Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3

Whitaker House Publishers Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3

Janna Kauffman's job is a personal shopper for the homebound in the Amish community, which she thoroughly enjoys. However, her focus is quickly shifted when her niece, Meghan, comes to live with her family in an attempt to straighten out her rebellious ways. Unfortunately, Meghan spends more time bailing Meghan out of scrapes and explaining her behavior to Hiram Troyer than she does attending to her job. "Troy" was raised Amish but left the faith after a fatal accident that killed his brother and also a brother of Janna's. Frequent interactions draw Janna and Troy together, rekindling an attraction they first experienced in their youth. What will become of their relationship? And will headstrong Meghan ever tame her ways?
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Review 1 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Found a new Amish Author to follow. Love this one!

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Detweiler is cursed. Cursed to wind up alone and a maidel while everyone else around her falls in love and gets married. At first, she didn't believe it, but the more her friend Patsy reminded her, the more she began to believe that the lot in life that was falling over her was due to being cursed. Losing her brother Noah in a freak accident has left her growing up alone and has caused her mother to remain in depressed state, leaving her and her father behind to stay with family away from the place that brings only loneliness and sadness.
Katie has always wanted to take part in the courtship of the Amish like all her friends, but soon realizes that dream will never come true. Patsy has asked her to stand up as part of her wedding part when she learns that Micah's cousin is in town. To Patsy that means all bets are off and she will stop at nothing to ensure that her and Abram Hilty are married this year. Too bad Abram isn't aware of that plan. Leaving his family to avoid his own past, Abram can't help but notice Katie. She's not like all the other girls he has met, that throw themselves at him, but instead seems to not be attracted to his good looks at all. Now if he can only convince her that he is interested.
When Katie notices Abram's persistent ways to be around her, she believes that he isn't really interested in her, but probably wants to date Patsy. However, Abram manages to persuade Katie that it is her that he wants to date and no one else. But because Katie has grown up believing she is cursed, she believes it's just a prank being played on her by the Amish boys. It will take a lot of convincing on Abram's part and if Patsy has it her way, it will never happen. Things are going to definitely get interesting to say the very least.
I received Awakened Love by Laura V. Hilton compliments of Whitaker House Publishers and Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This is the third book in The Amish of Webster County and it's a mix of Amish Romance, coupled with a twist of suspense as both Abram's and Katie's past come back to disrupt their lives in ways neither one could ever manage. I literally inhaled this one in a couple of hours. This is a first novel with Laura V. Hilton but it definitely won't be my last. I will be going back to read the first two in this series! Her writing style is very easy going and keeps you hooked from the very beginning all the way to the end. I didn't want it to end. With that being said, it's easy to give Awakened Love a true 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kept me intrigued from start to finish

