Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10

Abingdon Press Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10

Grayson McDonough has no use for cancer support groups now that his beautiful wife is gone. But their 9-year-old daughter, Sadie, doesn't agree. When cancer survivor Annabelle succeeds in bringing out the silly, fun side of his precious daughter, Gray is grateful that Sadie's heart is healing. Is there hope yet for him, too? 240 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Review 1 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book with a good message.

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Claywalkerfan
Location:Tulsa ok
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A year after his wife Jenna passes away from ovarian cancer, Gray and his daughter is invited to the ovacome support group and gets involved in helping with the quilting project. They meet Annabelle there,She, Gray and Sadie get to know each other and fall in love.
At the end of each chapter is a page from a journal written to Sadie from her Mommy that passed away from ovarian cancer. After the journal for that day a bible verse is written that goes so well with that part in the journal.
I learned a lot from this book besides about quilting, one of the most interesting to me was about the African black footed penguins.
This is a book that I would love to read again and was not ready for it to end. I very well written book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heartwarming Story

Date:September 25, 2013
Oh my! I knew that Sandie wrote funny books, but I didn't know she could write funny books that would tug my heartstrings like Raw Edges did! Raw Edges introduces readers to four of the most lovable characters I've read about in a long time. Gray and Sadie are still reeling from the loss of their wife and mother a year earlier. Annabelle is dedicating her time to volunteer for Ovacome, a support group that helped her through the worst time in her life. And Miss Essie is encouraging all three of them as they try to move on from the cancer that tried to steal the joy from their lives. The characters were so fun that they felt like friends. I also loved the idea of telling a story through a quilt. It was fun to see everyone get caught up in the project and the project move them toward deeper relationships with one another.
There were a few times that I wished for a little more. For instance, was the fact that Annabelle was an ovarian cancer survivor (the same disease that killed Gray's wife) not a problem for him as he began falling for her? Surely it was. But those little things were just that ... little. Most of the time, though, I wanted more because I just loved the story so much and wasn't ready for it to be over.
From start to finish this books was charming and I was totally caught up in it. As I finished Raw Edges in the wee hours of the morning, I turned the last page with a satisfied sigh. Bricker outdid herself! I would say this is my favorite of hers so far! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Abingdon Press and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heartwarming story about loss and healing!

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grayson McDonough wished that they made something like bias tape to fix the raw edges in his own life. After spending more than a year dealing with the loss of his wife Jenna to Ovarian Cancer, he still couldn't find a way to move forward. It seems that it was easier for his young nine-year-old daughter, Sadie and reading the journal her mother left her with life lessons made those days easier to manage. Even though she missed her mother deeply, the words she penned in the journal offering snippets of wisdom, advice and even insights into her dad enabled Sadie to believe that her mother was still a part of their lives, if she could only get her dad to read it.
It seems like they need a door to open and the invitation came in the form of a quilting group through a cancer support group known as Ovacome. The young women running the project, Annabelle Curtis knows how much cancer can affect the family. Not only just the families dealing with the loss of a loved one, but also for survivors like herself. In Annabelle's situation her future was dashed when she learned she was diagnosed with ovarian cancer and had to undergo a hysterectomy that resulted in her fiancè calling off their wedding and also their relationship in favor of someone who could have children.
Now that Sadie has been drawn to helping put together a quilt of scraps of fabric from those who had loss a loved one to cancer and also those who are survivors, she forms a connection with Annabelle that helps her move forward in her own life, finding joy in the simple ways of simply spending time enjoying life instead of merely getting by. Slowly over the course of the novel, Gray has no choice but to get involved since Sadie needs transportation to get to the quilting meetings and soon finds himself working on a project to help benefit the sale of the quilt. Along the way, he realizes that even though life is hard to get through on some days, his wife Jenna left behind a legacy that will last forever.
I received Raw Edges by Sandra D. Bricker compliments of Abingdon Press and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. This is such a poignant story to read and you can't help but get emotionally involved not only in Sadie and Gray's situation but also Annabelle's story as a survivor. It really is about healing and dealing with the loss of broken hearts and shows that time will slowly allow those wounds to heal but those memories we create will truly last a lifetime. This is my first novel with Sandra D. Bricker and I will be on the lookout for more of her books. She invests the time to entice the reader to become a part of the story and for that reason I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. This novel is number 10 in the Quilts of Love Series and can be read in any order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Story

