Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6

Abingdon Press A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6

In the midst of making a photo memory quilt for her graduating daughter, widow Mara Keegan suffers a heart attack. While recuperating, she struggles to finish the project in time and discovers burgeoning feelings for the man who's keeping her business going without her. Will Joel find his way into Mara's heart and onto Cadence's quilt? 240 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.903 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Review 1 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed this :)

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
momofmhasr
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Healing Heart ~ Angela Breidenbach
I enjoyed this book very much. I had never read anything by this author before so I was not sure what to expect and had no expectations. I will admit that my avid love of quilting did peek my interest a bit. This book will truly touch a Mother’s heart I discovered quickly. How much we desire for our children, we always want the best. To shield and protect them from all hidden dangers life can bring at you. We always want more for our children that we had experienced ourselves.
This novel struck a cord with me, how to I take care of my children when I can’t take care of myself? This is where faith really comes into play. Can you trust the “Big Guy” to really do what is right? Even if it not what we think is the right thing? I enjoyed the examples of personal relationships with God throughout. It was a blessing to be able to put myself in the main characters position and see myself through others eyes.
I received a free copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story!

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angela Breidenbach outdid herself in her first novel: A Healing Heart, one of the Quilts of Love series.
Mara Keegan, is left running the family business and trying to raise three children on her own when her husband is tragically killed in an accident. Her Type A personality and perfectionism get her into trouble physically, mentally, emotionally, and even spiritually as she tries to do everything herself.
When Joel Ryan, a business consultant, is sent to help Mara with her business, God uses his faith and kindness to help not only the business but also Mara and her family. Mara’s three children and their dog come to love Joel and, eventually, so does Mara.
After a broken leg and a heat attack, Mara comes face-to-face with her own mortality and the reality that she can’t do everything herself. While she recovers, Mara makes a beautiful quilt for her daughter's graduation. Working on the quilt becomes healing therapy and reconnects her to her family and friends—and the artistic gift God wants to use.
Mara truly needs “A Healing Heart” physically, emotionally, and spiritually, and through her story, God accomplishes it all. In this culture of over commitment and burnout, this is a timely story. Filled with spiritual truths about forgiveness, trusting God, and using your God-given talents, this is a great read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Tender Story of Love

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
This is a tender story of Mara, who is struggling to heal from the death of her husband and still raise their 3 children. I appreciated how the author so vividly portrayed the daily emotional battles Mara faced and how hard it is to let others help, even when we need it so desperately. I also enjoyed learning about the different warning signs women may face in a heart attack. Over all it was an interesting story will well developed and likable characters.
Angela Breidenbach is a gifted story teller and I would highly recommend this book. I was given a copy of this books in exchange for my honest opinion from The Book Club Network.org
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Chances

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Healing Heart is a charming story of forgiveness, grief and falling in love again. The story captures the heart of a single mom struggling to survive, provide for her kids and overcome the grief of losing her husband. It shows how pride can camouflage itself in regular activities and how it can also blind someone to God’s grace. The reader is given a glimpse into God’s pursuing love and relentless mercy even when we reject Him. A wonderful read! I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great heart warming read

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
shanfromcan
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A HEALING HEART by Angela Breidenbach was my first read by this wonderful new author to me. I was pulled into the lives of Mara, widow still dealing with loss of beloved husband, and her three children, especially the relationship with her older teenage daughter. I smiled, laughed, cried, and felt right along with the different issues the family faced, separately and together. The love story for Mara and her unlikely knight in shining armor, or superman cape as the case may be, will warm your heart.
But the best part of the story for me was the memory quilt the mom and daughter were working on, and all the time, energy, blood, sweat, tears and a few prayers that were thrown in. Loved loved loved the way she pulled Joel in, and as I prepare to make my first quilt, has given me an awesome idea as well.
A great read, that reminds us all that if God isn't part of our every day then He isn't part at all, just an afterthought. So go on, talk to the 'Big Guy' today!
I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. Pick it up today, along with a box of kleenex!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Contemporary Fiction

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I read by this author. She has definitely captured my attention. She has a way of keeping your interest from the very beginning. The book revolves around a widowed mother of three who is trying to balance work and home and parenting. Along comes her "superman" as the kids call him, to help her in keeping the balance. Add a heart attack to the mix and it's recovery and you have a great story. Mara need's to let her type A personality go and allow her superman to help more and allow her faith into the mix.Overall, it was a humorous, loving, joyful, and comforting.
I received this book from Abingdon Press through BookFun for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Romance with Some Unique Touches!

