Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sheaf House Publishers #2: It's Not About Him

Sheaf House Publishers #2: It's Not About Him

When Susie discovers she is pregnant, she has no idea who the father is. She considers having an abortion, but decides to place her baby for adoption instead. Following through ends up being more wrenching than she'd imagined, but she's determined to do the right thing for her baby.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #2: It's Not About Him
Review 1 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this series!

Date:November 24, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow. This is a moving story. I was crying in the first 45 minutes! I think the first book in the series is still my favorite, but book two is amazing also. I love Jeff. He is great, however, Susie got on my nerves. She had major trust issues, but by the end of the book she has worked through them, and I ended up loving her too. This whole story is just amazing, and Sutton is a great writer. She writes such moving books that make you cry, laugh, and think; I love them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "Six Flag" emotional roller coaster

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deb Piccurelli
Location:Gloucester Township, New Jersey
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I’m not a young adult, I consider myself young-at-heart. Consequently, I can enjoy books, movies, some music, etc. that target the young adult market. Michelle Sutton’s latest installment in her Second Glances series, It’s Not About Him, Book #2, is one such book.
If you’ve read any of my reviews of Michelle’s work before, you know I love all of her books. You would also know that one reason I do, is because, not only are her writing skills outstanding, but also because she is a courageous author for realistically tackling tough subjects. They are excellent learning tools for today’s youth.
In It’s Not About Him, Susie Ziglar, a secondary character from Book #1, had gotten drunk and passed out at a party she attended at the home of Jeff Rhodes. Later discovering she is pregnant, she considers having an abortion, but decides to place her baby for adoption, instead.
Guilt-ridden over Susie getting pregnant at one of his parties, Jeff offers to marry her so she can keep her baby. He wants to prevent that child having to live through what he had to after his birth mother gave him away. Susie refuses, insisting he should marry for love. But Jeff does secretly love her. Can he convince her he’s sincere before the adoption is finalized? Or can Susie make him understand that, as difficult as it may be, this is what’s best for her child?
For me, this story was another “Six Flag” emotional roller coaster ride from Michelle Sutton; exactly what I like in a novel. Her social worker expertise is evident in how her characters exhibit certain behavior patterns, and in how important issues are ultimately resolved. That’s a real bonus for the reader. I urge anyone who appreciates the elements I’ve described above to read It’s Not About Him. You won’t be sorry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tarasview
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this series. Great books written by a great author! I love the honesty and the emotions portrayed in this book. Michelle writes about this topic with amazing sensitivity and it is a book all young women should read! It kept my attention the whole way through and was a quick and easy read.
I found the characters very endearing and I found myself wanting to get to know them more. I was completely engaged. Well done Michelle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee C.
All I can say is what a terrific book! This isn't you're everyday "fluffy" romance! It's Not About Him deals with issues such as alcoholism, abortion, rape, and sex in a way that is relevant and real for today's young adults. I was truly captivated by this book from the very beginning and I stayed up preeettty late and woke up early to see what happened next! You definitely won't be bored with this one and you might even cry! Jeff is a sensitive, caring hero who as a new Christian is still dealing with temptations from his past and Susie who is also a new Christian is facing her past and consequences of it in a very real way. I felt sorry for Jeff at times, Susie was so reluctant to acknowledge her true feelings but I was really pleased with how everything worked out for both of them and baby Melissa. I'm really looking forward to reading Book 1, It's Not About Me (yeah I know I ALWAYS end up reading series books out of order) to learn more about the story behind Annie and Dan, two terrific secondary characters in It's Not About Him who are very important in Susie's and Jeff's lives. If you are a lover of romance with strong Christian themes It's Not About Him is definitely a book you will want to pick up. If you're a parent of an older teen I really think this book (and probably the series) would be great to read and discuss together. It's Not About Him is definitely highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lena Nelson Dooley
I do agree with the statement on the back of the cover that it's for mature teens and young adults. Some of the scenes, although not completely graphic, are too graphic for young teens.That being said, this is a powerful look at two young people who made a lot of mistakes before they became Christians. It clearly shows the struggles when the consquences of those mistakes spill over into their new Christian walk.Realistic situations handled with finesse by the author reveal that Jesus is always the answer, even on the darkest days. I also loved watching the developing romance by two people who've had a hard time knowing what real love is.I highly recommend this wonderful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