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
As an ovarian cancer survivor, I was intrigued with this novel. In addition, I love that the setting is Tampa, Florida--my home. The characters drive down familiar streets and eat in places that I'm acquainted with; they even attend a Rays Baseball game wearing jerseys with team members names on the back! They participate in an organization called, Ovacome, a group of volunteer survivors and members of lost loved ones, located in the Tampa area. I never knew it existed. Clearly, the author knows Tampa.
Grayson, AKA Gray, is a model father. (He's unbelievably perfect. How I wish parents really were like him.) Nine-year-old Sadie is a sweetie pie. She's the apple of her Daddy's eye and wise beyond her years. Gray sees her mother in Sadie's speech and mannerisms. The novel begins a year after Gray's wife and Sadie's mommy died from ovarian cancer. They meet Annabelle at Ovacome and seem to hit it off immediately. It's all too perfect, too expected; however, I enjoyed it.
At the end of each chapter is a short letter from Jenna to Sadie, along with a Bible verse. These notes contain wisdom that any person would cherish. Warning: they will produce tears.
This is a quick read--a sweet book.
Discussion questions are included.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quilting and the love of God

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
jbarr5
Location:RI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Raw Edges Quilts of Love Series by Sandra D. Bricker
I had just read another Quilt of Love book and it was not a digital copy and truly fell in love with it and I know this book will measure up nicely with it and hope it will help me come up with an idea for all the fabric i've been saving to use for a quilt.
The McDonoughs: Jenna, Gray and Sadie were a family til Jenna died from an illness. He struggles with his 9 year old daughter and hopes he is bringing her up right-the way Jenna would've done things.
They would read from Jenna's journal and it would bring smiles and tears to their eyes.
The story also follows Annabelle Curtis story of working at the aquarium, having ovarian cancer and how the quilting group is helping her to cope and heal.
Sadie talked her dad into going to the support group meeting-where the women will talk and make a memory quilt.
At the end of chapters a bit of Jenna's journal is quoted along with a Bible passage.
Loved learning new things: about penguins feathers, fixing raw edges, and just all the ideas to help others cope with their pain and suffering.
Although Gray does not quilt or sew he is able to come up with an idea to help the project along. Sadie tries to get them together and it backfires.
Extras like the food recipes are such a great contribution. As the adults become closer Sadie is allowed to go with Annabelle to church then onto a quilting lesson where they learn so much-so did I.
Surprised who bought the quilt at the auction-didn't see that coming. Sadie going back to church was just the beginning...
Excerpt of The Christmas Quilt, Quilts of Love series is also included.
I received this book from Net Galley via Abingdon Press in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply AMAZING...

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
sfoster95
Location:Clinton, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never has a book moved me so much. I cried through the whole book. I especially loved the journal entries from Jenna to Sadie. I am honored to have gotten to know Sandie Bricker over the last few months. She captivated me with the Always a Baker Never Bride series and I have loved every book she has written but Raw Edges really hit home for me as a 7 year uterine cancer survivor it really touched my heart. I love how Sandie ties in the real life support group Ovacome. Sandie has a wonderful way of drawing you in to a story and captivating you. Raw Edges is a touching story of a mother’s love and a father and daughter’s healing. I highly recommend this book for anyone touched by cancer. I am truly blessed to have received and advance electronic copy of this book for my honest unpaid review. This review is 100% my honest opinion of the book. You will not be disappointed. Be prepared to laugh and cry while reading this book. It really is a moving experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grab a quilt and curl up with this book! Excellent

