Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1

Whitaker House Publishers Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1

A City Girl Far from Home...Sarah Marshall just wants to go home. It wasn't her idea to leave Chicago and head west in search of gold, but her uncle's ambition left her no choice. Neither was her intention to settle in Kansas City with her ailing aunt, but being penniless and without possessions brings little bargaining power. Pretty soon, she resigns herself to her fate, however unfortunate. It isn't as if she has a home to go back to.

A Country Boy Seeking to Right a Wrong...Ethan Harper, the youngest of three brothers, enjoys a peaceful existence helping run his family's stage shop along the Santa Fe Trail. Only one cloud continues to darken his horizon-guilt over the tragic death of his oldest brother's wife. The only acceptable penance Ethan can think of is finding another woman to marry his brother and help raise his motherless children.

Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Review 1 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointing. Stopped reading half way through.

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have had enough of beautiful, petite, young, spoiled women.
Have enjoyed several of Vickie McDonough's previous books and certainly looked forward to this new series. Was very disappointed. Did not even bother reading the book to the end.
It is getting more difficult to find author's who develop character's not based on youth and beauty, but on character strength and the many challenges they have endured.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet, cozy prairie romance

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Whispers on the Prairie is book #1 in Vickie McDonough's Pioneer Promises series, stories set in 1870s Kansas that follow the lives of the close-knit Harper family. Aaron, Josh, and Ethan are brothers who help their parents run the Harper Stage Stop, one of the first stops on the Santa Fe trail for pioneers traveling west. As the railroad crosses Kansas and stage service dwindles, the Harpers are forced to make changes in order to survive.
With good use of humor and conveying a vivid sense of the Kansas prairie with her easy-flowing writing style, Vickie has created an interesting narrative built around a family that I enjoyed getting to know and look forward to spending more time with throughout the series.
Ethan and Sarah are enjoyable characters, with good chemistry between them. Ethan, youngest of the brothers, carries guilt over an accident two years earlier that caused the death of Aaron's wife and he therefore tends to be over protective. Sarah, in spite of being a city girl from Chicago, proves to be a hard worker and quickly adapts to life on the prairie.
It's so funny to see the way Ethan, Josh and Aaron react to Sarah's presence. "What was it about the presence of a woman that caused grown men to turn on those they cared about?" Ethan wonders. Or better yet, in Mr. Harper's words: "What do you expect to happen if you put three stallions in a corral with just one mare?"
The Harpers have a deep-rooted faith, evidenced in one way by their welcoming of Sarah and her aunt into their home. It's sweet to watch the relationship between these two families grow, and Sarah's eyes are gradually opened to a different view of God than she had known in the past.
Whispers on the Prairie is simply a sweet, cozy prairie romance with a Gospel message, one that fans of this genre will enjoy. I would have liked to see the ending stretched out a little more, but I trust that we will see more of Sarah and Ethan in the next book, Call of the Prairie, which has just released. Recommended to those who enjoy inspirational romance.
This book was provided by Whitaker House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whispers on the Prairie

