Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices

Abingdon Press Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices

Where is God when you are doing everything right yet, because of someone else's actions, everything is wrong? Where do we find hope when it's clouded by the ashes of other people's choices? Ragged Hope is an insightful and hope-giving guide offering readers comfort and support, as well as encouraging them through whatever situation they may face, including the after effects of divorce, disease, drugs, drunk drivers, death, downsizing, disasters and bad decisions.

After each of the 26 stories shared in the book, Ruchti includes reflection questions as well as prompts so readers can consider how to reach out to the survivors they know. Each chapter also ends with a scripture, offering hope and encouragement that God is with us, no matter what.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Review 1 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope that glows in the dark

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ramagnes
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ragged Hope recounts 25 true stories of individuals and families who have survived the fallout of other people’s choices. Their struggles run counter to the glamorized infotainment that permeates our news. Matching story with scripture Cynthia Ruchti concludes each story with Reflections and If you know…
The Reflections include comments about the story and raise thought-provoking questions. For example, in the “Thousand Bad Decisions” story the author comments and asks:
But many sorrows are a reflection of a much longer history than a single choice. In your own situation, can you trace back to
“So, that’s where it all started”?
The section If you know someone like the person in the story relates follow up information and advice. For example, in the “Thousand Bad Decisions” story Cynthia reports that after 17 years in prison Max found Christ through the visitation and encouragement of a caring Christian, not a jail minister. She asks:
Is someone’s turning point waiting for you to abandon your hesitation?
She concludes the story with this verse:
Follow my example, just like I follow Christ’s. 1 Corinthians 11:1 (Common English Bible)
Ruchti’s counselor-teacher approach (a result of 33 years of leading retreats and hosting a radio program) is applied Christianity. Her book can be an understanding friend for those going through similar struggles. For old and new Christians her book can be an invaluable training tool. For high school and college young people, her book is a window on the real world, a troubled world but with “Hope that glows in the dark”.
And hope does not disappoint. Romans 5:5 (New American Standard Bible)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her problems have exploded my life. What do I do?

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Author Rachael
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Donne’s profound line, “No man is an island,” has become an almost trite acknowledgement that human beings’ actions affect each other. In Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People’s Choices, Cynthia Ruchti, with masterful storytelling style, relates true examples of those who assume island-like autonomy. Often their lives erupt like volcanoes, spewing choking consequences that explode their loved ones’ worlds as well. With characteristic compassion and insight, Ruchti relates how God heals resulting wounds as His people cling to tattered but indestructible hope.
A multi-published author and popular speaker, Ruchti not only has shared in these stories with friendship, counseling, and prayer, but has herself held fast to ragged hope in the face of personal tragedy and struggle. Her chapters ring with the authenticity of experience.
As readers turn the pages of this book, they will not only apply its truths to their own challenges, but think of at least a dozen people who should read it.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher, but my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

relevant read

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
SuzE
Location:Wausau, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gurney lumbered down the neighbor’s sidewalk with a body bag. Though my brain screamed at me to cross the street, feet remained froze on the hardwood floor by the living room window. Fear of not knowing what to say to lend comfort and support immobilized me.
Cynthia Ruchti’s book Ragged Hope addresses moments like this. Cynthia listened to and recorded the stories of lives forever changed in a instant of time. Each story, interesting enough to stand alone as a book, tells about the ripple effect of choices other people make on the lives of those around them.
This book stands as a banner of hope rising to wave above shattering circumstances. At the end of each story Cynthia invites the reader into a time of reflection and decision of how to respond to the needs of those around us or even make a personal application if we have similar circumstances in our lives. Each chapter concludes with scriptural wisdom to meditate on.
Eventually I overcame the fear that kept me from crossing the street to listen and offer a hand to hold as my neighbor took her first wobbly steps into the world of widowhood. I’ve never regretted being there for her. I applaud this book for encouraging and giving direction to readers as to why it is important to step forward and offer understanding as well as hope to those on a difficult journey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