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, I was drawn into this latest Amish of Webster County book. I found myself in the same situation as before...hardly able to set the book down because I was so intent on finding out what was going to happen next!
This story follows Katie Detweiler. She is a shy girl, without very much confidence. She doesn't truly realize how accomplished or pretty she is. This is party because of the influence of a jealous girl in the community who continually belittles Katie. When the new man in town, Abram Hilty, begins to fall for Katie, she is unsure about whether she can really trust him or the feelings that he stirs within her.
Abram has problems of his own. There are things in his past that he is running from. I was just so very curious throughout the book about what he was running from. It was clear that he was a good man, with good intentions. But there was this heaviness hanging over him whenever he thought about his home community that he had fled from.
I won't say more about the plot, as I don't want to spoil anyone's read by divulging the twists and turns of the story. I really enjoyed returning to the community and also getting to see how the two couples from the first two books are doing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST read, the whole series is great!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Detweiler is very bashful and is verbally bullied by Patsy Swartz. She manages the the bakery/deli at a local bed and breakfast and is beginning to think she'll never marry and have a family. When Abram Hilty comes to stay with his relatives in Seymour, Missouri he sees Katie and is immediately attracted to her, but so is his cousin Micah.
Abram tries everything to convince Katie that she will someday be his frau. She doesn't believe him since he has a girlfriend back home in Shipshewana, Indiana and Patsy keeps telling her that she's courting him and they are going to get married. Katie feels like he is wanting to court her because of a dare and everyone in the community is laughing at her.
Abram is keeping something secret and when Katie discovers a secret about herself her world is turned upside down. Abram is very supportive until he is ordered back to Shipshewana by the Bishops there.
I didn't think this book could be any better than "Surrendered Love" but I was wrong. Abram so reminded my of my husband when we first met, he was determined that we would be married after only knowing each other for a couple of weeks but I kept telling him no. Well we were married five months after meeting and have now been married 42 1/2 years, so he did win. We didn't have the complications that Katie and Abram had though, so that is where the story differs to begin with.
Laura may have outdone herself with this series, I loved, loved, loved it! This is one of those series that I feel you must start with the first book as the main characters, the girls, are best friends so each book is a continuance of the previous one, sort of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
This review is fromAwakened Love - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bashful Baker
Twenty–one–year–old Katie Detweiler loves to bake. When she's hired at a local bed–and–breakfast to do just that, she's excited, especially because the owner promises the shy young woman that she won't have to leave the kitchen. But when her boss's husband requires round–the–clock care, Katie is forced to overcome her shyness and wait on customers, as well. Before long, a "customer" reveals himself to be a private investigator who informs Katie that she was adopted, and that her biological sister needs a bone marrow transplant.
A Man on the Run
Twenty–two–year–old Abram Hilty has fled the drama of Shipshewana, Indiana, for Seymour, Missouri, where he's staying with his cousin Micah Graber. His plan is to hide, from a girl he no longer cares about—and also from a cold–blooded killer. Uncomfortable sharing his past and afraid of the consequences, he buries his troubles deep inside. When he meets Katie Detweiler, he is immediately attracted, but his pursuit of her is complicated by the problems of his past.
An Adventure Unfolds
As Katie wrestles with questions of identity, she also struggles to navigate her blossoming romance with Abram, in the face of opposition from a jealous friend. As their relationship becomes more serious, Abram can no longer conceal the truth about his past. But parts of that past rear their heads, barring the way for a marriage between them—at least for now. Through dangers and near–death experiences, Katie and Abram must find their way back to each other. But only the power of forgiveness can bring them together for good.
My Review:
Finally! A drama with some different elements! Hilton's stories just get better and better. There is a certain credibility that is starting to shape her novels, and I felt this story was very creative and original. You can feel Katie's shyness through the pages, and you sympathize with her plight when she finds out the truth of her past. Every question or doubt she has ever had bubbles to the surface, and she doesn't know what to think or how to feel about the sudden turn of events.
Then there is Abram on the run, with enough trouble following him to completely eradicate the idea of getting involved with Katie. Despite their unthinkable circumstances, the Abram/Katie relationship kept me involved in the story until the very end. Keeping my attention is somewhat difficult the more I read and review books, but this novel was a refreshing change of pace and a pleasure to read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bashful Baker
Twenty–one–year–old Katie Detweiler loves to bake. When she's hired at a local bed–and–breakfast to do just that, she's excited, especially because the owner promises the shy young woman that she won't have to leave the kitchen. But when her boss's husband requires round–the–clock care, Katie is forced to overcome her shyness and wait on customers, as well. Before long, a "customer" reveals himself to be a private investigator who informs Katie that she was adopted, and that her biological sister needs a bone marrow transplant.
A Man on the Run
Twenty–two–year–old Abram Hilty has fled the drama of Shipshewana, Indiana, for Seymour, Missouri, where he's staying with his cousin Micah Graber. His plan is to hide, from a girl he no longer cares about—and also from a cold–blooded killer. Uncomfortable sharing his past and afraid of the consequences, he buries his troubles deep inside. When he meets Katie Detweiler, he is immediately attracted, but his pursuit of her is complicated by the problems of his past.
An Adventure Unfolds
As Katie wrestles with questions of identity, she also struggles to navigate her blossoming romance with Abram, in the face of opposition from a jealous friend. As their relationship becomes more serious, Abram can no longer conceal the truth about his past. But parts of that past rear their heads, barring the way for a marriage between them—at least for now. Through dangers and near–death experiences, Katie and Abram must find their way back to each other. But only the power of forgiveness can bring them together for good.
My Review:
Finally! A drama with some different elements! Hilton's stories just get better and better. There is a certain credibility that is starting to shape her novels, and I felt this story was very creative and original. You can feel Katie's shyness through the pages, and you sympathize with her plight when she finds out the truth of her past. Every question or doubt she has ever had bubbles to the surface, and she doesn't know what to think or how to feel about the sudden turn of events.
Then there is Abram on the run, with enough trouble following him to completely eradicate the idea of getting involved with Katie. Despite their unthinkable circumstances, the Abram/Katie relationship kept me involved in the story until the very end. Keeping my attention is somewhat difficult the more I read and review books, but this novel was a refreshing change of pace and a pleasure to read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Page Turner