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an enjoyable story about an overworked mother of three who needs to get her priorities straight! Mara Keegan has been running her company solo since her husband died a few years before and has now promised to make a photo memory quilt for her daughter's graduation present. She feels she must do everything herself, but when she suffers a fall and then a heart attack, she's forced to take some time off. Luckily, her new business coach is able to fill in for her, but can she trust this man who once tried to take over her company with both her business and her heart? Will making the quilt be healing for her or bring up painful memories she'd rather forget?
I really liked this family and the welcoming way they had. Mara is part Crow and part Irish and I liked the focus on her roots and heritage. It was nice to see an ethnicity not featured in books very much. The memory quilt sounded very cool and is actually based on quilts the author's family makes. I liked the struggle Mara had between doing it all or doing what she loved. The story also had its sad and amusing moments along with a sweet romance. I would recommend this, especially if you like quilting or crafts.
I received this book free from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book and highly recommend it.

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I received a free copy of this book through The Book Club Network for my honest opinion.
Mara Keegan is a widowed mother of three teenagers. Her plate is very full as she tries to run the company that she started with her husband by herself. She is also trying to keep up with what is going on in her kid’s lives and make the perfect graduation present for her oldest daughter’s high-school graduation. So much work is involved in creating the photo memory quilt and there is so little time to work on it. How will she get it all done?
When personal medical emergencies knock her off her feet she must stop and take stock of all that she does and really look at what her priorities should be. Are those around her trying to help her in her recovery or are they trying to take over what is hers?
Angela has developed wonderful characters throughout this story. Their personalities are rich and well rounded. I would love to have this family live near me. In fact by the end of the book I felt that I knew them better than many of the people that do live in my neighborhood, and go to the church I attend.
This is an incredible, thought provoking book.
We all make promises to others. Are they all made with the right intent? Can we make a promise to ease someone else’s pain that God never meant for us to make? How do we know that a task we are doing to fulfill a promise is in God’s will for our life?
These are all questions that Angela has intricately woven into the story of this book. As Mara is dealing with them I felt challenged to really think over many aspects of my own life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take Time for God