In It's Not About Him, Susie must deal not only with the heartbreaking decision to give her baby up for adoption, but the aftermath of that choice. Meanwhile, Jeff feels guilty for not protecting her. Adopted himself and longing to find his birth mother, Jeff doesn't want to see another child go through what he has and tries to convince Susie not to go through with it. In the end, Susie and Jeff discover it's not about either one of them. It's about what's best for the baby. And through their sacrifice, God works all things to good in their own lives.Michelle Sutton creates real characters who act the way real people would. She doesn't shy away from the ugly truths or the cold hard facts. Young people can relate to her characters, because they speak from the heart.Michelle dedicates this book to mothers who have recognized the needs of their children and chosen adoption over abortion. As one of those women, I'd like to thank Michelle for addressing such a sensitive subject with such honesty and compasion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
It's Not About Him by Michelle Sutton is the second book in the Second Glances series. Susie Ziglar is trying to make the best of the horrific situation she's found herself in. After passing out drunk at a party, she was raped and ended up pregnant. While at first she was determined to abort the baby, she instead ending up giving her life to God and decided to put the baby up for adoption. She just wants to do what's right for a change, and that means keeping her distance from Jeff, despite his insistence that he loves her and wants to marry her. Jeff also recently gave up his hard-partying ways and turned to God, and now he wants to make a life with the beautiful woman Susie has become. Sutton depiction of a woman's decision to put her child up for adoption with exquisite attention to detail: Susie's gut-wrenching pain, occasional worries that she made the wrong decision, and fierce determination to do what's right for her child are brilliantly rendered. Susie and Jeff's romance happens in stutters and leaps and huge steps backwards, making it realistic and sweet. Sutton has a special talent for dialogue; she doesn't keep it squeaky clean, but keeps it real. I could easily hear the characters talking to each other. She also portrays well the struggle that men have with the temptation women present with revealing clothing. It's a gritty, realistic view of twenty-somethings, but with a message of hope.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
When confronted with an unwanted pregnancy, the decision to abort is often the answer, but this book presents another solution: adoption and looks into the complexities of that decision. I like that the baby becomes a focus of the decision.This easy-to-read Christian fiction is not just for young adults; this senior citizen enjoyed reading it. In addition to looking closely at an edgy problem, romance blooms, bringing a roller coaster of emotions. Although it is the second in the series, it can be read without having read the first title, It's Not About Me. Discussion questions are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Priscilla McCarthy
From the first page l was reeled in like a fish that couldn't get away. My heart ached for Susie, but at the same time l was overjoyed at her decision to do the right thing. I got all choked up when Susie had a dream and came to terms that the Lord was doing good out of something evil... So l was crying for her joy and for her coming to peace with the fact that it was His will. In fact, I went through an entire box of tissues as I read this story nearly straight through! This book touches me in so many personal ways because l am an adoptive parent and I also have a bff who placed her child up for adoption when she was 16. So l was really able to connect with Susie and her stuggles. She had some hard decisions to make. The book is well written, and it is well worded for the mature teen to read. The author really has a way with words that just keeps you begging for more of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jason Jarvis
Michelle Sutton did it again-after "It's not about me" I was left wanting more. This call was answered with "It's not about him." Just when you think you figured out how the story is going to go, Sutton surprises the reader with a different twist. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, it only took me a day to finish. I wish I had these books back when I was still teaching Sunday School, they would have come in handy, I'm sure. Great Job!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn Rush
Michelle Sutton does a fantastic job on this second book in her Second Glances Series. At times Susie drove me bonkers with her indecision. But you know what? It was accurate. With Susie's family history and what she was facing being a Christian, unwed, and pregnant . . . To see an accurate description of the struggles Christians face, because we are not a perfect people, was refreshing.I loved watching how Jeff transformed throughout the novel as well. He came from a partying background and just because he became a Christian, it didn't make all that go away. Memories, temptations, etc. To see how he handled those and grew through setbacks and temptations was true to reality in my opinion.And of course, the romance. Yes, I loved the romantic elements to this novel too. Some parts were pretty steamy, but I enjoyed how Michelle tastefully painted the word pictures.So, yeah, go out and buy it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Way to go, Michelle! Once again you've written to teens and young people right where they're at, and It's Not About Him is the perfect follow-up to It's Not About Me. I appreciate authors who aren't afraid to tackle real-life issues, and this "not about" series certainly qualifies. Congratulations!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Authentic and confronting, emotive and compelling, Michelle Sutton's It's Not About Him takes the reader on a journey of heartache and hope as Susie and Jeff battle fear, temptation and despair. Michelle vividly exposes the frailties of the human heart with a frankness rarely seen as her characters struggle with rape, alcoholism, promiscuity and failing God's call on their lives. Susie, Jeff and Tony experience the painful consequences of their choices, grappling with the true meaning of living by faith and the sacrifices love demands. Despite the difficult subject matter, hope and forgiveness lie at the heart of this novel, offering today's young adults the promise of a restored heart and mind through a relationship with Jesus. It's Not About Him is a brave and riveting story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2009