encouragement when others cause you pain

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had it happen to us – suffering consequences because of someone else's choices. And we have seen others suffer because of the choices we've made. We cling to hope, a hope made ragged by wear, signs of heavy use.
Cynthia tells the stories of people walking through the aftermath of other people's choices. There is the family of the father and husband who left on Christmas Eve to be with the other woman. There is the family whose house burned to the ground. There are the parents who are reeling from their child's suicide. The elderly woman shocked that her trusted financial adviser swindled her out of her retirement fund. The man let go in downsizing just months from retirement. The woman whose husband, suddenly dead from an undiagnosed aneurysm, failed to send in the life insurance policy they had agreed on.
These are stories of tested faith. There are encouraging stories of people who refused to let the irresponsible actions of others define them. People who cling to the hope that God hears and cares. Ragged hope. Some of the stories don't have happy endings – just like life. Some of the pain has no cure this side of heaven.
Though the stories are fictionalized accounts, they are based on people Cynthia knows or stories people have told her.
Cynthia has included thoughtful comments and questions after each story. She also includes practical suggestions for helping others, should you know someone in a situation similar to the one in the story.
Cynthia has a way of crafting beautiful prose. She writes of a man who put retribution on God's to-do list and erased it off his own. And, “The maintenance costs for regret upkeep can bankrupt a person's spirit.” (112) One talks about “getting” the extravagance of Jesus. “Knowing what they'd done, He made a decision to keep loving people who caused His pain, undeserved pain, friends who wrote His death sentence.” (167) And writing about a woman whose husband had given her AIDS, “The morning he deserted her, she heard a rooster crow.” (168) Here's another: “The speedboat of his moral failure – a.k.a. sin – resulted in several capsizes and drownings.” (110)
We will never be free from the fallout of other people's destructive choices. This is a beautifully written book of encouragement, a testimony of people recovering and getting back to trusting and worshiping Jesus. Read it. Give it to a friend. Be encouraged.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book that whispers hope to the weary

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book is filled with short vignettes -- 26 stories of the way life disappoints, doesn't live up to expectations -- and ways people have found hope in those terrible turns of destiny. Each story is written with an emotion and immediacy that took me deep into its folds. Then each ends with questions to reflect on and best of all suggestions for how to minister to those we may know walking each jagged, ragged journey. As someone who often wants to help, but frequently isn't sure how to do so meaningfully, this was worth the book on its own.
This is a book that will whisper hope to the broken. It will restore hope to the bruised. It will renew hope in those who long to sip its refreshing waters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A gem full of compassion and grace

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a gem. The simple and honest title gives a hint of the gentle grace found within its pages. Although filled with heart-rending, real-life anecdotes of folks who are reaping the difficult and life-altering harvests that others have sowed, this book is not oppressive but will uplift, inspire, and encourage you. Those not personally experiencing challenges such as those described in the book will become more sensitive to ways they can come alongside and support those who are wearied by the trials assailing them. Each page pulses with compassion and tenderness, and even the questions for reflection at the end of each chapter are presented gently without chiding or condemnation. Ragged Hope can be used by individual or groups. (It would make a marvelous study for a ministry team). Don't miss this wonderful book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from Abingdon Press and Litfuse Publicity as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive Hope!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ragged Hope is a collection of poignant personal stories of survivors who, by the grace of God, have endured and overcome the fallout from other people's destructive choices. The examples in Ragged Hope are lessons in reality. Dishonorable, selfish, inappropriate choices made by others have placed the victims in these stories into chaotic situations. Hope has set them free. Examples of abuse, neglect, abandonment, job loss, infidelity and financial disasters are only a fraction of the representations illustrating how God's steadfast love, mercy and grace helped these victims overcome painful and debilitating circumstances. These stories demonstrate that no matter what life throws our way God's unconditional love can restore peace to our lives. Each life story is followed by reflections for the reader to contemplate and examine, to assist in gleaning hope in spite of despair. An inspirational Bible verse appropriate to the situation regarding those who have survived life's most difficult challenges is a balm for the spirit. For those suffering the fallout of someone else's poor choices, Rugged Hope is exemplary in promoting healing from some of the most painful wounds inflicted on us, through the power and love of God.
Cynthia Ruchti has presented several powerful examples of God's transformation of His children from ashes to beauty. These accounts of victims in despair, whose pain was inflicted on them by those closest to them, are written with sensitivity and compassion. The practical applications provided through these personal accounts are excellent points of reference for those involved in situations similar to the victims described in Ragged Hope. Ms. Ruchti writes with insight, discrimination, credibility and a sophistication that only experience yields. Incredible hope is the ground level approach throughout this book. This author provides impressive insight into the human condition, and the solutions delivered through Hope!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from LitFuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are mine, and no monetary compensation was received as a result of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The hope everyone needs