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an amazing read. Just when you think you know mainly what the book it about, something else is thrown into the mix. Ok...then there is more, and then more. Not just a regular Amish romance story, although there is one, along with the bad, nasty, girl involved.
Katie Detweiler is a shy, sweet Amish woman, she works at a B & B, as the cook. Katie's life is about to make a big change, she has been raised Amish by two wonderful parents, who love her. She did loose her beloved brother Noah in a tragic accident. Now life is about to change forever.
Entering into this Missouri community is Abram Hilty, he is her visiting his Aunt and Uncle. He has a secret he is running from, but there is a much larger secret too.
Will these two souls be able to forge a relationship together? Will Katie's future end up pulling her from her Amish Community? Will Abram be able to work out his problems? Or will he end up like his cousin?
There are some really scary things that happen, and some really big surprises. This book does not disappoint nor does it loose your attention, and becomes a real page turner.
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't Stop Reading

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dali
Location:SB, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began reading Awakened Love, I told myself, "One chapter tonight and that's it." Impossible! I couldn't put it down till I had read it straight through. What's the allure of this book?
Wondering if there's any hope of love for the shy & sheltered Katie Detweiler and the self-assured Abram Hilty. In order to find out, you need to fasten your seatbelt and get ready for a great ride as the story unfolds with romance, mystery, humor, & unexpected twists & turns. You won't be disappointed & in typical Laura V. Hilton style, you'll be guessing till the very end! And possibly, like me, once you start it, you'll have a hard time putting it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets Unfold!

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Detweiler is a shy young Amish woman who enjoys baking for a local bed & breakfast. The solace in the kitchen fulfills her desire to be out of the mainstream. Due to unforeseen circumstances she is needed to work in the dining room which is out of her comfort zone. A frequent visitor to the dining room at the B & B is a private investigator who reveals shocking family information about Katie. His revelation shakes Katie to the core, and leads her to troubling discoveries. Katie has always been labeled as having a "curse," and these discoveries only confirm her fears.
Abram Hilty has recently moved to Missouri to stay with relatives. The young Amish man's purpose is to escape troubling situations at home in Indiana. Fleeing a murder scene and an aggressive girlfriend, he needs time to contemplate his future. Abram is hired by Katie's father to work on the family farm. Upon meeting, sparks fly between Katie and Abram, and it's love at first sight. An impassioned relationship develops and develops too quickly. Ultimately Katie's family revelations and Abram's unknown past create numerous obstacles that threaten their relationship. Abram is passionate, and determined to win Katie's hand in marriage, but the need for self-examination and seeking God's will through prayer require them to meet their challenges independent of one another.
Laura V. Hilton has broached numerous intense issues in Awakened Love, creating multi-faceted and detailed portrayals throughout this Amish romance. Low self esteem, bullying, unfolding secrets, passionate love, anxiety over past experiences and uncertainty for the future develop into a chronicle of suspense. The author reflects deep insight into the realities of life, and describes the events and her characters with richness and credibility. This is the last in the series of The Amish of Webster County, and it exceeded my expectations! Ms. Hilton continues to capture my undivided attention.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author for the express purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I couldn't put it down.

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Wakeman, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Awakened Love by Laura V. Hilton, and she did another wonderful job. I tried only reading a chapter or two at a time so I could make it last. However, today I just could not make myself stop. She had me so deep in the story cheering for the couple and crying with Katie that I had to know how it ended. Some of the books I have read lately get to be a chore, but this one was not. I enjoyed it from reading the preview lines to the last word. I hope we can visit Webster county again with Laura.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book..

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The young woman on this cover, makes you wonder if she will ever find love, and it fits the story very well. Katie, was so unsure of herself and so very shy, that most boys didn't try to come court her. That is until Abram Hilty showed up. A whirlwind rushing romance follows, but obstacles seemed determined to break Katie's heart. This book has more twists and turns than an Arkansas highway. A wonderful gut book! 5 stars 288 pages Available September 2, 2013
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Awakened Love, Amish of Webster County Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Has It All! (A 5 Star Book!)

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romance, Mystery, Twists & Turns describes Awakened Love. Author Laura V. Hilton has captured it all in this book. I loved the fact that this was not the typical boy meets girl romance. I was so engrossed in finding out what happened in the end, that many things were sadly neglected in my household while reading this book.
I loved that the author addressed some mean spirited issues among other issues that happens in everyday life. This Christian author does not neglect our need for God throughout the books that she pens. When a problem arises God is the first one that most of her characters turn to.
I enjoyed the main characters, Katie Detweiler and Abram Hilty. Katie reminded me of myself when I was growing up. We both lacked a back bone in certain situations. Does Katie finally get one? Abram also reminds me of someone in my life while I was growing up. I will not go into any details because I wouldn’t want to reveal any spoilers.
The first Amish fiction book that I read by Laura V. Hilton, I became a big fan. Her books keep getting better and better.
I hope that there will be another book that will continue after this one. I need to find out what happens to Katie and Abram.
If you haven’t read any books by Laura V. Hilton, I urge you to do so. I promise that you will not be disappointed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.