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Healing Heart, one of the Quilts of Love series, was written by Angela Breidenbach and published by Abingdon Press. One of the main characters is Mara Keegan, a widow who is left with running the family business and trying to raise three children on her own at the same time. Because she had a Type A personality and was a perfectionist, she tried to do everything well which took a toll of her health and her family.
The character Joel Ryan, a business consultant, is my hero because of his faith in the Lord and his willingness to get involved in not just the business, but also in Mara Keegan’s family. He had accepted the Lord after Rich, a fellow worker, lead him to accept Jesus as Savior.
Without giving away the whole story, I liked the way Mara finally accepted some help and realized her true God-given talents. While recovering from a heart attack and a broken leg, Mara made a quilt for her daughter’s graduation. This quilt supplied more than just warmth and comfort. This labor of love was a kind of therapy that gave her some relief from grieving the loss of her husband. Working on this artistic quilt also helped build the connections with those in her life and helped her heal physically, emotionally and spiritually.
Mary Keegan was forced to slow down because of her health and this forced her to realize that she was missing important things in her life. This book is very appropriate for the time and age in which we are living because many of us seem to have the busyness disease. It seems we don’t know how to live the simpler life anymore. This is because of our fast pace and many of us do not take the time to simplify, reflect, and put together what is important in our lives. Sweet Read!
Thank you Abingdon Press for offering it free in exchange for my honest opinion and BookFun.org that made it all happen!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever noticed how various and diverse authors and novels are even within book series? There will always be published works that will be praised as well as others that aren’t elevated as high. Of course, the same is true with readers, bloggers, reviewers and plainly speaking people. It is the diverseness that can become such a pool of enjoyment with opportunities to learn.
Here is a very touching story straight from the starting line. Widowed at a young age and building an entrepreneurial business along with raising three children, Mara Keegan has some challenges. Already Mara is well past her physical endurance, but presses herself to do more as she views all of life’s responsibilities as hers to carry alone. Since she believes God has done something cruel, how can she look to Him now?
The story includes a quilt, the passing on of one’s heritage with some romance included! I enjoyed learning about making quilts that take memorable pictures, weaving them in when sewing along with the various color patches as well as learning how to take care of one’s self in order to enjoy life and find joy in caring for and about those whom we love.
With great care, compassion and wise counsel, the author brings to the forefront how when we are in a season of grief, we make decisions that might not be the wisest. Perhaps not just shutting out the Lord, but any relationships we once held dear to our hearts. With life going on at a quick pace, we can all forget that the most important contribution we can give to those who come after us is the wisdom we learn along our way.
Another characteristic of the novel was learning how to train or teach younger women what we more mature women can take for granted like we have always known how to do something. For example, in this story Mara has to learn that her artistic gifts can be shared with other women if she is willing to go in the new direction the Lord is leading her. For all of us change can be scary, whether it is because it is change or there is another reason such as who will do or fill the role I presently do if I don’t do it. Yet, the Lord is faithful and if it brings Him glory, He will make sure the role is filled or the job gets completed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Healing Quilt of Loving Memories

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Renee Woods
Location:Kansas City, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Healing Heart is a book that weaves healing from the loss of love through a beautiful quilt full of special memories.
Mara Keegan is a widow that has been trying to be mom, dad and company owner all by herself for the past three years. When business coach Joel Ryan, a previous enemy, comes to help and make restitution, her life has many unexpected turns.
Mara's type A personality is one that many can relate to. How can you fault a mother who has lost her husband in a tragic accident and had no time to mourn as she has too much to keep together? She is a heroine as a single parent, running a business and all, but she has her faults that again, we can understand.
Joel is immediately nicknamed Superman, which just about says it all. He is so easy to fall in love with. The kids, the family, even the family pet are so true to life.
The book is an easy read, with lots of spiritual truths that remind us to forgive, to look to the Bible and God for answers, and to love.
This is a sweet book that I would recommend to all who enjoy romance and those who have mourned the loss of a loved one. This just might be able to help guide you through the healing process.
Note: I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.www.TMWoodsBooks.com/blog. The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility. Also follow me on Twitter @TMWoodsBooks, Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/TMWoodsBooks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Healing Heart - Awesome Book

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:West Monroe, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Widowed mother of three, Mara Keegan has decided a photo memory quilt for her daughter's graduation would be the perfect gift. When a heart attack stops her, the road to recovery and Mara's heart needs to be healed in more ways than one. This quilt and its memories are the key.
As I read this book, I smiled, cried a few tears, and laughed. The author did an excellent job in making me feel each character's emotions. The book says every quilt has a story. Angela Breidenbach portrayed the quilt touching many hearts in this book. An awesome book to read. Thank you for the opportunity to read this book.
I received this book from bookfun.org in return for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It will speak to your heart!