Michelle Sutton writes with realism and honesty about issues facing young adults in todays world. The struggles arent easy, because life today is rarely easy. But a thread of spiritual hope runs throughout Its Not About Him, as real as the hope that keeps us going in the midst of lifes hard circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Riley, My Friend Amy
"It's Not about Him is edgy Christian fiction at its best! Michelle Sutton is not afraid to journey into the rich and deep emotional landscapes of the heart as Jeff and Susie learn how to love each other, themselves, and God. A true testament to the power of sacrificial love and the redemptive love of our Father, it is impossible to read It's Not About Him and come away the same. Thick with romantic tension and spiritual honesty, It's Not about Him is a realistic look at the strength and limitations of love, and the struggles and the joys in finding your identity in Christ. Immensely satisfying, It's Not About Him is a welcome addition to the new brave new frontier of Christian fiction."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Michelle Sutton has done it againcaptured me with a novel so edgy and compelling, it was one of the fastest reads Ive read this year, which is not always a good thing when you dont want it to end. But, the good news is that Michelle Sutton is such a gifted writer and her characters are so fresh and real, that the story stays with you long after you turn the last page.Its Not About Him is book 2 in the Second Glances series, a wonderfully written trilogy that captures the essence of the moral dilemmas that young people face today in a society where anything goes. It begins with two characters we met in book 1, Its Not About Me, Susie Ziglar, a young woman who finds herself pregnant after getting drunk at a party and Jeff Rhodes, the boy who gave the party and has now fallen for Susie and wants to marry her. Throughout this unique and engaging story, Ms. Sutton draws her readers in with a tale of regret and guilt deftly woven with true love and healing, making you care for these flesh-and-blood characters as much as they care for each other. An absolutely wonderful sequel to a wonderful series. Cannot wait for book 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Susie wakes up after a party knowing something isn't right. When she discovers she is pregnant but has no idea who the father is, she decides to place her baby for adoption with an infertile couple from church. Following through ends up being more challenging than she'd imagined. But she wants to do the right thing. If only Jeff would quit trying to marry her so she'll keep her baby! Why doesn't he understand? It's not about him; it's about what's best for her child. Meanwhile, a man shows up in her life that looks irritatingly familiar. Could he be the father?The thing thats so great about Michelle Sutton is that she isnt afraid to be real. Its Not About Him is a gripping story about two people struggling to make right choices despite their past mistakes. The plot is filled with tough topics of rape, drinking, premarital sex, and murder, but Michelle deals with each scenario in a realistic way that proclaims Christ as the answer to all sin and reminds readers that He can work through any tragedy. Michelle weaves a series of plots that both break and warm the heart. Its Not About Him is the perfect sequel. Michelle has written another honest look into the world young Christians struggle to live in every day. I praise God for the way she shows her readers that they can stay pure if they lean on Christ and make good choices. I pray these books will change lives. Im so looking forward to book three.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Siri Mitchell
Sutton has hit her stride with book two in the Second Glances series! Written in the same gritty, authentic style as her debut novel, fans will delight in the continuation of Susie's story. There's no sophomore slump here! Filled with finely drawn characters colliding with timeless truths, the prose is taut and rife with tension. Sutton proposes her signature honest answers to heart-wrenching questions. Not to be attempted without a box of tissues. Well worth the read! You wont put this one down until you finish the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tosca
Michelle Sutton has quickly established herself as a writer unafraid--of painting realistic pictures of life today, and the challenges young people face living in it. As a result, ITS NOT ABOUT HIM is authentically gritty as only the Edgy Inspirational Author herself can do it. As a follow-up to ITS NOT ABOUT ME, ITS NOT ABOUT HIM does not disappoint, but keeps readers glued to the drama that explores the challenges of Christian living in todays world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #2: It's Not About Him
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Fuller
"Michelle Sutton has done it again! She tackles hard subjects--the aftermath of rape, the emotional turmoil of adoption, the challenge of sexual temptation--with sensitivity and realism. The two main characters, Jeff and Susie, will stick with you long after you've finished the book. I loved their relationship and how these new Christians fight to stay true to their faith as they face life-altering decisions. A must read, not only for young adults, but for all adults."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>