Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Focus on the Family Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country

Focus on the Family Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country

These 12 episodes will remind you why you're proud to be an American as you join Paul Revere on his famous midnight ride, meet President Abraham Lincoln as the United States is being torn in two, escape with runaway slaves on the secret Underground Railroad and witness how "The Star-Spangled Banner" was composed on a battlefield by dawn's early light.

• Running time: approximately 4 hours
• Discussion guide with historical background on each story
• Behind-the-scenes booklet with fun facts and more
• Great way for families to commemorate President’s Day, National Day of Prayer and Independence Day

Adventures in Odyssey is a registered trademark of Focus on the Family. All rights reserved.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Momof4
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love Adventures in Odyssey!! You can never go wrong with these fun CD's with awesome history and character building stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jayne Parmelee
Location:Menominee, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all the Adventure in Odyssey Series CD's but
especially when the characters travel in the Imagination Station. This album is a great learning tool. Brush up
on your history!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent American Drama

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4th and 3rd grader and I have really enjoyed listening to For God and Country. It is very well done, is very engaging for my guys and we are learning quite a bit. Starting next year we will be getting more in depth with American History, but this is a great intro. Great for my 3rd grader whose attention is hard to get. Really appreciate the Christian perspective and the information about some African-American patriots, whom I had never heard of.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for children!!!

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
RDMom
Location:Rincon, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We LOVE Adventures in Odyssey. My kids beg to hear the audio stories everytime they get into the car. This particular set is great for teaching history through the lense of a Christian. What more can you ask for? ...history WITH good moral lessons learned!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this product

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful way to pass on Biblical values with storytelling that captures a child's heart! This was a gift for my grandchildren. They love the stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ladybug on
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product! My kids love history so this is a great addition to our audio collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings history alive

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mom of 9
Location:Los Banos, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These stories bring history alive and keep our history preserved. They are great springboards for conversations with your children as well as great lessons. Aside from these qualities, they are good stories to listen to that capture the attention of the entire family no matter what their age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventures in Odyssey does it again!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charliesmom
Location:Central Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventures in Odyssey does it again with another combination of wonderful, informative stories. They have a way of bringing the stories to life...you feel almost like you are there with them as Columbus discovers America, or the Revolutionary War is raging, or Paul Revere is on his "midnight ride." Thank you Adventures in Odyssey!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great adventure

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ellen K
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
You can't go wrong with Adventures in Odyssey. My 7 year old loves history, and this covers so many turning points in American history, plus gives us things to talk about in our history that we are not proud of. He has learned so much from listening to all of the series that we own. So have his parents!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Knew it would be awesome.

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzabula
Location:Fort Walton Beach, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children become completely silent and gaze out the windows of the car while one of these radio programs is on. I am so grateful that these are available for my family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
JimK
Location:Tyrone, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series has helped enlighten my kids' to the importance that God has played in our country. They all love Adventures in Odyssey, and this gives them a way to understand some great points in our history that will leave a lasting impression.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Lanaris
This program was excellent. Myself and my husband learned new information along with our 11 year old. I highly recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Cross
I am really glad that i got these CD's, they are very educational, and kept my son's attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Catherine Hedden
We listened to part of this on July 4 and really enjoyed it. Can't say enough good about any of the Odyssey series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jacquilin Debeauclair
My kids (aged 12, 11 and 9) were reluctant to listen to the tapes but they were riveted to their seats once they realized it was as if they were there. I initially got these because our public school system seems to only glance at the subject of our founding fathers and I also want to instill pride of country into their hearts. The tapes was one way to capture their hearts and because we live so close to DC, I plan to visit the various museums to support my goal. It's the difference between living history versus textbook learning...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie LeBoy
Thank you for an amazing, inspiring and God honored collections of CD's. My 10 year old and I listen to "For God & Country" over and over again. We've learned so much and I appreciate the incredible talent of each character and how our U.S. History is brought to life. Thank you so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kori Peterson
I love U.S. history! And I really love true, God-centered U.S. history. We are huge fans of our founding fathers and the American Revolutionaries. We have only heard a few episodes of this series so far and have loved every single one. My boys are 4 & 5 years old and they are already lovers of Odyssey and American heroes. They want to be godly American heroes too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Minerva Edwards
Incredible set of CDs! I highly recommend it. Brings History close to home. Great for homeschoolers in teaching US History as a supplement to what they're studying. The series is moving, touching, and enlightening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ted Dent
We received Odyssey For God & Country and within 2 days my daughters (16, 13 & 9) had gone through all the CD's. They get so excited anytime a new Odyssey arrives. We love to listen to then in our car. The quality of the productions is 1st rate. They love Wit (I love his voice and especially his laugh). I highly recommend any and all of the Odyssey series. Good clean family fun listening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventures in Odyssey ® For God & Country
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
JPJP
To be honest, I ordered this series just before my husband and I went on vacation to Boston and other areas of New England, because we wanted to hear the historically correct version of the Boston Tea Party and Paul Reveres Ride before arriving there. I had heard these before on Adventures in Odysseywhich I continue to enjoy, even though our children are all grown! So we ordered the series, and on the way to Boston, we listened to the Boston stories; we listened to the other stories while driving to other destinations. I look forward to sharing these stories also with our grandchildren, but some people just never outgrow a good story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>