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book will speak to your heart. It spoke to mine in several ways. As I watch my quilting mother’s health decline, it spoke to me about pouring my love into my family. It spoke to me about not getting so caught up in my circumstances that I forget to enjoy those around me. It spoke to me about never forgetting that God has a grander plan than I could ever think or imagine for myself. It spoke to me about allowing God to heal hurts and wounds that have cut into my inner core.
A Healing Heart will do just that—heal your heart. Sometimes we can see ourselves through a character even when the story is different than ours, and we can learn through their lessons even when the lesson that needs to be learned is a little different. Because truly, the only lesson we need to learn is to allow God to heal us in His time and His way. We may make some bad choices in our quest for healing, and we may need to voice a couple of “I’m sorry” phrases along the way, but God has a master plan for piecing our lives back together and making them beautiful just as Mara pieced together that wonderful quilt.
Mara is a widowed mother of three children who is struggling to balance her family, a business, a quilting project, and an unexpected budding relationship with a business associate. After a heart attack puts her life on pause, Mara must sort through her past and her present to find the emotional healing she so desperately needs. Little did she know that she would find that healing through some of the most unexpected experiences. Angela Breidenbach will keep you turning the pages to see how Mara’s story unfolds.
A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A healing heart and quilt

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Healing Heart by Angela Breidenbach
Mara Keegan widow and mother to three, is a stressed business owner with a Type A personality. Because of her grief and a promise made on her husbands death bed she has pushed friends, God and even her children away to hang on to a company they started together that is draining her. She has run herself ragged and is overcommitted. Mara is determined to make the perfect graduation gift for her daughter Cadence. But will she finish in time? Joel Ryan is her new Business Mentors consultant; they met by phone years ago. At the time he had shady business ethics and tried to steal her company away from her and her husband. He has since found Christ and is trying to redeem himself. Right before their first meeting she breaks her ankle and soon after has a heart attack. Joel is the perfect gentleman and does everything in his power to not only help her business but also her family. He is slowly falling in love with Mara and her children, but can she ever learn to trust him? Mara is very artistic and trying to carry on the family tradition of creating a memory quilt but needs help to finish on time. God uses her church friends she has pushed away to help her with the quilt. And in doing so she is able to mend relationships with them. As she heals, she finds faith once again and a possibility of a mended heart. Is Mara strong enough to take a chance on Joel or will she push him away, I would highly recommend you read A healing Heart to find out. If you like Christian fiction this is one book that will pull your heart strings. I want to thank The Book Club Network Inc. for this book. And thanks to the author Angela Breidenbach and Abingdon Press for writing and bring good clean Christian books to readers like me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sad and sweet

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mara lost her husband to an avalanche. Now she's trying to cope with running their business, keeping three kids in line, and completing a quilt for her daughter before her graduation. She does not have time for a new business consultant with a bad history and penchant for butting in.
Small pieces of American Indian history as well as snippets about quilting were woven into the story to add depth and beauty. The two main characters were fun, if not a bit exasperating in their stubbornness. But my favorite parts were the interactions with the children and the dog. The author did a great job of weaving a bit of history into the story. Some of it was taken from the town she used for inspiration and some of it was from her family traditions.
I enjoyed the story. It was sweet, sad, and refreshing. There wasn't any major drama or mystery. It was just a simple story of love and healing.
I received this book free of charge from Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
chris
Location:Selma OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so impressed with this book We all have our hot buttons, we all have our stresses
we all need to listen to our Lord, and not take on too much
Mara was a stressed out Type A Doing a job that wasnt good for her Mad at our Lord
She had huge medical issues, huge grief but It helped change her into what she needed to be
She was so talented, her quilt was great.
We all need to learn to be serious about our Lord, really listen to his guidance. Realize he loves us and wants the best for us.
And Let Go and Let God
I was given this book for free for my honest review from TBCN And Abingdon Press
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Healing Heart

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very delightful book. Mara Keegan is working on making a quilt for her up and coming senior. Throughout the process, she has a heart attack. Throughout the whole book, she is learning to heal both physically and emotionally. Angela Breidenbach is a very good author. I would recommend her books to everyone. I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this great read

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Host
Location:Lebanon County, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some of the books in this series and really looked forward to reading this one. The first chapter had me hooked. "Mara Keegan's vision blurred... Mara's smile faded... A burning sensation started in the center of Mara's chest... Her head pounded... Mara's heart twisted, radiating out searing pain..." Just then, her enemy arrived to rescue her in more ways than one. Joel Ryan came as a consultant to get her business ready for the new government contract. He arrived in time to take her to the ER where they took care of her broken foot and ordered her to rest. Mara didn't know how to rest and returned to work too soon. Meanwhile, Joel worked out plans to reduce her stress at work and at home. Her daughter, Cadence, offered to help pick photos for her graduation quilt. Mara needed to decide whether she would accept the help offered, so that her heart could heal.
I would highly recommend this book. I received this book from bookfun.org in return for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Healing Heart

