Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7

Abingdon Press A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7

When runaway slaves bring Union-loyal Beth Bumgartner a wounded Confederate soldier named Joe, she decides she must defy her pacifist parents and become a nurse. Taking comfort from her mother's mysterious goodbye gift of quilt blocks, she sews them together and discovers a hidden message in the pattern. Will it spur forgiveness and healing? 240 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Review 1 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Different Look at the Civil War

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It would seem that the Civil War is one of those moments in our history that has engendered a number of films, documentaries, and books--maybe more than any other event in our history. And Ms. Moore has now added a very touching look at this moment in our history, and it is certainly well worth the read. Her powers of description and viewing the Civil War in a little different light bring the sights and sounds of this horrendous battle right into our present-day consciousness.
I had never considered the fact that normal, everyday people were caught in the cross-fire of the Civil War. It was chilling to consider that one may look out of their window and see an actual battle being played out. People never knew if a Reb or a Yankee would drop by their house and demand money, food, or just take over their home. Makeshift hospitals were set up for the wounded and the dying in the basements and cellars of people's homes. I had no idea how dangerous it was.
The story was good, for sure, and the idea of the heroine being disabled made things quite intriguing. I did find myself somewhat bored by the romance, and I would have preferred more historical details. The sovereignty of God does come through, and the Christian message is there, but it is not overbearing. I did find myself sometimes bored, but at least I did not have to endure profanity nor sex scenes. If you are looking for a quick read with a simple love story and some historical elements, this just may be what you are looking for.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

beyond the hard times

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
jbarr5
Location:RI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Heartbeat Away by S. Dionne Moore
This book is set in the 1860 and the war. Joe is brought by slaves to Elizabeth and Gretas' house and the grandmother sews him up but he needs rest and they fear the troops will find him.
Loved learning about healing and the use of honey and cornstarch.
Found a bond right off the first few pages while she's drinking tea a splash of hot water and cinnamon heated up the tea-I drink tea all year round also.
Joe starts to recover and others are brought in for her to heal. She's always prayed God would cure her crushed ankle so she'd not limp. She loves nursing even if it's for the enemy.
The quilt her mother had sent means something to Joe, the wounded that she's caring for-it will show what's beyond that hard times.
So many more wounded, from both sides are brought to her grandmother's house and they must leave as it's being taken over. Jim secures a cabin for them to help heal a bit more before they move on...The women continue to go into the fields to help the men.
When she finally makes it back to her mothers home she learns many things and what will her future hold?
An excerpt from Pieces of the Heart, the next in the series, is included.
I received this book from Abingdon Press in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ravages of War

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A journey into the reality that came with the Civil War. We experience it with our own eyes and ears with the help of this Ms Moore.
Death and tragic loss of human life is everywhere. We see all of this though the eyes of Beth Bumgartner and her Grandmother Gerta. They have been called upon to nurse the wounded Confederate soldiers. We feel the shells shaking the house and breaking the windows. We smell the blood and unwashed bodies, and we see the pile of legs and arms the surgeon has cut off, along with the flies. Not a glamorous site here.
We also see the compassion of people who sympathies are not with the South, including some emancipated slaves. Where hate could have lived, there is a kindness to man and the love of the Lord.
We see God work in these poor people. There is a bit of romance in this story, and we loose people we have come to love.
This is a very different War story, and includes the working of a beautiful quilt throughout the shattering affects of battle. The book is a very fast past read, and will leave you wanting more, and there is a preview of the next book in this series included.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's Hope is a Heartbeat away...

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Heartbeat away...
The terror of war....
The carnage left on the battlefield...
The loss that tore hearts...
The pain that those who lived endured...
The fact that those who lived were changed...
The fear that "changed" meant unlovely and broken....
The truth that Love sees through all loss...
These themes are vividly depicted
in S. Dionne Moore's book.
A love story set in the Civil War, between two vulnerable people, A Heartbeat Away tells the story of Joseph Madison and Beth Bumgartner.
He is a Rebel soldier, she is a nurse from a Union loyal family. They are left in the wake of the war that has etched its bloody horror on their minds and wounded their bodies with its weapons.
They are wounded souls, flesh and blood people in need of God's strength, peace and grace.
As Beth pieces together the quilt blocks her mother gave her, and Joe heals from his wound, will they find that God's hope is a heartbeat away?
Filled with memorable writing and characters you want to see healed and together, S. Dionne Moore's A Heartbeat Away tells a very good story.
Thank you S. Dionne Moore and Litfuse for my copy of this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartfelt Story

