Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sheaf House Publishers Rain Dance

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Sheaf House Publishers Rain Dance

Jonica and Stacie meet in a doctor's office at a critical turning point in each of their lives. Jonica is ending unsuccessful infertility treatments and accepting the death of her dream of having children. Stacie has come to schedule the termination of her pregnancy so she can further her dream of a career in law.

As the two young women tentatively reach out to each other, they forge an extraordinary friendship that brings healing to both their hearts and forever transforms their future.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rain Dance
Review 1 for Rain Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rain Dance

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:martinezsylvia09@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rain Dance is a special kind of book. It speaks about a very controversial topic Abortion. I know when I first started to read the book I anticipated a in your face how abortion is killing life and God say's thou shall not kill and all the other stereo typical pro-life arguments. Rain Dance is not that kind of book. It is a story about two young women named Staci, and Jonica. Jonica is a believer and she is desperately trying her hardest to get pregnant, but unfortunately she has not been able to have children. Staci is a young career girl who has everything, but gets pregnant. Well Staci and Jonica's path cross and the story begins. This book speaks about abortion and how not only does a child dies, this one act has many victims. The woman who aborted her baby, to the husband, and family members. On the other hand not being able to have children is also another heart break. Their are many people involved that also suffer. This books shares Jonica's journey of acceptance, and Staci's journey of healing from an abortion. See how two women become best friends to even witnessing when God reveals Himself. It is a wonderful book. It has made the list of one of my favorite books. I loved the testimony of Jonica and how she shares the Word to people. She gives people books. This is one thing that I think I will begin to do. Thank you. I received this book for free from Bookbub.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rain Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opening story

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rain Dance by Joy Dekok is a book that every woman should read. I am definitely Pro-Life but had never really thought all that much about abortion and how the women that had abortions felt after the fact so this book was really an eye opener for me. The story centers around two women who meet at their obstetrician’s office. Jonica who is infertile is there to tell the doctor that she and her husband no longer want to try to get pregnant using the latest medical methods. Staci is there to set up an appointment for an abortion because her pregnancy is not convenient for her since she is just getting started in her law practice. As different as the two women are, they form a real friendship and Jonica who is a devout Christian shares her faith in God with Stacie and then prays and waits for God to work on Stacie’s heart.
The plot of the story was well developed and the author wrote on the subject of infertility and abortion with a great deal of understanding and with deep feelings for the women involved. Even though the story is fiction, it reads like real life and strives for healing and understanding for women who are either infertile or have had an abortion or even thinking of having one. The author also helps the reader to realize that these women need our compassion and support. The plot takes a twist when Stacie finds photos of her mother holding a baby boy but she cannot remember having a baby brother. Stacie cannot forget what she saw and begins a search to find out about the brother. This search and what she learns adds a new dimension to the story. The author made the characters in the story so real that I wanted to just give each of them a hug and tell them that Jesus loved them. I was deeply touched by this book and I cannot remember the last time I cried so much while reading a novel.
I highly recommend this book to all women and think that men would also benefit from reading it. The story is not only about the two women but includes their families as well. The story has a great ending.. I had wondered about the title of the book but at the end it is clear why Rain Dance was the perfect title.
A big thank you to the author, Joy Dekok, for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rain Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A unique well-written book