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
CajunPrincess
Location:Woodworth, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RAW EDGES is a heart warming, heart breaking story. This book makes you want to grab a box of tissues and laugh out loud at the same time. This story is about a woman battling with Ovarian Cancer and how she helps her family move on after she is gone through her own words in her journal to her daughter. It is a wonderful story, beautifully written. Curl up with an old quilt and enjoy the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful Story of Hope and Healing

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Meredith
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Bricker has done an amazing job with her book Raw Edges. While still embracing her creative style of wit and humor, in this book she also clearly shows her huge heart for those affected by ovarian cancer. Raw Edges is beautifully written with tenderness and sensitivity as the story tells of Sadie and her eagerness to be a part of the Ovacome support group and how in the process her dad finds healing as well.
Raw Edges is part of the Quilts of Love series. I am not a quilter, nor am I crafty in any way, however, I was surprised that by the end of the book, I thought perhaps I should try my hand at some simple quilting! This is referred to in the book as the "fever."
One of my favorite aspects of the book is the journal that Jenna, Sadie's mother, left for her. Knowing that her daughter would still need her love and wisdom, Jenna wrote a journal for Sadie that gives her encouragement, laughter and motherly wisdom. The chapters begin with different excerpts that Jenna has written to Sadie.
Of course, when reading this book, your heart is opened and turned towards those that ovarian cancer has affected. Overall, this is a wonderful and touching book, that not only raises awareness about this cancer, but also gives hope to families and survivors as they move forward with life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quilted Memories...

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One year has passed since Jenna McDonough lost her battle with ovarian cancer. Grayson McDonough and his daughter, Sadie, have muddled through the year. Nine-year-old Sadie discovers a local support group named Ovacome, which lends support to ovarian cancer survivors and families who have lost loved ones to the disease. Sadie arranges for her father to accompany her to the support group where Annabelle Curtis, a survivor of ovarian cancer, has begun planning a quilt to honor survivors and those who lost their lives to ovarian cancer. Grayson feels like a fish out of water in a room filled with women, but Sadie is committed to becoming involved with the quilt project. Her overwhelming energy and enthusiasm finally break down her father's resolve, and he agrees to allow Sadie to participate in the quilt project. Grayson's enthusiasm is lacking due to his loss and his anger at God, but he also realizes that Sadie needs something to help her move forward. Sadie takes an immediate liking to Annabelle, and Grayson agrees to let them work on the quilt project at their home where Sadie can be supervised.
Raw Edges is an engaging story of overcoming extreme loss and finding healing and renewed faith in God. The issue of ovarian cancer and Ovacome, the ovarian cancer support group play key roles in bringing about awareness of the disease and available support networks. Sandra D. Bricker has presented a cast of realistic and lovable characters in this story. She brings them to life in a perceptive manner with encouraging and humorous situations that are captivating. She intertwines her characters throughout the story and develops a lovable community of people supporting and encouraging of one another. I thoroughly enjoyed this story of hope and love, and renewed faith.
Disclaimer: I received this book from Wynn-Wynn Media for the express purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Humor and love intertwined for a great read.

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
nmr439
Location:Bloomingburg, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I am Blessed to have received an advance copy of Raw Edges by Sandra Bricker. I love to quilt so it’s only natural that Sandra Bricker’s new “Quilts of Love” book would grab my attention. I couldn’t wait to see how she would intertwine quilts with humor and love around such a serious topic as Ovarian Cancer. With her unique writing style she spins a story that pulls her reader in in the opening pages and keeps your attention until the final one. You will fall in love with Sadie, Grayson, Annabelle and all the other characters intertwined in this believable story. We all have “raw edges” when we face loss and love and God loves us through it all, right where we’re at. Read “Raw Edges” by Sandra Bricker, You won’t be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming, heartfelt and so inspiring!

