in this story seemed implausible to me which I found distracting. I felt the strongest scenes involved a teen-aged character named Meghan. Mrs. Hilton has portrayed Meghan's sassy personality very well with all of her shenanigans, attitude and dialog. All the details introduced throughout the book were wrapped up leaving a satisfying ending.
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.