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book touched my heart from the first page. My son lost his first wife and was left with three children. In reading about Mara's difficulties dealing with life after the loss of a spouse really hit home. WHen Mara had her heart attacks and surgery I knew what she was going through because my husband went through it.
This book gives you a warm fuzzy feelings from the first. Mara is struggling to give her all to her children, her job and can't find time for herself. It seems the more she does the "behinder" (my grandmother used to say) she gets. Then Joel Ryan enters the picture at work to help her with redesigning her business. He steps in and helps with her children after taking her to the ER when she has her heart atttack. They start building a strong friendship as she recovers from her surgery. I loved the part with the supprise that Joel and Toby make for Mara and her daughters. Toby is her son. I took longer reading this book because I wanted to savor the special moments in this book.
This book is a good read for either a young adult, preteen or a woman. Some men would enjoy this too. There is no action/adventure. Just love, learning to let God be first, friendship, learning to let go of the one you lost and making a future for herself, her family and putting priorities in place. Yes, with some errors friendship can grow into love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Healing Heart, Quilts of Love Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Relevant contemporary fiction with sweet romance

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A Healing Heart by Angela Breidenbach is part of the Quilts of Love series published by Abingdon Press. I found it to be an enjoyable and relaxing read, set in the beautiful Bozeman, Montana area, and dealing with some relevant life issues.
Summary
Workaholic, Mara Keegan, must heal her heart from loss and a heart attack before she can love again. But she has to trust her business to the one man that tried to destroy it.
A heart attack has stopped Mara Keegan in her tracks, leaving her daughter’s unfinished photo memory quilt hanging by a thread. Little does Mara know, this quilt—and the memories it bolsters—are the key to her rehabilitation. But Mara’s heart needs to be healed in more ways than one. And Joel Ryan is fraying her last nerve. With her daughter’s graduation fast approaching, even Mara starts to wonder if she—and her faith—can mend in time.
My thoughts
With its focus on the Keegan family, creation of a memory quilt, and the Bozeman, Montana setting, A Healing Heart has a warm, cozy feel to it. Angela did a great job of creating a sense of place, as the characters interact in the Bozeman community, snowmobile the Bridger Mountain Range, and dance at the Museum Ball in the Museum of the Rockies.
Mara is an appealing, well developed character. Her husband's death in a snowmobiling accident and a promise made to him left her in charge of "25 employees, business loans, and a dream built for two." Anyone who has ever been guilty of putting work ahead of family can relate to Mara as she strives to become everything to everyone. But as is often the case, that goal wasn't achieved very well at home.
Business coach Joel, brought in to assist Bridger Pack and Rescue, is a completely likeable character - intelligent, trustworthy, lives out his faith, and is good with Mara's children. I liked how Joel appreciated Mara's art for its beauty rather than as a marketing commodity.
It's interesting how the title, A Healing Heart, has a double meaning, as Mara heals both physically and emotionally. She has some important things to work through - care of her physical heart, learn to delegate, make peace with the past, and grow close to her children again. The construction of the memory quilt is woven beautifully throughout the narrative, and tells the story of Cadence's life through family pictures. A statement of Joel's sums the theme up nicely: "Our lives are woven together with what feels like scrap pieces. We can see clearly what's happened in the memories of our past. But the future is all about hope."
I enjoyed A Healing Heart and recommend it to all who enjoy inspirational fiction. A sequel is in the works, tentatively titled Climb Every Mountain. It’s the story of Cadence Keegan, all grown up as a fitness coach with her own gym.
Learn more about Angela and her books at angelabreidenbach.com.
This book was provided by Abingdon Press through BookFun.org in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>