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
AnasaziSunset
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rarely does a book capture my attention before I've finished reading the prologue! Most often it takes at least the second chapter or more before I'm really hooked. My heart swelled with emotion for the characters and I felt like I had a personal involvement. And in a way I do...we all do, as each one of us knows or knows of someone that has fought or is fighting a battle with cancer. I was especially touched with the journal that Jenna left behind for her daughter Sadie.
Each night Grayson reads to their daughter an entry from the journal, each one ending with a special Bible scripture to go along with whatever wisdom she wanted to impart. I love how each chapter of this wonderfully written book is dedicated to one of the journal entries! One of my favorite journal entries to Sadie, Jenna writes "But after some time has passed, I don’t want you and Daddy doing the sad thing anymore. I want you to get out there in the world and meet new people, do new things, and make some new memories. It doesn’t mean I won’t be in your hearts anymore. It just means that you haven’t surrendered to the sadness."
If you're a quilter or just love quilts, you're going to love this book even more! If you've been wanting to learn, then don't be surprised if you "catch the fever!" Every handmade quilt always has a story to tell and in this book, the quilt celebrates the lives of those who have lost, are still fighting, or have won the battle against ovarian cancer and how a real life group called Ovacome, dedicated to saving lives by educating the community about these diseases and supporting those patients, survivors and spouses affected by gynecologic cancers put together a beautiful quilt to raise awareness.
And it is through the Ovacome memory quilt project, that nine-year-old Sadie and her dad Grayson meet Annabelle. Will this quilt project help heal Grayson's grief stricken heart so that he can find love again. Will precious Sadie's laughter and her fun and silly side emerge again? Can Annabelle learn to trust in love again?
I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of Sandra D. Bricker's Raw Edges. While I have enjoyed every book of Sandra's that I've read, Raw Edges has become my absolute favorite! Beware, tissue box may be needed as your smile through your tears. Heartwarming, heartfelt and so inspiring!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
WVBookLover
Location:West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, Sandra Bricker has written a book that can suck you in, make you feel like you are there, experiencing what the characters are going through in the first few pages. I picked this up and could NOT put it down! And I learned so much about the whole Ovarian Cancer progress, support groups etc. Thanks to Sandra Bricker for another heartfelt, warm, funny, touching story to add to my collection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read!

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
CrystalDunn
Location:Greenville, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a fan of Sandra Bricker's work for a while now, and when I learned that she was writing a book that encompassed two of my passions, Ovarian Cancer Awareness and Quilting, I knew that I had to read this book. As a member of the "Launch Team" for the book, I was sent an advanced copy of the book to read and review.
I immediately fell in love with this book in the Prologue. The way the characters are developed makes you feel that you are right there with them in the story, and you feel every emotion that they feel.
"Raw Edges" documents the making of a memory quilt for a Tampa, Florida Ovarian Cancer Support group called Ovacome. They are making the quilt to raise funds and awareness for this silent and deadly disease. Facts and statistics to help raise awareness are interwoven in this story. The quilting aspect is spot on too.
Even if you are not into quilting, or have no desire to raise awareness for Ovarian Cancer, this book is a great love story... of a young widower, who is faced with the decision to move on shortly after his wife's death. It is a story of blending families. A story of faith.
I would definitely recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a book of healing and forgiveness

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah O
Location:Las Vegas NV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandie has done it again. This book is amazing from the first page. No matter what you have been through you will find a character you can relate to. Sandie gets to the heart and keeps you going to the end. Once you start you wont want to stop, so grab a box a tissue your favorite drink and a few hours and enjoy. THIS is a MUST READ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Raw Edges