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lois K
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vickie McDonough has done it again--written a great story. This one starts in 1868 Kansas with a tragedy involving Ethan Harper. Then it moves to 1870 Chicago where we meet Sarah Marshall, our heroine, her Aunt Emma and Uncle Harvey. Aunt Emma is a wonderful person, but that's not true of Uncle Harvey. When Sarah is forced to go with them to Santa Fe, New Mexico, she is bound and determined to go back to Chicago. Well...circumstances conspire against Sarah's plans. She and her aunt end up staying with the Harper family (mother Karen, father Nick and 3 sons, Aaron, Josh & Ethan) at their stage stop. Ethan is the one made for Sarah, and has feelings for her that confuse him, but he has his two brothers to contend with, especially Aaron who needs a mother for his two children, Corrie and Toby. You know Sarah will find her happy ending, but it keeps you wondering how it will come about. I loved all the characters in this story--Aunt Emma loves Sarah and wants the best for her; Karen loves her family and has such insight into her sons' feelings; Nick is a wise and loving father; Aaron, Josh and Ethan are handsome and strong men , yet caring and gentle. You can't help but love Corrie (age 6) and Toby (age 4) with their ability to play and have fun, but also do the chores required of them. I can hardly wait for Book 2 and 3 of this Pioneer Promises series. I want to see who Josh and Aaron will find for wives because all three Harper sons deserve to live happily-ever-after with women who love them. I'm grateful to Vickie McDonough and her publisher for providing me with this book to read and review. I expected a wonderful story and I certainly wasn't disappointed. I enjoyed it from beginning to end.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prairie Romance at its finest!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Do you enjoy Janette Oke's books? If so, then Whispers on the Prairie by Vickie McDonough is the book for you! Seriously, I haven't read a 'prairie' romance that I have enjoyed more than this one. From the beginning, I was entranced by this story. I did not want to put it down. It's not a long book but it is overflowing with rich characters, deep spiritual themes, and lots of good old fashioned romance.
Emotionally captivating seems like such an inadequate way to describe how this story drew me in but I can't think of another description. I felt so sorry for the way that Sarah's uncle treated her and yet she remained a precious and devoted companion to her aunt. Ethan carried such a heavy burden about the death of his sister-in-law, even though it was misplaced. While these two come together under unusual circumstances, Vickie brings about the sweetest and most gentle of romances that totally warmed my soul, leaving me to imagine it might actually have happened.
Anyone who is a fan of top quality Historical Fiction will become fully enthralled with this story. It's a lovely beginning to a new series. I was provided a copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes only. I was not required to write a positive review, only give my honest thoughts on the book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another lovely story by Vickie!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I've only read one book of Vickie's - The Anonymous Bride, and really enjoyed her style. Books 2 and 3 of the Boardinghouse Brides are on my shelf, but have you ever seen my shelves? My TBR (to-be-read) pile only gets taller and taller by the day (last check...124 books and counting - and that's just on my living room shelves, didn't even bother checking my 'upstairs' books)! Anyway, it's hard to choose when I have breaks between review books!
So...I had a chance to review Vickie's newest book, Whispers on the Prairie, and that meant a book of hers went to the top of the TBR pile!
Vickie's style was as enjoyable as I remember! I didn't really think Sarah was Miss Priss - never felt much of her 'citified' history to make a good foundation for that argument. She seemed willing to pitch in with wagon train and household chores and was a good cook (something sophisticated girls in historical books can't seem to do). She just seemed like a sweet girl who had many things go wrong in her young life.
I loved the tension of the three brothers with one pretty girl in the house. Who will win her heart? And, I loved that Mrs. Harper seemed to know just which son liked Sarah, and encouraged him without being pushy.
I did think the ending was a bit hurried - not in the exciting don't-let-her-get-away way, but I didn't expect Sarah to yell to - I won't say which brother! - and declare her love... She didn't seem the type to be so forward, when she didn't think he liked her!
Regardless, Whispers on the Prairie was sweet and tender, with some fun and seriousness - just the kind of western-wagon-train-prairie-settlers romance I enjoy! I hope the rest of Vickie's Pioneer Promises series deals with the other 2 Harper brothers! I liked that whole family and want to hear more!
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Marshall is the lead character in a story that has elements of faith, romance and twists and turns in the plot. Sarah has been raised in her uncle and aunt’s home in Chicago, never feeling loved by the uncle. All Sarah knew was responsibility. Were it not for her loving relationship with her sickly aunt and helping at an orphanage, Sarah would have felt empty.
In the spur of the moment decision, her uncle decides they are all moving west to open a watch making shop where few other watchmakers set up business. During the time in a town to purchase their needs for travel with a wagon train, Sarah is again disappointed when her dreams of returning to Chicago are not able to become reality.
In the home of the Harper family, who runs a stage stop, Sarah glimpses what life must be like with a large loving family working together in harmony. Yet there is more to this family than meets the eye and Sarah is sad when their wagon train leaves the Harper’s home. Now, even though all Sarah’s hopes and plans haven’t come together, she is about to be thrust into a situation that holds nothing but a bleak future in her eyes.
It was very enjoyable to read such a faith-filled story that points the way to live daily is by placing everything in God’s hands. Whether walking in grief, not sure what decision to make or even learning to trust that God will make everything work for good is very foundational to the plot. Learning to let go of past mistakes in order to see what future God has planned for a couple of the characters is a reminder to the reader, though it certainly is not easy walking by faith and not by sight. In the story, sometimes in causing temporary pain in being truthful with ourselves or someone else, God brings such comfort to the characters whether speaking the truth or hearing it.
There is a sneak preview in the sequel at the end of trail in Whispers on the Prairie. I found myself losing track of time the more pages I was turning because I wanted to see how the story was going to end. I also enjoyed the truth that we need to have relationship with the Lord as well as how we can be an encourager to people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding A Home