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Penny
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People’s Choices
By Cynthia Ruchti
When I purchased Ragged Hope, I assumed that I’d be reading stories that might help me as I am challenged by the pitfalls from the poor choices of the people around me. I’ve been there. Most likely, we all have. Instead, I learned how to better serve others who are in emotional, physical, and spiritual pain from the consequences of other people’s choices. The part of the book that I appreciated the most and prayed about even more, is the section after each story where she says, “If you know…”, where the author shares tips on ministering to those who need hope. I’ve never read a book like this that offers such good ideas on how to reach out to the hurting. Because her words brought the realities to life, I found myself praying for the people in the chapters.
Cynthia shares stories of tragedy, pain, and rebellion. More than that she reaches into the heart and examines how the person survived. I love how she reckoned hope to a baby’s blanket, where the satin edges were worn and tattered, yet the blanket brought comfort and hope. Some stories brought tears while others called up empathy. But most of the testimonies sounded familiar. In fifty-six years, I’ve seen many of the same struggles and lived the same desperate cry for Jesus’ hope.
This is a must read for anyone who ministers to others and wants to offer the hope of Jesus to a hurting world. Every church and public library should have this book on the shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surviving the fallout of other's choices

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While many suffer the consequences of their own poor decisions, some are carrying the weight of other people's choices. Husbands leave their wives and children for another woman. Financial advisers embezzle retirement funds from unsuspecting clients and disappear forever. A spouse does the unmentionable and changes the lifestyle of his/her family forever. Whatever the case, one person can do something that alters another's life forever and they are the ones who must forgive, forget and move on.
Cynthia Ruchti's "Ragged Hope" is a godsend for those who are trying to be tough in difficult circumstances not of their own making. Each story of betrayal, pain and loss contains proof that God offers hope to everyone in all circumstances. He may not offer complete restitution or remove our trouble, but He will love you through it. He will give you a future in spite of the actions of others.
What Cynthia describes in her stories are events that are hard. You don't recover easily and sometimes may not recover at all. They are the tough things in life you don't understand why they happen. But God does. But. God. But for God, these events would be too hard to bear. But for God they would be unforgivable. In some cases, you will wonder in awe at how someone could forgive. But they do because God forgave them. These are teachable moments for those who read "Ragged Hope". Yes. Even the horrible things life hands to us can be forgiven with God's help. And, we can forgive, forget and move on. Sometimes it will be easy. Sometimes it will be difficult. Sometimes we may wonder why? But always there is God to walk us through each step we take.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People's Choices
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Starting Over – Inspiring Hope in the Aftermath

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starting Over – Inspiring Hope in the Aftermath of Heartache, Disillusionment, or Despair
Cynthia Ruchti offers the reader hope and inspiration in her book “Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People’s Choices.” Each of the twenty-six chapters relates a dramatic story of lives that have been forever changed as a result of another person’s choices.
Whatever your own circumstances you will find lessons, application, and encouragement from these heart breaking stories of abandonment, divorce, unfulfilled dreams, or financial sacrifice.
Ruchti’s writing elicits empathy through her use of word pictures as she describes “a toxic relationship ending in an amputated family,” or the feelings of a son’s suicide as “Hints of inexplicable peace lapping against the inexplicable pain.” She speaks of “tenacious joy” and of being “reverently responsive.”
In addition to the thought provoking reflective questions at the end of each chapter Ruchti has included a unique feature which gives the reader helpful suggestions for consideration to reach out to family, friends, and acquaintances who may be going through a traumatic experience similar to the one described within the previous chapter.
“Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People’s Choices” is a book for survivors seeking answers to the question of how to find peace and purpose and the strength to rebuild and move on. It should also be read by Christian Counselors andPastors and made available to individuals and families in crisis.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.