Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Entertainment The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD

Tyndale Entertainment The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD

In an ancient manor full of secrets, young Mary Lennox soon makes friends with Dickon, a boy who seems to talk to animals . . . and her bedridden cousin, Colin. Together, Mary, Dickon and Colin discover an enchanting secret place separate from the outside world. It is in this place that they learn lessons about friendship, courage and new beginnings. Bringing to life a remarkable story, The Secret Garden will captivate audiences of all ages. Approximate running time: 100 minutes. Focus on the Family Radio Theatre(R) is a registered trademark of Focus on the Family. All rights reserved.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Review 1 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
dusty
Location:Montreal , Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter AND my son love listening to this classic story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful For Anyone of Any Age

Date:December 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grew up with my mom reading this story to me, so it goes without saying that I love this book! Lovely music and voices bring this Secret Garden to life - old and young will love this faithful version.
Frances Hodgson Burnett also wrote the "Little Princess" which was turned into a BBC TV Drama back in the 1980s with the actor Nigel Havers. I would LOVE to see - hear FOTF's Radio Theatre make a version of the Little Princess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for early grade schoolers.

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Auntie Pam
Location:Athens OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 7 year old granddaughter, and decided to preview it before giving it to her. The story was easy to follow, the diction was excellent, and it made 2 hours of a road trip fly by. My husband enjoyed it also. Great way to introduce young children to literary classics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!!

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine Robinson
Location:Hamilton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is a typical Focus on the Family Radio Drama. Wonderful acting, great music, and the telling of a classic story that takes you to the garden so effectively that you can smell the flowers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
BrookeScudder
Location:Verona, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good dramatization, but somehow it fails to capture all of the intrigue of the book. But still, very well done and I am glad to add it to my collection and would recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Asome!!!!

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alex
Location:Trinidad, Co
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FOF did a wonderful job recreating the Secret Garden. They do a great job of bringing the charters and the book to life! Would recommend this prodect to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fun to listen to.

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
maelock
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The choice of people reading this or acting out the book, is excellent!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Heying
Excellent for the entire family. We loved listening to this on a recent car trip. It made the time go so much faster!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammy
I bought this CD for my daughters (ages 7 and 10) but I love it just as much as they do. The acting is absolutely superb by the whole cast...We love listening to it occasionally at bedtime or when traveling... and each time, it holds us captive! Truly wonderful!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ivy Kennedy
I love this story so very much. Focus on the Family Radio Theater has a way of making this story come alive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
mother of fifteen
This beautiful classic story is so wonderfully brought to life with remarkably talented actors, so easily visualized. Our children enjoyed listening over and over again, often recalling favorite passages and sharing together the remembered quotes and scenes in the story. It is a worthy addition to family audio libraries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Secret Garden - Focus on the Family Radio Theatre audiodrama on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Secret Garden is one of our favorite audio dramas from Focus on the Family. It is very well produced and my 7 year old daughter and I like it much better than the movie version. It is fun to listen to "movies" on CD where one's imagination is the television screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.