Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regal Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School

Regal Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School

* Public, private, homeschool---Christian parents face tough choices for their child's education. Help your kids thrive whatever their learning environment! Examining public school positives, this well-balanced resource reveals what Scripture says about education; three crucial things to teach your public-school child; the importance of parental involvement; and why everybody should homeschool in addition to public school. 224 pages, softcover from Regal.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Review 1 for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristin Sparkman
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. Really makes you feel better about sending your children to public school.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prepared for the mission

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exciting book for parents who are sending their children into the public school system. I read it in one session and really enjoyed it.
Prepare your child for the mission field of public schools. Equip them with the word of God and give the the tools necessary to thrive.
Not everyone has the option or feel compelled to home school. Not every one can afford a private school. However, that doesn't mean all is lost - or that you have no control of the education of your child. This one of a kind book, written by parents of a large family, encourages parents by giving practical ways to prepare your child for public school. The Pritchard's give parents three valuable lessons to instill in their children: (1) love God with all that they are; (2) Obey their parents completely; (3) self-control. Parents will learn what the bible says about education and their roll in the education process.
Although I homeschool our four children I found this book to be interesting. The principles taught are not only applicable for public educated children but for all children. Whether home schooled, private schooled or public schooled all children need to be trained and nurtured in Christ. The will be better prepared for life and confident in whom they believe in.
Excellent resource for any parent. After all, we all must "go public" at sometime, facing issues in the "real world" where the enemy lurks.
Thank you Regal Publishing for this review copy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Justin
This book was awesome. It's empowering and biblically based. In the church today parents get pity if they send their kids to public school. This book encourages you that public school is just as loving of a choice as home or private school systems. This book is a blessing to ANY parent with kids in any system.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Olivares
This book is WONDERFUL!! The encouragement it gives the parents sending their children to public school is candid, biblical, empowering, non-judgemental, and long overdue!! An absolute must-read for Christian parents raising children in the real world!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Scheetz
As an public school educator for 41 years I can not recommend this book more strongly. Every family, regardless of schooling experience or desire should read this "handbook" on how to raise strong Christian children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
As a Christian, I find myself having to defend our choice to send our daughters to public school. It becomes a bit frustrating to hear the criticism from other parents about public school when we've had a great experience. I was SO happy to finally find a book that points out all the positive aspects of public school and gives direction to us, as parents, on how to deal with staff and properly prepare our children. I would recommend this book to anyone trying to decide how to homeschool their children, or to anyone who is badgered by other Christians for not opting to homeschool or place children in private school. I love this book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Scheetz
As a retired public school educator(and Christian - but not retired), I cannot recommend this book more strongly for any and all Christian parents of school age children especially if they take their God given responsibility seriously.This is an excellent "handbook" of approach and ideas for "Starting(training) a child in the way he should go".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Going Public: Your Child Can Thrive in Public School
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mick & Jenny Daly
We read a pre-launch copy of "Going Public".It will be an invaluable tool for every Christian parent, whether they send their child to private school or public school, or they home school their child.Having known the Pritchards for more than 16 years, we flew our newly-married son and his wife to Centralia, to experience a few days in the Pritchard home. As a result, and with some direct mentoring by Kelli during one or two 'challenges' as young parents, Ben & Jennifer have a great marriage and excellent parenting skills. Their two young sons, Owen and Gavin, are fine examples of "the Pritchard method". Last year Ben and Jennifer moved Owen from a Christian preschool to the local public kindergarten. Now our younger son, Kevin, and his wife Erin, are ready for the same 'pilgrimage'. "Going Public" offers you a glimpse of life with the Pritchards. Thank God and thank you David, Kelli and family, for showing us all what God intended marriage and family to look like in this crazy world!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.