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Marshall is a city girl, she loves living in Chicago. So when her Uncle announces he is moving to Santa Fe, NM, she is beside herself. She has lived with her Aunt and Uncle, since her parents passed away. She loves her Aunt, who is not really well, but her Uncle despises her, and she has had a rough time growing up with him.
Her Uncle has made up his mind and their is no changing it. Sarah goes along, and is hoping once they meet up with her Uncle's brother she can return to Chicago. The trip is rough on her Aunt, and stumbling blocks keep popping up.
Ethan Harper has been carrying around a lot of guilt after his Sister-In-Law was killed in an accident, because she was in his care, he feel responsible. Just how do Ethan and Sarah meet, one could say in a mud puddle. Or rather Sarah ends up sitting in one.
Their paths keep crossing and more tragedy befalls Sarah and her family. Once they are rescued they end up staying with the Harper family. At first Sarah, can barely stand Ethan, but??? Will one of the four brothers win her heart? Will Sarah ever get to return to Chicago? With the Lords help all will find out where they need to be. Be ready for a wonderful journey back in the 1870's. Learn to live on the Prairie. I didn't want this story to end, but there is another book coming in the series...Yeah!!
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasure Read

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whispers on the Prairie by Vickie McDonough tells the saga of young, Sarah Marshall, who has no intention of ever leaving her home in Chicago. Raised by her uncle and aunt, she finds herself in a position of accompanying them for a short time on a wagon train with every intention to return to her beloved city.
Circumstances and obstacles arise causing Sarah to delay her plans. Instead she finds herself thrown into a situation of staying at the Harpers' Stage Stop with her aunt. Three eligible Harper men are eager to persuade her to find a reason to stay in Kansas.
Whispers on the Prairie is the first book in the Pioneer Promises series by Vickie McDonough. It is sure to please readers.
This book was provided free for review by the author and Whitaker House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prairie romance at its best!

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
Location:New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whispers Across the Prairie by Vickie McDonough is an exciting and heartwarming historical romance with a great cast of realistic characters who will capture your interest from the first page. The twists and turns in the story will keep you turning pages and be sorry to see the book end. Those who enjoyed McDonough's other novels will find even more to savor in her latest story. Charming, inspiring, and delightful--Prairie romance at its best!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prairie romance at its best

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jocelyn Green, author of Faith Deployed
Location:Cedar Falls, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whispers on the Prairie transported me to a time and place both dangerous and alluring--the prairie in the 1870s. The research and history in this novel is fascinating and woven in very naturally, the characters are multi-faceted, and the setting is vividly described. The plot will keep you turning the pages, but the writing will make you want to savor every word. A winner of a book.
~Jocelyn Green, author of Widow of Gettysburg
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whispers on the Prairie, Pioneer Promises Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this story!

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Marshall didn’t want to leave the bustling city of Chicago to accompany her aunt and uncle over the Santa Fe Trail to the New Mexico Territory. She had close friends in Chicago, and loved the comforts of city life. But her uncle insisted she come along to care for her ailing aunt. Since they’d taken Sarah in when her parents died, he claimed she owed him obedience. Sarah’s intention was to travel with them as far as Kansas City, where other family members planned to join them on the trek. Then she’d return to Chicago.
Ethan Harper’s family operates Harpers’ Stage Stop, a waypoint on the Santa Fe Trail. Ethan carries a burden of guilt for his part in the death of his older brother’s wife, so has made it his mission to find his brother a replacement wife.
When several unfortunate occurrences strand Sarah and her aunt at Harpers’ Stage Stop, Sarah is consumed with plans to find a means to return to Chicago. For his part, Ethan sees Sarah as a good match for his widower brother.
McDonough has done a wonderful job of handling a cast of varied characters, making each one unique and likeable. While reading this book I felt I knew the Harper family. In Whispers on the Prairie, descriptions of the stage stop, the prairie landscape, and the Trail were perfectly done. The reader feels part of the story every step of the way.
Whispers on the Prairie is “prairie romance” at its best! I hated to see this story end, but thankfully this is the first book in the Pioneer Promises series, so I look forward to reading more about the Harper family in Books 2 and 3, releasing in 2014.
My thanks to the author and Whitaker House for providing my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.