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rain Dance
By Joy DeKok
When the abortion instrument sucked out the baby in Stacie’s womb, an important part of herself went with it.
“No!” she cried. But it is too late.
Sitting in the gynecologist’s office that same day was Jonica, whose last hope of conceiving died like the infant in the other woman’s womb.
Although grieving and they didn’t know each other, Jonica wrote her phone number on a Christian magazine and gave it to Stacie.
When her phone rang a few days later, Jonica was surprised. Stacie wanted to argue about things in the magazine. Yet, they got together for coffee to talk, and an amazing friendship emerged that lets the reader know something great is going to happen.
The miracles in their hearts didn’t just pop out of the air, however. Both women have relatives who pray for them. I loved the way the story developed, although at first it was a little confusing switching viewpoints. The book is all the better, however, because each character tells her side of the story in first person.
People who enjoy good writing will notice Joy DeKok’s talent. The story is well crafted, but so is every paragraph. People who study writing will enjoy the active verbs.
This book brings the reader into the abortion experience with one woman and the heartache of a barren womb with another. What an unusual way to show the world how women are affected and it could not have been released in a better time.
When we vote for politicians in November will we think of women like Stacie and the 1.37 million unborn babies killed in the United States each year?
Women like Jonica and millions of women like her who came into marriage virgins but can’t conceive are infertile through no fault of their own.
But when we vote will we remember other woman who became infertile because of chlamydia and gonorrhea—sexually transmitted diseases—who were taught God is not there and The Ten Commandments need to be prohibited?
Rain Dance doesn’t take the reader into society’s sins and heart aches, but as a jouralist who reported abortion and sexually transmitted disease statistics nearly every year, I couldn’t help but go beyond these two women. Joy DeKok only draws back the curtain to show how God redeems, restores, rejuvenates, and revitalizes broken hearts, and it’s not fiction. That’s reality for any woman who seeks it.
Jesus came to heal the brokenhearted, comfort those who mourn and give beauty for ashes (prophesied in Isaiah 61:1-3 and fulfilled in Luke 4:18).
You know Jonica and Stacie have been healed, comforted and beauty arises from the ashes when you see them dancing in the rain.
Rain Dance is a wonderful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rain Dance
This review is fromRain Dance - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story about friendship

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
ladyfinger
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read this book at our church book club. It was very well received and we all enjoyed it immensely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rain Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Stephens
Rain Dance is a gripping story about the power of love. This book turns the impossible into the possible through the power of Christ's love. In the most dire of circumstances, when two women at complete opposite ends of the spectrum are at their lowest, they reach out to one another. In that moment a seed is planted that forever changes their lives. What I love about this book is that the characters are very real. Everything doesn't end up in a pretty package tied up with a bow. It isn't a fairytale, BUT everyone does live happily ever after because of the promise Christians have in Romans 8:28. While the topics may be tough for many to consider, I highly recommend Rain Dance to all women because of the underlying theme of the true bond of a very special friendship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rain Dance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Rain Dance by Joy DeKok is a moving look at the power of friendship and faith. Jonica is in her fertility specialist's office to end treatment in acceptance of her barrenness as part of God's plan when she meets Stacie who is there to schedule an abortion for a child who doesn't fit into the plan of her busy life. That fateful meeting will leave both women both permanently changed. Stacie's marriage falls apart in the wake of the abortion, and she turns her anger on Jonica who instead embraces her and the women find a way to bridge the gap between them. DeKok uses Jonica to tell of her own struggle with infertility and she offers up a valuable lesson for anyone who judges couples who are childless. Jonica's faith carrier her through every storm and intrigues Stacie into checking it out for herself. The book is a wonderful read about friendship and how to love those who may be so different from us. The only trouble I had with it was discovering 2/3 of the way through that Jonica is only 24. Based on her career, lifestyle, and attitude, I assumed that she was closer to thirty or even in her mid-thirties. Despite that small issue, it's a great read that should encourage readers on both sides of the abortion debate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rain Dance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2009
I applaud DeKok for the naked, honest emotions her characters displayed. She didn't try to soften Jonica's railing at God, nor Stacie's self-centeredness. I found Jonica's faith to be very real and practical. Her journey to healing and Stacie's path to faith were both believable, and not something manipulated by the author. They are women from different backgrounds and belief systems when they meet. And yet, I believed the friendship that grew between them. I came to love Stacie as much as Jonica. Rain Dance is truly a prodigious book. It bears healing within its pages for hurting women, whether they are scarred by post abortion syndrome or infertility, Rain Dance is a must read. But be sure to have a hankie handy. I give it a very high recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rain Dance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Anne Bantz
Jonica is doing her best to face the fact she can never conceive when she happens to meet a young lawyer seeking to terminate her unexpected pregnancy. They have nothing in common except a chance conversation in the doctor's office, and a magazine.I loved the way DeKok intertwined the stories of Jonica and Stacie. Whether you've experienced the loss of a child or the loss of a dream, this novel takes you through honest grief to find answers from a loving God.Extremely well-done, RAIN DANCE tackles both sides of tough issues like "choice" and "legalism," and resolves them with love and the Word of God. Keep your tissues handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.