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen1356
Location:NYC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
S. Dionne Moore's A Heartbeat Away begs to answer the question "Can a quilt and a hidden message bring enemies together?"
The Civil War did not only divide a nation but hearts. Beth Bumgartner's broken leg has led her to a broken heart and more importantly a severed relationship with God. Knowing the danger of walking in darkness, her mother seeks to get to her a message of hope through the quilt she sends her. Will Beth see the message and have a change of heart or has her heart been hardened beyond repair? Confederate soldier Joe's sudden arrival at her doorstep leaves them both with more questions than answers. Will both of them be able to see the hope there is in God or will the war raging in their hearts consume them?
This book did a wonderful job at demonstrating human kindness in the midst of the realities of a war. Rather than taking on a survival mode mentality, Beth and her grandmother, Gerta's willingness to help the enemy characterized the selflessness maybe too often overlooked in the Civil War's history. As the war progressed so did the vivid imagery detailed in the battlefield. The inconceivable atrocities of war and its conditions were sympathetically dealt with rather than turning it into a gory account. Seeing the heartbreak of the ladies nursing as well as the soldier's despair brought the realities of war into perspective.
The best part of the book was seeing Beth and Joe grow despite of their hurt. Both had been hurt trying to save a life and both had remained prisoners of their hurt. Seeing their relationship blossom from the inner beauty of character rather than on external physical traits was so refreshing to read. Finding their wholeness in Jesus and not their physical capabilities was simply beautiful.
This book is a refreshing read for anyone interested in historical fiction.
I received a complimentary copy of above mentioned title from Litfuse in exchange for an independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Heartbeat Away by S. Dionne Moore

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set during the Civil War Battle of Antietam A Heartbeat Away lets the reader see into the lives of Beth Bumgartner, her grandmother Gerta, and Joe, a wounded Confederate soldier.
Beth desires to be a nurse and dreams of the day she’ll join The Army of the Potomac and work with Clara Barton. In order to reach her goal, she moves to Sharpsburg, Maryland, to live with her grandmother, Gerta, to learn the necessary nursing skills. When slaves bring an injured Confederate soldier to her grandmother's home for help, Beth doesn’t like that they’ll be treating a rebel; because, after all, her brother is a Union soldier. She soon learns that Joe was injured while protecting slaves. Gerta explains to Beth that is doesn’t matter whether a soldier belongs to the Union or Confederate Army, if a soldier comes to their door needing help they will do what they can for him.
As the Battle of Antietam draws closer to their home, a bond begins to develop between Beth and Joe; as they help each other through their struggles with past memories that keep them from moving on. Beth’s healing begins with piecing quilt blocks together that her mother sent to her. Joe not only needs to heal from his injuries, but he also needs to make sense of the memories of the night he was injured.
I liked that the story was set during the Civil War, which was the catalyst that brought Beth and Joe together; two people from two different backgrounds who grow in both faith and hope.
If you enjoy history, a bit of mystery, romance, fantastic characters, along with God’s truth woven into the fabric of a story, you will enjoy reading A Heartbeat Away.
**A Heartbeat Away by S. Dionne Moore was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Some History we shouldn't forget!

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Norma Bourne
Location:NEW HAMPSHIRE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like American History, so having that included along with a love story and human interest was certainly all to my liking! It was difficult to put down. I share my books they go around a circle of friends. They also enjoyed this book I am looking forward to the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being a Civil War enthusiast for me means learning about the time, reading stories in that time frame, both fiction as well as nonfiction. There are many theories about different parts of that era. The amount of life lost is something that still staggers my heart and mind. When I read about this timeframe, I see past the battles; I see quilts made that held messages of a variety I had never known.
Here is a fictional story about a crippled young woman from the North who believes she is to be a nurse, but when faced with the atrocities she can’t bring herself to think of facing them every day. Beth goes to live with her grandmother, Greta, to learn how to help the hurting, but Greta wants her to see a bigger picture. Joe, along with his brother, Ben, has joined the war after facing the death of family members. One night, after Joe has been shot, Ben is leading him to a place to be cared for when suddenly Ben is killed. The next time Joe wakes up, he sees Beth’s face and there begins the journey that ends up changing both of their lives forever.
I can tell you there is so much more to the wonderful story woven together to place before the reader. Beth needs hope for her future after being hurt in the past. Joe needs hope when he has more questions than answers and his love for a northern woman is a mystery. The other characters need hope for everyday life and freedom. A Heartbeat Away is a faith-filled romance, action and adventure tale. In the story, you will see that hope is born and burned into the heart through faith in God as well as through adversity. Enjoy this fictional work as soon as you can, then share the message of hope with someone else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Heartbeat Away, Quilts of Love Series #7
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Struggled to get into this book

Date:May 27, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What I like about this book was that the heroine had an actual physical flaw. You don't see that much, usually they are perfect. I am guilty of writing perfect heroines in my stories, so it was nice to read about a heroine that has a physical flaw.
On the flip side, I really struggled to get into this book. I felt there were too many story questions and I couldn't keep track of what was going on and who Beth (the main character) was referring to when she was thinking about people in her past.
The writing itself was good, the author has a good handle on craft, I just couldn't connect with the characters very well. I think there were so many questions presented it kept me from really getting into the story because I kept wondering what was going on.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.