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melina
Location:Franklin, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raw Edges was a wonderful book. It is the story of three different people who are affected by ovarian cancer that are brought together by a quilt. Grayson lost his wife, Jenna, to ovarian cancer. They had a young daughter, Sadie. Annabelle overcame ovarian cancer and she is heading up the quilt project. When Sadie drags Gray to Overcome, an ovarian support group, meeting, they meet Annabelle and Sadie wants to help with the quilt. As Gray and Sadie spend more time with Annabelle, they open their hearts to her. This is a fast read that leaves you feeling good and gives you hope after you finish it. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Gray and Annabelle’s story. Sadie was also such a sweet little girl, I fell in love with her. I highly recommend this book, especially if you have suffered in any way from ovarian cancer or any type of cancer. But this book is great even if your life has never been touched by cancer. It is very insightful and gives a whole new perspective on the issue. Great job Sandie.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story of hope for the hurting

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series by Sandra D. Bricker
A brilliant story about the loss cancer causes. In preparation of her final days Jenna McDonough writes a journal for her daughter Sadie. This treasure is full of words to give peace, inspiration and love, a keepsake that will be treasured forever. Her husband Gary faithfully reads it to her. After the passing of her mother, Sadie and her father receive an invitation to attend an ovarian cancer support group meeting. Gary goes with her because he knows it may help. There they meet a great group of ladies preparing to make a memory quilt. By attending, Gary got more than he could have imagined. There he meets Annabelle Curtis, a cancer survivor, organizing the memory quilt project for the Ovacome support group. Somehow she gets both him and Sadie involved in the project. This story gives hope to the grieving. The author Sandra Bricker will have you laughing out loud, crying and smiling throughout the whole book. I especially loved the journal and the scripture it had, I thought this was a wonderful gift to leave behind for our loved ones. The death of a loved one is hard enough, but to me is even harder when you leave behind young children. This book touches on many painful and joyful things we experience with loss, feelings of grief, raising children as a single parent, moving on in life, and dating. As cancer touches many of our lives this book will give hope and inspiration to the hurting. I highly recommend this book. Sandra D. Bricker touched some tough subjects with sensitivity, grace and integrity. To think a book on such a hard subject could have a blessedly happy ending. I would like to thank the author and publisher for writing and bringing good clean Christian books to readers like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
EricaHughes
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a touching and heartwarming story about love, loss, and finding love again when you least expect it. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a sweet story, but be warned: you will need tissues! Also, be prepared to have a serious pizza craving once you're finished reading :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book: Not Just For Quilters

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
lovinglifeinpink
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Raw Edges" deals with tough subject of cancer and has a lot of quilting tied in throughout. Even though I am not into quilting it was an excellent book! Like all of the other books I've read by Sandra, this book had plenty of laugh-out-loud moments. Be ready to cry, laugh, and smile.
Sandra did an amazing job, as always, developing the characters in this book. I fell head-over-heels in love with little Sadie!
I've read several of Sandra's books and this is my favorite so far!! Bravo to Sandra, another job well done!
*I received an advanced electronic copy of this book to read and review. This review is based on my honest opinion of this book.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series #10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is another great Book from Sandra Bricker

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Location:LaSalle,CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Bricker is very well known for her laugh out loud romances. This is a little outside her box, but still see the Sandra Bricker style. And God is still the star of this book.
After reading this book if you don't want to make a quilt or get a pizza oven, then you better read it again.
Cancer touches most everyone life. Either you have had or know someone who has had cancer, so this book is for everyone.
She brings her own experiences and that of real life patients of ovarian cancer in the writing of this book. The sadness and the victories that go with this fighting the enemy. And most of all the memories.
The memories are celebrated in this book.
Ms. Bricker was able to bring strong emotions both good and sad that was needed to make this a great book. As with cancer there are trouble times that you have to cry and there are victories and silliness that you get to laugh.
The Ovacome Support Group is a far reaching group that will help patients and families. The family in this book needed
This book is a wonderful way to start reading Sandra Bricker. I feel this is the best book she has written, and I have read most of her books. If you have read Ms. Bickers books before then you are in for a real treat as this again not her usual style but worth the time invested in reading. I read it straight through.
Double A plus Ms. Bricker.
P.S. you need a box of tissues and a box of chocolates to read this book.LOL
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.